Yamaha Virago 250 Motorcycles Reviews (63)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Virago 250 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Virago 250 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-02-21 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Yamaha Virago 250 January 4th, 2008 and I love it. It has a great sound, plenty of power, and gets 74 mpg. I have been driving it through local streets speed of up to 35 mph, and Palisades's parkway at speeds of 65 mph with no problem. I can't wait for spring and summer so I can drive it to work (about 40 miles each way) and all weekend long.
- Vasilios, Fort Lee, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-04 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike after the MSF course. It was the best of the beginner bikes that I tested. I commute 40 miles a day and wanted a comfortable bike with great gas mileage. The Virago 250 was the answer. It is very comfortable for tall riders! It rides well in the city and along the access roads to I-20. I may get a larger motorcycle later but will keep the 250!!
- Matt Spears, Abilene, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-03 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode 15 years ago and decided that at 35 I was getting too old. Now at 53 I purchased a Virago. I ride it round trip through the canyon to work. Excellent ride, great control, I just love it.
- Paula Gebo, Bellvue, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-25 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 250 Virago. I purchased it in April 2006 and got my endorsement the end of May 2006. Traveled 500 mile days on road trips and was sad to put it away at a balmy 43 degrees last fall. I am a smaller framed woman and would recommend this bike for short or long trips. If there would be 10 stars I would definitely rate this bike 10 stars - I love my bike!
- Byrdie, Hibbing, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-11 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got this bike used right after taking the MSF course. It has been an absolute delight to learn on. It handles well. I've even had my 5-9 girlfriend on the back a few times, and it still moves OK. It zips around the city fine, but big highway and interstate driving is a stretch and not very comfortable on this smaller bike. Is not too heavy. Has the best ergonomics and sound of all starter bikes. You do pay for it, but I think it's worth it. However, if you are into bikes, you will outgrow it quickly. I'm getting a Shadow or V-Star now. Maybe I should have gotten that first and skipped the Virago, but there was one or two times where I almost lost my balance and dropped this bike while stopped. I held it up, but I don't know if I could have done that with a Shadow or V-Star.
- Dusty, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-09 2005 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Virago after buying and selling a Suzuki 250 I wasn't happy with. The Yamaha has good sounding pipes for a 250 unlike the other makes out there. I took my motorcycle test on this bike and it is perfect for that You can really handle a bike this size. I hope to buy a V-Star Silverado someday but this bike is great for now. Oh yea - I changed out the ugly stock mirrors with some aftermarkets I found on ebay - that's my only dislike about this bike.
- Brandon Wagner, Lancaster, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-20 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't ridden a motorcycle for almost 25 years. I did own a Virago 700 in the 80's and loved it. Why not choose one now? I am getting older and getting arthritis in my ankles and feet so I chose a light-weight to get my feet wet on. After looking at the Honda, I thought the Virago was much more pleasing to the eyes and ears, and after all, I owned one before, although it was a 700. I LOVE THIS BIKE!! I usually stay within 10 miles of home, and only been on the freeway once. It did seem a little busy and stressed above 60mph, but for the majority of my trips, it works well. I may, in the future, go for the V-Star Classic or Custom, but for now I am extremely happy with my choice of the Virago.
- Ron B., Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-09 2002 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After several trips to dealers who wanted to put me on bigger bikes because of my size I finally told them that I need to start small to improve my skill level. I was intrested in a cruiser style with the intention of getting a bigger m/c as my novice skill improved. The Yamaha Virago 250 met all my requirements. It is big enough for my height and weight. The engine has taken me up to 75mph on the interstate. The down sides include the seat, no tach, and a serious need for a 6th gear. Pluses include power, style(everyone thinks its a bigger bike), handling and fuel economy (71mpg average).
- Fightntiger, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-09 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am brand new to motorcycling. I took the MSF course in August and had been looking at machines for close to three months. I looked at just about everything manufactured and decided on purchasing the Yamaha Virago. The fit and finish on this bike is amazing considering its low cost and metric displacement. The performance is better than I would have expected. For a first bike or for a commuter bike, this machine is excellent. Eventually, I want to upgrade to something bigger but this bike will last me a few years. I get many compliments about the appearance of my Yamaha. Most people are shocked that is only a 250.
- Jason, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-04 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After looking at Honda, Suzuki and Yamaha 250cc's sized motorcycles, I ended up purchasing the 06 Virago 250 a few months ago. Even though the Virago had the highest price, it looked like what I thought a motorcycle should look like, even for a little 250cc. So far, I have no real complaints. The fit and finish is far better than the others I considered. The Virago runs fine and handles nicely. I have about 400 miles on it so far and all is well. However, while cleaning the Virago recently, I had occasion to look under her and discovered that the rear cylinder chrome exhaust pipe is a PHONEY! That was a real surprise and disappointment! This is especially true since the Yamaha product Features description for this machine touted: Beautiful dual chrome exhaust pipes let the engine breathe and put out that classic V-twin rumble. Whatever happened to truth in advertising? Granted, the Virago does sound better than it's competition, but I foolishly expected it to have a REAL dual exhaust system. Instead, I got a strange looking small diameter curly black pipe that comes from the trailing cylinder which is then hid under the bike. That nice big fat fake chrome pipe coming from the rear cylinder is just for everyone else to look at. In addition, it appears that BOTH functioning exhaust pipes first direct the exhaust from the cylinders into the lower muffler, then route some exhaust back up into the top muffler. Not sure why. But this is not dual exhaust as I've always understood it. My point here is that while I still like this little motorcycle and it will provide me the intended local ride I want, had I known about this deception, I probably would NOT have bought it. I don't like phonies! There, now I feel better.
- Ray Bukovi, New Carlisle, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-01 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got my 2007 Virago 2 days ago. Already have 100 miles on it. I love it. Has plenty of power for someone my size. As long as you are not a speed freak. Very easy to shift. Very easy to learn to ride. This was my first bike ever. I bought it on Wednesday, first time ever to ride a bike was the Sunday before. No problems getting the hang of it. Recomend to any beginner.
- Pete, Bentonville, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-27 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2007 Virago for 3 weeks and love it. This 250 does not look like a 250, it looks bigger. People always think it is more that a 600. I have gotten many compliments including the "motorcycle wave" from HD riders. I driver to and from work everyday for 30 total miles. I drive through the city so the highest I get is 60mph. This bike can get up to 65mph, but does not have any thing left after that. So if you're cruising on the highway and need to get out of trouble, it becomes difficult. Cruising on the highway during rush hour is not bad since everybody is going 45-50mph. Very easy to learn and ride. When I bought this bike I had zero experience on a bike. Never rode a bike in my life. Three days later I was on the road. Only pit fall with this bike is that I would like the seat to be further back so that I can extend my legs a bit more. It is the perfect bike.
- AM, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-25 2005 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in Sept.05 and it has been a great bike so far. Great gas mileage,and just plain fun to ride. I will probably get something bigger later on but right now I enjoy this bike. don't think I'll ever get rid of it. Thanks YAMAHA!!!
- scott, phenix, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-20 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started off by taking the MSF course, and chose the Virago due to its similarity to the bikes I learned on there. In my opinion it is the best of the Japanese 250 cruiser-style bikes because of its V-twin engine configuration. The bike has treated me well and does exactly what I want it to do, which is basically to make short commutes and day trips. Also to teach me how to ride. Reliability has been top-notch with no problems whatsoever. I have even dropped it twice with no damage. I am docking it a point on performance because it feels strained above 65 mph. Also one point on comfort due to the lack of wind protection. These two factors prevent me from traveling more than a few miles on interstates. Also at 6'1" I wish there was more room between the seat and foot pegs, but this is not too bad. Fuel injection would be nice for cool weather, but is unlikely to happen at this price point. My eventual goal is to ride a high-end super sport, but I am certain that starting small was the right decision. Riding is interesting and fun for me even on an entry-level bike, and after a year of this I will be able to move up a step with confidence. If I had to start all over again I would make the same choice and get a Virago.
- Anonymous, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-30 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a used 2002 Virago 250 this Spring (06)with 1,600 miles on it and have already doubled that. I was very surprised by the power this little 250 puts out. It gets over 80 mpg everytime I fill it up. I drive mixed city and country roads so I couldn't ask for better gas milage. I took it up on the interstate and got blown around so I took the next exit. Not going up there again with this bike. It's just not heavy enough for that kind of road but that's why it gets great gas milage. My only complaint with this bike is it does not turn into my driveway when I want to go home. It just keeps going by my house and I have to loop around the city a few more times or maybe take a cool ride down by the reservoir. One time I drove by the house three times before it would let me pull into my drive. I'm gonna check with Yamaha to see why this happens. that's what I tell my wife anyway when I'm late getting home. I bought this bike with plans in getting a larger one someday but if that day never comes. I'll get foward controls to stretch out more. I'm very happy with my Virago 250 and would recommend it for a first motorcycle if you're under 5'10".
- SL, Worcester, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-21 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
haven't ridden in 35 years (had a Suzuki 90). This is a wonderful bike! The price is right, the look is awesome, great lines, dual exhausts, V-twin, spokes etc. Runs and handles like a dream, very responsive. Now that gas is over $3.00/gal, who can complain. No problems yet; just returned for break-in service (FYI: which is going to take about a week!). Gave a "4" on the comfort as the passenger seat is a little small for my wife's bottom :) but (no pun intended) she won't be riding that much anyway. Picture does not show the dual mirrors that are included.
- Jim S, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-10 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At 48 it was now or never. didn't want to spend too much if I was going to chicken out. Started out real slow but what a confidence builder. Looking at the 1100s now. Will hit 60 with no trouble but I feel bad for it after a while, sounds over taxed. Put 130 miles on it 1 day & stopped at the gas station, only took 1.25 gallons. Love this little guy but dying for something bigger so I can go even farther. Would deffiniately recommend as a starter for a first timer. Looks great too, like a big bike with its V-twin.
- Janet Paterson, West Grove, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-01 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike new yesterday and already ridden 100 miles, excellent bike looks like a big bike but handles very easily. Only had a couple problems but nothing major and the dealer should be able to take care of them, the idle is a little to low and loads up plus it's running a little rich. The back running lights are not on when switch on. But other than those couple of things this bike is a dream on back roads running 50-60mph. I've never ridden a bike before but this bike gives you a ton of confidence. But it may not be wise to run along on a large freeway only good for in town and back roads that's the reason for the 4 star performance. Great Bike.
- Bo, hazlehurst, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-07 2004 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my virago for 2 years now and ride every day that I can. I made some sprocet changes and now my cruising speed has increased a lot and so has my gas milage. My wife rides a rebel 250 and there is really no comparison. The virago compares more to the 750 size bikes except for the gas milage which is constantly over 80 m.p.g I have been saving close to $1000.00 per year in gas expense, it will soon pay for itself.
- Marty, Elizabeth, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-05 2005 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got my V250. Great starter bike as everyone else notes. Handles great and has no problem getting up to hwy speeds. Alittle too light on the major highways as I found out. Got tossed around alot and even felt I might fly off the ground once. The bike sounds good and looks great, but country roads and around town is the best thing for this bike. Anything else, may be asking a bit much.
- Lawrence Davis, Indy, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-22 2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After not riding for 20+ years I chose the Virago 250 to get back into motorcycle riding again. I think it's a great choice. It's small enough to build confidence yet zippy enough for even a big guy. Very happy with this choice.
- Gene Robinson, Pocono Pines, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-16 2005 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't rode a motorcycle since I was a teenager and I decided to get back on two wheels. I purchased my kick butt little cruiser in March 2005 with no regrets. I passed my road test on the first attempt, and have been riding every day since (with the exception of rainy days). It can get up and go. I have taken it above 85mph and wasn't to full throttle but decided the ticket wasn't worth it so I throttled down. I get 60mpg and tons of compliments on the looks and sound. The weight was my concern because in the upper mid-west, the wind kicks up a little so I have been tossed around pretty good. I gave the Virago to my wife who desperately wants to learn to ride... it is the perfect cycle for that. I just purchased a 1986 Honda Shadow VT700C and love it. The Virago is a great bike for the price. If you're just looking to cruise in town without any long trips, this bike is for you. Happy riding!
- Mike P, Moorhead, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-03 2004 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hi, I just purchased the bike to go back and forth to college about 50 miles round trip.The speed limit is 70 mph, I have been riding the back roads the first few days a little intimidated about the 18 wheelers. Well today I rode on the interstate (got stuck behind a garbage truck lucky me)the two things that scare me are other drivers and wind.I think this is an awesome bike, great on gas.And dont forget the V twin.
- Mandy, New Orleans, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-17 2005 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is great bike. It rides nice and has more than enough power to run with bigger bikes. I ride with a group of six other riders all with bikes well above 650cc. We roll every weekend and I have yet to be left behind; in fact I'm the lead bike more times than knot. We cruse at 65-75 miles per hours. I'm having great fun on my 2005 Yamaha Virago 250. It's light, quick and powerful. I recommend this bike highly. The best little known fact about the bike is it sounds great too!!!
- s. Lovince, san antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-24 2005 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2005 Virago last October. I found it very easy to ride as a beginner. My confidence level climbed quickly. I rode all kinds of roads. I rode with a group that included a couple of Fat Boys. They were surprised at how well this bike moved. I have now moved up to a 650 V-Star. I miss my "little kick butt" cruiser. The weight was perfect for a short rider. The ride on the bigger bike is not that much better. I did not find a lot of vibration at 70 mph as the other reviewer did.
- Patricia Funari, Decatur, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: