Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

American Ironhorse reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

39 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

brian williams

asheville, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2011-02-19

Motorcycle reviewed2006 American Ironhorse Texas Chopper

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
They do have a defective spedometer and the alum pulleys aren't good after a lot of miles. It's great once you learn to ride it. I put about 25,000 miles on it and you will love it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Oz

California

Reviewed on 2021-09-16

Motorcycle reviewed2003 American Ironhorse Tejas

Shop this motorcycle

3.5
The good about the bike is that it looks and rides great! The bad is that the bike always has something breaking. There is always something that needs to be fixed. If you buy this bike it’ll make you feel like a bad ass riding it, and it will be fun to ride, but unfortunately, it will spend a lot of time at the mechanic. If you want a chopper without headaches. Buy a Honda Fury. However, if you are mechanically inclined. The Ironhorse might be the bike for you. If you luck out and get one somewhat reliable. It is a blast to ride.
Reliability
2.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Will

Honolulu, Hawaii

Reviewed on 2011-01-22

Motorcycle reviewed2005 American Ironhorse Texas Chopper

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
You will love this bike or hate it. This bike will give you problems, but fix the problem or move on. This bike is for men who want a powerful, beautiful bike and are willing to take on a challenge. If that's not you, go buy a bike with all great reviews.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fred Firsching

Weirton, West Virginia

Reviewed on 2010-11-05

Motorcycle reviewed2007 American Ironhorse Classic Chop

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
The fit & finish on the bike is great. Make sure you change the tranny fluid from the factory. My bike wouldn't shift right until I filled it with Amsoil 85-140 mixed 50% with Lucas. I have no problems other than leaning on turns. Forget about any snaked curves. I have the 200mm tire which outperforms the 240 or 280, also I don't like the fat tire look; it is out of style anyway. Yeah my battery was were bad but they all are. Ironhorse's engineering and reliability are fairly good - as good as Harley. I have three of those that just sit in my garage on a battery trickle charger. Everyone says the bike looks really good. I would rather have the Classic Chopper than the Texas Chopper because of the 200mm tire. (They use Metzler which are great tires.) The S&S 100 motor is easy to start in the cold but doesn't have near the pull of an S&S 111. When I hear about other Chopper owners' problems, I feel very fortunate as mine were very minimal.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JOHN MILLER

EASTON, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2008-04-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 American Ironhorse Texas Chopper

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I own four bikes - a Harley Fat Boy and Wide Glide and an American Ironhorse LSC and Texas Chopper. I don't have as much time to ride as I would like. When I do open the garage, it seems I always pick the Texas Chopper. Mine has the 117 with the Peacemaker paint job. I find it very comfortable for a chopper. It handles well and it always looks great. It is a real head turner. I also have a 2005 LSC. I love the bike, but it's a hardtail and our roads in PA are not the greatest. Neither bike has given me a bit of trouble. I followed the break in schedule and have it serviced by the book and I don't ride like an idiot. If you're only going to have one bike, go with the Texas Chopper. I can't wait until Sunday!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TB

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-10-20

Motorcycle reviewed2007 American Ironhorse Slammer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I owned a 2003 Slammer and I loved it. This past spring I traded in the '03 model for the new '07 model and I never knew a softail style bike could ride so well! It rides as well as, if not better than, my Roadglide. It's smooth, reliable, fun and eye-catching to say the least. I would recommend this bike to anyone in the market for a high performance V-twin that is comfortable enough to take on a long ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

joe youmans

blackshear, Georgia

Reviewed on 2007-07-15

Motorcycle reviewed2005 American Ironhorse LSC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased bike used with 2000 miles on it. Bike has been nothing but awesome. Just the other day I started having minor problems with the instrument cluster. Overall I love it. Strap a 111 cu s&s to your back and see if some nuts rattle loose. The question with custom bikes is not will you have minor problems but how many. Personally I have had very few. What few I have had, I fixed myself instead of whining to my dealer. If you can't fix it, don't ride it...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JIM WINTERS

ALVIN, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed2005 American Ironhorse Slammer

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
WHEN I BOUGHT MY IRONHORSE, I FEEL IN LOVE WITH IT. THE POWER, THE HANDLING, AND THE APPEARANCE- NO ONE ELSE HAS GOT THAT RIGHT NOW. BUT REMEMBER ALL CUSTOM BUILT OR MASS PRODUCED MOTORCYCLES/VEHICLES HAVE PARTS THAT ARE ALL MAN MADE AND ARE SUBJECT TO DEFECTS AND HUMAN ERROR. I HAVE RODE MY SLAMMER 1300 MILES SO FAR- ONLY HAD 1 NO START (BAD CONNECTOR AT STARTER) AND THE CRANKSHAFT DRIVE SPROCKET NUT BACKED OFF ENOUGH THAT IT HAD A LOUD RATTLING NOISE, BUT DID NO DAMAGE. I HAVE HAD HARLEYS THAT HAS WENT DOWN WITH PROBLEMS. MY ONLY PROBLEM IS FINDING A GOOD DEALER WITH TECHICIANS THAT KNOW HOW TO FIX THEM, AND THERE IS NOT ENOUGH DEALERS AROUND. I HAVE TO GO 100 MILES EACH TIME I WANT SERVICE ON MY HORSE. MY COUSIN HAS A 2004 TEXAS CHOPPER AND ONLY BROKE DOWN TWICE SINCE HE HAS HAD IT- BATTERY AND VOLTAGE REGULATOR.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Allan Martia

Woodland Hills, California

Reviewed on 2007-05-22

Motorcycle reviewed2006 American Ironhorse Outlaw

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I received my new 2006 Outlaw from my new wife as a wedding present (aren't you guys jealous) it should be a requirement. My wife and I have put over twenty five hundred miles on the bike in the few months we've owned it, what a blast. We live in Southern California and ride up and down the beautiful coast practically every weekend. The bike runs and looks flawless and we have never been able to ride anywhere without people asking about the bike and commenting the bikes beauty (also my wife's, she looks great riding on the back). The fun factor is off the charts, I recommend the American Ironhorse product line to any one that needs to put the excitement back into their lives. I can't thank my wife enough, Oh! And thank you American Ironhorse for building such a quality product.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ME

ST.JOSEPH, Missouri

Reviewed on 2007-01-01

Motorcycle reviewed2005 American Ironhorse Outlaw

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I'V HAD A FEW MINOR PROBLEMS. I REPLACED THE VOLTAGE REGULATOR AND HAVE RESEALED BOTH CYCLINDERS FOR BASE GASKET PROBLEM. I LOVE AMERICAN IRONHORSE MOTORCYCLES AND THE DEALER WAS GREAT. I READ A LOT OF THE COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER OWNERS AND I THINK THEY SHOULD RIDE THEIR BIKES MORE OFTEN. ALMOST ALL THE MILES WERE BELOW 2000 MILES. THEY ARE NOT BIKERS WITH THAT KIND OF MILEAGE. I've ONLY HAD MINE A YEAR AND I RUN IT ALL THE TIME. I've OWNED A LOT OF BIKES, THEY ALL BREAK DOWN. SOME MORE THAN OTHERS.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 39 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: