Yamaha YZF-R6 Motorcycles Reviews (221)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R6 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha YZF-R6 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-01-02 2012 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike! It's the best purchase I ever made. It's a fun bike, reliable, fuel efficient, has a sleek look and great sound, too. It's the best bike by far.
- Rob S., Dunkirk, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-14 2012 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for five years and this is my 4th bike. I started on a Gixxer 600, went to a 1000 then to a Harley which I hated and now I just picked up a 2012 YZF-R6. I switched to a Yamaha because of a few reasons. I think it's the best looking bike out of the 600 class. I know it has tons of power for a 600 and it's a little cheaper than a Gixxer 600. I am definitely going to look into an aftermarket seat because like all the other bikes, it feels like you are sitting on a piece of cardboard. I only have about 50 highway miles on it. Break in period is up to 600 miles. I'm dying to open it up around the turns but I'm going to be good until I hit the 600 mile mark. If you are considering a 600cc sport bike, take a look at the R6, you wont be disappointed!
- Joeybots2615, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-10 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It was my first bike that I owned and paid off. It's also been four years just about since I first picked it up. There hasn't been any time that it has caused me to complain about it in any way. I still ride in the canyons on the weekends, track days every other month, and use it to get me to and from school during the week. After several thousand miles into the bike, it still runs great. I've put on quite a few bolt ons and upgrades over the past years to make it unique and even more powerful. My previous review still stands from the 2k mark on this bike. The only difference being is that I was a little naive when suggesting anyone lower the bike. It changes the handling characteristics if you use it for track or canyon riding. If it is used just around town, lowering it isn't too bad. My bike is stock height and I can almost touch the ground flat with my feet. I know a few girls that are shorter than I am, who own this bike, and feel comfortable tip toeing on it. One in particular is too short and could only put one foot down. She managed for a while but eventually lowered it a little. She had to shorten the kickstand after that, but feels more confident when riding. She doesn't do any serious riding to notice any difference from lowering it. I'd say this would probably be one of the only situations you might want to lower it. And for Pete's sake, don't stretch this bike. It is beautiful as it is. If you happen to come by one of these used, I would definitely say to grab it. It is a very track worthy bike. It will lay down for you in just a flick in the corners. Get some new rear-sets though. You will end up grinding your toe slider down or peg eventually. The tank is awesome for knee placement and your upper body while in a corner. You definitely feel solid on the bike. My only complaint (if anything) would still be the seat. I've ridden over 800 miles or more in one day. Let me tell you, my butt was definitely sore. Other than that, this bike is glory all around.
- Mike S., El Centro, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-24 2010 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Upgraded from a 2010 Ninja 250. I absolutely love this bike. I haven't been able to really push this bike to its limit yet because I'm still breaking it in, but wow this bike just performs amazingly. I love having the loudest and fastest bike out of my friends. It smokes my friend's '07 GSXR 600.
- Shane Tabor, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-03 2005 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike ever. I've been riding almost daily for six months and approaching 6K miles in the seat. The performance, fit and finish, quality and reliability are impressive. The '05 design is almost timeless IMHO. She's a pretty bike in blue and I get compliments from passersby. I actually like it better than the third generation for the street but this second generation is no joke when it's time to go supersonic. I've smoked other middle weights and bigger super sports with more experienced riders in the turns and straights because she is all business on demand but friendly enough to navigate my local streets, downtown Seattle and the freeway comfortably - for hours. I feel safe and confident on this bike as it somehow naturally inspires and instills that confidence to lean just a bit more and push the envelope but at your own pace. The '05 is a forgiving communicative bike that has helped me learn quickly and made me a better rider with each ride. It's hard to park her for the night. And it will be harder to park for the winter. A+
- Jay K., Marysville, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-17 2001 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 50K miles on my Yamaha and it's still running like a top. I have: Sync'd the carbs twice myself, once at a shop, changed the plugs once and air filter twice. I've changed the oil (Yamalube semi-synth) every 2500-3K, the 4-chain/sprocket sets (520) and the brake pads once. This needs to be done again now. It looks brand new! I think the '01 R6 is an anomaly in motorcycle manufacturing....seriously. Hardly any service and still going strong. I don't think I will ever sell this bike. See you soon for a 675....maybe.
- David Blechinger, Simi Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-16 2008 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
1/5 of the way there to 100k miles. So far, it has been great. The bike still handles like a charm. I tried the Bridgestone BT016 and they handle great. I got a little over 12K miles out of them so far. It's up for an oil change and I expect to get new tires pretty soon. The bike, well, like always, never a dull moment. It always bring a smile to my commute home and to work and everywhere else. It's still a lot more bike than I have skill for it but I expect after a few track day instruction classes I will catch it a bit. People look at me like I am crazy for smiling when I get off the bike. Some have asked. I simply state...it is a nice.... ride....had police officers urge to go faster but I smell a joke on me...haha....not falling for it... I think they wish they could simply ride and not be stuck behind a cage like the rest of the commuters...if you want a smile to work and a stress reduction ride with a smile after a stresful or hard day of work...get a Yamaha R6... the new colors are great....have fun and be safe...
- slider762, los angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-14 2008 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 08 R6's have taken on Almighty status in my garage. I'm completely happy with the choice and really feel the track in them. They are not kind around town but get in a spirited situation and it's on!!! Not much out there does it all so well. Buy two, like I did. You won't be disappointed. Excellent job YAMAHA!
- B Winfield, Highland Heights, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-07 2008 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've raced motocross and hare scrambles for years and have owned 2 other street bikes, a 250 and a 500, but nothing compares to the speed and performance of the R6. I ride with an R1 and have no problem keeping up with it. Personally I think the R6 handles way better and has better mid-range. You'd be an idiot not to buy one.
- Dave, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-22 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I love it. I would recommend it to anyone.
- Chandler, Fulton, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-16 2008 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I always wanted to get a sportbike before I turned old. My eyes fell on this speed devil that looks killer. It has the best styling of all the bikes currently in the market. For a short height of 5'7this bike initially was tough on me because of the high seat it offers. But then I grew into it. It is recommended not to change the height of the seat as it affects its handling. The 1st day I rode it out of the store, it rolled like a dream. Smooth and perfect position for a person of my height. I felt powerful riding it. Since then, every time I look at it, it feels like I have achieved my dream. It has amazing power even on the 6th gear. I still get confused between 5th and the 6th. It always feels in the 6th gear that it could possibly have a gear higher. Bending feels amazing! It is highly recommended for people who need an adrenalin rush everyday! ;)
- Swapnil, Long Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-22 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got me a '07 metallic black R6 and love it. I saved money over the '08 which I don't mind putting into upgrades on the '07. As you can tell I rode about 100 miles so far on it and it's still way within its break in period before I open her up. You will never get as many compliments with any other bike like you do with this one. By far the best looking 600 out there. Plus it handles like no other. A must to own no matter the year '06, '07 or '08.
- Kris, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-14 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. I have done a few mods to my bike looks and motor-wise. It is super fast and handles like a dream. The R6 is for sure the best 600 on the road.
- KENNY PETERS, MANTECA, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-10 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike about two months ago. I had never rode a bike until about a week before I got this one. The first day I bought my R6 I was too scared to take it above 47mph. After about 200 miles of riding, I was ready to take it sooo much faster! I didn't because of the break in period, but it is such a good bike to learn on, it begged to go faster! I'm 5'10" and have somewhat short legs. The bike does sit up a lot higher than most. I cannot get both feet flat on the ground at the same time, however, I'm pretty close. If you are short this may not be the best for you. 4 days after I got mine, my buddy bought an 07 gixer 600. I rode his, and afterwards, I was actually much happier with mine! The gixer was more comfortable, but mine rode soooo much smoother, it didn't vibrate like the gixer either. We switched bikes for a quick ride, and he even admits that mine is AMAZING at high speed cornering! It is a track bike, it is meant to handle corners well!! I have 3300 miles on it now, and I have had it up to 154mph in 5th gear, I started to run out of road then. I would imagine that it might hit 160-165. If you're trying to make a decision between the gixer and the R6, I would get the R6 for high speed performance handeling, and cornering, if you just wana cruise, then get the gixer. I'm trading my R6 for an R1 next summer!
- R6 Rider, Springfield, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-05 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Plain and simple this bike is sick. I got it in the Candy Red color and it looks ridiculous in the sun. Even guys that have been riding for years are jelaous of the bike. Yea it's a 600 but the it's lighter and mid-range torque is sick.
- Bojan Rajkovic, Munster, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-31 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding bikes when I was 9 years old. Now i'm 29. Simply, this is the best 600cc bike so far.. and I have no words to explain about the beauty of this bike. The performance too.. I don't think any other 600 can beat this for many many years... Thanks to Yamaha.
- Tyronne, London, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-06 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first motorcycle I had ever ridden and it was easy to learn. I love this bike and recommend it to anyone who loves to go fast and look good. I tried out the GSXR 600 and I like this a lot more. Great bike!
- Adriel, Greenville, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-31 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 07 R6 charcoal black. It's been nothing but a riot to ride. Fun in the turns. In the low end, it is a slug but the top end, that's a different story. I know she does a lot more than 170mph...
- Jared, salt kake, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-15 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The R6 is my first bike. I bought the red color and I had to go to 3 stores before I found it. It's very fast, and handles great, but there's always room for more power, like exhaust and air filter upgrades and sproket. I'm still in the break in period and I can't wait till I can get it close to red line. I would suggest this bike even for a beginner like me, but I know how to ride a dirt bike, or pedal bike, so I figured this would be easy and it is.
- Josh , pottstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-14 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is by far my Favorite bike yet. I have ridden both the GSXR, the CBR, and previously owned the 2002 Yamaha R6. This was a upgrade from the 2002 after an accident, and let me tell you, this bike is amazing. It rides soooo smooth compared to the 2002, and screams once you hit the higher RPMs. If you're thinking about a new bike, and can't decide what you would enjoy, go with the R6, you won't be disappointed.
- Phil T, South Bend, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-04 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, I've always wanted one and I must say, it is awesome. It's very touchy and fast, but as long as I/you take it real slow at first, the bike comes to you. But so far, the bike is perfect.
- Dusty McCartney, Bryan, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-26 2005 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was not very experienced on sport bikes until I got my 05 R6, and it was easy to learn on and packed with power. It took a little while to get used to everything but once I did I was able to unleash it and WOW, this bike has an incredible amount of power.
- J_one, Haslet, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-18 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went out with a group of riders...all pushing 1000's, and this bike holds it's own! I couldn't believe the power this things has. Great light weight bike. Screams at 120! Love it!!!
- Steve P., Suitland, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-18 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've rode GSXR 6's, Kawis, etc but nothing can touch my new ride, the 07 R6V. Once the tach hits around 11k, hold on cause it's nuts! I've put a full pipe and PC on there and I am running with 1000s all day. Awesome bike on the track, unsurpassed handling. You can bang down four gears in seconds and drop and scrape into tight corners like no 1000 nor other 6 can. Highly recommended.
- steve T, banning, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-30 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, I love it. I was debating on the R1 for more power, but this one has enough power. The only thing I did not like about the bike was the side turn signals and rear fender so I put different ones on. Aside from that, the bike is great.
- MikeL, Lakewood, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: