Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMC Choppers reviews

4.1
Write a review
Reliability
4.0
Overall quality
4.1
Performance
4.2
Comfort
4.0

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

11 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Termtrip

Middletown, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2010-03-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMC Choppers Big Daddy 918 ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
You can't beat this chopper, the best priced chopper for the quality you can get. There are only a few people with issues on these bikes, but I know a lot more people with issues on Big Dog choppers naming tranny problems mostly. If you want a quality chopper for a good low price get a BMC.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

8-Ball

Loveland, Colorado

Reviewed on 2005-05-15

Motorcycle reviewed2005 BMC Choppers Hooligan 541 Rev-Tech 88

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Hooligan for several reasons. It has that "look that I really love." It is also priced at $16,000 which for this bike is amazing!!! I am able to get it up to about 80-85 which is more speed than needed. Overall, this is a great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joshua 7s Black

Fayetteville, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2005-05-02

Motorcycle reviewed2005 BMC Choppers Hooligan 541 Rev-Tech 88

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is designed in the vein of old style choppers and probably isn't intended for the new flashy Chopper set. That said, it's beautiful and looks like something from WW2 on super soldier serum or steroids. The design cues are subtle and potent. Every old grissled guy to the pretty girl down the street has complimented my bike - even the cops love this ride. It rides like and sounds old school muscle car and turns incredibly well. It's built for taller folks like me who appreciate foot-pegs that need a little reach. Obviously, the giant rear tire gives it a kick off the line and even makes the rigid frame a little less rigid. The 88 cubic inch revtech puts out plenty of power and the bike weighs practically nothing compared to cruisers in the same engine size. A word to riders who want a passive, relaxed ride - this is not the bike for you. Please go buy a nice Japanese cruiser that rides like a caddy and looks like an H-D. Mike Rouse makes bikes for people who have rode rugged bikes for years and appreciate some grit in their coffee.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan

Virginia Beach, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-08-05

Motorcycle reviewed2003 BMC Choppers Notorious 918ST

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
'I have to say that I can't complain too much about my 918. With all rigid rears you will have some problems with blown lights or maybe losing hardware or in one review I read, losing the horn bracket. I actually lost my bracket. But all you need to do is check everything out before you ride. Try some locktight on the hardware. I only rode mine about 1000 miles the first month and I did have some minor problems but with each one I fixed it and was back in the wind in a matter of hours. Overall, I'm very happy with mine. And the ladies who ask me for rides make me happy too. So keep it in the wind.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Big Tom

Wildwood, Missouri

Reviewed on 2004-05-21

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMC Choppers Big Daddy 918 ST

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased my Big Daddy ST this past January. I have 1400 miles on the chopper already. It is hard to stay away from and I smile every minute when I am riding. I get constant looks and have met many nice people. This chopper is SICK! I have gone BMC SICK! This is a tough bike!
Reliability
3.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nastay

Virginia Beach, Virginia

Reviewed on 2003-10-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 BMC Choppers Notorious 918ST

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I picked up my Big Daddy six weeks ago, I've ridden it about 4800 miles since then. I feel well qualified to say "shut your whining." The bike is a rocket, rides very well, and turns heads. I even carried a fine young thing to Myrtle Beach Fall Rally this past weekend on suction cup Phantom Pad thing on the fender; we had a good time, and the whole week she whined less than some of these reviewers. On the flip side, I have snapped a primary belt, and encountered some electrical disconnects and a headlight because of vibration. For my part, I totally dig the bike, love the ride, and am happy with my investment. Recommendations include go check one out and ride it, get an extended warranty, and don't be a whiner. It's a high performance machine, it pushes the edge, and that stuff's gonna happen. My friends with choppers of all other makes and varieties experience the same thing. For that matter, so do all motorcyclists that actually ride their machines. They just don't ever have nearly as much fun on theirs as I do on mine. Sorry, but it's not for sale.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BWK

Indianapolis, Indiana

Reviewed on 2003-07-21

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMC Choppers Notorious 918ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the 15th motorcycle I have owned in 28 years and is clearly my favorite ride. I put 178 miles on it this last weekend and I loved every one of them. Took this to the ABATE of Indy class my girlfriend was taking and everyone came over to check it out (what kind of "Harley" is THAT?). This bike kicks ass and takes no prisoners and I admit it is not for everyone. Negatives - (1) better keep it on a battery tender or it will not start very easily. (2) Gas mileage, even with 93 octane, is maybe 28-30 MPG tops!!! (3) Does't go fast around corners unless you don't mind replacing expensive bits of chrome and billet. POSITIVES - (1) 100" REVTECH will eat ANY and all Harley's for lunch, I dusted some dude in a FXD with the 1550 kit from stop light to stop light and this bike is every bit as fast as my Buell S-1 in a straight line for sure. (2) Best looking bike at any bar you take it too hands down. I get more compliments on this bike from hottie chicks than you can imagine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan Hill

Albany, Georgia

Reviewed on 2003-05-27

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMC Choppers Notorious 918ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my BMC 918 for about 2yrs and haven't had any problems so far. I have had to call BMC several times when doing a few custom changes or maintenance and they have been very helpful, even talking me through some minor things. The first thing I would do if you just get one is change out the handlebar bushings. They come with polly' which are good but the rubber ones take out MUCH more vibration. Otherwise, ride it like you stole it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BRANDON

PHOENIX, Arizona

Reviewed on 2003-04-02

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMC Choppers Notorious 918ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I OWN A BMC 918 AND LOVE IT. I HAVE 3500 MILES ON IT AND NO PROBLEMS. I BROKE THE MOTOR IN LIKE CUSTOM CHROME SUGGEST TO, AND IT RUNS GREAT. AND TRUST ME I DO BEAT IT UP. JUST STAY ON TOP OF TUNEUPS AND YOU SHOULD HAVE NO PROBLEMS.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

whomever

North Bennington, Vermont

Reviewed on 2003-02-23

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMC Choppers Notorious 918ST

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
I bought one of these 1 month ago, it was a cheaper price at a place my brother works. I got a discount and bought one of these cause it was intimidating looking too the Harleys next too it and no one bought it so I took it on a test drive. It performed well at that but as soon as I bought it and paid 11 grand for it it broke the primary belt and then just like the guy below me was saying the head light broke off. I think it was the vibration of the engine that did that. Hope you NEVER buy one of THESE.
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 11 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: