Yamaha V Star Silverado Motorcycles Reviews (59)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star Silverado Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star Silverado Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-05-17 2003 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I only had the bike about four days now. I've put about 120 miles on it since I picked it up. I had an 2007 Virago 250 that I rode for years. It was a great starter bike. i just finally found a bike that I liked just as well that was bigger.
- Aaron, Sherwood, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-30 2009 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike since 1972. I love the bike for around town riding, but it needs more power and a sixth gear on the expressway, as it suffers from slight engine vibration @ 70mph and above. It is also a little on the light side for serious long distance highway travel. It is an outstanding value, if one isn't looking for a strict long distance tourer. Overall, I'm happy with it, as I don't currently have the time to do long distance touring. When I do, I will be moving up to a bigger bike.
- Karl, Highland, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-22 2004 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my license at the end of last summer, didn't have a bike yet so I rode my sister's 2001 V-Star Classic. I felt totally comfortable on it. It fit my frame well and was not too heavy for me. I just bought a bike for myself, the 2004 V-star Silverado. Love it, just like the picture, red and black. I did take the bags and passenger set off, gives it a much cleaner look. No one believes it's only a 650, as the size of the bike is so impressive. The shifting is so smooth, I heel shift so I love that it has floor boards.
- Lorie Hofreiter, Manito, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-10 2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first bike. I only had it for six months before I hit a dog and the insurance totalled it. The bike was amazing in curves. It was comfortable for a beginner but was amazing as I got more comfortable riding. Carrying a passenger was easy. So was loading everything I needed for a weekend getaway. Still healing but already looking for my next V STAR!!!
- steve, higginsville, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-20 2009 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a very new rider, only been riding a few months. This bike is the perfect size as far as weight and power. Big enough to keep up with the big boys, yet small enough to not scare me. My husand has a Road Star 1700 and he loves the idea that I have my own bike. It is pretty cool when experienced riders compliment me on what a sweet looking ride I have.
- Frosti, Hughson, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-04 2009 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a new rider I couldn't be happier. The 650 has great power and is easy to handle with good balance and handling. I have rode solo and with the wife on back, the bike handles very well. Purchasing was a great choice, they never pressured me or tried to sell me something I didn't want. On delivery day the salesman went over the bike completely also gave me a 20% discount card for the store along with 2 hats and shirts. Although no one thought I was a biker they are quite impressed by the machine I bought.
- Greg, Amherst, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-02 2005 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third driveshaft bike. MY other two bikes were a gl-500& a 75 goldwing. This bike puts them both to shame. I get mpg of 46 to 71 miles per gallon. This is a solo machine. I removed passenger seat and pegs. It came with saddlebags & windshield. OH by the way I bought my bike on 12-20-08. THANKS KEEP THE DIRTY DOWN!
- dsd, reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-05 2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I bought it on August 31, '07. I've since put more than 800 miles on it, and I absolutely love it. I get compliments on it all the time and people often mistake it for a Harley on first viewing. It's a small displacement bike with the heart and look of a bigger bike. I can't wait for my 1000 mile tune up so I can really open it up on the highway. It is an amazing starter bike. I took the MSF on a 250 Rebel and this was a good step up without being intimidating.
- Jason Hill, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-16 2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't ridden a bike in over twenty years. When I started getting serious about getting another bike, I looked at all makes. I almost bought another bike until I saw the V-Star 650 sitting in the corner. The 650 was almost $600.00 less, and I wasn't giving up that much in engine size. All my other biker friends tried to talk me out of buying such a small bike, but I wanted to ride. I truly love my 650. It has plenty of power to keep up with the big boys, and cost a fraction of what other bikes cost. It is an awesome looking bike and is fairly comfortable. The only issue I have with it is it could use a higher gear. When running over 55mph, I have a tendency to try to shift again. Other than that, it's a great bike.
- Tim Woolsey, Lake Jackson, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-15 2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had looked at bikes for two months. I was worried about getting too small of an engine as many riders told me I needed at least a 750cc. Once I saw it in person and test rode the Silverado I loved it. Yes, it could use another gear on the road and can be cold natured as the weather gets cooler here. The size of motor has not been a problem on local rides even with my wife. I would recommend this bike to anyone not wanting to spend lots of money.
- Randy, Robinson, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-15 2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for 4 months now. I could not be happier with the performance and handling of the cruiser. I will have to agree that when on the interstate it could stand another gear and the seat could be a little more comfortable but other than those two things it is a great bike. I have had several people tell me that it is a great looking bike and a couple of people thought that it was an 1100. I would recommend this bike to anyone that likes to ride and loves cruiser bikes.
- Terry Crouch, Asheville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-19 2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For someone like me who never rode before, when I started looking for a bike and I saw the different prices out there, it really gave me second thoughts about getting one. But, when I saw the 2007 Silverado 650 at the dealer, I could not believe what my eyes were seeing, especially when I saw the MSRP (price). What a beautiful bike and WHAT A PRICE. I then spend a couple of days researching for reviews on this bike and everything I found was positive. The next day I bought the bike and I am in love with it. Thank you Yamaha. You made my dream come true.
- Archie Melendez, Stafford, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-12 2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a 1st time rider and researched before I purchased my 07 V Star Silverado. I have it in the shop for its 600 mile check and miss riding it to work. It is a great looking bike and I get compliments even from people who don't ride. It handles well and has pick up when needed. Great price for the options included (windshield, bags, and sissy seat). My brother in Hawaii thought I got a Harley when I sent him pictures. Nice looking bike with performance.
- James Pajela, Centreville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-29 2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Silverado since March and it has been great! At first I was a little concerned at the slight vibration around 55 miles per hour but after the break in period it slowly faded away. I would recommend this bike to anyone who wants to have fun cruising. Fuel mileage is great! The V Star 650 Silverado is a beautiful and reliable bike!
- Gary, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-27 2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Started riding in '64. Gave it up in '99 but couldn't stand it anymore. Just bought an '06 as a 'last year's model' ... but who can tell? I've ridden American, Japanese, British, German, Spanish and Italian bikes. This is the best yet for pure fun and day trippin'. My only complaint is the windshield that could be better ... but, since many of my bikes didn't even have windshields, it's a minimal inconvenience. The old saying 'Try it, you'll like it' really nails this bike.
- Chip, Wake Forest, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-23 2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't owned a bike in 2 decades but it was time to ride so I started to look. I checked Harley's, Suzuki's, Honda's, Kawasaki's & Yamaha's. It didn't take long to realize that the Yamaha 1100 Siverado was the best bang for the buck and the Blackcherry paint is excellent. I put 560 miles on it in a week. They were not flawless miles though. The stock seat is not suited for long distance riding and I would definitely suggest an aftermarket seat for anything over 50 to 60 miles. Other than the seat, it is outstanding. I have been having a blast with my wife on the bike.
- Robert P. Rowles, Vancouver, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-21 2005 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a 2004 Silverado since it was new three years ago. Put 13,000 plus miles on it adding accessories each summer. The Hard Krome 2.75's added the roar I wanted, added a Kuryakin Hypercharger that added a lot of horsepower noticed mostly when riding two up which is 99 percent of the time. Had the dealer rejet with the hypercharger. I bring the bike to my dealer every three thousand miles for oil change and checkover. At age 57, the comfort of having the bike checked over is worth it to me, and to my wife. We have comfortably ridden up to 375 miles in a day stopping at least once an hour or so. The back tire was replaced at 10,000 miles, the front still okay. This size bike is easy to handle in city traffic, is responsive and will get up and go if I want it to. The gas mileage is decent if I am decent on the throttle. If I were a larger person, I would opt for a Mustang Seat to give both me and my wife a bit more cushion. For all around riding, I love this machine. I don't think I could handle a larger one in city traffic with lots of lights to stop for. Enjoy.
- Butch Viitala, Cook, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-20 2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since I started riding again 8 years ago (now age 55 - which is also my cruising speed) I've had 4 bikes. This one has less torque than the first 3, but I like it best. The power is adequate, even for two. It's smooth, has a lovely baratone growl at high speeds, great comfort, classic looks, and good mileage (55). Most people think it has twice its 650cc displacement by its looks. I bought it 1 year old with 1200mi in October & have driven it about 1000mi before the weather turned cold. I think this one is a keeper. As nothing is perfect: haven't been able to stop the front brake from squeaking and I miss the tach I had on my last bike.
- JWalter, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-19 2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a new '06 Silverado (650cc)last month and have put almost 1,000 miles on it in a bit over 3 weeks. I'm a fairly new rider and appreciate the balance and ease of handling that the V-Star offers. I looked at quite a few bikes before buying the V-Star but I'm glad I went with the Yamaha. My wife and I are already planning a 5 day trip into wild & wonderful West Virginia.
- Bob Dalrymple, Irwin, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-15 2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Silverado is the first bike I have ever owned and rode. It's a great looking bike and I often get compliments on its stylish appearance. It is very comfortable and easy to handle on both local and longer rides. I often take a passenger, and am not lacking for power to pull both. It's just an all around fun bike to ride. Just ask my family. I don't see them that much since I purchased this bike. (LOL)
- Dan Georges, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-01 2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Smooth as glass at any speed up to 90mph, no reason to take it faster yet. The clutch took some getting used to, but once I got found the friction zone it's okay. Very little maintenance required. A beautiful bike. There's a little bit too much plastic, tubeless tires w/ mags vice spokes and a sixth gear would be nice, BUT with this MSRP you have to surrender a bit somewhere. Overall, this is an absolutely fantastic and very fun bike. For the money, I don't see how you can beat it. I ride it every day it isn't actually pouring down rain and get withdrawls on the days when I can't ride. Nearly 2300 miles in about 6 weeks of riding...
- J.D. Carpenter, League City, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-16 2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hadn't ridden in 10 years. I wanted a cruiser so I got the Silverado. With crash guards, pegs, lowers and a Mustang Seat I've created a touring 650. Have no complaints. High end you'll miss the added CCs but since I mostly use it for work it's ok. Rides real nice. Consider forward controls if you are my height but you can't add them with engine guards (except the Yamaha stock ones). You won't regret this ride. 45mpg with windshield and bags. Finding nuetral can be tough.
- Scott Winter, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-04 2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The V star 650 is just right for Me and I love it. It handles great and looks great to. Theres not much I'd change on the bike maybe new Pipes and a rack on the back. I will mostly ride it to work, and just short trips after work and on my days off it's just fun to get out and Ride again.
- Russ Sexton, Grand Rapids, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-08 2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been 24 years since I sold my 73 RD350 and this bike is so much more comfortable. The handle bars are easier on the shoulders than my old bike with a 2 inch setback. The footboards allow for comfortable leg and foot positioning. I am disappointed that there is no oil dipstick and you have to have the bike standing straight up to look at the glass port at the crankcase bottom. Not an easy thing to check on your own on the road without a center stand. It does rumble a little bit when you reach 60 mph but not afterwards. Overall, I love this bike and find it an acceptable size. I get many compliments on its style.
- ghosthawk, Louisville, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-13 2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, as I have never ridden before, other than a rare mini or dirt bike here and there. Saying that, I've found this to be a very smooth handling bike. There is a little vibration at around 60-65 MPH on the highway, but other than that, the bike runs and rides very well. After a 125 mile ride two weeks ago, my tail bone ached quite a bit, but that was more from being a new rider than from bike comfort. A new saddle may be in my future! I have received quite a few compliments on the bike, especially since the Silverado package looks so great! I am contemplating a few accessories, though, like changing the turn signals to the Arlen Ness medium sized turn signals, removing the windshield faring, and I'm contemplating changing the pipes within the next year to one of several different manufacturers. I'm also considering adding some more chrome, and in the long run, a possible paint change with some custom graphics. This bike is primed to be ridden just as is, or to be changed and added to. I really like the product, and, for the money, I think that this bike stacks up well to the Honda and other competition.
- Patrick, Siloam Springs, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: