Yamaha YZF1000RJ Motorcycles Reviews (8)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF1000RJ Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha YZF1000RJ Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-06-23 1997 Yamaha YZF1000RJ Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my YZF new and after owning three other bikes I still love my YZF. This is a nice all day ride and has enough power to get your heart pumping. People ask me all the time what year is that bike and tell me how much they like it or call it old school but There will always be a spot in my garage for this bike.
- d riley, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-08 1997 Yamaha YZF1000RJ Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 97 bought new in 98. I'm an experienced rider who rode many bikes before, like an 86 VFR750, a 92FZR1000, a ZX9. and a YZF1000R. Thunderace is the best bike I have owned or ridden. It does everythink so well, power, brakes, and suspension are very good. I traveled on mine almost 88000 km and it still runs very good. But it always burns some oil, but so did my 92FZR1000 which is the same engine. I was told it is normal for this engine to burn about 1L of oil in 3000km. Mechanic told me engine was designed this way just like the racing engines back then 15 years ago. If yours burns oil, don't worry, just keep adding oil and sometimes add combustion chamber cleaner to disolve carbon deposits and the engine will last you for ever. I repleaced two rear brake callipers, one rear shock and two radiator caps, all those three parts on yzf1000 are known to fail, callipers are seizing, rear shocks start to leak oil and rad caps lose spring tension causing bike to run hot and spitting out coolant through overflow tank drain pipe. I'm keeping mine!
- Yarek Okopien, guelph, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-09 1997 Yamaha YZF1000RJ Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great allaround bike, I've owned 10 different motorcycles and this by far is the best all around performer, but not until I ordered a D&D full exhaust for it, now this really made the bike breath better on the autobahn it's always fun watching the other bikes in my rearview mirror get smaller. Yours trully having fun on the autobahn.
- James Lewis, kaiserslautern

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-31 1997 Yamaha YZF1000RJ Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had this bike from march 2003, after 4200 miles on the clock the bike has loosen up on the gear box,beggining to understand the bike more on handling and brakes.More I ride the more I like.My friend wants to buy mine but what can I buy ? So why should I sell a perfectly reliable machine to get something that needs alot of attention.I love my YZF,Its still the best and the most UNDERRATED.
- chamal kariyakarawana, Santa Barbara, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-28 1997 Yamaha YZF1000RJ Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first brand new bike. After graduating from the Technical University of Denmark I simply had to spend some money to make me feel better so on april 21. 2000 I got the keys to my spankingly new Thunderace!!!!!!!. The point is that you can buy happiness ;o) Going up from my previous GSX 750F (or my GS 550E for that matter) was quite a leap. The mid range power in particular is quite impressive, even when two up. Here's a little bit of advice to others who get to ride pillion on one of these babies: Be aware of what the rider is doing 'cause if he cracks it open while your guards are down .....whoops! The Ace is an amazingly quick bike while at the same time being very easy to ride thanks to the glitch free power delivery from 2500 rpm to the redline (limter cuts in @ 12.000 rpm). The bike feels so planted in turns but the pegs touch down quite early on the stock suspension settings. Mid turn course changes produce no sweat - actually I find the Ace much quicker steering than bikes like the Mille or the ZX6R. Only slight input through bars and pegs is needed to get the bike on its ear - sort of like a grown up CBR 600. Add to this feature that getting on the gas doesn't disturb the bike's suspension which when it's still young is best described as .... yummy! Later on the rear compression damping totally evaporates leaving the rider in charge with +200 kgs of pogo stick action :o( Mid turn braking makes the bike stand up and head for the outside kerb especially on the originally fitted Macadams (Get rid of 'em a.s.a.p!) so be ready to apply some counter steering if you enter a turn a bit too friskly. Rider comfort is pretty good as long as you are on the move. In city traffic the wrists get loaded quite heavily but after a few months of training it seems to go away. The fairing protects most of the upper body from the elements (I'm 1,91 m or 6 ft. 3 tall) and the air around the rider's helmet is turbulence free. Mostly for fun I've fitted a Double Bubble screen from Zero Gravity - it's been a nice improvement over the original. Better wind protection and now I can even see the instruments without having to break my neck. The riding position means that my knees are quite bent but it hasn't really been a problem even after 30.000 km in one season and the seat padding is good enough for hours of riding. As far as the pillion seat goes .... well it's nice and wide but there isn't much in the way of leg room or grab handle which make it mostly suited for those of minor statue. A top box is a good comforter for nervous pillions and the GIVI mono rack doesn't spoil the bike's looks entirely although that's a matter of opinion. The five ratios are a little tight when the bike is new and they engage with audible cluncks! Especially the change from 2. to 3. gear is difficult to accomplish without making some noise but the lever action is positive and I haven't found any false neutrals yet. After the first few thousand miles the box loosen up considerably and today I'm quite happy with it. First goes to 65 mph, second to 100, third to 125 etc. On par with the other sporty Yamahas the front brakes are the immensely powerful Sumimoto one piece calipers biting 298 mm discs. After two sets of pads there is no indicaton of warped discs of which I've heard the Yamahas are renowned.... Two fingers on the lever is enough for almost anything but I don't look forward to emergency braking in the wet as the initial bite of sintered metal pads just might catch you out.... On June 11th 2000 I attended my first track day at Sturup Raceway outside Malm´┐Ż in Sweden. What I day! I learned a lot about my bike and came home with big smile on my face. Later the same year on August 13. I went again. This time the Ace was shod with Pilot Sports and I had upped the rear preload and compression damping to approx. 75% while I only added one line of preload to the front. WAY TO GO!! The Pilots reach amazing levels of grip on a race track and the suspension tweeks had speeded up the steering to another dimension compared to stock settings so it was just a matter of grinding the foot rests away all day - pure entertainment! As far as irritating thing goes: The original Macadams are total shite and serve only one purpose..... to be worn down to the tread as quick as possible (Burnouts anyone?) so they can be replaced with some really sticky rubber. As the chain is a bitch to get to I have fitted a Scot Oiler so now I only have to refill it every two weeks or so. The chain is still as new after 30.000 km thanks to being properly lubed all the time. I can definately recommend a Scot Oiler! When it's time to change the chain and sprockets it'll probably be the front sprocket that wears out first but of course it lives a tough life .... only 17 teeth to 145 bhp! Many people have experienced a considerable oil consumption on the earlier FZR 1000's but my Ace only uses a few deciliters between the regular sevices. The valves only need adjustment every 42.000 km so most of the servicing is very straight forward. The rear caliper was well corroded after 15.000 km which had killed the pads so I took it apart for a thorough cleaning and now it's fine. Whatever you buy new or used I advice to check and lubricate the needle bearings in the rear suspension link and swing arm pivot as they come totally dry from the factory and I seriously doubt that very many dealers take the time do dismantle the entire rear end to lube it with Molykote grease as per instructions every 3 services. I did it in a couple of hours and besides knowing how well everything is done it also gives you a chance to check an often neglected area of the bike. A complete service manual and micro fiches over all parts is found on the Thunderace Page. http://thunderace.scee.sony.co.uk/
- Snorre Krogh Biehe, Copenhagen, Denmark

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-15 1997 Yamaha YZF1000RJ Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first road bike. Having a history of riding WR500's and CR500's in Motorcross and Enduro behind me I thought it time to try the road bike scene.I really thought nothing could compare to a fully tricked up "99" CR500 for instant power delivery but after owning this YZF1000 for only a few months, my opinion has changed. WHAT A MACHINE. Instant "controllable" power delivery, ride position, handling, and most of all, PRICE, what more could you ask for. Those of you who have a history of riding big bores (motorcross) and are looking for an ENTRY BIKE into road bikes, look no further, you have found it. Other bikes might be more powerful and the "flavour" of the month but I can assure you, it gave me a fright or two the first month(and is still doing it). Remember, it is only a few horsepower down on the R1, its only drawback is its weight but compared to some other more recent bikes its not that bad.I tested the R1,TL1000S and R, GSX750R, and the HYABUSA. All brilliant bikes and each having its own niche area but for overall ridability the YZF1000 was the only one that had the complete package going for it. Touring, commuting, weekend scratching, it can do it all. My is a 2000 Model (not that much has changed from the "96" mod) and for $14500.00 (AUS) on road it has to be the best value for money bike on the road.The sales people will tell you it is behind the latest technology and outdated. Have a good look at one, then take it for a ride, thats all it will take and you will be convinced.
- Scott, Sydney,Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-17 1997 Yamaha YZF1000RJ Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought it one a week ago and it has 19700 miles with a k-n filter,jet kit, and yoshimura header/carbon fiber muff. I'll put it up against anything without a pro riding it!!!!
- Anonymous, Bristol,Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-25 1997 Yamaha YZF1000RJ Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my YZF 2 years now and believe it to be the best bike Iv'e ever ridden. It is a very comfortable bike plenty of room, even with a slight lean forward riding position, a huge soft seat for rider and passenger. The power is all you will ever need 70 ft lbs. of torque and 126 hp at the wheel. Power wheelies no problem the corner exit power is unreal. The power delivery is smooth and predictable useable power down to 2500 rpm in top gear. I have never had a problem of any kind so reliability is not a problem, as far as handling goes I have no problem keeping up with my friends on their R1's Gixr's and 996 in the north Georgia mountains. Bottom line is if you buy one it would not be a mistake.
- Anthony Colgate, Atlanta Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: