Yamaha YZ125 Motorcycles Reviews (83)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ125 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha YZ125 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-01-05 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike absolutely rips. It shuts down all other 125's and can keep the 250's easy!! Buy it!
- Nick R, Fort dodge, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-27 2011 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike flows and jumps beautiful. It goes up hill, climbs like a dream and is reliable. I went up a 75 degree slope. Its engine runs clean and like a dream. This is the best bike for 11-to-12-year-olds and it's freaky fast.
- jhon, seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-27 2011 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My bike is a 2001 YZ125. She's the best investment I've ever made. She has just the right amount of power and is the most comfortable thing I have ever sat on. I'll never give her up until the wheels fall off and the frame is rusted in two. I love Yamaha. Yamaha is the best there is, no question about it.
- Mason Holloway, Elberta, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-02 2001 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike for $800 off a friend, and I've only gotten to ride it two or three times because it's so cold, but this thing rips. It rails pretty much any other bike out there and I love it. It starts right up first or second kick and handles just as well as my 2010 KX250F I love the clutch on it for some reason. The only thing I don't really like is how you have to turn off the gas petcock before you shut off the bike or it will flood instantly and won't start. I've never heard of this before but I don't think I have ever turned off the gas on any of my other bikes and had a problem with it. But overall, I love this bike. I just wish I could race it in my local series but I can't because it's bored. Overall, it's well worth the $800 I paid for it.
- Tim, Wells, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-09 2011 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I've ever owned! I bought it and rode it that day. The last bike I had was a 2003 YZF450. The two strokes are the best if you're not trying to be a pro. There is a fun factor.
- ROB, CYPRESS, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-16 2003 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought this bike from my friend. It was a steal. Complete bike - all it needed was a new piston and fork seals. My friends thought it would suck because I got it for so cheap. I got it running and have never ridden something that fast. I got on my yz250f and that bike just seemed like a pile compared to the yz125. I couldn't even believe I ever went fast on my 250 compared to it. Hands down the most fun I have ever had with a bike. The only thing I don't like is that I don't know if I should keep my 250 now!
- Zach, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-02 2004 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one of the best bikes I've ever ridden. Handles great, rides great, there's nothing I would say bad about this bike. This bike is AWESOME!!
- Brad K, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-09 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off I absolutely LOVE this bike. It has quick acceleration, is extremely lightweight and it is just overall fun to ride. I love how it has a 6-speed transmission, it makes the riding more fun. For a two stroke the power band is real smooth, I was surprised after I rode an older YZ. It has excellent high end torque and it is realitively cheap. HOWEVER...I have had one potentially major issues with the bike but it is preventable. I had to spend several months diagnosing and repairing the bike with my dad and it involved splitting the crankcase. Apparently, about 50% of all 2005 and earlier YZ125's have an issue with how the shift stopper lever is designed. There is a bearing on the end of it that tends to fall apart and pieces can go into the transmission and because the bearing is absent, you cannot shift out of whatever gear you were in. But, fortunately for under 30 bucks I'd estimate you can easily prevent the problem and save yourself $500 if you fix it yourself or easily $1000 if you take it into a shop. All you have to do is buy the redesigned stopper lever from Yamaha and assembly is fairly easy if you have the manual. The actual process involves just removing the side cover, taking out the clutch basket, and swapping out the stopper levers. Dont forget to buy a new gasket. So with the proper tools (including the manual) and a little bit of work you can prevent the only issue I have with this bike. Overall it is a dream to ride and a wonderful step up bike. Buy one if you're looking for a 125.
- Russell, Carlsbad, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-13 2003 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow, what can I say? Due to the economy bikes are cheap! Great deal. Want to know why? Because this bike has like 5 hours on it. I checked the pegs, zero wear. Gear shifter lever, zero wear. Grips do have wear but when dont they after riding it for 5 hours? Sprokets, zero! So I basicly get this bike stock but with a few amps like new pipe and exhaust. So I ride it for three hours and even though I'm small for 14 I can really cope with this bike! Plenty of power. Adjusted the suspension perfectly for me and all of a sudden jumps aren't as scary as they were on my cr85. This bike was amazing right off the bat. All I really had to do was drain the gas and change the tranny fluid (cause it was sitting around for 7 months.) I always knew Yamaha had the best 125 but they REALLY have it dialed. Great job Yamaha. If you're contemplating going out to buy a Yammy 125 just do it already. 2-smokes are the funnest thing you will ride and they will keep up with 250f's.
- Andrew B. Cameron, Port Angeles, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-29 2007 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yamaha lately has been putting out clutch performance bikes. The YZ 125 is the leader in best bike for the 125 class. I moved up from a Honda CRF100 to this and at first I thought it had too much power, but trust me, after a week of riding I was ripping. It has a good amount of low-mid end power per gear. It always starts right up. So far it's been a very durable bike, no problems. Of course it is a race bike and it won't be as comfortable as a crusier, but it'll do. If you're looking for a: fast, durable, reliable, high quality, and over all fun bike, this has your name on it.
- Chris Urmston, montgomery, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-23 2003 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome not only in tracks but also in trails; bike's never gave me any probs in technical single-track uphills, whether or not I run with the 9-oz steely flyweight or not... Honestly, though, I prefer trail riding the blue ripper w/o any flyweight on, rain or shine. don't believe people saying that 125's are hard to use in trails. Those who say that are the same people who don't know how to use 125's. It's the best bike (so far) I had that I used exclusively in trails. My former dirt bikes, Honda XR200, Kawasaki KMX125, and Yamaha DT125, don't even come close to it...
- dtkiko, Manila, Philippines

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-12 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the fastest 125 I have ever ridden. It will pull a 250f off the line, no problem. It handles great, is easy to start and talk about light.. My 9 year old, 72 pound cousin can pick my bike up off the ground with little or no problem. Power - there's plenty. There's no need to mod this bike as it's fast out of the box. Yamaha went all out on the 125 this year and it shows.
- jordan stevens, spokane, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-21 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike a year ago and it rips. I have it set up for trails and eduro type riding. I came off a 2004 YZ250f and this is way better. It's lighter and has lots of power. I would suggest buying this over a 250F.
- John, prince george

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-07 2003 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for about six months now and it is awesome. The power is great and I smoke all my friends on the track or on a straight away. It's a reliable bike. I had to re-jet the carbs for the altitude because it came from Colorado where it was a little more above sea level than Albuquerque.
- James C., Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-21 2004 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing. I had an RT 100 and bought this and there is nothing the same. It's got tons of power and an awesome power band. The suspension doesn't compare to any other bike I've ridden. Best money I've ever spent!!
- Chad , Dryden, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-13 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike after stepping up from an 85 and let me tell you, it has a lot of power. Then, that weekend when I raced, I noticed that it could not keep up with the 250f's. that's when I got a shorty silencer and power now. Then it could keep up with them. Then I put reeds, an sst pipe, and a flat topped piston and it completely blew them away! Stock it had decent bottom power end and a great pull from mid to top. By far, the best of the 125s. It could easily keep up with SOME early model 250f's like the RM-Z and KX-F.
- David, temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-07 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is sick! It friggin moves. It will easily do 75 stock and w/ all the parts I have on it, now it probably does like 85-90! I love this bike. I would definitely recommend it to anyone with at leats 2 years of experience who wants a fast bike that will keep up with the four strokes.
- me, wouldn't u like to no, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-04 2007 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is one of the best that I have ever owned. It rides nice, pulls out of the holeshot, and has all kinds of power for the engine size. Great bike!
- Wally Childers, Big Lake, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-12 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome! I've had it for about 7 months and I love it. The guy at the dealership almost talked me into the 85 but I'm very happy that I chose the 125 instead. This bike is super fast and keeps right up with the four-strokes. It was reviewed to be the best 125 ever built! I'm very glad I have one. I would recommend this bike to anyone that is looking for a very fast and comfortable bike.
- Brett, East Falmouth, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-28 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike on and off the track. Very reliable and easy to handle. Smooth power throughout the whole rpm range with perfect 2 stroke crisp sound. Can keep up with 250f's with the right rider. Overall, wonderful bike and if you want a great 125 I encourage you to buy this bike you'll love it.
- Jeremy Slack, forest hill, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-26 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just came off a fully modded 2003 yz125 and got the o6 yz125. The first time I rode I noticed it was unbelievably faster than the 03. It handled 500% better and I was more confident entering corners because of the 15 pound difference. Now when I ride my modded 03 I feel like I'm on an old 80cc two stroke. My 03 is equiped with race tech susp and the 06 is way better. I wish I could rate it higher.
- joe, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-23 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, to start Bobby recommended this bike over a YZ250F to be my transitional bike from a YZ85. He's been there since my first bike (TTR-90) and somehow was able to teach me to actually listen to my dad, because most of the time my dad knew what he was talking about but I didn't believe until Bobby told me. He is always there to offer technical and mechanical tips and always finds a way to squeeze me into the shop to repair my bike before my next race. This brings up the bike portion of my review. This is a great bike to ride. For the first year of riding I realized it had plenty of power to do all of the gaps I was doing. However, I started racing this year and I absolutely love it. I race 125C and 125JR at Lake Geneva Raceway every Friday. I started at 23rd place at the beginning of the year and moved up to getting 4th place. As my needs increased because I was starting to push this bike to its limits I was troubled by a certain 65ft double. I was all of 3rd gear and 4th would cause the power to drop and I would nosedive. So my one suggestion is instead of gearing 48 in the rear to stock equip it with a 50 tooth (Bobby's advice). This increase allowed me the extra power I needed to clear the double and now I can clear it and then some, and if I'm feeling a little to cocky I'll try to throw a whip (NEEDS WORK) =). ***Thanks Bobby***
- Joe Popp, Waukeska, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-22 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I've ever owned. It's an absolute blast. What shocked me the most is how smooth the power is. Very fun, fast, and easy to ride. Any one will love this bike.I was a four stroke fan, but not after I got this thing. LONG LIVE TWO STROKES!!!!!
- Brandon, Dubuque, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-31 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my YZ125 for $3400 from a dealer. I've had it for about 3 weeks and this bike is insane! I love the power delivery... it has a very smooth power band for a 125, alot more torque then I expected from a 2-stroke. don't get me wrong though, this thing absolutely hauls! This thing just pulls from top to bottom. I love how light this bike is. It seems like you can just flick it around, and the suspention is amazing, I love it. I have no problems wheeling and jumping, it really boosts your confidence. The main thing is this bike just goes, I've had no problems with it, it's a rocket! No wonder almost every magazine named it 125 of the year!
- Nick Villarreal, Dewitt, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-20 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike in June 2006 and it's great. I ride it almost every day. It works well in any condition, there is no loss in power in any gear. This bike just blows every bike away. If you're looking to win a lot of races or just screw around, this bike is the one for you. Yamaha bikes have been rated number one for a long time. If you get a bike no matter what size, get a Yamaha.
- Caleb, Brockport, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: