Yamaha Zuma II Motorcycles Reviews (10)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Zuma II Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Zuma II Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-05-08 1999 Yamaha Zuma II Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great scooter. It is light and has power. I go through mud, and with water over the floorboards I still make it through.
- taylor, emmetsbuurg, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-21 1999 Yamaha Zuma II Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a used 1999 Zuma a month ago, with less than 200 miles on it. It had been kept in a garage, driven infrequently, and was in excellent shape. My wife is driving it on her work commute, about 10 miles each way. It's a great little scooter, easy to ride, great pickup, easy handling and fun to drive. It will be a money maker as gas prices continue to climb.
- Smitty, Battlefield, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-14 1999 Yamaha Zuma II Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall I am pleased with my Zuma II. Simple to ride and quite practical in an urban area. I routinely commute about 15 miles each way to work with no problems, rain or shine. Not to mention never having to worry about parking downtown! Small enough to fit on half a sidewalk and lock to a signpost. The engine seems to run well. Quick pickup off the line makes it easy to get out of the way at an intersection; a little lag around 15-20 mph, then a stronger band of power up to 30 mph, and I get about 40 mph top speed on a level surface (32-35 uphill, maybe 43 downhill). Stay off highways, of course, but it is fine on back roads, and even on many numbered local highways in my area. Very stable handling; I have hit sizable potholes and patches of sand and kept control. A friend of mine with the same model has even ridden it (slowly!) on a snowy road and been OK - would certainly not recommend this to anyone, but he has dropped a motorcycle under similar conditions and says the scooter was much easier to stabilize; lightweight and low to the ground. Tire traction is quite good, even on bumpy roads. 45 degree lean around corners is no problem, and you can swerve around obstacles very quickly. Can carry a passenger reasonably comfortably - acceleration is a bit slower in that case, and you have to be more careful about potholes or it will bottom out the suspension (uncomfortable). Also it may be difficult to see behind you as the mirrors do not stick out far to the side and the passenger may block your view. Has an electric quick-start although I often need to use the quickstart to get it going if the engine is cold, especially in colder weather. Has been quite reliable in general and it is a joy to get minor repairs or tune-ups for less than $100! If you know how to do repairs yourself, it is quite straightforward mechanically. Burns a little oil with the gas and lubricates itself, so no need to do oil changes. Had it in a New England barn for over three years while I was away, not professionally prepared for storage at all (rushed departure), and got it running when I got back just by clearing a bit of goop out of the carburetor and replacing the battery. Expect some brown smoke if you haven't ridden it for months; it clears up after a bit. The front brake is not as strong as I would like - possibly just needs adjustment, not sure. Rear brake is strong enough to lock the wheel. OK suspension, though not much travel, so you need to cut speed on poorly paved roads. Have ridden it briefly on dirt roads and it was fine. Good dual headlights, very visible. Fuel tank doesn't hold much; don't plan on going too far from a gas station. I get maybe 60 mpg: the two-stroke engine is not so efficient. If you ride close to the top speed, it will run low on gas more quickly than if you stay in the 30mph range, since you need to keep the throttle wide open for the last few mph. My model doesn't seem to have any under-seat storage, which is unfortunate. There is a rear rack you can tie things to, and a helmet lock and a U-loop for a cable lock (necessary in urban areas for such a lightweight vehicle - two people can get it into a pickup truck without much effort). Rear-view mirrors are a pain to adjust; you need to do some magic with two wrenches to get them to be tightened in the correct position if they come loose. All in all, I would recommend this scooter if you are looking for a used one. (Was inexpensive new, too.) The current models sound like they may be faster and have better storage.
- Jesse, Somerville, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-03 1999 Yamaha Zuma II Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a black 1999 zuma and it hauls. this bike is awesome. if you dont have one get one they are alot of fun and can go about 50mph
- Andy, Fort Wayne, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-07 1999 Yamaha Zuma II Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased a 2003 Zuma and it's a great little bike. It is the first bike that I have owned. I get a lot of compliments on it. A guy riding a kawasaki ninja thought that it was a 250cc bike and I told him that it was only 50cc. I do get some smart alec remarks but i think that they're just jealous because they don't have one. The heck with them. They didn't help me pay for it. I'm having a lot of fun with it. There were a couple of harley owners that wanted me to go riding with them. I told them I'd think about. don't believe I'd be able to keep up. but hey if a harley rider wants me to hang out with them, it can't be all bad.
- Michael Daugherty, Alexandria, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-02 1999 Yamaha Zuma II Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is going to be a long review, just be warned. I hope it is helpful! I have just recently purchased my 2003 Yamaha Zuma (from Excel Motor Sports, they were so helpful!) and I love it! Where ever I go I always get compliments on it. The bike is so fun that most of the time I will usually take the longest possible way to get to where I want to go just because it is such a joy to ride. I have only had this bike for about two months and it already has 500 miles on it. The only thing that really erks me about the bike is that when Yamaha advertises it in its brochures, it says dual headlights. Well, in reality only one stays on at a time. One headlamp for high beam, and one for daytime running lights. If you are a college student, or just want something fun to drive around town, I strongly recomend this bike. The Zuma performs great even with a passenger. Although, I must admitt I have taken it out with the weight exceeding the limit and it has done great (even hitting over 40MPH). I do not condone this although. I am thinking about maybe buying another Yamaha in the coming years. I want my little "Zum-Zum" to go faster. Although, every one of my friends wants to buy one now. If you think riding a Scoot is dorky think again (except if you are wearing one of those alien helmets like me)!
- Sara Statz, Maple Grove (suburb of Minneapolis), Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-17 1999 Yamaha Zuma II Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding motorcycles and scooters for 3 years I have found my 03 Zuma to be a great deal. The aftermarket is huge and this scoot can be made to surpass 50mph with less than $250 in accessories. I have owned and ridden most every scooter out there and the capabilities of the zuma are hands down better. If you want a scooter spring the extra cash and buy a new or used zuma.
- Wesley S, PB, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-18 1999 Yamaha Zuma II Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just love my Yamaha Zuma. It gives me such a feeling of freedom and relaxation. The ONLY thing I don't like, is that sometimes it takes a while to start, using the electronic ignition. But overall, I wouldn't trade it for anything. Thank you Powersports of Fort Lauderdale, and thank you Yamaha.
- Wayne McIntosh, Sunrise, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-14 1999 Yamaha Zuma II Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Mine is a 2000 model. I bought it used w/h 3200 miles on it.That was ten months ago. It now has 8700 mi. on it.The only problem I've had,was the grometts that are used to mount the breather box wore out,the screws backed out and the box fell off the bike. It took about an hour and $6.00 in parts to repair. Otherwise a very nice ride.
- mike epps, clayton, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-06 1999 Yamaha Zuma II Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best scooter ever. It has speed, looks cool, is made for offroad and onroad use, easy to drive, I just love it. It runs smooth and I have had no problems with it ever even after i bought it used.
- Evan Proctor, Lawrenceville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: