Yamaha v star 950 tourer Motorcycles Reviews (38)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha v star 950 tourer Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha v star 950 tourer Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2017-05-02 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
been riding the bike about 3 weeks. Only negative thing I can say is that I feel some vibration at speeds above 70 mph. Also, the stand footrests tend to scrape the pavement if you lean to much on turns.
- sal, Fontana, Calif

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-07-19 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2012 V-Star 950 from a dealer with 450 miles on the odometer. The previous owner bought it for his wife, but she didn't like it. Good for me. I previously owned a Honda 750 in the '70s. I put over 30k miles on it before it was stolen. This V-Star 950 is the right size for me because I'm so long. I used to making low turns at a high speed, and the V-Star scrapes foot-pads when making turns. I had to get used to the speed and lean needed to not scrape foot-pads. Gas mileage is suffering for some reason. I'm only getting 16 mpg., however it's still under warranty. The ride is smooth and comfortable on the highway. It will easily do 90+ mph. with ease. I ride alone, and find that adding peripherals is easy if you get inventive.
- KEN ROBINSON, OXNARD, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-10-18 2010 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine in June, 2012 with 430 miles on it and now, mid-October, 2012, I just turned 4,000 miles. Comfortable - I rode it 420 miles to Florida in one day last month. Economical - I can't get less than 53 mpg. no matter how I ride it, and it looks great. It's very stable at speed and the windshield does a great job of diverting wind and bugs around me. My only complaint is the engine is a little "rattley" I'm assured by many that it is valve noise and perfectly normal. It just takes some getting used to.
- Simon609zp, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-10-02 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my V-Star 950 Tourer in April and love it. I traded in a Honda 750 Shadow and there is no comparison. This bike handles great with either one or two people. My wife even loves this bike which is a great plus. The only drawback are the floorboards, if you lean too far they drag - a little scary at first. The seat could be a little more comfortable but not bad. This will be the only upgrade that I will make. I did put on Star passenger floorboards for my wife. It gets great gas mileage with lots of power. Overall, it's great bike and a keeper for me. I have gotten many compliments and turned a lot of heads with this bike, even Harley riders complimented on this bike.
- John Eigo, Connelly, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-08-04 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love this bike! I traded in a Sportster and have absolutely no regrets. The ride is smooth. I have enough power to keep up with all the big boys. The lines of the bike are sweet...she is absolutely beautiful. I'm always getting compliments! I have made a few changes but only to customize her for me...as she was excellent straight off the floor!
- Gypsy Rose, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-07-24 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a Kawasaki 900 LT and just bought the Yamaha 950 Tourer for my wife. This is a FANTASTIC motorcycle! I love it and these are my comparisons between the two: The Yamaha has great bags that lock, which is a huge plus, and they are larger! The mag wheels are a great plus! The Yamaha doesn't shift quite a smoothly as the Kawasaki, and the Kawasaki is a little more quick through the gears. They both have belt drives. The Yamaha feels lighter, and is very easy to drive, especially in tight spots and harder curves. I like the way it handles, because my Kawasaki is heavy! The Kawasaki rides smoother, but in all fairness the Yamaha is brand new and may need to be tweaked on the suspension a little. Overall, if these two bikes were side by side and I had to choose only one, I'd grab the Yamaha because it's so easy and fun to drive!
- Charlie Golmon, Denham springs, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-07-03 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went from a V Star 650 to the V Star 950 Tourer and love my new ride. I did have to buy the wind deflector for the forks as the wind came up around the tank and hit me in the chest. Once those were installed all is great. I can't wait to get on the road.
- Carol, Meridian, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-18 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the bike for about six months and will have 4,000 miles on it after this weekend. Construction/fit/finish are excellent, as expected from a Yamaha. The ride is comfortable; power ample for two-up on the freeway and fabulous for solos; exhaust note is quiet but still throaty. The saddle is comfy up to about six hours, and I'm not sure anything is comfy beyond then. Bags and windshield are wonderful, although full-size helmets won't fit and the helmet hook is so inconvenient as to be worthless. The looks are macho, but not quite "Sons of Anarchy." She sits low, so I've got solid foot placement even on slanted roads and parking lots. I'm an old street biker (also Yamahas) who loves the twisties, and the 950 Tourer scrapes her floorboards when I get excited and toss her side-to-side. It was scary at first but is now just a little annoying. My riding partner says it gives off sparks at night -- so maybe that's cool. The ignition key placement is poor: keychain rattles against plastic trim, and there's little room for mounting GPS, iPod, etc. Overall, this bike is great for almost anyone with a few month's experience: easy to ride, well-balanced, nice power. I highly recommend it.
- Taylor S, Atlanta burbs, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-30 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello All, I am writing a review on the 2012 V-Star 950 Tourer. I just purchased this on 01/07/12. I traded in my 2004 V-Star 650 Classic which was a great bike, though I felt after 3 years and 10,000 miles I needed something with a touch more go. It is usually hard to get out and ride this time of year in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania with the extremely cold temps and wintery conditions but this winter is one for the record books, one of the most mildest winters I can remember here. Anyhow, I have had a chance to get out and ride this bike a few days and have put about 250 miles on it. Every mile has brought a grin to my face. The belt drive is virtually maintenance free, the oil level is now checked via a dipstick on the oil fill cap, (no more getting down on one knee, balancing the bike with hand, and having to look through the sight glass) and my most favorite feature has to be the Mikini Electronic Fuel Injection. The bike is usually garaged all season but since we have had a few nice days I decided to keep it out. The bike sat outside for three days (covered of course) with the temps in the mid 20's. I went out Sunday, turned the key on, the fuel pump in the tank ran for about two seconds, hit the start button and bike fired up instantly, it barely even cranked. Where as with the ol' 650, you have to pull the choke out on full, get a sputter, try again, get it running, but then have to wait about three to five minutes for it to warm up before you could drive off without it acting cold blooded. The other thing I like about the 950 is that it seems like the 5th gear is very tall, meaning when you are cruising at 70 on the highway the bike is just purring along without sounding overworked (cough, cough ol' 650...). The bike really looks sharp, with its 18-inch front wheel, cast rim, and impact blue color, and lots of chrome. I am sure that within about four weeks I will be in heaven since we will then be in March and old man winter will have hopefully moved on and I will be able to hopefully ride quite often. It also looks like Yamaha extended the valve adjustment intervals too, the old 650 was every 4,000 miles according to the book. The new 950 is every 16,000 miles which is nice. It handles terrific, too. The ride is very smooth, although I have read when doing some tight cornering, the floor boards will get scraped up pretty good. But I say that this bike is a cruiser and is designed to do just that...cruise. If you drive it as intended and not like a sportbike, you will have no problems making it through the turns without scraping. I too had a very nice 1990 Kawasaki ZX750R Ninja sportbike, but sold it after only one month because I found myself in the triple digit speeds too often. No need to go that fast or act that crazy. When you are traveling that fast you can only concentrate on thing and that is where you are going, you can't enjoy the views which kind of takes away from the sport. Well all, as I get a chance to put more miles on this bike. I will update you along the way. Be safe, ride smart, peace out...
- Joe, Allentown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-10 2010 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great touring bike especially with 2 up. The stock passenger seat is a little stiff. I will upgrade soon. I have ridden and scraped almost every turn on the dragon. It's not a crotch rocket by any means. I get compliments on the styling everywhere I go. It has plenty of power to keep up with the big boys. It has great fuel economy and reliability and it's very comfortable for larger riders.
- jon, knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-05 2010 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a very comfortable bike. I rode from Connecticut to Baltimore, Maryland one month after purchasing the bike. I rode along with multiple Harley Davidson bikes and my Yamaha performed flawless.
- Bob Kelsey, North Branford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-03 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall, it's a great bike. The only reason for the 2 star on comfort was the passenger seat. The passenger seat was very uncomfortable for the passenger. But after replacing the seat with a Mustang seat, she no longer complains. Other than that, it has been a dependable bike.
- Houdini, metropolis, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-21 2010 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the power and response it has from the fuel injection. The comfort and stance make it so relaxing and enjoyable and the detail and features on the bike make it an eye catcher.
- matt, Hebron, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-10 2010 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great riding bike, easy to ride and has a nice stock, throaty sound. It's comfortable to ride although the driver's seat did get a little rough after 150 miles. On a serious curve, you might drag the floorboards but not bad.
- A. Rocco, Yadkinvill, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-18 2010 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded a 2008 650 Custom, it's the best thing I did. The only drawback was the seats. I put on some Mustangs, now it's great to ride. It's a great touring bike and it handles great.
- bobh, Easley, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-01 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Updating my 9/2010 review - I just upgraded my Star 950 with a Cobra 2215 slip-on muffler, Cobra Fi2000R O2 fuel managment system and a K&N air filter. What a difference! This thing runs with big dogs, sounds like the big dogs and still gets 46 mpg! Also, regarding the valve train noise - it's still there but greatly diminished by changing to Mobil 1 Racing 4T full synthetic motorcycle oil. Do it ASAP - no need to wait.
- KLo, Lawrenceville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-04 2010 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my new 2010 V Star 950T on the last day of September and put about a 1000 miles on her before it got too cold to ride. I had no issues at the 600 mile break in servicing. I owned a bike back in college, but really had not ridden for about 20 years. I wanted something that was big enough that I would not be looking to upgrade within 6 months, but was not going to break my budget either. Oh, and good looks as well. The 950T fit the bill perfectly and I had enough money left over to add several accessories to really make it that much better. I could have had a bare bones 1300 for what I have tied up in this one, but for my money, I am highly pleased with my choice and everyone that sees it remarks on how great the bike looks. Two of my friends own Harleys and they both raved about my bike's looks. It rides as good as it looks, too. The stock riding position is great, but the stock seat does leave a bit to be desired. Rather than spring for an aftermarket seat, I opted to have the stock seat custom modified. It has made a big difference and I can ride comfortably for far longer now than before the mod. Not sure how this compares to the aftermarket seats out there, but for less than a third of the cost of one, I am pretty happy with the results. The 4 Star I gave the bike for comfort is largely due to the stock seat. Some people complain the bike revs too high at highway speeds. Maybe if you live in a area where you can routinely do 80 on the highway for long stretches it might be an issue, but where I live, it is not really a problem at the cruising speeds I get to do. Even at speed, there is still plenty of power left and a quick twist of the throttle will allow you to pass easily. This is a cruiser though, not a crotch rocket. So if you just want to go fast, this probably is not the bike for you, but if a cruiser is what you are after, you really cannot go wrong with this one. I have only ridden solo, so I cannot speak to the performance under additional load, but it is plenty powerful for me. While I could go on at length about several of the other upgrades, the one I think most people would benefit from is adding the windshield lowers. People who ride a demo may find wind buffeting to be an issue. I did as well and thought I would ultimately end up buying a taller windshield; however, adding the lowers virtually eliminates this issue. When I saw them, I thought there was no way these small pieces of plastic were going to make that big of a difference, but they actually do. It is not about deflecting the wind so much as it is directing the air flow. I am saving up over the winter for a few additional mods come spring including a new exhaust slip-on, Barron Big Air Kit and Cobra Fuel Management System. I plan to ride this baby for many years to come.
- mac40k, Leesburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-24 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased the V-Star 950 Tourer on 11-22-10 and it's my first bike. After taking my motorcycle class on a Suzuki 250cc piece of junk, the V-Star was a dream. I'm still getting used to the handling but the suspension, acceleration, breaking and shifting are all perfect. I am 6'0" tall and 167 lbs. and I have no problem with ergonomic comfort. For me, this is the perfect first bike. I looked at quite a few before I chose the V-Star: Suzuki M50 and C50T Boulevard, Kawasaki Vulcan 900 classic LT and even a few Honda's. The Yamaha V-Star 950 beat them all hands down; in looks and style, power and reliability. This bike will be with me for quite a while.
- Shakik Swiggett, Odenton, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-21 2010 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased it new in April, 2010. The leaking head gasket I replaced at the 600-mile check up, otherwise it runs great. The only real complaint is the seats. It's a bit uncomfortable (hard) after a day of riding. It looks and feels like a much larger cruiser. I have gotten a lot of good compliments on the looks and styling. It cruises fine at highway speeds even with two up. The bike does work a little harder at acceleration with a passenger on board, (of same weight).
- JLH, Pickerington, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-03 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my bike just over a year ago and before that I had not been on one in three years. I started off of on a CB750K, then had to sell it when I moved down here. This bike is great for someone who is not a beginner but also not advanced rider. This bike rides great and is fun to ride. The saddle bags are just big enough to hold stuff when making stops at a store. This bike is great for in town rides and to ride to some neighborhood towns around the area. I have had it up to 70 mph and it handles just great. I am very pleased with it and believe that I paid a fair price for it. The staff at the local dealership was very professional to me when I purchased the bike and I would send anyone there to purchase a bike.
- Bryan, Belleville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-19 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's one of the best all-around bikes I have had. I did a two-up 5-day ride for almost 3,000 miles and got 43 mpg. Sometimes it rode faster than the speed limit. It's smooth and fun. Check it out for yourself.
- Frank, Brownsville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-10 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my 2009 Star Tourer today. This bike is awesome! Runs and handles great, the ride is so sweet I can't say enough about it. Love it, will be telling my friends to ride a Star motorcycle.
- Mark Hopkins, Poplar Bluff, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-26 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was wanting a bike that was great for zipping around town but was also able to take off for a road ride as well. The salesman had me look at the 1100 VStar which was discontinued after 2009 and then he had shown me the 950, the replacement for the 1100. Wow! This bike has fit the bill! I love this bike! It is a great balance of power and handling. I have only 650 miles so far and I am simply waiting for spring to ride a lot more. I can't wait. This is a great bike for the beginner and for the seasoned rider that simply wants a great riding machine.
- Greg, Springfield, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-03 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
However, that doesn't even BEGIN to describe this bike. I had a V-Star 650 and traded it for the 950. I (almost) can't believe the maneuverability that this bike has. It has a low center of gravity and makes going around corners a dream. I can't recommend this bike enough for those riders that want something sporty and fun!
- Traci Todora, Fredericksburg, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-03 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is, for all intensive purposes, my first real bike, I couldn't have picked a better one. As a novice/fair-weather rider, I didn't waste any available ride time. This bike handles better than I could have expected. This is my daily commuter, and weekend getaway. I usually run speed limits and am getting on average 54mpg. Three improvements I'd like to see is a taller windshield, and handlebars that are pulled back just a little further(short arms here!) as standard equipment, and a 6th (OD)gear (of course, there are days when reverse would be nice too!). A tour trunk as an option would be great for long trips.
- Jeff Baviera, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: