Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

221 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Rob S.

Dunkirk, New York

Reviewed on 2013-01-02

Motorcycle reviewed2012 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love this bike! It's the best purchase I ever made. It's a fun bike, reliable, fuel efficient, has a sleek look and great sound, too. It's the best bike by far.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joeybots2615

New York, New York

Reviewed on 2012-09-14

Motorcycle reviewed2012 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding for five years and this is my 4th bike. I started on a Gixxer 600, went to a 1000 then to a Harley which I hated and now I just picked up a 2012 YZF-R6. I switched to a Yamaha because of a few reasons. I think it's the best looking bike out of the 600 class. I know it has tons of power for a 600 and it's a little cheaper than a Gixxer 600. I am definitely going to look into an aftermarket seat because like all the other bikes, it feels like you are sitting on a piece of cardboard. I only have about 50 highway miles on it. Break in period is up to 600 miles. I'm dying to open it up around the turns but I'm going to be good until I hit the 600 mile mark. If you are considering a 600cc sport bike, take a look at the R6, you wont be disappointed!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike S.

El Centro, California

Reviewed on 2011-04-10

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It was my first bike that I owned and paid off. It's also been four years just about since I first picked it up. There hasn't been any time that it has caused me to complain about it in any way. I still ride in the canyons on the weekends, track days every other month, and use it to get me to and from school during the week. After several thousand miles into the bike, it still runs great. I've put on quite a few bolt ons and upgrades over the past years to make it unique and even more powerful. My previous review still stands from the 2k mark on this bike. The only difference being is that I was a little naive when suggesting anyone lower the bike. It changes the handling characteristics if you use it for track or canyon riding. If it is used just around town, lowering it isn't too bad. My bike is stock height and I can almost touch the ground flat with my feet. I know a few girls that are shorter than I am, who own this bike, and feel comfortable tip toeing on it. One in particular is too short and could only put one foot down. She managed for a while but eventually lowered it a little. She had to shorten the kickstand after that, but feels more confident when riding. She doesn't do any serious riding to notice any difference from lowering it. I'd say this would probably be one of the only situations you might want to lower it. And for Pete's sake, don't stretch this bike. It is beautiful as it is. If you happen to come by one of these used, I would definitely say to grab it. It is a very track worthy bike. It will lay down for you in just a flick in the corners. Get some new rear-sets though. You will end up grinding your toe slider down or peg eventually. The tank is awesome for knee placement and your upper body while in a corner. You definitely feel solid on the bike. My only complaint (if anything) would still be the seat. I've ridden over 800 miles or more in one day. Let me tell you, my butt was definitely sore. Other than that, this bike is glory all around.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shane Tabor

Columbia, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2011-02-24

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Upgraded from a 2010 Ninja 250. I absolutely love this bike. I haven't been able to really push this bike to its limit yet because I'm still breaking it in, but wow this bike just performs amazingly. I love having the loudest and fastest bike out of my friends. It smokes my friend's '07 GSXR 600.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jay K.

Marysville, Washington

Reviewed on 2010-11-03

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike ever. I've been riding almost daily for six months and approaching 6K miles in the seat. The performance, fit and finish, quality and reliability are impressive. The '05 design is almost timeless IMHO. She's a pretty bike in blue and I get compliments from passersby. I actually like it better than the third generation for the street but this second generation is no joke when it's time to go supersonic. I've smoked other middle weights and bigger super sports with more experienced riders in the turns and straights because she is all business on demand but friendly enough to navigate my local streets, downtown Seattle and the freeway comfortably - for hours. I feel safe and confident on this bike as it somehow naturally inspires and instills that confidence to lean just a bit more and push the envelope but at your own pace. The '05 is a forgiving communicative bike that has helped me learn quickly and made me a better rider with each ride. It's hard to park her for the night. And it will be harder to park for the winter. A+
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Blechinger

Simi Valley, California

Reviewed on 2010-07-17

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have 50K miles on my Yamaha and it's still running like a top. I have: Sync'd the carbs twice myself, once at a shop, changed the plugs once and air filter twice. I've changed the oil (Yamalube semi-synth) every 2500-3K, the 4-chain/sprocket sets (520) and the brake pads once. This needs to be done again now. It looks brand new! I think the '01 R6 is an anomaly in motorcycle manufacturing....seriously. Hardly any service and still going strong. I don't think I will ever sell this bike. See you soon for a 675....maybe.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

slider762

los angeles, California

Reviewed on 2010-07-16

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
1/5 of the way there to 100k miles. So far, it has been great. The bike still handles like a charm. I tried the Bridgestone BT016 and they handle great. I got a little over 12K miles out of them so far. It's up for an oil change and I expect to get new tires pretty soon. The bike, well, like always, never a dull moment. It always bring a smile to my commute home and to work and everywhere else. It's still a lot more bike than I have skill for it but I expect after a few track day instruction classes I will catch it a bit. People look at me like I am crazy for smiling when I get off the bike. Some have asked. I simply state...it is a nice.... ride....had police officers urge to go faster but I smell a joke on me...haha....not falling for it... I think they wish they could simply ride and not be stuck behind a cage like the rest of the commuters...if you want a smile to work and a stress reduction ride with a smile after a stresful or hard day of work...get a Yamaha R6... the new colors are great....have fun and be safe...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

B Winfield

Highland Heights, Ohio

Reviewed on 2009-08-14

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The 08 R6's have taken on Almighty status in my garage. I'm completely happy with the choice and really feel the track in them. They are not kind around town but get in a spirited situation and it's on!!! Not much out there does it all so well. Buy two, like I did. You won't be disappointed. Excellent job YAMAHA!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-08-07

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've raced motocross and hare scrambles for years and have owned 2 other street bikes, a 250 and a 500, but nothing compares to the speed and performance of the R6. I ride with an R1 and have no problem keeping up with it. Personally I think the R6 handles way better and has better mid-range. You'd be an idiot not to buy one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chandler

Fulton, Missouri

Reviewed on 2009-02-22

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike and I love it. I would recommend it to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 23
  • 1 - 10 of 221 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: