Yamaha YZF-R6S Motorcycles Reviews (26)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R6S Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha YZF-R6S Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-10-10 2009 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is great. This is my first bike and it is considerably comfortable for a sports bike. In 2nd gear at 5k, the bike pulls strong until 6th gear. Sometimes going to 2nd gear it comes up.
- Jburgess08, Orangeburg, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-25 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I very impressed. Compared to others that I have talked to, this bike is very comfortable; after 4.5 hours of riding with three stops. I have not installed any bolt-ons and I'm still able to do about the same as a Honda CBR 600RR and GSXR 600, that both have power commanders and exhust work. With that said, I am not getting rid of this bike no time soon.
- Beginner, Orangeburg, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-04 2009 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my R6s two weeks ago. I had a Katana 600 a year and a half ago and I am just getting back into riding. Even though both are 600cc there is really not much of a comparison. The R6 has a much more responsive throttle that can take you by surprise about how fast it picks up speed; thought I was doing 35mph and I saw that the speedometer read 62. After you break the bike in, which I have not completely done yet, you can do all your riding without passing 2nd gear- it has endless power. The brakes are extremely responsive and the transmission is smooth. My only real complaint is that the idle speed is a little too low (which one other person here said). You need to stay in the friction zone a little longer than you might think. The power and speed always puts a smile on my face and leaves me screaming inside my helmet about how "awesome this ride is!" It is not a great bike for a brand new beginner though. Learn on a less powerful 600 or lower cc.
- Jeff C., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-09 2009 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third bike I've owned and it's perfect blend of power, steering and style make it a sweet and fun bike to ride. Whether you're on a highway or hugging the corners on a back road somewhere, it's got plenty of power and throttle response to get up and move and move quickly.
- Desperado, Willimantic, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-22 2009 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
To start this is my first bike so if I am a bit biased forgive me. I have sincere love for this bike as its sharp lines keep the eyes wondering. I have had this bike for almost a year (16aug08). This bikes powerband starts at 6000k and pulls to the very end. The bike leans effortlessly, and changes direction just as well. My friends can account for this fact as I scare them with the cornering ability I get. Scraping the pegs in the twisties! I have had only one problem with this bike, that being the damn dealership set the idle speed too low and it kept dying on me. I had to figure this out on my own. Other than that the, bike's perfectly wonderful. I get about 50 mpg babying it and 40 mpg ripping that throttle back every chance I get. I have yet to buy any mods as I'm still honing my cornering skills. I'll add more power as I progress.
- Richson4real, Houston, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-06 2009 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have almost had mine for a year and it's the best bike I've ever owned. You will love this machine. I can run down any other 600 on this bike. Super fast and wheelie machine. I'll own mine forever.
- Matt, Indy, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-04 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's my second sportbike and it's no doubt my fav so far. It's fast, fun, sounds great, looks great, feels great, etc. I ride with a lot of liter bikes and 750's and have zero problem keeping up. It's very flickable and strong though the corners. Could use a better headlight but hey, it's a sport bike. Be safe ride hard ride long.
- scott , cuyahoga falls, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-25 2009 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my R6S for about five weeks now and can't get enough of it. This is my first bike and it has treated me very well. I'm still getting used to how far I can actually lean over. This machine sticks wherever you put it. Many people thought I was crazy for getting an R6 my first time out, but it hasn't let me down.
- Frank Gibson, Texarkana, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-05 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Lightweight No Problems This is a great bike. In fact, I haven't found one I like more. The handling is smooth; contours are comfortable; it runs well and I have never had a problem. It is very quick and easy to maneuver.
- Erin, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-21 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first sportbike. I have a 07 red R6S and I love it. I have ridden other "crotch rocketsand none of them are this comfortable. It has a prefect match of power, speed, cornering and braking to suit the inexperienced to most experienced riders. I definitely recommend this bike to anyone as a first bike and I plan on having mine for a long time. It has plenty of power in every gear and will bring the front wheel up in first gear if you are not careful.
- Adam Estrada, Cordova, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-31 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2007 Yamaha YZF R600S in June of 2008. It was cheaper because of the fact it was leftover from the year before, but because I didn't feel like paying a lot for my first bike, I ended up picking it. I am very impressed with the whole bike. It is very reliable and the performance is nothing to laugh at. I have ridden it a lot since I got it. I went on two long distance trips; one to Vermont from Connecticut and another to Massachusetts and back. I also meet with the locals on Sunday mornings and we go pretty fast through the backroads in New York. It keeps up with other 600s without a problem and even gives my friend's 750 a run for his money. It is excellent in the handling department and it starts every time I hit that button on the bars. It really is a great bike for the money. If you are thinking about buying a beginner's bike that has enough gusto to stay with the big boys, then I would definitely recommend the Yamaha YZF-R6S.
- Christopher, Bristol, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-22 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the perfect 600 in my opinion. I think it is the prettiest 600 out there too. The performance, handling and reliability are exceptional. This is my first sportbike and I put more miles on it in three months than I did in three years on my cruiser. It is great around town, super nimble and so much fun to ride. I get 44-48 MPG. The fingers do get a little numb after 40 or so miles at 80mph, but it's nothing to complain about. I am completely satisfied with this bike!
- Joe, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-15 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my R6s April 7th, 2007. Since that day every time I have started it up till the point I have parked it, it has been completely flawless. I have friends with the R6, the GSXR 600 and constantly I hear of issues they are having. Never with my R6S. It is smoother than you will imagine and faster than you imagine. I can't say that I will ever be able to use it to its full potential even stock. Plenty of bike. Great bike for experienced or beginners, just a great bike.
- Derek, East Hartford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-18 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Yamy 2007 R6S is a great bike. It is relativly comfortable, and has a great feel to it. This bike gives you the option to take it easy out on the roads, or tear it up. I have so much fun on it and get a lot of compliments. Oh and let me tell you if you want to be noticed even more, or if you just like the smell of it, fuel up your tank with racing fuel. It is about 103 octane, it is more expensive, and hard to find, but it's worth it, plus it is only a 5.5 gallon tank.
- Justin Newlin, Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-04 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for the everyday rider. It is fast enough to keep up with all of the 600s and has enough low end power to ride in traffic without revving the crap out of it. The bike handles as good as if not better than any bike on the market. It pulls hard in all gears with a sweet note, even stock. The bike is great in the canyons and very comfortable. Compared to the price and minimal performance gains, this bike is a much better bargain than the top tier 600s. Even though Yamaha brought out a new R6 in 06, this bike is still an awesome looking bike with great performance. Bought it two months ago and so far I have 2,500 miles on it, mainly through canyons.
- California Rider, Glendora, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-29 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been drooling over the R6S for over 4 years, back when it was the R6. I was finally in a position to get one a few weeks ago and as my dealer told me, it has changed my life. The odometer reflects my total riding experience, which needless to say makes me a newbie. But there is something intuitive about this bike that makes me feel more like I am working with it rather than controlling it. It is far and away the most attractive sport bike I have seen, exceeding in my opinion even its bigger brothers the R6 & R1. Although I am disappointed that Yamaha removed the Raven color scheme for the 2007 models, my disappointment fades quickly when I realize just how beautiful the deeper blue, complimented by sleek white and gray, really is. This bike has the most aggressive styling of any motorcycle in the 600 class, bar none. As far as performance, four words sum it up: dont forget to breath! Acceleration is eye watering and there really is nothing more satisfying then feeling the weight come of the front shocks. It is the closest feeling to flying you can get while still on the ground. Braking is smooth and quick. On the back roads of Clemson it carves, although I still have not gotten to the level where I am comfortable enough to really lean it over yet. About half of my riding is done with my fiance. The only noticeable difference is during slow speed starts (i.e. red light, bumper to bumper traffic) and even that is not a problem what so ever. Comfort was the main reason we picked the R6S over the R6, the other reason being our limited experience. We regularly ride the lightly trafficked highways of South Carolina for an hour or more without any complaints. I will admit that this bike may not be the best choice for a new rider, but it is only on the grounds that many new riders simply do not understand how to respect such a powerful and responsive machine. That is not to say they are irresponsible. It just means that until you have the experience a bike like the R6S can quickly get away from you if you are not constantly reminding yourself to keep it under control. Many times I have literally told myself to just relax and that I will have all the time in the world to push it once I have got the miles behind me to do it safely. I will probably keep this bike forever. And with my fiance learning to ride this summer, she will probably end up getting an R6S too. I honestly believe it is one of the greatest bikes out there, of any cc class, and in any price range. It is beautiful, comfortable, affordable, and will set the pace or keep the pace with almost any other bike to date.
- Justin, Clemson, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-25 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned four bikes. First was a '00 Ninja EX250, second was a '00 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe, third was '06 Kawi ZZR600 and fourth was '07 Kawi ZZR600. I know, I know! Why in the world did I buy two ZZR600s one year after the next? Well, it was my fault. I did not do my research. Then one day I was riding my '07 Kawi ZZR600 and I just happened to pass by a local dealer and decided to check the bikes. They sell Kawi, Yamaha and Suzuki. During that time I knew what I was looking for which was the '07 Yamaha YZF-R6S in red. Then, out of the blue, they have one left in red. I hopped on it... I did not think it was going to fit me. To my surprise, the bike fits me fine. The '07 YZF-R6S is about an inch taller than my '07 ZZR600. The next day I went back to the dealer and bought the '07 YZF-R6S. It was not a mistake this time. I will keep this bike for as long as I can. I am the type of guy who happens to be a perfectionist when it comes to my machine whether in a form of a car or a motorcycle. All of the machines that were in my possession were treated with respect and care. That is why they took care of me. '07 YZF-R6S has all the features that I was looking for in a supersportbike. It is fuel injected, it has a digital speedometer, low fuel, check engine, white face tach, programmable shift light, deltaboxIII swing arm and chasis. It is a well designed bike with an overall clean look and most important of all, the power and torque... 122bhp and 68 foot pound. If I were to buy another one, I will keep my '07 YZF-R6S and not trade it in.
- alex, front royal, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-01 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've rode bikes for a while now...racing motoX as a teen. My previous (actually I still have it) bike was a YZF600R. I've ridden all other sport bikes in the 600 class and a few of the litre bikes. Bar none, this bike is the best. Here's why: Best balance of weight and power. My 600R had plenty of power for the streets but was hefty at well over 500 lbs wet. The R6s has MORE power and weighs in 100 lbs lighter. Midrange is great. The new R6's have to put out double-digit rpm's to generate the power this one does in the 7-8k range. In traffic, that means a ton because you don't have to run the bike at those crazy revs in order to have the power the instant you want it...plus less vibration at lower rpm's. Comfort. Not nearly as comfortable as the 600R, but hands down more comfortable than the new R6. A good compromise between the two I'd say. Overall, if you're like most of us - a commuter and an occasional weekend twisties warrior, this is the one for you. Even if you want a little track day action, this one will not disappoint.
- David, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-25 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is incredibly fun to ride, handles extremely well, and has good power. It will pull the front tire off the ground with ease. However, the only complaint is the ergonomics on long rides the legs get a little sore after about 45 minutes. I would definitely recommend the bike to anyone that has any experience with super sport bikes.
- matt, beaverton, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-20 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Yamaha bike but my first sports bike and I have to say it's a winner....hands down! The bike that I brought was a Raven '06 R6S and the black really looks good. The bike is comfortable and I feel at one with this machine. I have not broken it in yet but I will after this weekend. Not sure if this is a good starter bike because of the power and very fast speed of the bike. After you hit 2nd gear the bike pulls like a stallion and really takes off. One can go to 0-100 in about 6 seconds give or take a few mph. I use the bike to commute to work, weather permitting, and to just ride around the local area. I highly recommend this bike. Ride on, ride safe.
- Supreme, Alexandria, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-17 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought My R6S in Feb 06. I've ridden the GSXR 600, the Kawasaki 636, and the Honda 600RR, and I think my bike is better than all 3. If your thinking of getting a bike pretty soon this is the way to go especially if this is your first bike.
- Qa'id Shakir, Gwynn Oak, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-27 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an awesome all around sport bike for a reasonable price. Yamaha is known for lightweight and this bike is no different at 355lbs, and it packs a punch. You won't find a better middleweight class bike than the R6. The lightweight and response make for razor sharp handling. In addition, in my opinion, not only is the R6s a little cheaper, but it looks better. A good buy for the price
- Ryan, Contoocook, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-13 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has delivered so much in such little time. It's my first bike and I jumped right on and took off. I then put my girlfriend on the back and I couldn't even tell the difference. Everything on it is so smooth and precise. It is a great bike for any level rider.
- David Spataro, O' Fallon, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-12 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First sport bike but definitely not let down. It is comfortable even on long trips (150-200 mi.). Speed and acceleration just makes you smile. So far, it has topped out at 151!!! Raven black looks great and gets many comments. Great bike.
- Travis, Columbia , Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-29 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really enjoy riding it. I got the raven color(so much better than the Yamaha blue). It turns heads everywhere. The power delivery is smooth, as well as the ride. At 100 mph it's smooth as silk. It takes the twisties extremely well and carves corners into them. The ergonomics are better than on the GSXR. Since I am tall however, my legs get a little uncomfortable after an hour or two without moving them.
- Chris, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: