Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

American Lifan reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.2
Performance
4.2
Comfort
4.2

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

31 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

John J

Pomona, California

Reviewed on 2011-01-18

Motorcycle reviewed2006 American Lifan LF200GY-5

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Well, for a six-foot-three guy like myself, I would have to say I am impressed with the way the bike fits although I could have used a little bigger chassis. With that said, the rest of the bike has been nothing short of impressive and well worth the $1,800 I paid for it. The frame, engine and general mechanics have held up for the first year of abuse I have put it through. I must admit that I actually feel guilty for paying so little for such a fine machine. I am considering buying a second one for my 18-year-old son to use for back and forth travel to and from high school.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shawne de

New York

Reviewed on 2021-03-25

Motorcycle reviewed2006 American Lifan LF200GY-5

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
Just picked up a 2006 Lifan 200 g y - 5 and I am trying to buy or find some replacement parts for it and having a real hard time. If anyone can refer me to a website or even compatible Japanese parts ie. 18 inch rear wheel with drum brake 21 inch front wheel with disc brakes brake pads and Plastics I would really appreciate it my bike runs and sounds great however cannot write it due to rear Wheel
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

damon

taupo, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Reviewed on 2011-08-21

Motorcycle reviewed2006 American Lifan LF200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I brought the bike as a run around. I have been happy with the performance of the bike. It's well worth the money I paid for it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jake

Florence, Arizona

Reviewed on 2010-05-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 American Lifan LF200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I went with my brother in law and father in law who have an 1100 shadow and a suzuki sv650s on a 600 mile road trip for 2 days through the mountains, mostly all mountains, and it held up great. I cruise at 65 no problem @ about 7000 rpms and still have plenty of room to push. I've got the bike up to 90 mph and could probly push a hair more but I would be past red line. Some of the mountain hills that were 65 mph I had to go bout 50-55 cuz the bike couldn't quit keep up but it made it. It handles great through curves and you could lean into it pretty freakin far. If you plan on a road trip, tighten everything or you might have some stuff come loose. I am very pleasd on how this bike handled this trip.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Columbus, Ohio

Reviewed on 2010-03-07

Motorcycle reviewed2006 American Lifan LF200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had this bike for 18 months, and I am the 2nd owner. I take care of regular maintenance and I had to replace the starter and get a new battery, but nothing else. It gets between 70 and 80 MPG, and is perfect for driving around campus and to work. Insurance is also ridiculously cheap for this bike. For anyone looking for a starter bike, this is the bike to get. This bike has paid for itself in fuel savings, cheaper insurance on my new bike (06 R6), and just learning experience. I could not have asked for a better starter bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

brian

largo, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-12-17

Motorcycle reviewed2006 American Lifan LF200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this used to get around on and works great for the money. It had a broken fuel gauge but who needs it? The tires are not good for rain and you have to drive safely. If you don't crash it or overdrive it, this thing will last a long time. If I wanted to go fast, I would spend the money for a Ninja but this is a fun cruiser and I take it to the beach! People think it's an expensive cycle!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Drew

Appleton, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2009-06-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 American Lifan LF50QT-15

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike was worth what I paid. It runs great and finding local dealers with the same models to get parts from is easy if I ever need it. I've driven it for about a thousand miles and I actually get better than 100mpg on a 1 gallon tank. It looks cool and it starts every time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Heath Conder

Ft Wainwright , Alaska

Reviewed on 2009-04-15

Motorcycle reviewed2006 American Lifan LF200GY-5

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well I have had this bike for about 3 months. I bought it used and it had 600km on it when I got it. The only thing that I have done is change the oil and the speedo because it said I what doing 80 in before I shifted out of first but I got one for 25 bucks and all is good. I got it so that I could get back into riding as I haven't ridden since I was 12.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis

St Louis, Missouri

Reviewed on 2009-03-22

Motorcycle reviewed2008 American Lifan LF110GY-3

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike back in Sept. of 08. Other than a snafu with my dealer giving me the wrong MSO, the bike has been great. I swapped out the 110cc Lifan engine to a 140cc Lifan after about 100 miles or so. This was only because I had access to the engine and a super cheap price. The 110 ran fine and was great with the E start. I changed the front sprocket out to a 17t and a 33 rear on the 110. The bike would easily cruise... cruise, not bang off the rev limiter at 50 with that gear setup. I kept the gears with the new engine. 60 MPH is easy to come by with this setup. I may even step to a 30 tooth rear to make better use of the power of the 140cc. It's a little loud with the pit bike exhaust, but I can quiet it down a bit. It has no problem at low speeds so don't worry about that. I ride it on the trail a lot and it's fine. Out of all my street legal bikes I own, I always swing a leg over this to run around town. I love it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jerry

Chandler, Arizona

Reviewed on 2007-09-09

Motorcycle reviewed2006 American Lifan LF200GY-5

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just recently bought this bike from an online dealer. It had to be assembled, including both wheels installed. This is at least a 2, maybe 3 person job, and does require some mechanical skills. I am a professional auto mechanic, and was able to assemble and set it up by myself, with the help of an engine crane. I only have 230 klms on it so far (the speedometer reads in MPH, the odometer reads in kph). I have found some cheesy parts on it, especially the plastics, but have had absolutely no problems with it at all so far. It runs fine, and does what it is supposed to do. I have the genuine American Lifan LF200GY-5 bike, with a rear drum brake, no anti-lock gadget on the front brake, and the OHV pushrod engine. A lot of places are selling copies of this bike, if you get one, be sure to get the real thing. I can't figure out what there is to complain about with this bike. I looked at a Suzuki DR200S, and it was a very nice bike, better fit and finish, and the materials had a better quality appearance to them, but the dealer wanted so much OTD for that bike. You could buy 3 Lifans for that, and have $$$$ left over. The Suzuki IS a better bike, but nowhere near 3 1/2 times better. Check out the LF200GY forum on Yahoo Groups. Apparently I am not the only one that's happy with my bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 31 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: