Yamaha WR250F Motorcycles Reviews (26)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha WR250F Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha WR250F Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-07-13 2002 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome with all the free mods done. It has a ton of power. It's very dependable and starts very easily with the compression thing. It's great for trails and fits me well for how tall I am. It runs just like a YZF with lights and wide ratio transmission.
- john, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-21 2007 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. Uncork it and you have a responsive and powerful 250. Great power to weight ratio. Excellent handling that will not tire you as quickly as the bigger bikes.
- CJA, Maple Valley, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-04 2007 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a fantastic machine! A bit chocked up out the box, but once the unkorking mods are done this machine most certainley comes to life & to life in a big way. This machine is a fully capable MX/Enduro Bike at its best if you have the Jewels in your drawers you will be hard to beat. In true YAMAHA Style they yet again deliver the ultimate in competition motorcycles. Couple this with LEGENDARY YAMAHA Engine reliability and you have a machine that lays waste to all other competitors & Manufacturers! Get one, you won't beat it.
- IronKnight, --

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-26 2007 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have only been riding this bike for about a month and only on motocross tracks so far. I bought it for woods riding since I was not very happy with my 05 YZ125 in the woods (which is not really meant to ride on trails). The WR250F stock does not really have enough power but after you do the free mods the bike really wakes up (you absolutely have to remove and replace the throttle stop screw with the YZ250F screw minimum). The suspension is outstanding. This bike is a little heavy but is very well balanced so the weight does not feel so bad. I rode a friends 04 KTM 250SX and felt that this bike had a very digital power output, but felt much lighter. The WR250 is much more controllable and predictable when the power comes on and much smoother. The new aluminum frame and handlebars are great improvements. With a few easy tweaks this Yamaha rocks and having the electric start and trip computer are great features.
- CB, Clarkston, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-15 2006 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike instead of the CRF230/TTR230 and I'm glad I did. Although I'm kind of disappointed with Yamaha for how much the bike was restricted from the factory (to get the CA green sticker), and the fact that a brand new bike had a bogging problem, but a few easy and fairly inexpensive mods make this bike lift the front tire with throttle alone. It has more power than I'll ever really need, but the power is very controllable. I have a buddy who has a CRF450 who wants to switch to a CRF250 or WR250F after riding my bike. I'm sure the 230's are good bikes, but the physical size is too small for me. I'm sure the CRF250 is a good bike also, but I haven't heard for sure if the valve problems have been fixed. If you're thinking about this bike, get and do the mods to it, it's a great bike. Ride safe.
- Steve, Patterson, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-02 2002 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Tons of torque. A bit hard to start until you get the hang of it. Very fast when opened up can hang with the 450s. Would not recommend to beginner if has mods.
- Riley, Mineral, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-04 2007 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike for christmas and it is awesome. The bike has so many cool features like the computer and the new aluminum frame. It has a lot of power so I can go fast but not an overwhelming amount where I am hesitant on it. Wheelies are no problem and it is a good height.
- matt, west chester, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-06 2001 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I puchased this model new in 2006. There isn't much of a market for off road bikes in my city. However it's by far the best bike I've owned and it has loads of power, not as fast on the top end as I would have thought but she gets there quick. Cons - most of the guys I ride with have YZ250Fs and the WR can keep up no problem, but it's not made to corner so tight and there is a power difference. The YZ is certainly snappier. If your main goal is to trail ride and hill climb with a few pit's here and there, then this is the model bike for you.
- cris, Sudbury, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-07 2006 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the quietest thing I haven't heard. The best thing is the electric start. The suspension is a little soft for a motocross track but if you are on the trails, it is perfect. The only bad thing is because of the quiet pipe, it is lacking 2-3 horses from the YZ. O yeah - you can ride this bike at night and no one will complain!
- mee, rochester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-07 2006 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding a YZ125 (older 2 stroke), WR450F, CRF250x, XR200 and a couple other bikes of friends, my wife bought the WR as a birthday present. I love it for a woods/trail bike! Light and nimble with plenty of power to get up, over and around. I do a lot of rock and heavy obstacle trail riding with varying soils and it's done it all. After one day I was riding around like I owned it awhile and the E-start saves the energy for riding! :)
- Robert, Ashburn, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-03 2002 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my WR from a friend that had done all the free mods along with carb jetting and a pipe. This WR can keep up with any stock YZ and even blow by them on a long straight. This bike with the modes IS NOT A BEGINNER BIKE.
- anonymous, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-15 2005 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is awesome in the Pit, Trail, whatever you throw at it, she can handle no problem, however, the thing is a pain in the rear to start, Hot or Cold. The starting procedure is ridicules and far to time consuming. Still, top notch performance. The yzf250 has more power but not enough to make you miss it. All and all great bike when running.
- Cris Lee, Sudbury, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-11 2005 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has big torque and climbs anything I throw at it! It keeps up with some 450s. It has excellent trail performance and good track performance, too.
- BRENT, CHARLOTTE, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-07 2005 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Initially drawn to this bike by light weight and electric start for use as an aggresive trail bike. After overcoming the built in performance handicaps, cam timing, restrictive pipe, grey wire, air box, carb stop. etc, it runs like it should. Not as fast as YZ 250's, but about the same as the YZ250F. Good quality brakes, bars, chain/sprockets. Kick stand works well. Headlight is bright enough for road use. Proper oil changes are time consuming and a hassle.
- buglum, Carrollton, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-10 2004 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an awesome bike. It does great off road and on a moto track. This is a top of the line bike. This is one bike that Yamaha should keep for a long time and should make in smaller sizes too. This is the only bike I will ever get.
- Josh snyder, sparks, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-09 2004 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my 250 about two months ago and I have to say it is a big change from the TT-R 225 I used to ride. The shear brute force power of this bike alone made me want to just ride forever and ever. The top speed is right around 85-90 MPH and the fuel range is about 50-60 miles not using the reserve on it. The WR250F is also an easy to start bike, in any temperature. With easy kick starts and even easy electric cranking power this bike has no trouble re-firing when you happen to stall it on the trails. The only downside to this bike is that the seat is a little uncomfortable when riding long distances. So to all those who want to experience thunder between their legs I would go with this bike.
- Mark Bryan, Great Falls, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-11 2004 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At this point its better than I was hoping for. It handles my size with no problems. I was concerned about the "top heavy feel in the corners" I have read about. You would have to be a liar to say such a thing. This bike gives me everything and more for 250cc performance. This bike is a Canadian model and does not have the USA throttle stop in the carb. I hear that makes it suffer a bit.
- Eric Gabara, Mission, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-21 2004 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2004 and it has been one of my best rides. It has power to get me up any hill, but not the extreme power to lose control (I am an intermediate rider). After buying the bike, I found out the mods that can be done to soup it up comparable to the YZ. However, I like the bike the way it came from the manufacturer. Great bike to have for any type of ride.
- K Duran, Placentia, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-04 2004 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just went from the YZ125 to a WR250f, and oh my goodness there is a huge difference. The WR has so much more power and it is a good bike for riding everyday and every type of terrain. The WR250f has to be the top bike in its class.
- fellow rider, houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-23 2003 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was pretty nervous buying a four stroke. I read every review I could find on the WR. Most of the professional reviews said the bike was great uncorked but a toad in stock form. I finally laid out my cash and absolutely love the motorcycle. In stock form it is a pretty decent trail bike. The jetting and suspension are spot on. The techs did a fantastic job during assembly and set up. This is the first dirt bike I have ever bought that had a grease seal around the air filter. After breaking in the bike I went back for some more power. They knew the bike and what to do. $400 later I had a new YZF cam, YZF throttle stop, and several other mods on the bike. The only word to describe the bike today is awesome. I sold the old CR250 and don't miss it at all. Ride the WR like a two stroke and you will be rewarded with a incredible machine that will put you on the podium every try.
- Jim Little, Cumming, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-29 2004 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The WR250 is by far the top of the line, I tried the Suzuki DR250, Honda XR250, and the Kawasaki KLX250, none of which stood a chance, they all had power, but the WR had the most. Also, the WR handled like a dream, you want to go there, it'll take, no fight.
- Gary Clayton, Greenwood Village, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-08 2003 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think the prior review was written by a Honda dealer (not that they are bad bikes), or he is very misinformed. You CAN NOT buy a bike that is set up exactly for you, ready to race. You need to fine tune the suspension, engine, contols for your riding style, weight and skill level. The CDI problem has not been apparent on my bike or anyone I know. I have heard of it but there is one thing to do...fix it! The new Honda (not hear 'til December) will surely have some glitches as it is a new model. I made a few mods to my WR and it is : 1. Easy to ride 2. Easy to ride FAST! 3. Light weight 4. Handles like a dream 5. has great power low, mid, and tall 6. Electic start 7. (Did I mention fast????) 8. Reliable 9. Gives 450s a run for their money except on sandy hill climbs or anything over 80. 10. Bottom line? The most fun I've had on my 30 years of riding all kinds and brands of motorcycles. don't listen to snivelers Dave Gora
- dg, Santa Ana, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-08 2003 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok just look at it, it is soo nice. now compared to the yzf they are similar. but i guess the yz was not meant to be a F. this is where the wr250 comes in. i love the power it has, it has extreme low rpm torque; also at higher rpm it runs just like a 2 stroke. i love the suspension on it and the rear damping stuff. this is a great bike. I am glad that my dealer hooked me up with this. Because im having a really good time with it
- Cole ALnes, Camarillo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-19 2002 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
finding the starting techique takes a bit to learn.once you have it,you cant miss.you find the more you ride the bike the more you fall in love with it.GREAT POWER/TOP+BOTOM;GREAT BALANCE,VERY NICE ADJUSTMENTS[PRECISE.]A1 BIKE.NICE JOB YAMAHA.
- clinton w mason, fort collins, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-31 2002 Yamaha WR250F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Once you learn the starting procedure,and do the free mods this bike is the best, cant be beat.
- James Wellman, Simpsonville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: