Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha V Star Silverado reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

59 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Aaron

Sherwood, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2011-05-17

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I only had the bike about four days now. I've put about 120 miles on it since I picked it up. I had an 2007 Virago 250 that I rode for years. It was a great starter bike. i just finally found a bike that I liked just as well that was bigger.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Karl

Highland, Michigan

Reviewed on 2010-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike since 1972. I love the bike for around town riding, but it needs more power and a sixth gear on the expressway, as it suffers from slight engine vibration @ 70mph and above. It is also a little on the light side for serious long distance highway travel. It is an outstanding value, if one isn't looking for a strict long distance tourer. Overall, I'm happy with it, as I don't currently have the time to do long distance touring. When I do, I will be moving up to a bigger bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lorie Hofreiter

Manito, Illinois

Reviewed on 2010-04-22

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I got my license at the end of last summer, didn't have a bike yet so I rode my sister's 2001 V-Star Classic. I felt totally comfortable on it. It fit my frame well and was not too heavy for me. I just bought a bike for myself, the 2004 V-star Silverado. Love it, just like the picture, red and black. I did take the bags and passenger set off, gives it a much cleaner look. No one believes it's only a 650, as the size of the bike is so impressive. The shifting is so smooth, I heel shift so I love that it has floor boards.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

steve

higginsville, Missouri

Reviewed on 2009-10-10

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This was my first bike. I only had it for six months before I hit a dog and the insurance totalled it. The bike was amazing in curves. It was comfortable for a beginner but was amazing as I got more comfortable riding. Carrying a passenger was easy. So was loading everything I needed for a weekend getaway. Still healing but already looking for my next V STAR!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Frosti

Hughson, California

Reviewed on 2009-07-20

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am a very new rider, only been riding a few months. This bike is the perfect size as far as weight and power. Big enough to keep up with the big boys, yet small enough to not scare me. My husand has a Road Star 1700 and he loves the idea that I have my own bike. It is pretty cool when experienced riders compliment me on what a sweet looking ride I have.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg

Amherst, Ohio

Reviewed on 2009-06-04

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As a new rider I couldn't be happier. The 650 has great power and is easy to handle with good balance and handling. I have rode solo and with the wife on back, the bike handles very well. Purchasing was a great choice, they never pressured me or tried to sell me something I didn't want. On delivery day the salesman went over the bike completely also gave me a 20% discount card for the store along with 2 hats and shirts. Although no one thought I was a biker they are quite impressed by the machine I bought.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

dsd

reno, Nevada

Reviewed on 2009-05-02

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my third driveshaft bike. MY other two bikes were a gl-500& a 75 goldwing. This bike puts them both to shame. I get mpg of 46 to 71 miles per gallon. This is a solo machine. I removed passenger seat and pegs. It came with saddlebags & windshield. OH by the way I bought my bike on 12-20-08. THANKS KEEP THE DIRTY DOWN!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason Hill

Los Angeles, California

Reviewed on 2007-12-05

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike and I bought it on August 31, '07. I've since put more than 800 miles on it, and I absolutely love it. I get compliments on it all the time and people often mistake it for a Harley on first viewing. It's a small displacement bike with the heart and look of a bigger bike. I can't wait for my 1000 mile tune up so I can really open it up on the highway. It is an amazing starter bike. I took the MSF on a 250 Rebel and this was a good step up without being intimidating.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim Woolsey

Lake Jackson, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-09-16

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I haven't ridden a bike in over twenty years. When I started getting serious about getting another bike, I looked at all makes. I almost bought another bike until I saw the V-Star 650 sitting in the corner. The 650 was almost $600.00 less, and I wasn't giving up that much in engine size. All my other biker friends tried to talk me out of buying such a small bike, but I wanted to ride. I truly love my 650. It has plenty of power to keep up with the big boys, and cost a fraction of what other bikes cost. It is an awesome looking bike and is fairly comfortable. The only issue I have with it is it could use a higher gear. When running over 55mph, I have a tendency to try to shift again. Other than that, it's a great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy

Robinson, Illinois

Reviewed on 2007-09-15

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had looked at bikes for two months. I was worried about getting too small of an engine as many riders told me I needed at least a 750cc. Once I saw it in person and test rode the Silverado I loved it. Yes, it could use another gear on the road and can be cold natured as the weather gets cooler here. The size of motor has not been a problem on local rides even with my wife. I would recommend this bike to anyone not wanting to spend lots of money.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1 - 10 of 59 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: