Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Excelsior Henderson reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

22 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Rowdy Rod

Las Vegas, Nevada

Reviewed on 2004-05-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike and flew to Texas to pick it up and ride it home. What a ride! The Deadwood is definitely heavy, but once you get used to the weight it is very easy to ride. The bike it VERY FAST! I wasn't paying attention while cruising through west Texas and was doing 95. It blew me away! It was so smooth and the motor just purrs! The Yahoo Excelsior Henderson owners groups are the greatest. If you have a question/problem and post a question you will receive 20 emails in a day! Friends are great!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RB

Orange County, California

Reviewed on 2002-09-09

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
With only 1952 ever made in the limited two year production run of 1999 and 2000 you can't help but own a Collector's bike when you purchase a Super X! There is no finer riding heavy cruiser than the Super X with its anti-dive front end and heavy-duty frame (like no other, makes an H-D frame look like a toothpick) these machines ride effortlessly down the nation's highways, backroads and city streets. Lots of support and parts and most can be found at the largest E-H Super X resource...the Excelsior-Henderson Resource Board: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Excelsior-Henderson-Resource-Board/
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck P.

USA

Reviewed on 2001-10-07

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Looked and looked for two years at the Super X and finally bought one. Love Harleys, but love my Super X much better. Why? It's just a different bike that loves highway speeds and jaunts around town. My wife loves it to and we are considering buying another one for her. If you've been looking, don't hesitate to buy one--you won't be sorry. Also, it's made in America!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Susie XQ

Southern California

Reviewed on 2001-02-21

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is so far ahead of its time that it beat the Harley/Porsche collaboration that is producing the soon to be released first water cooled Harley engine. There are so many disgruntied Harley riders who are not looking forward to such an engine and indeed Indian is also priding itself on producing their own "air cooled" engine as they are readying to abandon the S&S motor. Sometimes when a product comes along that is ahead of its time, it takes consumers time to realize just what has happened: the Excelsior-Henderson Super X is just such a product. Gone are the staple exterior pushrod and tubes, replaced by a sophisticated overhead cam and four valves per head beauty of an engine that my Harley friends envy everytime we exceed the sixty-five miles per hour mark as the Super X engine just keeps pulling into the three digit territory with ease and can stay there with no problems. Take a close look at the motorcycle and you find a level of quality not found in other production cruiser worthy of some custom bikes. I was sold immediately after taking a Super X out for a test ride, that lasted TWO HOURS. The dealership thought I had stolen the motorcycle and was in the process of calling the police; this of course prompted my purchasing one as it is all too easy to ride for hours on end with a Super X. A motorcycle to buy and a motorcycle to keep and ride. My son is listed in our will to inherit my Super X. It is not just a different American Made Cruiser, it is better American Crusier.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Blevins

Carpentersville, Illinois

Reviewed on 2001-01-31

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The first time I saw this bike I knew it was exactly what I was looking for. Size, power, performance, and really, truly, a work of art in it's own right. I was two years away from getting a Royal Star, but seeing the Super X, I knew I had to have it right away, so I got a part time job to help with the down payment, and picked up #566 on May 15, 1999. Since then I've put 13,500 miles on it. It's the first Excelsior-Henderson into the Iron Butt Association, and has carried me through 2 24-hour endurance events, with more scheduled this year. Everywhere we go, it draws a crowd- such a unique and beautiful motorcycle is hard to keep low-profile. Obviously, this bike can't outrace a ZX or a Hyabusa, but for doing what it was designed to do- cruise with confidence, style, and authority, this is the top of the pile. Anything else would be a step back into the shadow of the masses, and a capitulation to conformity.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Tullis

South Padre Island, Texas

Reviewed on 2001-01-09

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned the bike for 10 months with over 8500 miles to date it handles like a dream otherwise put " The heart of a cruiser and the soul of a sportbike ". If you prefer backcountry cruising the bike is great 5.5 gallons of gas gives you the range to get away from the rest of the world or if you prefer it will take on the dragons tail. Down side needs a little more groung clearence for heavy high speed turns ( brake pedal pivot and kickstand ) otherwise a great bike. No major problems the suspesion works as designed, this isn't a clone but a well engineered machine with a first rate finish and excellent riding characteristics. The bike exceeds what the manufacturer advertised,hopefully when production resumes we will see a stronger dealer network with full factory support.By the way to date the factory and dealers I have ahd dealings with have been great.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Shea

Manchester, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2001-01-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned my Deadwood Special for just over a year now and overall I'm extremely pleased with this motorcycle. As is the case with most new endeavors, there have been a few problems but in my case all have been minor and easily fixed by my dealer. I love the looks of this extraordinary cruiser and judging by the reactions of many head-turners they do too. The bike is fairly heavy and in my opinion adds to it's stability. The remarkable support system of Excelsior Henderson owners on various boards makes for a pretty good feeling of camaraderie and fellowship. It's really amazing how much passion there is surrounding this scoot. I don't regret for an instant my decision to buy this beautiful bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

superx owner

USA

Reviewed on 2001-01-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have no.851 this bike fires right off and is ready to ride it pulls strongly right off idle and never surges like some injected bikes. Going through the gears only takes a light tap on the shift lever the same is true with down shifts, especially since I put in 10w40-motorcycle oil. The bike has great low-end power and running through the powerband once you hit 3000rpm it's on its way to the rev limiter at 5500rpm where the fun ceases. This bike is not out of breath even then the power is still climbing unlike my Harley with a Screaming Eagle cam feels tight after 5000rpm. Even though it will pull 6000rpm on the Dyno. The Henderson goes down the road seemingly on affected by crosswinds. I have seen as high as 50mpg at light throttle 65-70mph. The paint is show quality! The front end absorbs bumps with easy and more important stability! The brakes work, as they should strongly with no nosedive. I have a 34inch inseam and I can ride this bike comfortably all day! A usable classic!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lucky Dave

Charlotte, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2001-01-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned 12 bikes in 25 years of riding. Started out on the old Brit ass hammers and moved up to an HD, with 136K miles on the clock. Bought the Super X in April of 1999. My first impression was of that huge front end and engine. After firing it up, and riding it - I was hooked! I was never one to like the herky-jerky performance of sport bikes, but this thing has Plenty of Power. Grab the loud handle (see slash cut pipes) and Whoaoooooo! Feet flappin' out behind me performance! And, oh yeah, she stops very well too.. Handling is great. Liken it to an old Triumph. All you gotta do is move one butt cheek and you're into the turn. Only complaint here is the floorboard kept scraping. Other than that the main concern with this bike is the minor problems the early ones had. This will be negated by buying from a reputable dealer - Like mine - Performance Honda/EH in Charlotte. Lucky
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Harrigan

Danville, California

Reviewed on 2001-01-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought two from a dealer last January, sold one to a 30 year riding buddy who loves it and I bought a third (total of two now owned). Have had no major problems at all, and what I have had was minor and easy to fix myself. These bikes ride and look great, are very reliable, start right up with their closed loop fuel injection and move out quite well with 1386cc, double overhead cams and a belt drive. If I had more room and money I would buy more! Paul at Northend cycle has all colors in stock, give him a call at 888-264-7874.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 22 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: