Yamaha Zuma Motorcycles Reviews (89)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Zuma Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Zuma Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-04-20 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best thing about this scooter is the reliabilty! Sat outside all winter with 5 inches of snow and ice and still started easy in the spring. Does not bog down up hills even with two people on it. The worst thing are the front brakes. Four sets in five years. The anti-rattle clips in the caliper have to be perfectly straight or they won't work. I left them out. Love this scooter! Would not sell it for 5000 dollars. Highly recommend tighening all bolts. Have lost some due to vibration.
- bob, lafayette, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-08 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Zuma in 2006 to save gas and to get around town to all my jobs. It's so much fun and easy on gas. I highly recommend it to any woman who has always wanted a motorcycle. I'm over 50 years old and I can handle it with ease. So far I've put more than 7700 miles on it.
- Dog walker, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-18 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Zuma for just over 2 weeks. I bought it second hand (it had 1600 kms on the odometer). Even though I own two other vehicles (a car and a minivan), my scooter is my favorite vehicle. I use it for commuting to work when weather permits. It is also my vehicle of choice when I need to run errands. Last week I managed to fit a turkey and a number of other items under my seat. I also used it to bring home a couple of subs and fountain drinks from Subway without spilling a drop. Try doing that with a regular motorcycle. I just love my scooter and have no regrets about buying it. It looks great. I added a Givi topcase (well worth the money)... it was easy to install. Because my bike, helmet and jacket are black, I wear a high visibility vest wherever I go. The Zuma may not be for everyone, but for me (given my size, where I live and what I use it for) it is perfect.
- Rob Wadman-Scanlan, Mount Pearl, Newfoundland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-13 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2005 Zuma, I bought in the fall of '05. I'm positive that my Zuma has paid for itself already. Living in town, there is no cheaper way to get around. I am very pleased with the fact that I have not paid insurance for 2 years, and I have put less than $100 worth of gas in her in two years! Talk about a gas saver. Do you want to get around for 25 cents a day? Buy a Zuma.
- caleb leahigh, Bloomington, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-01 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been two years now since I bought my 04 Zuma used from the local Yamaha dealership. The scooter stock is quiet, has enough power for average city driving, handles nicely, and is very fuel efficient. My only trouble with the bike is that I needed it to go a bit faster with better power for some of our city streets that have 45 mph speed limits on them. Instead of trading in what I had, I began reading about engine and exhaust upgrades. Now I have upgraded to a 70cc engine, added a performance exhaust, retuned the transmission and have the power and speed I need to drive anywhere in town. Not to mention how much fun it is to drive. The other benifit is that I have learned a lot about 2 stroke engines incuding rebuilding the top end, cvt transmissions and carburator jetting. Scooting is very much a great hobby and reliable cheap transportation.
- cheap ride, sioux falls, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-18 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This scooter is the 2006 Canadian model it is my second street legal bike (first one 1988 Yamaha Virago) but the first bike insured and on the road. I took it easy for break in but after that I couldn't get off the thing. I rode it everywhere. Very reliable and very good on gas. I never bothered to check MPG but Yamaha claims 120MPG @ 40km/h. Insurance is a little high considering I'm young ($1200/year). I've never had a problem with this scooter except the front brake pads which weren't correctly installed at the factory and wore out prematurely at 2500km. I got some ebc pads and they're still good now. Power is there until about 50km/h. It will go up to 70km/h on flat ground and no wind. Oil is not a problem. The tank needs to be refilled about every 1000km and it only takes a $7 bottle. Electrical system is the best. I never had an electrical problem as with other bikes but with their age electrical components are questionable. I feel the under seat storage is not enough as it can hold a full face helmet but that's it. The trunk is VERY helpful. It's made in Italy by givi and it's an official Yamaha accessory. One important thing is to check the tire pressure as it affects acceleration and top speed CONSIDERABLY. Comfort is good. You just have to get used to it. Seat is nice and big but I do feel cramped two up. Mirrors give an excellent view. Maintenance is minimal on this thing. Just go over everything it says to in the manual. You can get a service manual for this scooter online at Provo and print it out at business depot for 20$ instead of buying it from Yamaha for $100. For upgrades, I do not recommend upgrading performance because it affects reliability and it's a pain too. On a normal bike if you put a performance pipe you rejet and that's it. On a scooter, you need to mod the clutch springs, the rollers, and the jets. If you want more performance just buy a bigger bike. To sum it all up if you want a reliable bike to putt around in I would definitely recommend it. Stay away from the no name Chinese junk on the market. I worked with them before. They fall apart easy and parts are hard to find. Good luck!
- Joe, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-15 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Yamaha Auma is the best, most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. Great gas mileage, plenty of power, and looks everywhere I go.My Zuma was clocked at 80 mph by Florida Highway Patrol! I would recommend this scooter to anyone thinking of purchasing one in the near future.
- mike, jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-15 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is probably the most well designed scooter on the market. I love the fact that it is a two stroke, to help with the hills a give good performance. It does not look like a vespa, rather it looks like an aggressive riding vehicle(reflecting its performance). It has many handy features, such as an oil injector so you do not need to mix gas and oil, an electric start for easy starting with a back up kick start so you can still ride, and a decent sized storage compartment underneath the seat. The suspension and stablility is a dream, and the reliability and style are unmatched. It is a shame however, that the Zuma is no longer being made. So snatch up a Zuma before they are all gone. A year after production, the Zuma is still in high demand... and I am not suprised why.
- Sebastian Zaki, Washington, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-12 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Zuma in Sept. of 2005. It was my main transportation to and from work. I rode this bike all through the witer months also!! Even while it was near zero degrees my Zuma had no problem starting. The only problem I see with this scooter is that you tend to slide forward on the seat. Other than that this is one of the best purchases I have made!! My Zuma was stolen in the spring of 2006! Since they are not made anymore, I had to wait for my local dealer to get a used one in. I quickly bought it!!! I just can't understand why Yamaha stopped making them? They are such a hot item right now!!! Very reliable machine!!!!
- Bill, Logansport, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-17 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put 3,000 miles on my zuma in the first year. I drive it to and from work every day the weather allows. No problems to date. Excellent machine but if you consistently need to ride at speeds in excess of 35mph you should consider going up an engine size. Most of my riding is 35mph or less but some roads I take are 40-45mph and at times it can be frustrating when you hold up traffic. If this is the only scooter you can afford I would say BUY IT. YOU WILL BE HAPPY.
- CALEB, ST. PAUL, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-11 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wanted another motorcycle...haven't had one since wrecking my 1967 BSA Starfire. Wanted something easy to get my confidence back for riding. Boy, was the Zuma a SHOCK! I didn't think 50cc could propel a 205 pound bike with a 215 pound rider as well as it does! My wife even comes on it with me from time to time, without any hesitation from the bike. Granted...hills are a chore for the bike...but again...it's 50cc! The Zuma gets great mileage (mine is averaging about 75 mp/g). Its sporty looks also are a plus. It seems that Yamaha and Honda are going with the classic "Vespa-look". If I wanted a Vespa, I would have bought a Vespa. The Zuma looks like a cross between a "crotch rocket" and a scooter. Can't go wrong there. Amazing machine.
- John14221, Williamsville, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-23 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a wonderful little scooter. Turning radius is very good. It does well on gravel and pavement. We bought the Zuma for me and the 2006 Vino 125 for my husband last weekend. We're hooked!
- Dawn, Centralia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-08 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have to say this little Zuma is awesome. I'm reviewing it for my wife, but I'm 6'3" and 240 pounds and it hauls my fat butt around the neighborhood. I ride a Yamaha 1989 XT600 dual sport most of the time, and got this for my wife to cruise around... It MOVES with her on it, it tops about 43 MPH, with me, about 38. Starts every time, all the time. Great MPG and we love it... got it for a great price.
- J Harris, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-28 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Zuma in August. I drive it to work everyday and love it. When driven with care I get approximately 80 miles per gallon. Once in a while I would like to go a little faster but it has lived up to my expectations. My only suggestion is that if you need to travel in excess of 35mph for long periods of time you may want to jump up an engine class. Zuma will travel 35 all day long. 40 mph on flat ground but this is really pushing the engine. Buy one - you will not be diappointed!
- Caleb, Saint Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-26 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a very good scooter it's really reliable and sporty looking. I have nothing really bad to say about it except you always slide forward on the seat. It has good power and I get about 70 mpg.
- Brian Mcguinness, Medford, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-16 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For me the Zuma was an impulse buy to save on gas, but the fun factor is super high. These little scooters really zip around and are a blast to ride. I can't wait to get a pipe on it and maybe a 70cc kit later on. Gas mileage is great, those of you who laugh, lets compare fuel bills at the end of the month. Then we'll see who's laughing. I saved $30.00 in the first week of riding to work, and it was a short week!
- obrianmcc, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-07 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had scooters for about 22 years. All of them Yamaha's I feel the Zuma is the best one so far. I had a QT 50 in 1982, Razz, 2002 Zuma black and now a 2003 zuma Yamaha blue.
- Sue, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-07 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Zuma. This is my first scooter and it is so easy to ride. The gas mileage is fantastic now that gas went over the $3.00 mark I find myself running errands all over town.I let my friend ride it the next day she bought her one too. So if your looking for something fun sporty and just downright handy get yourself a Zuma you won't be sorry.
- Susan, Huntington, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-06 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my Zuma and man it's a blast. I have to eventually get off, but I don't want to. Perfect for around town and I have done some off-roading. Be careful with the soft dirt you can drop the bike. Otherwise great looking scooter. All the neighbors want one. Remember to wear your helmut. Have Fun. This weekend heading to the Lake.
- Joseph Sosa, Visalia, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-30 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This thing CRANKS! It goes a little under 45 mph on flat ground, but is very hard not to speed. It has great style and looks awesome! I highly recomend it, if you're looking for some fun.
- Todd, ---, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-17 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We bought two of these units in March of 2005. We love them so much we bought another two units yesterday Monday the 15th of August. These things are great. They accelerate plenty fast enough. Top end is pretty good also. I don't understand anyone's complaint that they are not fast enough! These are 49cc units not a crotch rocket. If you want these for local communting they are perfect. If you want something for the highway, you might want to look elsewhere. As for reliability, they seem to go and go. No problems here. Go get one while they last....2 cycle is phasing out due to emissions. I like the style of these better than the vino style (like a vespa) European styling. These look fast. Lastly, you can ride off the road a little because the tires are about twice the size of other bikes. These things ROCK.
- Piper2893, Celebration , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-15 2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Zuma since October of 2003 and I've put almost 1700 miles on her. She's been ridden during the winter months in SD on city streets and in the Black Hills of SD offroading in the heat of late July. I upgraded the engine to a 72cc kit with a handmade Italian exhaust with a bigger carb. I've had my share of problems with the upgrades, but they've been worth it, especially everytime I ride it in town and beat cars with her. All-in-all a darn good machine built by Yamaha.
- Eric, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-12 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have researched the 49cc market and came up with the Piaggio Typhoon vs. the Zuma. Similar in price and specs the Zuma won based on insurance cost Piaggio was quoted 5 times higher than the Yamaha for top liability coverage. The Zuma was a pleasure to ride home from the dealer today and I felt great with the exception of curvy roads. I was schooled quickly to slow down. The Zuma is very peppy and can be decieving as to how fast you can get it to go!
- Cujo, Wilton, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-22 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my Zuma 2 weeks ago, and so far it has been great. I am a big guy and needed something that would it atleast look like it fit me. Our second car died, and I felt a scooter would be a good replacement. I looked at the Honda's (Ruckus and Metro) and the Zuma. The Zuma has the best of the metro with the size and profile of the Ruckus. The Zuma is louder then the metro, which some people like. It has good power, altough mine seems a little slow on take off between 0 and 5 mph. It is fun to drive and has good storage unnder the seat. The controls are easy to read and to get to. The guauges are black with a white background. I have ridden on streets and roads and dirt trails. Held up well in all terrains. The seat is longer then either of the Honda's and for a big guy like me that was the biggest plus. Nice pegs for the rider on the back. Overall I love the Zuma and I am looking for many years of reliable service.
- Marty, Pocatello, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-20 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently upgraded to a 37 ft. Class A motorhome and needed something to haul behind it rather than having to take the big rig in to town for groceries when I was camping. I bought the Zuma last week while on vacation in the White Mountains of New Hampshire plus a cariier to mount it on the motorhome trailer hitch. The Zuma turned out to be just what I needed. I drove it from the dealership the 8 miles back to the campground and had no problem with the intown traffic or the winding roads. It zipped right along at 40 mph and handled the bumps and curves with ease. I am 60 years old and this is my first scooter, it's a lot of fun, very practical, economical and I would at this point highly recommend the Zuma to anyone looking for a vehicle to haul behind a motorhome. Thank You Yamaha !
- Bob Craig, Hudson, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: