Yamaha YZF-600R Motorcycles Reviews (83)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-600R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha YZF-600R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-08-05 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing! I went from an older Sportster to this bike, deciding that I wanted to go a little faster. This bike did the trick. I acquired a 2001 YZF600R for myself for my 26th birthday and have been scraping pegs on it since. The only down side I have found is tires for it aren't cheap. If your looking at this bike for a first "crotch rocket", I would highly recommend it, great motorcycle.
- Larry, Hiwassee, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-09 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have aproximately 6,000 miles on my bike on the street and who knows how many on the track, as I disconnect the speedometer on the track. (probably around 1,000+ miles on the track). This bike is great! The acceleration is exactly the same as the R6's of the same years. The only reason I gave it a 4-Star on performance is because I'm comparing the suspension to an R6. The front forks are just a little weak stock for the track. All in all, I ride this bike as a daily driver on the street and race it on the weekends and have had zero problems with it.
- alex, lincoln, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-23 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike and for a fist time girl rider this is awesome! I have ridden on back for years and it was time for me to be in control. I almost bought the gsxr 600 but fell in love with the Yamaha.
- Dawn, Oldsmar, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-17 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After months of searching for a bike, I found that with my height, Yamaha bikes fit me the best (really long legs) and after getting over my ego in having an R6, I found that the 600R is a perfect bike for new rides as well as pros. It has plenty of power, topping out at around 130 or so. Plus, for the price, it can't be beat. I could not afford an R6 and after taking the motorcycle safty course I realized that I did not need a 100+ HP bike, and as far as specs go, from 99 to 07 the 600r have all the same spec just different plastic. This is an amazing bike, you don't need a track bike for the street.
- Mario, Simi Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-14 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2005 YZF600R. I have had it for 2 years now and I could not ask for a better bike. I have just put in 4600.00 in accessories. It got new paint, air brush design. I got rid of all the stock stuff. Yes, I am a female and it is the hottest bike where I live in Newport, Maine. Need some help with yours? Just email me.
- Jana Hastey, Newport, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-10 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is everything one could ask for in a sport bike. I picked up one three weeks ago. I'm loving it, the bike has more power than I need. A great buy! I would definitely recommend this bike.
- Terrence Davis, Lawrenceville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-02 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden a few sportbikes, but the Yamaha YZF 600R is by far the best of them out there!! This is my first motorcycle and I have found that it is very user and beginner friendly. As my experience increases, so does the level of enjoyment that this bike provides. This bike is very fast and very fun!! Enjoy!!
- Marcus Haynes, Ozark, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-24 2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike in the spring of 2003. I had not rode a sportbike for about 12 years. After riding this bike for about 2 days, I decided that I would need more low end speed. I changed the front sprocket (1 down) and the rear sprocket(2 up). Stage 1 jet kit(dynojet). Yosh slip on pipe. Frame slides. Stock tires sucked so I got pirelli diablos. They work fantastic with this bike. My buddy has a 2002 R6(stock). I can take him in any set of twisties. On the straights, he has me a by little in the top end. This bike is definitely more comfortable than the racing bikes. Also can do power up wheelies with ease.
- Jason, Pottstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-06 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 600r is an amazing machine. I've ridden R6's, GSXR600's, and even the Kawi 636R and when it comes to power, comfort, and durability for the 600 class, I feel that none compare. I highly recommend this motorcycle as a beginner bike and even for the more advanced rider. This machine is extremely fun for the young and old rider alike.
- Chris I., Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-08 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a great bike for the money. All the add ons I've done really makes this bike wake up. I'm very pleased with it. All my friends and family I ride with can't believe what this bike can do now. Let's just say anybody with a GSXR 750 doesn't have anything on this bike. I thought that when I did the mods, it would give me a 5- 10% in power but it pulls hard like my cousins Suzuki 750 does. I've rode lots of bikes and I can say that the comfort this bike has is the best I've rdiden. That is the only reason I bought it. When looking at the R6 and R1s and even some Kawasaki's, the comfort wasn't there. Note to those that are looking to buy a bike and never rode before - Get a bike that fits you and your riding skill. don't get a bike b/c it has a lot of cc. Bikes are unpredictable so respect them. RIDE SAFE so you can ride another day.
- Brandon Ellevan, ParkForest, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-19 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had a 2001 GXR 750, a 2002 600CBR F4i, and a '99 carburated CBR 600. AND all I can tell you is this bike beats them all overall... It is fast, does not get thrown around by the wind like the others, comfortable, and you feel very stable at top speeds compared to these other bikes. If you have the muscle to throw around its weight the road is yours on this bike!!!
- Jack, El Paso, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-15 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for a year and the bike has no problem keeping up with any bike built to be lighter and faster. It is the best for comfort and long rides. I had it jetted and it's even more powerful.
- Rocky Rod, catonsville , Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-05 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2004 Yzf600r with just over 4500 miles on it. This bike has given me everything I have asked of it, and will keep up with any of my friends sportbikes. In one day I have riden my YZF from Columbia Maryland to Ocean City then to Dover Delaware. A total of about 5 1/2 hours of riding in 7 hours. When I was done I had not one ache. This bike is aggressive as you want it to be, but you can also ride it long distances with out killing your body. I love my bike, and plan on keeping it for a long time to come.
- Chris Kelly, Columbia, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-02 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Inside every YZF600, there's an R6 dying to get out... the only thing that's holding it from coming out is cost. I've owned my bike for one year now, and every day I get better and better on my skills because this bike is so easy to ride and still look cool with. I'm not saying that I will never up grade to an R6, but for now, this is the best beginners bike in the 600cc range that anyone - male, female, short, tall - can enjoy and be comfortable with.
- v k, Glendale, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-22 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At first, I thought of buying an R6, however I wasn't able to get it because the price was just too high (for me) and since I was financing it, it would have come to like 16-17 grand on 6 years....so I talked to "RALPH" and we went to check out the YZF600R, at first glance, it looked nice, nice stock bike, with racing look, and based on what he told me, the performance was a killer.. Turns out after I got it, I had no idea how to drive one, so I just took it 2 times around my complex (total=1 mile) and got the hang of it, << <pretty good hu?>>> well anyway, it was pretty simple, however I rode it inside the neighboorhood for like 45 minutes, untill I got comfortable with it...really easy bike to drive. Now that I have had it for 3 months, it has been a good 3000+ miles so far, I've been to bike mets with some friends, and even done "THE RIDE" for all of you people who know what we do in this event (if you wanna know, e-mail me). GREAT STARTER BIKE! -DREY
- Andres Castaneda, Deerfield Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-29 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok this bike looks cooler, looks lighter and is over a grand cheaper. It can also ride and almost has the top speed of the other top 600's. This bike won't kill your rear end after an hour ride and still has all the power you need. Love this bike.
- mike bayliss, lorton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-26 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I tried out the cbr600rr and didn't like the fact of how much you have to lean on it aswell as the gixxer600. Then sat on the yzf600r and loved the comfort of it! Great all around bike whether you're riding with other rockets or just out for a sunday cruise! This bike will keep up with the cbr600rr or the gsx600 without a doubt!
- Kirkpatrick, Fredricksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-21 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Yamaha YZF600R on the 30th of June, '05 and have already put 1,000 miles on it! This is my first sportbike and I bought this model because of it's more comfortable features (wider, longer &#038; more padded seat, more upright handle bars, and taller windscreen to mention the main features). don't think for a second that this isn't a true sport bike however, because it's 599cc, inline four cylinder, 16 valve, DOHC, water cooled engine will get you from 0-60 mph in around 3.7 sec.! This bike has power out the wazoo! I chose this bike over its sister bike (the R-6) because in all seriousness, I'm not buying this bike to put on the track, I'm buying it to ride on the road, so why buy a track ready bike with a licence plate for $1,300 more (2005 MSRP comparison) and not be comfortable on longer rides? It only make sense for me to make this purchase. If your looking for a fun, reliable, quick and sporty bike, look no further!
- Rich Rod, Charlottesville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-27 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just turned 18 and have wanted a sport bike for a long time. I bought this bike about a month ago and have been riding it everywhere since then. It's my first bike and has been an excellent one to learn on. It has got plenty of punch, especially in the high RPM's. Despite this the bike is extremely comfortable and easy to ride. Very forgiving handling and excellent breaks. Great all around bike, especially for the price.
- Josiah Leis, Merino, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-26 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this little beast for almost 2 months now, after broken in for 600 hundred miles we added some aftermarket parts on it and I am so impressed with this bike, not bad at all.. I did smoke some top of the line 600's..
- joel labrador, bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-06 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2002 YZF600R, I love it except for the 2nd gear problem over 10000 miles. Customer service wasn't much help. Searching the internet I have found that many owners of this bike have the same problem. If you are interested in this bike be aware.
- BKC, Mayfield, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-04 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a yzf600r to save money over an r6 and I love it. Even though a r6 looks better, this bike still turns heads in blue. I already have 17,000 miles on it and i bought it not long ago. It is so comfortable to ride. I go on long trips 1-2 times a week. My only problem is I owe alot more than its worth because of the miles. But a great overall buy!!!
- JJ, gilbert, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-02 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike looks good and sounds good, but it could be a little more snappy. It doesn't really take off until around 5 grand but when it hits 5 grand it is gone! This is the perfect bike for me. I love my bike, it hangs with the best of them.
- Junior Nichols, Elkton, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-30 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a used YZF600R 3 days ago. This is my first bike and it is easy to learn on. This bike has the sport fairings with the comfort of a touring bike. It's a bit sluggish at lower gears so riding in traffic is a challenge for me. On the highway is where it shines. This bike has a lot of mid range power. I'm excited to learn and progress with my riding skills on this bike. I'll give you an update in a couple of months.
- Joe, Riverside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-13 2002 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is comfortable and has pretty good power for being a sportbike/touring bike, takes some practice to ride wheelies but once you got it down you'll ride 'em all day, well into second gear, sometimes third if you're lucky. It sticks with R6's on top end too, nice bike!
- Tyler Pechinski, Stevens Point, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: