Yamaha Virago 535 Motorcycles Reviews (14)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Virago 535 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Virago 535 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-08-30 1999 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 1996 Virago from the original owner a few weeks ago. He had kept it garaged and in perfect condition with only 3390 miles on it when I bought it. The longest ride I have gone on so far is about 60 miles. I am getting about 48 mpg. It handles like a dream and has plenty of power. It is a little light for any serious rides on the freeway, but it will cruise at 75 mph without any problem. I am loving it!
- Brady Jensen, Idaho Falls, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-11 2000 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just want to tell you guys that there is no better starting and mid size bike than the Virago. In fact, I have always been a fan of Hondas, but I fell in love with this bike. 750cc is a great size, lots of power for the city and looks great. Mine still runs and looks like new with 14000 miles. I got married a few month ago, but for the last 4ys of single life, I can't tell you how many compliments I have received from this bike! In fact,it has so much chrome on it that I had many girls asked me if it is a Harley. The height is excellent, good ground clearence and the weight of it is perfect to manuver around traffic. The only thing negative about this bike would be for a long road trip. It will go 70 miles p/h on the highway for as long as you want, but due to the size of the engine you will feel the vibration and it will tire you some. If you plan to take a lot of trips more than 60 miles than get something bigger like a 1200cc. But if you are thinking about buying something on 750cc size, go ahead and get a Virago. I have been riding motorcycles for 24 ys, since I was 15ys old. I have owned 5 different cruisers and this has been the best one yet.
- David, New Orleans, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-19 1999 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although I've been a dirt rider for over 30 years, I'd never owned a street bike until I came across a brand new, left-over 1996 model at a local dealer 3 years ago. What a gas! Enough power for most of the back roads, light, comfortable, and absolutely bullet-proof. Only problems I've noticed are: 1. the skinny front tire doesn't like the rain grooves on Oregon freeways, but since I avoid those whenever possible (in favor of rural two lane stuff) that's fine by me; and 2. the small gas tank reaches reserve too quickly (at about 120 miles). Looking to move to a larger bike now that I have some street time behind me, but I'll be keeping this little gem as a back-up and a spare for my bike-less friends to learn on.
- Mike, Gladstone, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-23 2000 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 1990 yamaha 535 virago.Purchased used in 1990 from dealer with 1900 miles. Now the bike has 15000 miles.This bike performs great in the city or highway.The engine has a big heart,acts bigger then a 500cc.Open the throttle at 55mph and you will be suprised.Never put wrench on this bike accept routine maint.Great bike for shorter of inseam.
- Bobby Hinkey, New Martinsville, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-16 2000 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took the Safety Council riding course in April'01 and purchased my Virago 535s in May. Since then, I've put on 3300kms. Mine is burgundy and silver with extra chrome. Although it's a 1994 model, I get constantly asked if it's a new bike! It's dependable, easy to ride and the 535cc engine is plenty for city riding. Highly recommend it for a beginner or smaller size rider.
- Joe, Vancouver

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-31 2000 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Has more horsepower than the v-star 650, and some 750cc cruisers. Great fuel mileage, dependable, low maintenance, shaft driven bike. I'm 6'2" and I ride hundreds of miles on some days. Handles better than most cruisers because of higher ground clearance and slightly shorter wheelbase. 2001 model still sold in Europe although the 2000 was the last year in U.S. I don't think you will be disappointed if you find a used one. Great bike for shorter individuals also because of low seat height and ease of handling. Get this bike!
- GJoyce, Mayodan, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-26 2000 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a '96 XV535 Special edition when I had absolutely no riding experience at all. I bought it because I heard it was a good beginner's bike. I very much enjoyed learning to ride on this bike. I put around 5000 miles on it, when I realized I needed more power. It's great for cruising around town on nice summer nights, but if you ever want to take a trip somewhere, you might want to consider something else. I rode back 300 miles or so out of Chicago to Detroit on I-80 to I-94 averaging 80mph and at the end of the trip my oil was black as can be. Did the same trip on my recently acquired '92 CB750 Nighthawk, averaging around 85mph and the engine loved it. One thing about the XV535 Special Edition though - it has the most comfortable stock seat ever! The little trips I took with my friends, whenever they were complaining about their posteriors aching, I was doing just fine!
- Rich Poole, Ypsilanti, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-02 2000 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Found this 1995 SV stored in a warehouse with 940 miles on it. (owner really wanted a four-wheel ATV) Bought it for a couple of thousand and have been grinning ever since. It cruises easily at interstate speeds and gives 50 mpg with a large windshield, what more could you want? Although its not a Harley-hog clone its not heavy and cumbersome as they are either. The light and easy handling makes tours and town cruising sheer pleasure. With a care free ignition system, air cooling (no water to leak) and shaft drive.....the only thing left is to enjoy the winding road. The only possible gripe is the undersized fuel tank. With about one more gallon this would be hard mid-cruiser to beat. The irony of it all is that Yamaha has discontined the 535's as of 2000! I suppose todays buyers only want a bike if it looks like a Harley. Personally, I think they handle like a two-wheeled Buick, not my idea of a flickable bike.
- Jerry, Jennings, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
rides a 97 model. reckon it is best priced cruiser in malaysia as it is CKD model (more story of that below). has given years of problem free and satisfying riding. recently added a cobra pipes for more 'omph' sound as the original muffler is way too quiet the 'big' bikes (250cc and above) market in Malaysia is effectively dead with dealers still trying to clear 94(!)-97 models. the death sentence was sealed with the 97 economy crash ..no loans, high import duties. No new bikes has been imported since 97 except local HD dealer. But recently saw a Kawa Z12R (i think) selling for RM90 K a pop. that RM3.8 to 1 USD
- ken, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-29 2000 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently rode my 1st bike, only bike....over the summer through 11 states, over 5,000 miles in 13 days! This bike had been well packed for the trip and helped with a custom Corbin Seat, since I'm a mear 4'11" and the orginial seat height was not for me (or anyone else who is short) - at least this bike is not built for those who are short. Well, let me tell you...I went alone and was not a bit worried about the performance of this motorcycle (and yes, I was able to hold-on through the 30+ mph wind in the state of Kansas). Sure it lacked alot of power during that time, but through all the weather changes, ie...triple digit heat in the Mojave Desert and the pelting of Hail in Utah not to meation the Texas Panhandle....this bike did extemely well! Only one time did I noticed it was leak some oil through the O-ring and that was easily replaced while in Texas at a Yamaha shop. Overall, I replaced the Bridgeport tires for some long wear ones and changed the oil before departing on my journey. Must also tell you, when I was about 1,000 miles close to home, I did the GG's (Gas-n-Go) and rode the bike HARD! It held up well and got us home nice and safe. Well, now as a female...this is definately a good starter bike! Highly recommended!
- Carren (Frenchie), American Canyon (Napa Valley), California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-09 2000 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a '94 S. Cruises nicely at highway speeds. With a windscreen gets just over 50 mpg. Stable handling and enough ground clearance that dragging in corners is not a problem. (Not true of newer cruisers.) Enough pep to be fun. Riding posture is upright so you can stand on the pegs to minimize bumps.
- J. Kirkpatrick, Johnson City, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-28 2000 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well truth the truth is it not! That Virago 535 is beautiful and looks like a lady dressed up on Saturday night. I refer to all motorcycles as ladies. They are as unpredictable as ladies are most of the time. Virago what can I say job well done indeed.
- JIM MCCRACKEN, HILLS AND HOLLERS OF WEST VIRGINIA,

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-28 2000 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has been my first bike and so I don't have a lot of basis for comparison. That said, I'm enjoying it. I get a lot of compliments on its looks - I have the '95 Special edition that's two-tone gray and black with extra chrome. Maintenance hasn't been a problem so far. It's manageable for a smaller person and a lot of fun to ride. Power seems adequate although every once in a while you yearn for a little more - kind of like money and sex you can never have enough. I heartily recommend it overall.
- Pete, Northern, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-23 2000 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very good handling with enough power to get around traffic without knocking the gears down for more grunt. V-sound decent at low speed--would prefer a tad more noise. Long distance cruising is great and comfortable with good controls and pegs only let down by the relatively small fuel tank. Having to remember to switch the fuel to reserve can be a bit annoying at times. Nice chrome bits here and there to add the overall good looks for a little v-twin cruiser. My Virago has been quite easy to maintain and run. The chrome needs a bit more care in the wet and humid conditions here in Kuala Lumpur. No regrets!
- Kenny Lee, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: