Yamaha XV1100S Virago Motorcycles Reviews (8)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha XV1100S Virago Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha XV1100S Virago Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-01-26 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the '86 in Dec '04 with over 20,000 miles. It rides beautifully, looks great and I get compliments all the time. I couldn't ask for more.
- Sal ( Lefty), Cl;earwater, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-20 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '86 Virago XV1100 with over 80,000 kms on it and it runs like new. Previous owners have obviously taken care of this machine and it shows. Torque and HP are unbelievable. One twist of the throttle and you're gone. Took my first long trip (450 km) nonstop and purred like a kitten all the way there. 2-up riding is fine and I get just over 200 km/tank. Good enough for touring. I can't say enough about his bike. It really is a joy to ride. It's got the looks, power and comfort that will constantly leave me with a smile on my face after every ride. Get one now!!!
- Silver, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-05 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought this '89 Virago w/ 11,500mi. + pipes, saddlebags, hiway pegs, windshield for $2600. Had a Maxim 550 in my youth and love the trouble-free Yamaha. I commute 13 mi. to work and this is sweet for that. I too am somewhat bummed at kinda high RPM at 70-75MPH- but for 1989 it's Fine. Beautiful bike that turns heads!
- Bapeter, Kasson, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-06 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a great time on my 87 virago. It is as dependable as a can opener. Easy to use power, great in town manners, low seat height, great brakes for the time it was built. And when it was built, the speed limit was 55, and it works just great at that speed. I was gonna change the ergos to make mine a little more sporty, but with the driveshaft, the motor gets a little buzzy if you spend a hours at illeagal speeds. And there is no cheap way to change the gearing on it. If you don't plan on spending a lot of time at illeagal speeds, it is a 5 star, but if you want get out on the open road, uhhhh i dunno...........
- tony, omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-25 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the coolest cruiser out there. Different looks, great performance, easy to work on (you should not have to), and dependable as my faithful dogs. Lotsa factory chrome and the gold accents set it apart from the new age nostalgia bikes and it weighs a lot less. It will rev easily to 7 grand, how many other v-twin cruisers can do that and it stops as well as it goes. My only complaint is that it kinda short geared for running at 70 plus, but that is ok, just find the slower backroads and see little towns that pepper the landscape.
- toejammmer, Omaha, NE

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-14 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started off with an 84 1000cc midnight special. That was the best intro one could have to these bikes. They look great and handle superbly. When the runout models were marketed in NZ at $10,500.00 I couldn't get to the dealer quick enough. I have put about $1000 worth of extras on it, without over doing it. I use it everyday to go to work. It's great in traffic and if I want to go cruising in the weekend it fits that job just as well. I have a Honda goldwing as well but it is reall only the lack of a stereo that I jump on the 'Wing'.I have ridden the Virago [Virago stands for "wild woman" by the way] for four hours at a time before today,only stopping for gas. My bum hardly complained at all. I couldn't recomend a Virago more highly.!!
- Graeme Ingram, Auckland, New Zealand

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-30 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 1987 XV1100S Virago for 3500$cdn with 6000 miles on the meter. Best buy I have ever done in my life. This bike is as reliable as any motorcyclecan be. It costs peanuts to maintain. You can run very long ride (800 plus miles a day) if you throw the origin Yamaha saddle to the garbage and replace it by a Corbin seat. A small windshield will help too. I put 60000K in three years on the odometer and I wouldn't trade it for anything new.
- Carol Lavoie, Rawdon, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-11 1986 Yamaha XV1100S Virago Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
About 6 years ago I was heavily researching for an upgrade. The bike had to fill all my needs 1) tach (nice to have), 2) centerstand, 3) weigh under 600 lbs. (easier to pick up if dropped, heaven forbid), 4) at least a 4 gal. gas tank, 5) looked good without looking like all the other bikes, and last was quicker stock then any stock cruiser on the market. I found it and wouldn't trade it for any other bike out there including the v stars.
- stuart myers, Leeds, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: