Yamaha V Star Custom Motorcycles Reviews (74)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star Custom Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star Custom Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-03-23 1999 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike. It is awesome. It is a great ride. Thanks to the dealership I got it at.
- tim hanam, eastern passage, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-06 2010 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Yamaha is the best road bike on the road as of today. As I am a former deputy in LA County, Ca., and have ridden Harleys and BMWs, I like your bike. Today I am trying to get another one. Right now I don't know if I can get it yet. Thanks for your web site.
- Charles Clopton, Acworth, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-22 2007 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 650 Custom last year, and after a year of riding I love it. It will run all day long and blends in good with my buddies Harleys. I may upgrade the seat, it does get a little uncomfortable after 2-3 hours, but other than that you can't ask for a better machine.
- Allen, Iowa City, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-27 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike, it is so fun. It is really light and I can put it way down in the corners. It is extremly comfortable. I have taken three 800 mile trips on it already. It is comfortable at highway speeds and faster. I have not had a single problem with the bike, very reliable. After putting 5000 miles on it in the last 3 months, I have really out grown it. It does lack in power now that I have gotten used to it, but that is by far my only complaint about this bike. If you want a starter bike that doesn't look like one, this is the one for you.
- Dustin, pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-25 2009 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first new bike. I use it for riding to work and touring the country roads in Indiana and Ohio. This is a nice bike, reasonably comfortable with good fuel economy. It has a low center so it's easy to ride. It could use a 6th gear but this is a minor complaint. What bugs me more is all of the plastic parts. But for the price I really can't complain. This is an excellent bike for a new rider, someone on a tighter budget or someone who is just an occasional rider. Like many of the Japanese bikes the quality seems bullet proof.
- D. Straw, Richmond, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-09 2006 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 33 years old and never had a bike growing up. I always knew I wanted one so this is the one I got! Love it, rides good and has enough power for a new driver like myself. What I like best is the balance it seems effortless to move around. Vibration on the highway is noticeable at 120km/hr but does not wreck the experience for me. New riders this is the bike for you!
- Big Jay, balgonie, Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-28 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike used from an owner who abused this bike. Spent $500 in parts to give it new tires, broken mirror, turn signal and clutch. This is one of three bikes I own and it was the first I did work on to restore. I have to admit that it was to easy taking this thing apart to replace what the previous owner abused. Within a weeks time I had this thing looking and running like it came from a showroom floor. Now I ride it all the time and put 1,000 miles on it. I gutted the exhaust for a mean and beefier sound. The only draw back if any is the stock quiet exhaust. Some people like, some like myself want something louder. The rear seat is really not idea for someone on a long ride. If I can make suggestion, take off the rear seat because it will expose more of the rear fender and make the bike look much cooler. Sitting position, handlebar placement, and shifting and brake pedal are all in ideal locations. If you would like to see pictures from before and after, please contact me at email address.
- Ted Cichocki, Newtown Square, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-22 2005 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike to replace a 81 500. I fell in love with the midnight edition, so I had to have it. I was impressed with the power of the 649cc motor. My friends have older 800s and 900s and I have no problems keeping up. I would recommend this bike to anyone. It's an easy bike to drive (very balanced). I am looking at the new 950 V Star but I will still keep the 650.
- John Ball, Lockport, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-28 2006 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike a few weeks ago from the original owner. It is a 2006 that sat for over a year. It has taken a bit of work to get it back to great running conditions, but now it runs like a top. The bike has plenty of power and awesome classic cruiser looks. I get compliments everywhere I go. As a short rider, it was important for me to be able to securely plant my feet at stops and the stock seat height on the Custom is ideal. However, the seat could be cushier, so I will likely be upgrading to a Corbin solo seat next riding season.
- MJ, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-28 2007 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike a month now and love it. It has plenty of power but after awhile will probably want to start upgrading. It does great through the mountains and is awesome on the freeways, braking is better than my Toyota and all I can say is it is the best bike I have found for this price, you just can't beat it...
- Gene Brown, Florence, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-27 2007 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had the bike for a month and a half. Love it. I live in rural Montana and it's a great bike for exploring the back country highways. Cruises great around 70. Can handle 75 pretty well, but I wouldn't suggest going very long distances at that speed. If you do, stop and let the engine cool every so often. isn't the joy of riding a bike the fact that you don't have to hurry anyway? The seat can get a little uncomfortable after about 45 minutes. But if you're like me and stop to enjoy the sites, it won't be a big problem.
- L Maroney, Glendive, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-23 2005 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a mid-50's guy who ventured back into motorcycling five years ago. I started with a Suzuki Savage (S40), moved up to a Suzuki 800 Intruder (S50), and ultimately up to a Bandit 1200. I just purchased a used, low-mileage V-Star 650 Custom and right now I'm enjoying this bike as much, if not more, than any of my previous bikes. The features, styling, quality, performance, comfort, and low costs of maintenance and insurance have completely satisfied me, even though I just downgraded from a 1200 Bandit. Just looking at it is a treat! Call me crazy, but that's how I feel.
- Anonymous, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-22 2007 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
1st motorcyle I have ever owned. didn't want to spend a load of cash to find out if I enjoy cruising. Have had the bike for little over two months, driving back and forth to work (50/50 between in town and highway) and the occasional morning cruise on the weekends. The bike is light weight enough for me to get through in town traffic with ease. Seems to have plenty of power to get out of a tight spot if necessary. Highway driving hasn't been an issue, it will do 65-70 MPH without problem but starts to feel tapped out when I get above 75 MPH. If I had to do it again and pick a small cruiser, I'd pick this one again.
- Brad, Wichita, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-15 2006 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. I have had it for a year now and love it. Even my wife loves riding with me. It has plenty of power and speed for all your needs. I never have any difficulty keeping up with all the others in a group (mix of bikes - Harley, Honda, etc.). I plan on replacing the seats. That is the only downside but not by much.
- Trey Raybourn, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-09 2007 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. So far it's been awesome. Plenty of power for what I'm looking for. It does run at high rpm's on the freeway, but the bike was made to do that. It handles like a dream, so smooth...I can't wait to get through the break in period so I can open her up all the way. I would suggest this bike to anyone who just wants to ride.
- Will Kenser, Hot Springs, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-27 2005 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now in my 3rd riding season with my blue with ghost flame V Star and still loving it. Have had it in 8 bike shows and have won 6 times (4 1st, 1 2nd, & 1 3rd place). This bike turns heads everywhere I go and I love the ride and the handling of this sweet ride!
- Mark Hopkins, Poplar Bluff, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-25 2007 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike 2 weeks ago and WOW! Nice ride, handles well, great sounding, plenty of power for what I need and I'm not a small guy. The only problem I can think of is, the seat after a couple of hours gets a little uncomfortable.
- Dan, Draper, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-24 2007 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got home with my new 650. The ride is awesome. I have no need for any more bike. I have owned bigger bikes before but this bike has all I need. The smooth ride and comfort will not be beat in any bigger bike. I did have one problem coming home the clutch cable pulled through the yoke and had to do road side repair but I think this is due to dealer prep. Over all this is a great looking and riding bike.
- robert, charleston, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-11 2007 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great starter bike for new rider or person such as myself who only rode dirt bikes 30+ years ago. Fun on the back roads and enough power for short highway rides. Will need a bigger engine for the long highway rides. Been given compliments from other bikers on the all black look. Quiet engine which is good for the neighbors.
- Pat , Durham, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-05 2007 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has all the power you will ever need. Great Crusier. The seat gets a little uncomfortable after about 100 miles. Over all, great bike.
- Lee Parker, Flowery Branch, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-10 2006 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 06 Vstar for around 3 months now and as you can tell by the mileage, you can't get me off it. It's not a daily commuter, I only ride it for pleasure. Either on my own or two up with the missus, the Vstar can go all day. She'll run for two hours at a time without missing a beat and is very comfortable to ride and a sweet handler. I don't see the need for more power(even 2 up) as the Vstar is meant to be a cruiser not a racer. Even so it has enough power to get you out of trouble when need be (or into it he he). All in all, a highly recommended ride if your intent with it is as a cruiser.
- Annon, Sydney, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-02 2006 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcycle and I do not believe I could have chosen a better one. For a smaller-stature woman, (and a beginner rider to boot) it was a little difficult to find a bike that I felt comfortable with. As soon as I sat on this bike, I knew it was the one. Has been a great ride and trouble free so far! The bike gets second looks everywhere I go. The only upgrades I plan on this bike (other than the saddle bags) are new seats, as the stock ones are a little stiff for long rides, and a bit louder exhaust, as the bike is pretty quiet. The stock exhaust looks great, and I'm not interested in blowing anyone's ear drums out, but I'm told that it helps you to be safer on the road when people can hear you coming.
- Sara, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-22 2007 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This motorcycle fits all needs. I used to ride bigger bikes that cost 2 or 3 times as much as the V-Star Custom. I finally realized that a 650 is all most people will ever need. I've taken this bike on 2 trips over to Mississippi and have never had any problems running it at 65-70 for hours on end.
- Carney woulleren, little rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-21 2007 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my V-Star Custom. don't let others fool ya; it'll cruise all day at 75. Rock solid engine that some get 40,000 miles out of before any kind of trouble. Great bike, get one and see.
- Salgal knows how to ride, rattlesnake hill, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-04 2007 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my bike a month ago. I love it. It rides great and is built for comfort. It has power on demand and is an overall great bike. I recommend this bike to anyone.
- Edward, Chesapeake, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: