Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha YZ250 reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

50 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Matt Robson

Gympie, Texas

Reviewed on 2012-11-25

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Overall the bike is amazing. The power that comes out of it is extraordinary, and the 4 strokes can't compare at all. The back suspension is perfect, nice and soft, not a worry on the big jumps. The front suspension is a big stiff, but it's fixable. It's a fairly reliable bike, usually starts first or second kick every time and there's plenty of compression. I rode a mate's 2007 KTM SX-F250, and the power that that bike produces is absolutely horrible compared to the YZ. It's a perfect bike for racing. I usually ride in the forestry, and it's perfect for out there. The bike can usually get a top speed of about 150km./h., but obviously the bike isn't meant for long straights. It's got plenty of power for all the corners and the tight tracks. Overall, it's a 5-star bike. I'll never be upgrading.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tuff Guy

La Plata, Maryland

Reviewed on 2010-09-28

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 2007 450 but I really missed the fun of a two stroke. Now that I have both bikes, I don't race the 450 as much as I used to. This bike is too much fun, it rails the corners, it's light and is easy maintenance. My son was racing a 250F but now he prefers dad's 250 two stroke. The two stroke is definitely not dead and, thanks to Yamaha, I can still fill my need for a real MX bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Josh Blue

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2010-06-17

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my third YZ250 in the last eight years, and I had two YZ125's before. I am totally sold on Yamaha 2 strokes' reliability, broad power band, flickability, overall they are the do-all package. They have been bullet proof, and cheap to maintain. I've had a couple other brands before these, and nothing has compared to the overall joy of owning and riding a YZ 2-strokes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Johnboy

Agat, Guam

Reviewed on 2009-11-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Sweet powerband, awesome suspension, and extremely lightweeight compared to the four strokes. Great job Yamaha!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Luca Casinelli

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2009-09-30

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
GET THIS BIKE! I absolutely love it and I consider myself a 4 stroke guy. This bike is crazy. Bottom line, ridiculous. Has been ripped out of my hands before, it's just that strong. Yamaha is renowned for terrible bottom but amazing mid and top. It has alright bottom, AMAZING mid and pretty good top. Make sure you grab the next gear once it starts to fall flat otherwise you will get thrown over the bars. Chug and lug or ride it like Stewart and it will still go fast. Pulled holeshots over 450s and 250fs all day. It just falls into corners wanting to get out of the corner fast and very smooth and down the next straight. Handles like a 125 but has the power of a dragster. Loves to be whipped, it was made to whip. The forks are a little harsh and bottom quite a bit but need the compression to be turned out a few clicks. Shock is pretty good, not bad. The chassis is not as good as my 04 crf250r but the motor make up. It packs the heaviest hitting motor I've ever ridden and I've swung legs over 450s and 700 quads. It's sometimes uncontrollable and I love it. I'll be putting V-Forces on it for more bottom and mid for the trails. All in all, buy this bike, will not be disappointed. Honestly, greatest all around bike, trails, freeriding, racing. No problem, bring it on, the bike will just eat it up
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Todd Henry

Charlotte, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2009-08-05

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Couldn't be happier with this bike. Suspension is firm and hooks up well out of turns. Power delivery is phenomenal. Loads in mid-range and top-end of torque spectrum. Very reliable. All parts and components have held up well...just a top-end change every 40-50 hours or so.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

scott

Gainesville, Texas

Reviewed on 2008-12-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding for a little over a year now and this bike is amazing. I can jump it as high as I want to. Sometimes a little too high. It has the power to bring the front tire off the ground in every gear. I'll race people at local parks and everyone thinks I'm crazy just because I'll ride wheelies doing well over 80 mph for miles. The bike has a lot of power but it is easy to control. I'm not really good at MX, but when it comes to Enduros, no one can catch me. The suspension of this bike lets me hit roots, rocks and bumps wide open and hardly feel them. The only downside of this bike is that I wish it had a little bit more on the top end. A stock YZ250 will probably do 70 mph. I have mine geared to probably reach 85-90. I would like to hit the 110-120 range. But that's the only downside to the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ed Huffine

Olympia, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-09-06

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As a 2 stroke holdout I was apprehensive about buying another YZ250, man am I glad I did. This bike is raw power and handling off the showroom floor. With very little tweaking and setup my YZ was holding it's own with other modified racers. I'm over 40 now but still stupid enough to ride MX every now and again. On the track, all go and what a suspension, eats up the whole track. No front end push like previous models, balanced in the air and turns on a dime. This bike is awesome.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rbeckett

Bronson, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-08-19

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This has to be the best so far. Great horsepower, super suspension, just a great bike overall. Set this bike up for Hare Scramble/Enduro.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Greer

Quinton , Alabama

Reviewed on 2007-08-10

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike in January 2003 and other than upgrades and a top end once a year, I've had absolutely no problems from this bike. I piss a lot of people off with this bike because it pulls out of the hole like a tractor and will rev to the moon on the top side. There isn't a hill I can't climb with it or a jump I can't clear with it. It has NEVER failed to start on the first kick and never complained about my fat butt abusing it. You would come closer to getting my wife than this bike from me. And the best part is I can put a top end in it for 120.00 verses several hundred to do it on a 4 stroke.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 50 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: