Yamaha Vino 125 Motorcycles Reviews (21)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Vino 125 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Vino 125 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-05-10 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's just a smooth ride at 55/60 and the handling is great. I have had several scooters. The Vino is the best all around for me.
- ray, waynesville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-01 2004 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this scooter for my girlfriend to ride around the neighborhood on. She now has competition, as I too like tooling around on our Vino 125. It's a simple, yet reliable bike that just brings a smile to your face every time you ride it. It has no problem keeping up with city traffic. In fact, it is quite quick off a light, usually leaving other motorists behind until they've had a chance to catch up. This bike is great and I highly recommend it to others.
- Brad, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-08 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this for my son last year because his 50cc Vino slowed down so much when going up hills that he was holding up traffic. I didn't realize until we parked it next to the 50cc Vino that it is quite a bit bigger. I am short and can barely tippy toe touch the ground on it while sitting at edge of the seat. My inseam is 29". It rides great for a scooter and has a lot of pick-up when taking off. I think that it would feel more stable if it had bigger wheels though. The battery is easy to reach if you need to recharge it, unlike our 50cc Vino. The styling is nice, and I like the choice of kickstands. It seems weird to me that it will not start if the kickstand is down. This is inconvenient for me, because it is hard for me to use the kick start without the kickstand being down. We bought this used and it has always been a little trouble to start. We usually have to kick start it while pressing the starter button. The housing for the headlight is really expensive if you run into the wall and break it like my son did. I think it may have to stay broken unless he wants to pay $250 for a new one. The front leg shield was also cracked, but it is under $100 to replace that. Go figure.
- Terri, North Little Rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-11 2008 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I loved my Vino 125. It had the get up and go speed but it did start to drag after 45 mph. I had the top speed at 65 mph down hill, 50 up hill and 55 on the straight away. It's great for around town. I even took it on the highway for about 50 miles and had no trouble. It's a lot of fun. I traded it for a Majesty 400CC. I wanted more power but the Vino was enough power for me. It has great handling manuevers. It's excellent, it's just an easy riding bike and turns a lot of heads. Even the die-hard Harley fans loved my Vino 125. From 0 to 45 it has a lot of zip. I was getting about 80 mpg. I wish I never traded it. The Majesty was a great upgrade but didn't manuever like the Vino. I totalled the Majesty three weeks after I bought it. I wasn't used to the power difference. But in my opinion you can't go wrong with any Yamaha product. Plus Yamaha has no problem getting parts.
- DAVE STRAUBE, FAIRFIELD, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-28 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
No issues, has been a complete pleasure just wish the seat was a little more cushy for the tushy on the long runs.
- Kevin, Center Moriches, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-23 2007 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Vino! As soon as it's warm enough and it isn't raining, I'm riding. I commute to work, go shopping and run errands. It is a comfortable ride and NEVER fails to start. It is great on gas (I love watching someone filling an SUV next to my scooter; I always get jealous looks).
- pward2001, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-28 2007 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got lucky and got a great deal on my Vino 125. A guy bought it and for medical reasons had to let it go at 300 miles. I live in PA where it gets a bit cool and I bought it in November, but with the windshield on it, I've been getting some riding in. I am coming up on my first oil change soon. It seems to be breaking in well. No problems at all on it. At 250 lbs, it still keeps up with traffic! I've had bruiser bikes all my life and this is my first scooter and I love it. It is so easy to get around on, and easy on gas. A 30 pack fits perfectly on the floorboard and with a shoulder bag or backpack I can carry a good bit. It would be nice to see more quality luggage rack options but I'd recommend this machine to anybody. Everyone wants to buy mine!
- Bikerider, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-03 2007 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I purchased 2 Yamaha Vino 125s (Blue & Silver) last July and have had a blast on them. I have a big motorcycle for the freeway and commuting but wanted my wife to enjoy the 2 wheel life too and she could not find a motorcycle low and light enough to feel confident on so we looked at scooters. We chose a Yamaha for the price, look and performance. The Italian scooters are nice but we did not want to pay the price. We purchased 2 Vino 125s and have been on them daily. This is my wife's first 2 wheel bike and she loves it. Husbands, if you want to have fun with your wife-long companion get a scooter. These Yamaha Vinos are excellent scooters. They look and perform great. Yes, there is a break-in period of 600 miles but we just woke up early each morning and went for short rides and the mileage came quickly. They really break-in nice and really pickup the performance. We have windshields on ours and bought some extra chrome additions from Yamaha. I like the electric pop-up seat and who cares if the gas cap is under the back rack. I don't use the back rack for anything but strapping light loads to it. I don't want to permanently attach a trunk to it. Anyway, with 85 to 90 mpg we can't gripe. My wife always has a smile on her face and prefers her scooter to the car to go on the short trips to the mall or store.
- Bill, Citrus Heights, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-06 2005 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this scooter for my wife in 2004. They had allocated very few to the dealers in America according to the salesman who sold it to us. We bought it from a Yamaha dealer in Tulsa, OK for my wife to use as a commuter vehicle to work, which was less than 2 miles away. The drive was hilly, uphill to work and downhill back home. I was attracted to it because it was a 125cc rather than most scooters, which are usually around 50cc. I figured the 125 cc's would have a better punch, and be safer. It turned out that I was right. Little Gina does not have the punch of a 125 cc motorcycle but is very impressive both in town and on the back roads and highways. This fall we will have owned it for 4 years and have only had to replace the battery. I suspect we would not have had to do that if we would have used her more. We have since moved to Indianapolis. My wife still works but I am retired, working part-time at Home Depot. I use Gina as a commuter vehicle to my work, which is also less that 2 miles away from our house. I will conclude in guiltily saying that we have not had her back to the dealer since we bought her and she still runs like a champ even though she doesn't get used very much, which, as some of you know, can be hard on scooters or motorcyles.
- William C Davis, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-06 2007 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2007 Vino 125 used (only 93 miles) to ride back and forth to my office, about 25 miles round trip. I already had a 650 motorcycle. I have had so much fun on my scooter that I sold my motorcycle and I don't miss it. I have read a lot of reviews on this scooter with people getting 70 to 80 mpg but I am averaging 90 mpg. I can easily keep up with traffic but I don't push to stay up on the little stretch of 55mph that I drive so maybe that's why I get such good gas mileage. I have only filled it up 9 times and it seems to get a little better gas mileage each time. I love this scooter and would highly recommend it.
- Brenda, Tallahassee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-25 2007 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My girlfriend bought this about four months ago because we could not afford a car any more, and we are already nearing 2000 miles. There have been aboslutly no problems. Both my girlfriend and I are small so we can fit on it slightly comfortably, but it would be hard if she wasn't only 100lbs. I've got it up to 56 with the wind at my back and it tops out between 42 and 47 with two people depending on the wind. Always gets me about 80mpg. For commuting, shopping, and just riding you can get almost everywhere with out a car. For shopping don't forget about all that extra room you have between your feet...
- Scott, Daytona Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-01 2007 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I just brought home two identical scooters. In the early going, they have surpassed all of my expectations. I haven't completed the long break in period (600 miles) so I haven't come close to opening up the throttle but the bike cruises easily at 30-40 mph without giving it a lot of gas, even with my bulk. I love the long, flat seat which enables me to sit back and find a very comfortable riding position. Loud turn signal indicator makes it impossible for a beginner to forget to cancel the signal. Reasonable storage space, good brakes and headlight. Starts instantly when cold; you sometimes have to blip the throttle when starting it warm. Great dealer experience. It's hard to justify paying more for the most comparable Vespa (150cc vs. 125cc for the Vino). The metal bodied Vespa is a little nicer but not worth the price difference. The Chinese imports on e-bay are a lot cheaper but who will set up the bike and parts sound iffy. Also, do you want to worry about the quality of structural components when your life is on the line and Chinese manufacturers are willing to add melamine to wheat gluten put in food because it's cheaper? It seems worth it to spend the extra money to get the reputation of Yamaha and great dealer service.
- Ken Taub, New York City, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-29 2007 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great city commuter. Here in Duluth, a 50 cc scooter would have trouble with our hills. Will exceed 50 mph on flat ground. Consistently gets 75+ mpg, no reliability problems. Easy to ride, easy to park, can hold gallon of milk in the seat compartment. The front disc brakes are a vast improvement over the drums on 50 cc scooters. Even my motorcycle phobic wife enjoys this scooter. Love my Honda 1100 cruiser, but prefer the Vino for short trips around town. don't know why more riders with large bikes don't get scooters as well. Why ride a dressed Harley one mile to the grocery? Caveat, if you want to ride two up, get a larger scooter.
- Don Miller, Duluth, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-08 2004 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got the scooter on the road. The winter is almost over and I am very anxious to use the bike as much as possible. As I am the second owner, I took the bike into my basement workshop and with downloaded manual proceed to service and learn as much as possible. I am very impressed with the quality of construction and over all design of the Vino. Also had occasion to call the Yamaha help line and found them to be very helpful. I'm a little 'shakey' in traffic at the moment, as it has been many years since I drove a bike. Last time was in the 60's and now I'm over 60! But what a fun ride...makes me feel like a kid again. So far I am staying on back roads to my daughters house to babysit my grandchildren. I really like this bike and the feeling of freedom that retirement and the scooter bring into my life. I'll service it myself as much as possible, and enjoy taking it apart as much as riding it. Old guys are like that I guess..
- J. Mahan, Kanata, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-07 2004 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding motorcycles for the last 25-years and there are two products that I use and recommend to all riders: 1- 'Stabil' or similar product in your gas tank. Many people don't realize that stagnant gasoline will start going bad in as little as a month. Once this happens, bad gas will start gumming up and getting a varnish like smell and texture. This will clog up, very quickly, your carburetor, gas lines and carburetor jets. Once this happens, your scooter will be hard to start, or it will just not start at all! This product is sold in many auto part stores and places like WalMart for a few bucks...believe me, a lot cheaper than rebuilding a carburator. Product #2: 'Battery Tender'. About $30+ for the Junior model. Hook up the permanent cable to the battery of the scooter and then hook it up to the Battery Tender (very easy to do), every time you park it at home. It will keep you battery fully charged at all times. It also monitors electronically, the battery charge and will prevent over-charging or over-boiling of the battery. Never have to worry about a dead battery again. don't forget to check the oil level and keep up the tire pressure up to specs. Have fun riding and be safe!
- Angelo, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-26 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Vino 125 by Yamaha is a fun little ride! It corners great, is comfortable, gets great gas mileage, and with the windscreen, gets going down the road at 53 mph easily. So far I like it a lot.
- Paul Simonson, Arroyo Grande, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-26 2004 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just a few words - my first Vino 125 review was on 12-26-03 when I received it brand new. Now 1-26-07, 3 years 1 month later I am still very impressed with the Vino 125 and have not out-grown its performance. I am still on the OEM tires and belts. I have over 7K trouble free miles on the scooter. I use it for short hoops and road trips.
- Gubernaculum, YL, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-08 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for something that would do at least 40 plus mph cruising speed and it has that and more. But needed to slow her down after a very short time to continue my break in period in which I already had 200 miles on it. 0 to 30 is great too. It will keep a head of traffic at 30 to 35 mph. I have a windshield too! P.S. I love it, bought it brand new Sept 2006 from a dealer.
- gene maas, highland, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-01 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has great gas mileage (about 80 miles per gallon). In city driving, I keep up with traffic pretty well. It has excellent handling. It is also a head turner!
- sylvain, sherbrooke, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-30 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So the first 600 miles (the break in period) are sort of a drag. No running at high speeds for long periods are a thing of the past now that mine is completely broken in. It gains 5 mph easy for top speed and accelerates much smoother and quicker. MPG are in the realm of 75-80. I still think the gas tank could be larger than 1.2 gallons, although it is funny leaving the gas station after filling up with premium for less than $3 bucks. One thing I noticed recently is the exhaust sounds louder after being broken in. At 50mph, the engine cannot be heard at all because of the wind. Just recently purchased a 1 gallon gas can that I mount on the accessory rack with a bungee cord for the long trips into remote areas. I've rode my scooter along the Pacific Coast Highway 1 right along with traffic no problem. Took a ride from Ventura to Santa Monica on 1 tank of gas! This scooter does great in the hills and is a blast to ride through canyons. Top speed I've hit is 60mph on a slight downhill with no wind. On flat ground with no breeze, it can hit about 52-55mph at full throttle. Before the break in period you'll be able to hit 45-50. Night riding is also great fun, and the headlights are extremely bright and light up the entire road no problem. I'll be selling my scooter soon to upgrade to either a 250cc or 400cc for longer rides & freeway driving.
- DJ Mike, Ventura, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-23 2004 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I live in Florida in the winter and up north in the summer, so I have my Vino parked for a few months when I head north. The first time I parked it for about two months, the float stuck. Then, after getting it unstuck, the engine was so lean it wouldn't run. The pilot and main jets were gummed up to where it wouldn't run from the evaporation of one bowl of gas. About three hours later, it is running fine, but I now know to drain the carb when I'm going to let the bike sit. Other than that, the bike has been flawless and is a fun way to get around for short trips where the ~50mph top speed is adequate. This bike is basically a 'fast moped.' It is too small for riding two up, unless the driver and passenger are both very small. The suspension works fine for my 150 pounds, but would be taxed with 300 pounds. If I were using the scooter for 'do everything' transportation I would have gotten a bigger bike with a bigger engine, but I have a motorcycle for going faster and farther. For running around town, the Vino is way more fun than the motorcycle, and is totally effortless to ride. It has some storage under the seat, and you can carry stuff between your feet on the flat foot board. I'd like a bigger gas tank though. It only holds a little over a gallon, so fuel stops are frequent for the distance ridden.
- Kit Gerhart, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: