Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-01-30 1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 1996 Seca II in May, 2004 with 9300 miles on it for $2300. I bought it after a 20+ year break from riding. I couldn't have found a better bike to re-learn on. Plenty enough power to keep up with my large cc cruiser friends and also to get into trouble with. Power delivery was very predictable and smooth. Brakes provided good stopping power without fear of locking up the front (locked the rear on occasion but that was due to rider error every time.) Mileage was decent... Low-35, High-55, Avg-43. As mentioned in other reviews, she's a cold-hearted beast and needed a proper warm up to work well. For me, that meant starting her up on full choke, letting her idle while I donned my helmet & gloves (usually 2-3 minutes), set her to half-choke, pull out and keep her in 1st for 1-2 miles and then turning choke off. Not really a pain for me. In all fairness though, this was in 50 degree or higher temps. I'm sure that in a colder climate, she'd be little more difficult to make happy. I did several 200+ mile rides on her without any complaint. Even took her down a few gravel/dirt roads without any problems (not a dual sport by any stretch, but she didn't complain.) I always felt planted and steady on her. Flicking her about in the twisties was always a joy. didn't take a lot to get her to lean over. Maintenance wise, I replaced the air filter, chain & sprockets (at 18,000 miles), dash light bulbs and tires in my 9000+ miles. All repairs were very easy to accomplish. Overall, I couldn't have been happier. My ONLY regret is trading her in for a new bike.
- Chris, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-03 1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike thinking it would be good for my wife to learn on. It is the smallest street bike I've ever owned. I turns out that she is too short to feel comfortable on the 30.5" seat height, so I got her a Buell Blast. I've been riding and upgrading this bike for the last year now. I bought it with 9300 miles on it, for $1,800.00 in perfect condition and now have 17500 on it. It has not had any problems at all. It was completely stock. I've put on a new chain, windscreen, turn signals, Skidmarx hugger, Yoshimura exhaust, K & N jet kit, gel grips, Corbin seat with backrest, and Metzler tires. Most I found on ebay dirt cheap, and there are a lot of parts still available for this bike. The jet and exhaust upgrade felt like a 20% increase in power. I have no problem keeping up with the guys I ride with, even then two up. If you are looking for a fun, low cost, low insurance ($75.00 a year), low maintenance, easy to handle, good looking, comfortable, fun in the twisties, good for around town, upright seating position tour capable starter bike, this is it!
- Jonesy, Lexington Park, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-26 1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off I bought this bike for one grand at which point I had the carbs cleaned (cause it had been sitting for 2 years) and i changed the spark plugs which ran me about another $500 so total i only spent 1500 bucks. i own the 92 model in red and it only has 6K miles, I love riding it its really comfy and its fast enough for me for right now seeing how it is my first bike and all. Great bike!!
- Delvin jennett, charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-14 1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 93 has been trouble free for the most part. At 22k, it is on the third set of plugs, oil changes every three thou or so, and two sets of tires. Will probably replace rear for only the third tire back there at 25k. Cheap to own is my point. It is ready for an air filter and I think new fork oil. Noticably a little squishier the past two thousand miles up front when braking. Replaced a slightly leaky clutch gasket for seven dollars and two hours of my time. Valves have never needed adjustment. Suspect chain and sprocket are coming to the end of a lifespan. Original front brake and one new set out back. Mileage has been consistantly 50-53 mpg whether riding 1 or 2 people on city or highway. Corners nice and switches direction very easily. Only weighs a hair above 400lbs and under 450 with full tank. Seat is comfy for 2.5 hour stretches. Very good for passengers. A great recreational motorcycle. It is fun to ride, extremely low maintenance and a good looking scoot.
- tshark, nebraska, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-29 1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 96 Seca II with this side of 14,000 miles on it. I've been riding for a year, and without a doubt, this is a great starter bike if you're 5'7" or so or taller. Mine came with a Corbin seat, and is extremely comfortable from the waist down. The only real major problem with this bike is the tiny windscreen. It basically provides no protection at highway speeds unless you're laying down on the tank. I've looked for a larger replacement, but none of the usual suspects seem to make one. As others have observed, it is a bit cold blooded and takes a couple of minutes in first gear at full rich to get warmed up and happy. Also, it would be a better traveling bike if the gears were a little taller. I'm currently deciding if I should keep or replace my Seca, if anyone has any solutions for the above windscreen and gearing problems, let me know applemac_g4@hotmail.com
- applemac, stlouis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-11 1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a '92, I bought it new, and its exactly 10 years old today (and I'm 45 today, so my age probably affects my perspective). Its original attraction was that it was a full-size bike, it had adequate power, excellent build quality, a low enough seat that I can put my feet flat on the road at a stop (that requirement nixed several interesting bikes at the time), and was well-priced ($3995). Mine is the metallic black, which draws many positive comments, and looks great with the silver-painted engine that was on the earlier years (in later years the engine was black, which hides a rather attractive engine). Good points: 1) Reliable. Never been in the shop, never needed any work. Only maintenance has been oil changes, spark plugs, air filter, and I replaced the tires this year. It still has the original battery! However, I noted the other day that the final working light bulb in the speedo has died ... 2) Mileage - generally 50-55 in town, 55-60 cruising the back roads. 3) Long-haul comfort - besides commuting, I like to ride out toward Western Maryland and get lost on ... uh, cruise around on ... the back roads. Typical "loop" is 190-260 miles (anything under 220 miles can be done on a single tank of gas) requiring 6-8 hours, with usually one rest stop half way and other stops for only picture taking, and the comfort is fine for me - and I ain't a lightweight. Bad things: Hard to think of any - okay, the light bulbs in the speedo have all burned out now; I guess it is a bit "cold blooded" and requires some choke for a good 4-5 miles on cool mornings, which ain't a big deal to me; not much room in the cubbyhole for carrying much (won't hold a u-lock and it doesn't have a clock. There is some vibration in the 4-5K range (I have carpal tunnel, and this badly aggravated the condition until I discovered "gel gloves" - now riding is painless I suppose its "slow" by 600cc sport bike standards, but its as fast or faster than a Corvette, so I don't need any more than that. Certainly I'd recommend it as a used bike for anyone - it seems low mileage, well-cared for examples are plentiful, and the usual owner seemed to be older so most weren't rode hard, modified, or dropped. If it has a pipe and a jet kit pass it by, there are untouched ones aplenty (the mods don't seem to make 'em any faster, either). Since used versions are easily found in the $1,000-$2,000 range, this may be a great bargain in used bikes. Basically, my "starter bike" turned into a "keeper" - Yamaha had a great bike here, and since its demise they haven't introduced anything that actually replaces it. A shame ...
- Jim, Millersville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-09 1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a '94 seca II last spring, for what I thought was a pretty good deal at $2300. First of all...this bike takes FOREVER to warm up, especially if you live in a colder climate. On a 40 degree day, it takes a good solid half hour of idleing to warm enough to ride. At first I thought I had something wrong with the bike, and got it checked out by a mechanic. Turns out this bike has this problem. I use the bike mainly for short trips, and its a real drag to wait 15 min for the bike to warm up for a 5 min trip. Fuel econ should be good--considering the exceptionally small carbs (26mm) the bike has, but its really not. I averaged about 40 mpg. A new 600cc sport bike would have at least double the horsepower of this bike, and average close to 50mpg. Once the bike finally warms up, its an alright bike, no serious complaints there. I just think the warm-up time is unexcusable, as well as low mileage. Motorcyle.com reviewed this bike in 95, it took 5th place of 6 bikes.
- mnben, St. Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-25 1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own the 1995 version of this bike. It has been the perfect bike. As long as the roads have speed limits this thing has plenty of speed and power. It s also comfortable. I've gone camping on it a few times (one time I went 2350 miles in six days) with a pup tent, sleeping bag and a duffel bag strapped to the back seat and rack. Maintenance has been a dream. Mine has 22,000 miles and all I've done to it is: oil and filter changes at 500 mi. 1000 mi. and every 2000 miles after that (I've used full synthetic since 9,000 miles - this motor will run forever). I adjust the chain when it needs it (about once a year), one set of tires, one set of brakes. I've only had to adjust the valves once (and barely at that) and the carbs are probably a tiny bit out of sync since I've never touched them. But it runs so great I hate to mess with them. that's all I've done in six years - a great bike. In fact I hate to sell it but I've gotten the bug to buy a new bike. I wish they still made the Seca II - I'd buy another one. If any one wants to buy mine - $2400 takes it home. I'm in central Michigan. E-mail me if you're interested (reed.caldwell@eds.com).
- Reed Caldwell, Flint, MI

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although I have a 92, it's essentially the same bike as the 96 (I believe they widened the fairing from 94 and up and added some fake air scoops). Anyhow, I paid $1900 for mine (with 16,000 miles on it) in bright red. It's a real eye catcher with the nicely sculpted tank and side panels, as well as the slanted forward engine. It has plenty of get-up-and-go for the avg. Joe, and plenty of stopping power also. The handling is great-it's light and very flickable. It has a nice throaty exhaust and comfy seat-although you will want to get up and unnumb your posterior every 100 miles or so. With a 16,000-mile valve adjust. interval, one can go aways before having that done. My only real complaint is the engine/fairing/intake roar-buzz-vibration that intrudes between 3500 and 4000 rpms. It's not real disturbing, but simply a bit annoying. As long as you're not in a hurry, one can shift before the buzz comes on ad avoid it. For those quick getaways, though, you'll forget all about the buzz and roar during the launch....
- Dave, Dutchess County, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-22 1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Seca II for four years now, and it has given me very few problems. I have had to fix two small electrical problems, but other than that it has been maintenance. free. It has 17.5K miles on it, and it starts every day. I have added a few things for speed which really help. I would buy one for the right price.
- EDOG, O.C.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-05 1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A very good bike for beginners for sure, but my wife has been a bit disappointed with the high maintenance. The engine during the first six months was using 1 quart of oil per 2000 miles, finally was resolved with a proper tune up by a speed shop- the dealer had the valves adjusted to tight. Next the fork seals blew out and had to be replaced after two years. They have recently blown out again after one riding season, will this occur again after another repair? Hard to say, but this a less than ideal situation to put beginners into.
- G.S., Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-09 1996 Yamaha XJ600SH Seca II Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first bike and was excellent to start on. It's lightweight and slim, making it easy to handle, has decent power, and is very nice looking. This bike even worked suprisingly well touring around the area two up!
- Anonymous, Beaverton, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: