Yamaha YZ426F Motorcycles Reviews (40)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ426F Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha YZ426F Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-09-06 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 15-1/2 years old and I am racing it at the local track but this bike is made for anything. It has all good torque. it pops up in 1st, 2nd, even 3rd gear on the road. I have an amazing bike and it is this one.
- Terry Cheatham, Chowchilla, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-18 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an amazing bike. I just turned 15 and I've wanted a big bike that I could grow into. This bike is perfect for me. It's the best bike I've had so far. The only problem I have with it is that it leaks oil out of he motor when you ride for a few hours and the motor gets hot!!! But is a great bike overall.
- Eli stone , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-21 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the absolute best. I have no trouble keeping up with my mates when riding through trails and motocross tracks. This bike will pull up in any gear without trouble. This is the most powerful bike I've ridden in my life. This bike will beat any 2 stroke and the sound is 10 times better than a 2 stroke. If you have the chance to buy one, you should get one.
- brooksy, ulladulla, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-09 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like everyone else, starting it was difficult for the first three days. I live in Colorado Springs so we have tons of trail riding. The bike tears it up on the hills, rocks and sand. There is enough power for anything you want to do. The bike is very maneuverable through the turns and rocks. It is hard to not go fast on this bike. I bought it from a guy who wanted to get rid of it badly. It was the best money I have ever spent.
- Steven Tafoya, colorado springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-15 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my snowmachine for this bike, I thought I was getting jipped out of the deal. The first day I had it, I had a hard time starting it. The Decomp level took a little getting used to. On the 3rd day I could start it 1 kick everytime. This bike is so fast! It will pull wheelies literally in any gear. I live in alaska so it's usually a little cold out but this doesn't affect anything! It's usually a little easier to start on chillier days. So far I havn't used my hot cam pump thing, just the lever. This bike was an upgrade from my 03 rm 125... and it was so worth it!
- Christian Killian, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-21 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I mainly ride trails, all sorts, rocky, tight, sandy, rutted, some of everything, and this bike can handle it all. The suspension is plush enough to keep you on the bike all day (comfortably), but stiff enough to resist bottoming well, even in big whoops. The hardest thing for me, and others, at first was the starting procedure. I was used to easy to start 250 and the big bore starting takes a bit to get used to. With the bigger rear sprocket, my bike has plenty of get up and go in the bottom end with smooth power throughout. I have tried my hand at motocross too and this bike performs great (granted mine is heavier due to the weight the offroad accessories add). All in all, this bike is a great, light-feeling, maneuverable bike that can meet a wide variety of needs.
- Brendan H., P-town, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-08 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike three years ago from an ex-supercross racer. I mainly ride trails and I have to say that many people can't keep up with this bike. It doesn't matter where you ride: tight trails, smooth soft trails, sand; this is the bike you need. It kills the KTM 450's and 530's. The two strokes don't even have a chance. The bike (set up properly) smashes throught the whoop sections and has no problem carrying wheelies through them. To those who say that the KTM's handle better than the older four strokes... go out and ride with somebody who owns one of these bikes and you might not be saying that too loudly anymore.
- Alan Rosencrans, Puyallup, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-12 2002 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best full size dirtbike I have ridden by far. It's really reliable and easy to start now that I got the procedure right. I can ride anything on this beast, woods, mx, desert. It'll make it up and thru anything..
- Stephen Gruenbacher, Atwater, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-30 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 01 YZ426. It's a little bit heavy when compared to the latest generation of 450 MX bikes, but it's still an amazing bike. The power is unbelievable; I can pull wheelies in any gear. This bike really shines down low. I race enduros and on my KX250, I had difficulty going up steep slippery hills. I had to rev the engine out to get enough power up the hill, but once the revs on the smoker get up I lose traction. NOT ON THE YZ426! These tricky hills are no longer a problem and I can speed up any of them with ease. The power delivery of the 426 is incredible, especially down low. It's a torque monster! I have never had a problem starting mine either. It starts first or second kick, hot or cold. If the manual decomp lever bothers you, you could always put a 03 450 cam in it which will give you automatic decompression. The WR is corked from the factory compared to the YZ (but can easily and inexpensively be brought to YZ spec). The only negative thing about the YZ426 now in 2008 is that it's very heavy compared to newer bikes. Although it could potentially be competitive on a MX track or in an enduro race with newer 450s, the weight of the YZ426 will tire the rider out more quickly. Another big advantage of the 426 is the reliability. I don't know how reliable the new Yamaha 450 is, but I check my valves once or twice a year and for the past seven years my valves are still in spec. NO ADJUSTMENT NECESSARY! Do you know of any other 4-stroke MX bike that can make that claim?
- lowrydr310, Torrance, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-26 2000 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am only 15. I have been told that it would be too much power for me and I have been told it wasn't. So when I got it, it went as fast as I wanted it to. It jumps smooth and it rides smooth. It depends on how fast you want to go. This is the best bike I have ever ridden!
- mobely, eagle point, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-01 2002 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the 426 for a little more than a year now and no problems. The suspension is a little soft for anyone 180-190lbs. The power is great, it has great snap out of the corners and loves race gas but does not mind 91. I'm a heavy guy but it pulls me around like nothing. The bike is really reliable and worth buying if you find one.
- Matt Preciado, yucaipa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-30 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I was 15 years old, my football coach made me give up racing motocross. I was riding a state-of-the-art Honda Elsinore CR125 (supposedly the best production MXer ever made at the time regardless of displacement). I vowed that I would get back into MXing sometime later in life. 32 years later, I just returned to MX play riding with a used 2001 YZ426. Boy am I old! This bike can do wheelies with ease in the 1st 3 gears with no effort and by just twisting the throttle. I've only ridin it 3 times on a fairly short track in NJ and have NEVER even gotten into 4th or 5th gears, but 1st gear is literally all you need on this track with such a powerful bike. Handling seems good but it is hard to tell because the track is 100% sand which is terrifying (I grew up in Ohio and used to race on packed dirt/mud, etc. and never experienced the vagueries of sand riding). I'm taking it very easy for now as I try to regain some of my old form. My only complaint is that the kick-starter is so high I can barely get my foot up on it. Thankfully, it starts on one kick (once you learn how to do it). Overall, this has been a great play bike that has performed flawlessly - so far so good!
- JV, Philly Burbs, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-29 2002 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wanted to upgrade from my old CR250, bought this mint 2002 426 with spare plastics and exhaust. Took it for a 600 acre ride at Toms Farm central Wales and held on all day. What an absolute beauty in full wolfs clothing, any gear will have this animal pointing at the sun/moon and will howl all day. No terrain is to difficult, Yamaha have got it spot on with this motor.
- Stuart Fisher, STAFFORDSHIRE, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-20 2000 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike about 2 weeks ago and I've been riding it every chance I get; I even rode in 10 degree weather! The bike is so fast. Also, it's very easy to manuever, but does get loose when you want it to. Excellent power and torque. My buddy rode it and he couldn't even get traction it has so much power. If you want a bike that will do everything for you and beat just about everything ,try to find yourself a YZ426. There was a lil bit of trouble starting in the cold but when it's a lil warmer it starts easy.
- Nick , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-21 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Previously a 2 stroke devotee - never thought a 4 stroke could deliver the performance of a 2 stroke - Wrong. Smooth predictable power and heaps of it! Starting? nothing difficult about it. Decompress just past top dead centre, return kickstart to top, release decompression lever and 1 committed fast kick. haven't had the opportunity to thoroughly test suspension - but experience so far tells me it's going to be good. This is easily the best bike I've ever owned.
- Rod, perth, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-28 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first dirt bike, motorcycle, and other than truck vehicle. Rode an old (1970's) 250 down the street twice many years ago and that's it prior to this. Obviously, comparison wise I cannot give a valid opinion but my observations were as follows: It was intimidating at first (Ocotillo wells) but got the hang of it quickly and within an hour was quite comfortable on this bike. INSANE POWER!!! Slowly working my way into the throttle after each ride I got to open it up with 1/2 throttle and my eyes sucked back into my head and the world shook. It seemed like I could easily blow other guys away with the power of this bike. Yet it was easy to handle, liked to stay straight, and is pretty light. I had no trouble picking it up or starting it; it was comfortable. Within a few rides, I was trying wheelies and skidding turns (I am sure there is a proper term for this). Seems easy to work on and pretty straightforward.
- AMC, san diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-28 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is sweet. It flies like no other. I am so excited to own this thing....if I were you I would go out and buy one right now...Yamaha rules!!
- Dirk Diggler, Winchestertonfieldville, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-20 2002 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purcahsed my 2002 YZ426F at the end of March as my first bike. Being that I'm 15, 6'2" and 200lbs, I knew I would be too big for a 125 so I bought this bike. This bike amazes me every time I'm on it. The power is phenominal, and being a novice rider on my hometown track, I could burn any 125 rider and even some of the 250 guys with less than a month's experience in most straights. The four stroke is so forgiving and has made me such a great rider. It inspires confidence but at the same time demands respect. Any bike with close to 50 horses stock has a tendency to demand some.
- Joel, Destin , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-20 2002 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All the reviews are right... You really can't tell how fast you are going till you see the trees blurring past you! Incredible torque, yet easy to ride, on track or off road. Only problem is downshifting under power, like climbing hills. Best bet is to start a gear lower and stick with it. BELIEVE in the power of the thumper, and you will prevail! Overall, great bike, but heavy for the hard-core offroad racer.
- Damon, Follansbee, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-25 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2001 426, and it has all the power you need for anything. Very nice bike, fast from takeoff and thru every gear.
- Derek, Sabine Pass, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-16 2000 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a weekend novice rider. Woods, sand pits, and ripping it up under high tension power lines is where I spend my time. My 426 is a sweet machine but being an Mx bike has a drawback. Stock first gear is too high for slow woods. This bike was never designed to crawl along. I have a 3 tooth smaller sprocket and this helps in the technical stuff and boosts acceleration a little too, but it also brings top speed down alittle . I know I can't do 75 anymore. But that's OK actualy for my health. But don't misunderstand me, the bike is stable. It has no bad habits. It has great throttle response. Sufficient power down low that turns into a midrange that barks. It'll put a smile on my face every time I ride it. Suspension is good and doesn't do anything weird. I change the frame held oil with partialy synthetic and bring it to the dealer once a year. The YZ426 has never given me a mechanical failure. Always relible. And I beat this machine hard. I give this bike 4 stars only because it isn't completely versatile. But then again it was designed to be apure MX bike.
- PFREE, Adirondack, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-14 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Learning to start the bike was difficult, until I read the manual showing you how to start the bike. I always thought 2 stroke 250s were the defacto bike to ride, boy was I mistaken. This bike has loads of power and torque. My brother and I race, he rides a 2002 yz250. He has a hard time keeping up with me now, he he. I can Climb hills, without a head start, something that the 2 strokes have a hard time with.
- John Brass, RIverside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-03 2002 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been Racing,or just riding hard for fun for twenty five years now.I've had the kx500's,xr600's,the 250 two strokes,ect.And,i could'nt pass up a deal from my dealer to buy new off the floor the one 2002'yz426f that he had left this year 5/03.I bought it,i rode it ,And... WOW,it's like riding my old big bore two strokes.Anytime,Anywhere you need the power,and speed,It's there.And the suspention,forget the days of bad landings...Anytime i have gotten in a situation with landings,or unbearable ruts or terrain,it sucks it up like auto pilot.I've rode the '03 honda cr450 and as well the yz450. by far to me the yz426f is more hard hitting,and stronger than the honda.The cr450 is a constant power without as much of quick punch.And the yz450 is too tractor like with low torque, for pulling down a house.But,the 02'426f(when they perfected so many changes from the 00-01's)for motocross it's the ticket. LOng story short Yamaha did'nt have to go to a 450 to keep up with the jones i'd put my 426 up against the honda anyday. A must buy!
- Dan Hodges, Biloxi, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-07 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike because it does everything I want it to do with no problems. Thanks Yamaha!
- julian, horwich, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-19 2002 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started out a 2 stroke rider and thought 4 strokes were lame,heavy, bikes that sound stupid. No-One could have convinced me that a 4 stroke could be competitive with a 2 stroke. Hahah was I wrong. My yamaha 94 250 sheared the flywheel key and left me with nothing to ride one Sunday at the Wastelands. Untill Terry Painter, (the coolest guy in CMRC history. Now deceased.) Let me do a few laps on his 2001 yz426. At first I was intimidated, but not for long! Man the bike sounded so sweet! I just liked riding harder to hear the motor roar! I went out and traded my old bike and the lump sum of $3400.00 for a new (They put it together for me!)2002 yz426f. I pride myself as a fast junior, and all my buddies are about there as well, me bieng the least experienced rider in the group. I never stood a chance against anyone on my old 94 250 2 stroker. Now My pals cant touch me off the start line, they cant pull through a corner like I can and they cant beat me in a drag race! There is absoloutly no doubt in my mind that The 2002 yz426f is the most powerfull,smooth,and comfortable bike I have ever ridden. Incedentaly my two stroke pals ride: -02 CR 250 Vern -01 TM 300 John -01 RM 250 Derick -01 YZ 250 Reg
- Regan Morben, Victoria, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: