Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Buell Blast reviews

4.2
Write a review
Reliability
4.3
Overall quality
4.1
Performance
3.9
Comfort
4.0

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

24 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

W Avara

Denham Springs, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2007-07-21

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Buell Blast

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I am not an expert but I have ridden for over 32 years. I've put well over 100,000 miles on two wheels, including several coast to coast trips. I recently sold my '98 Heritage Softail Classic, then sold my '97 Sportster Hugger, then sold my '81 Honda Passport. I was completely bikeless for the first time in many years. It had to be worse than coming off crack. After six months I just couldn't take it any longer. I bought a '02 Blast with 2123 miles on it, which was well within my budget. I have driven just over 100 miles per day, for several days now. It should be illegal to have this much fun on a bike. Ooh, it's not as comfortable as the Softail (my butt goes to sleep around 30 miles), and it won't pull the front wheel up like the Sportster would (but has plenty of get-up-and-go), but it is a kick in the pants to ride and I've averaged 65 mpg. All my old ridin' buddies laugh at me but, I'm in it for the ride. I'll have to post again when I get some more miles on it, but so far I am thrilled with the little bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan

Boston, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2007-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Blast

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
2003 on up, Blasts were near flawless. Quality at Buell had peaked with regard to this model so I bought one. It is comfortable if you're under 5'10". It takes bumps admirably and handles with security if you are near 175 lbs. It is true you have to give it more gas than other bikes during take off due to its engines low rpm torque, but this unusual characteristic you get used to within a day of riding. I've ridden this on tight twisties and long days including some highway travel and it's exceeded my expectations. Hi-way travel is not recommended, not due to power but comfort as with any motorcycle short of a touring specific bike. My particular Buell has the Buell Performance intake and dual exhaust. This woke up the bike substantially in the mid to high rpm range! It seems the media has a job to criticize all it can find to substantiate their existence. They're forced to compare all sorts of different bikes of different prices from different intended purposes. This rarely serves anybody well and usually ends up misleading. This is a fun, small, light, well built bike that truly gets 70 mpg. It really is a personal thing but if you want an American designed and built bike that's fun, economical and reliable, you can't go wrong if you fit.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jon

Yukon, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2006-12-30

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Buell Blast

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike about 2 months ago. This is my third bike I've had. I am 22 and drive a semi, when I bought this bike it had about 10k miles on it. I've done some normal maintenance on it. It's comfortable for me and handles great. My wife rides on the back and we have gone on rides lasting hours. The only downside of this bike is that it lacks power when there is a passenger. I've had mine up to 110 MPH and still had throttle left. I agree that the distance between 1st and 2nd gear is a big jump, but with a few city miles on it, it will be natural. I haven't had any problems except that parts are cheaply made, but they are cheap to replace. It's never stalled in corners and has never been laid down. People say that they are POS. I question their riding quality and the quality of their upkeep. This is a great bike whether it be for a beginner or someone that just loves to ride. This bike hugs the road and never wants to let go.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alex

Rosamond, California

Reviewed on 2006-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Buell Blast

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I got the bike used with 2700 miles and already in 3 months put a total of 6600 miles on it. I replaced the stock exhaust with a slimmer and louder vance hines exhaust mainly to access drain plugs underneath the bike. The bike leaks from rocker cover and uses up rear tires every 2000 miles, with my very aggressive driving. But I've also ridden with touring bikes and it could cruise at 80-90 mph for 300 mi ride at one time. I enjoy the bike and use it to commute to work every day.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

KeViN

BrAdEnToN, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-11-20

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Buell Blast

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Good bike but it needs about 40 more hp and the pegs need to be bout 3/4 in higher. Mine are all chewed up by the corners but after you get through the rubber, the sparks are kinda cool. At least it gets on one wheel!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ray6225

Clearwater, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-08-31

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Buell Blast

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My 2002 Blast has lived up to all the Eric Buell hype. I have run 60-70 MPH all day and still got 70 MPG. Great in the country, in the twisties and on the open road. The Harley Boys could not outrun me through the corners! I don't know what everybody else complains about. I also have a Honda Helix and a 2005 Harley Dyna Glide Custom. They're all fun in their own right. There is no way to compare them. I'm 67 years old and tour, group ride and cruise. You will not outrun most bikes (and some maxi-scooters) or pop wheelies but speed and acrobatics are not what the Blast is all about. I've ridden bikes for 4 years and the Blast is a lot of fun. Test ride one before you buy it. This is a reliable bike with great brakes, quick steering and very easy to ride. In this area we are blessed with having great dealerships with excellent techs. Find one near you and have a Blast.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

erich

Los Angeles, California

Reviewed on 2005-11-24

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Buell Blast

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Returning rider at age 40+. This has been a great ride. From around town to the back two lanes, through the passes and along the coast to the highways this bike is taking care of me and is more than a "blast" to ride. The short fall for this one cylinder is on the highway here, especially on our gusty Santa Anna days. I can keep 60-65 no problem but general traffic is flying by me. I'm like a 16 year old with a new license with this bike. I want to run all the errands or think of excuses to go on them. It's a natural around town. At 65 miles to the gallon, it's an easy one to rationalize too. This bike is all about fun but it does draw curious looks too.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gabi Ehresmann

Cascade, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2005-11-21

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Buell Blast

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After the MSF class in 2003, I purchased a used 2001 Buell Blast with 1600 miles. Within the last two seasons, I put an additional 18500 miles onto the odometer. The bike performed perfect for its class, and its intended use, which consisted of an 83-mile daily commute. The gas mileage is exceptional, I got 75+ mpg. The oil changes were simple, and the bike was relatively maintenance free (no chain to oil, no valves to adjust) The only complaint would be the rear tire consumption... The bike always got me wherever I wanted to go, never leaving me stranded, except when I ran out of gas a half mile from home :) (Female miscalculation of risk...) Some people may complain about the seat, but I was able to do a 500-mile day with minimal issues (not the bike, but my bottom). The power was more than sufficient for city riding as well as keeping up with the traffic on the highway. Overall, this is a great beginner bike, if you accept this bike as what it is. Not a race bike, not a powerhouse, just a reliable fun bike. Buell did a great job with the bike, and there was a tear in my eye as I traded up to a Buell XB12R a month ago. Can't wait for next season...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephen Lowe

Dryden, Michigan

Reviewed on 2004-07-01

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Blast

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This 2003 Blast is my first bike . It has been a blast riding with my father. I bought it in March 2004 and have had no problems riding with my dad's 1100 vstar custom and his friend's Harleys. I was suprised it ran so well on the expressway!! Not as quick as the big guys but cruises fine at 70mph. I love it. No negatives here!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RG

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2003-10-05

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Buell Blast

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is a great around town and back road ride that handles great. They look much better in person and do get a lot of attention. Rejet the carb and change the exhaust and you'd be amazed at the difference!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 24 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: