Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha XT225 reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

53 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dennis

New Richmond, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2009-07-12

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned bikes most of my life. Usually big CC Kawasaki's. I bought this bike for basic transportation. But in the first 10 months due to job circumstances I've ridden this bike from Michigan to Miami (1550 miles) then 4 months later left Miami for Nogales, Az but took a tour through Mexico. In that trip I put 5,150 miles on it in 18 days. (3,300 in Mexico) I just love this bike! Is it fast? No! I never run this bike hard. That isn't what I bought it for. I usually cruse 50-60 MPH down the freeway and let people pass me. I've gotten as high as 93 MPG ridding 50-55 MPH with 50 lbs of lugagge on a rack in back) I get 80 MPG consistantly with 2 people on it. (GF 125 lbs) The secret to getting high gas mileage is to NEVER wind this bike out going through the gears. This bike has plenty of tourque and I ride it like an old woman going through the gears. With over 16,000 miles in 10 months, I feel this bike will run 50,000+ miles with no problems. Actually I want to see if I can get 100K out of it. If you're looking for a bike to go fast, then get a fast bike. If you're looking for a bike that's light, great handling, and GREAT on gas, this is it!! I've never enjoyed a bike more than this one. But, I'm 54 years old and not in any hurry any more.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (17)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dwayne H.

Milledgeville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2011-01-12

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The lil' XT is a great dualie as a commuter/off road bike (not highway or rush traffic, mine will do 74 mph. but I weigh 210 pounds). The bike has a nice low seat position (I have a 30" inseam and I can touch both feet on the ground with some to spare). The 6th gear is great on level grounds (but is very tall and will pull it down on inclines). It has electric start (you can get a kick start for this bike for about $130, but it is extremely cold natured). You can take twisties with ease (with the right tires). The bike is a ton of fun to ride even though acceleration is slow (about 8 seconds 0-60 on tarmac and very sluggish after 60). With all that said, this is an excellent bike, and I couldn't imagine not having it (my pure street bike is a CB750). Bear in mind that it's not a KLR650, it is a 225. If you don't hit interstates or have to maintain 55 or higher going up mountains, and you are inseam impaired, this is an excelent lil' dualie. Off road there aren't any complaints. In fact it's light weight and its manuverability are why I bought it in the first place, but soon realized I was driving it more than the CB750 on the street as well. I highly recomend this little bike to anyone.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dwayne

Gordon, Georgia

Reviewed on 2010-12-05

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I just bought mine (06) this weekend and it's about 40 degrees out. I've got to admit that these little 4-strokes are a pain to crank. It's taking about 30 seconds on the starter, when they're cold. I expect to choke it in cold weather for at least five minutes. So far in the past two days I've put 80 miles on this bike. After it's warmed up, it starts right up really quick, with just a bump on the starter. I've found it has ample power, but in 6th with my big butt on it, it struggles climbing inclines. But that's fine and was expected for a little 17 hp., 225. I'm short legged so it was a tossup between this and a DR200SE, and I'm proud I bought this one. Riding through the woods and logging roads this little bike shines. It has plenty of power for those 30-foot, 30-degree inclines and great clearance for riding over downed trees. The seat is a little hard for a dual sport, but I guess that's because it's staying true to its dirt bike heritage. On tarmac it corners very well, even with the New Pirelli Scorpions, which grips extremely well in sand and leaves - not so well in realy slick mud and clay since they clog easily. If it was warmer out I would trust the starting on this bike a lot more, but right now it's too cold for riding this bike anyways. I just got a good winter deal saving a lot of $$$. As far as quality,this engine has been around for a while and is considered to be bulletproof, with quick easy shim-less valve adjustments, and just all around foolproof. The tranny shifts great but at times it's hard to get that 1/2 shift into neutral. That could just be me. It's a Yamaha and it would be hard to beat if you're vertically inclined, and want quality, and durability in an easy to fit package.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

inuvik

Hines, Oregon

Reviewed on 2009-03-29

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned my XT225 for almost 2 years. I have been riding for over 35 years and did a lot of research when I purchased this motorcycle. I wanted a trail capable machine that was highway legal, light and reliable. The XT225 is all of these things. Other than oil changes and one new spark plug, this motorcycle has required no maintenance. I use it to commute within town and it always delivers at least 75 MPG. This is not a machine for someone that wants to ride 70+ MPH. This is a motorcycle that is excellent in tough trail conditions with a close ratio 6 speed transmission with plenty of torque. It has pulled my middle aged overweight carcass over some incredibly tough terrain here in eastern Oregon. If you are looking for a motorcycle to ride the backroads, offroad, and 60 MPH or less commuting, this is your machine. Do not be put off by the 223cc displacement. The XT225 has been used by tourers all over the world and has been used on some incredible cross continent trips.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scorpia

Green bay, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2009-03-22

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I picked this bike up pretty much new from a local mom and pop bike shop. It only had 700 miles on it and it was affordable, so I couldn't resist. I never had a motorcycle before and the owner said it was a good beginner bike. After riding it home, I agree with him. This bike is soooooo cool and handles excellently! Last weekend I took it up to my cottage and it handles even better off road. I always tell my friends it's a street legal dirt bike with some motorcycle mixed in, and that's exactly what is. You also have plenty of room on the seat. It fits two people perfectly and the shocks absorb EVERYTHING! My neighbor who has three motorcycles and even more up at his cabin is even a little jealous. When my dad (I'm 18 and still living at home) called my mom at work to see if it was okay with her to buy it, we stepped away from the bike for a second and another customer walked in and started eyeing up the bike. So right then and there I put a down payment on it before my mom picked up her work phone. So if you see one of these wonderful bikes on sale, grab it then and there! You will never be sorry with these bikes. They also hold their value VERY well!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Timothy J Dryer

Chandler, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2008-10-27

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It runs smooth, is easy to handle and looks great. This bike gets great gas mileage. It doesn't hurt the wallet when you fill it up. I put a luggage rack on the back just to carry light loads.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fletch

St. Charles, Missouri

Reviewed on 2007-09-05

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is actually the first bike I have ever ridden. So light and easy to ride. I wanted something to save me money going to and from work 10 miles instead of my big truck. $4 a week in gas instead of $70. It is not a big bike but it will get up and move. I have hit 75 on the highway and it is right at home on the street or in the dirt. Great starter bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Wills Point, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-06-02

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Hey I love these bikes so much I bought two of them two months apart one for me and the other for my son to run around on his Army base with. Traded in my 2005 Yamaha FZ-6 with only 3018 miles on it for the last one key for key. It's just to hard to ride a fast bike slow and a slow bike fast, so now I got the best of both worlds, plus a good off roader to boot! My insurance is only $76 bucks a year on the two of them, and with the gas price of three bucks a pop, the 70 to 80 miles a gallon I'm getting is great, and I go about 22 miles a day to work one way, at around 75 miles and hour, and the cops don't even look at you. They stopped me all the time on the 600. So if you're looking for the very best all around bike stop looking and get this one!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Speed

Leesburg, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-05-06

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Have a 2003 that is still going. Recently got a job closer to home and now commute with this bike. It gets 70 to 85 MPG depending on how far I go with it. It can walk away from most cagers without a doubt. I wish they made a 500 version so that I could take my wife with me on rides. The 225 is a bit too small for two-up riding, but is great solo!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kirk simon

bellmore, New York

Reviewed on 2007-02-19

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got the bike 4 weeks ago. I got the 2006 for the color all blue. So far she rides like the wind. The dealer said it would go about 70mph; they are wrong, I got it up to 95mph. The bike is too light to keep that speed but it's nice to know you can wail on it. I will use my racing bike for that speed. It rides great for the street and dirt. I tried both - it's just fun and it feels great. The best thing I like is it's not tall like an off street dirt bike. Oh buy the way, it was new.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1 - 10 of 53 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: