Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Buell Firebolt XB9R reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.5
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

28 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mike

Litleton, Colorado

Reviewed on 2011-04-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Firebolt XB9R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought my 03 XB9R used with 6,000 miles on it from the original owner. It has fantastic handling, is comfortable (even 2 up), has great sound & looks, with fun while having usable power (especially on winding hills we have here in Colorado). I love the bike and, thanks to Erik Buell's unique design, I have gotten nothing but compliments on it for its looks, sound, and even its performance from the friends I've let ride it. The only troubling issues I've encountered have been high and premature (I think) maintenance costs (Intake manifold seals, injectors, and fork seals required replacement at 7,500 miles) but otherwise it runs flawessly. This probably wouldn't be half as bad if someone other than HD could provide service and parts for the bike. It seems that these cycles are not universally understood by the HD mechanics tasked with providing OEM services to them and parts, controlled completely by HD, may become an issue as present inventories lessen. But, like any piece of art, it's beautiful to behold, fun to experience, and I think someday will be considered a classic. If you have one, take care of it.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Josh

Pensacola, Florida

Reviewed on 2008-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Buell Firebolt XB9R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike looks great and rides and sounds perfectly. It has a very sporty look. Hands down it is the greatest handling bike out there and has the awesome sound of an American V-twin. It also gets excellent gas mileage. I will be riding Buells for a very long time. I highly recommend Buell to everyone!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brandon

Wausau, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2007-01-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Firebolt XB9R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Everything about this bike is phenomenal. Handling is superior and the brakes could stop a semi truck in a second! But most of all, if you want a flashy bike that gets a lot of attention, get a Firebolt. I have had so many compliments on how the bike looks and sounds (with a jardine rt1 exhaust) it makes me feel like im on top of the world! Flash, style, speed, handling, this bike has it all!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

dave steady

newington, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2005-06-03

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Buell Firebolt XB9R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased the bike yesterday and let me tell you it's an awesome bike....it's very comfortable and provides great performance in the handling category. haven't been able to open it up because it's far from being broken in but I'll write back once I have more miles on it for an update....its a real eye catcher too.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matt P

Appleton, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2005-03-31

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Firebolt XB9R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This thing is the best purchase I have ever made in my 26 years of existence. I am absolutely, without any hesitation, in love with this bike. The throttle response is great and it pulls cleanly and hard, at least hard enough, from down low. Today, I picked it up (bought it used with a 1000 miles on it) and took it for a spin around town. I jumped on the freeway and I had it to 80mph before I even realized it. This thing has plenty of get up and go, despite other reviews I have read on it. People are in awe of it everywhere I rode it. As for support, the people at the dealership have done an excellent job catering to all of my needs, I needed the mirror spacers, as I'm too tall for stock, and they got them on in short notice. One thing about the size of the bike. It is small, but my frame fits fine on it. It is actually a very comfortable bike, at least to me. Oh, and everything that is said about the turn-on-a-dime handling and superior front brakes, they're absolutely true. Do yourself a favor and test ride one of these bikes, you will enjoy it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brandon Lewis

Albany, Georgia

Reviewed on 2005-02-01

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Firebolt XB9R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I am a 280 plus pound man who rides a 2003 Buell Firebolt XB9R. There aren't many people who know about Buell American Motorcycles, let alone ride them. That is a shame because it is an excellent motorcycle that has provided miles of trouble free riding for me. It provides the sort of exclusivity that exotic car owners enjoy for less than a fraction of the money. It sounds like a small block chevy at low speeds. Everyone asks me what kind of bike it is at traffic lights or while I'm posted up at the mall. My only complaints are that the bike leaves you smelling like you've been working on a car all day after short rides. And although the bike is virtually trouble free, routine maintenance is rather costly and frequent. Again it is the perfect choice if you choose to be unlike others who crave liter bike performance; however, if you want a bike that you won't lose in a parking lot, the Buell Firebolt XB9R is the only choice.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bill saltos

arlington, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-11-26

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Firebolt XB9R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Buell had the guts to design something that does not look Japaneese and that has the torque that a Mustang or Camaro owner could appreciate. The braking is awesome. The bike is a lady picker- upper. The sound of the bike gets the attention of any teenager and you are suddenly cool. The bike is so reliable most guys think it's a Japanese bike. Even my Japanese friends are buying Buells now.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BERRY HOLLAND

JENSEN BEACH, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-05-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Firebolt XB9R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
THIS IS A REALLY FUN BIKE TO RIDE. NO, IT MAY NOT BE THE FASTEST, BUT IT HAS GOT PLENTY OF POWER AND A LOT OR TORQUE. YOU CAN EASILY GET THE FRONT WHEEL UP IN FIRST OR SECOND GEAR. I BOUGHT MINE THIS PAST SEPTEMBER AND HAVE HAD A BALL WITH IT SO FAR. I HAVE NOT ADDED THE RACE KIT YET, BUT PLAN TO DO SO SOON. I LOVE THE FACT THAT YOU don't SEE THEM EVERYWHERE.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mvh

clarksville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2004-03-29

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Firebolt XB9R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First off this bike was not intended to compete with the inline four top end screamers. I had an XL lightning in which had a good amount more power, but lost it in a wreck. So I test rode a XB12r and XB9r, I bought the 9r cause it was a little less and didn't seem much slower as it would pull up in first gear pretty easy and the other 9r they had would not. I'm no motorcycle expert, but I have owned different bikes and have been able to ride many a bike. The XB9r fits me the best, good torque, good brakes, good gas mileage, comfortable at least for me, and as the add says different in every sense, isn't that what riding is about, finding a motorcycle that fits you the best and just riding it. It's not the best at anything but it does everything very well. And the 9r will do better than 120 mph. Just a little note the X1 I had would pull up into a wheelie at 2600 rpm with just throttle, how many inline fours will do that.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason

Blackwater, Australia

Reviewed on 2004-03-27

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Firebolt XB9R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Walked past the bike in the dealership as I thought it was a 250cc. Decided to spoil myself and had organized to ride the race kitted version of the XB9R straight up. I now believe there is such a thing as one finger brakes as coming down a grade to a stop sign I managed a fifty meter endo. My face was still hurting three days later from grinning whilst riding possibly the most fun bike ever created. If you can get over the spec sheet bulls**t and put away the egos about who has the most HP you will actually enjoy the bike for what it was designed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 28 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: