Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Gas Gas reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.4
Overall quality
4.4
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

dm

Ontario

Reviewed on 2008-01-13

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Gas Gas EC 300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First of all, this was my first non-Japanese brand motorcycle - it was a big leap for me to put money down on something other than a Honda or Yamaha which have always been my two favorite brands over the 30 years I've been riding dirt bikes. The quality of components and engineering on this GasGas is top notch. After 2 full seasons, there have been no problems that stopped me from riding, or leaving me stranded. I ride alone in deep forests of Northern Ontario, Canada and reliability was the number one item on my list of needs for a bike. (The population density in this area is less than 1 person per square mile - breaking down really sucks here) The only reason I looked at a brand other than Honda/Yamaha is that they don't make what I want - which is a very lightweight dirt oriented fully road legal bike - and the EC300 fit the bill to a T.' I tried the 4 stroke thing with 3 different bikes before the GasGas, but in my honest opinion, they just don't cut it for what I do. You either have a high strung, high cost, high maintenance lightweight 4 stroke, or you have a reliable tank. I didn't want either. I get on my bike, kick it once, and ride and ride. I change the tranny oil every 500km, lube the chain, check the bike over and that's it. I have so much work to do each day with just living in the woods (water, firewood, home maintenance), that I don't want some finicky high strung machine that needs babying BUT, I want the lightest machine I can get out there. My riding includes paved roads, gravel roads, maintained trails, rough cut trails, logging roads and abandoned gravel pits. I really did need a bike that could do it all, and this one does it. I can cruise at 100km/hour going to town and back (24km total round trip) on the highway with logging trucks all around and then spend the rest of the afternoon playing on trails. Here are the only things I found wrong with the bike. One, the kickstand design is just plain ridiculous in how it works. Thankfully, there is an easy cost free fix you can find out about by doing a web search. The second item was that the carb was miles out of whack new. It was so rich at low throttle positions that it gurgled, drank gas and fouled plugs. After getting that sorted out (#9 slider, #42 pilot, #180 main, air screw at 1.5 out) I'm getting around 50mpg on the road (Canadian gallons, which is = to about 40mpg to the American gallon) I have had the same plug for 1.5 seasons now. Here is the icing on the cake: The suspension and handling are just so good I can't even explain. I got the Ohlins rear and Marzocci front forks - I didn't think I needed the Ohlins front, besides the Ohlins have a reputation as being harder to work on. I change my fork oil once per year. I've hit 140km/hour on gravel, and there was plenty more to go, but I'm a chicken that wants to live, so who knows where the top end is? Options to get for this bike are the Honda style chain guide and oversize tank. I use Motul 800 at 50:1 and premium gas. At 4200km, I still have full compression. Other reviews mention 10,000 rpm - I don't know if it goes that high or not, but you sure don't need to. The low/mid is so fat when its jetted right that short shifting is the way to go, and you can break the rear tire loose on gravel in 4th gear with just a throttle whack. Guess who is never selling a 2006 EC300?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

harald

Arizona

Reviewed on 2022-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Gas Gas MC 125

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
stupidest thing ever sucks fffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Garrett

Hagerstown, Maryland

Reviewed on 2007-08-07

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Gas Gas MC 125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is great for younger riders. It is very reliable; just fouls a spark plug here and there. When I bought it, I thought it wouldn't be as good as bigger brands such as Honda but it is just as good. You just can't get as many performance parts for it. I've taken it to the track and it's just as good as any other bike.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rance

Salem, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2007-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Gas Gas FSE 450

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 2006 and 2007, both have Ohlins suspension and are pretty much loaded out of the box! They are very good and the power delivery is smooth and predictable. No surpises here, this motorcycle is, as with the Husaberg line, a true exotic machine for the woods and scrub; Not half bad as a commuter as well. For the beginner or first timer, the Gas Gas should be considered as it tends to be more forgiving and doesn't have as explosive power delivery as the Husaberg. After a point in the rpm's when the Hussy comes to pipe, she'll launch like a jet hitting the afterburner. don't get me wrong, they are both outstanding machines and I own both brands but each has its place. Husaberg to all out race, Gas Gas for more refined or every day pace.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Baxter

Milpitas, California

Reviewed on 2007-06-20

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Gas Gas EC 300cc

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is my second GasGas EC300. Mine has Ohlins front and rear and works fantastic. The bike turns very well and with the meaty power and the 6 speed gearbox the bike allows you to ride it wild or mild.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

fiddler

HB, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Reviewed on 2007-06-19

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Gas Gas EC 300cc

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bike has been running awesome. Apart from normal maintenance, nothing has ever gone wrong.<br /> Best bike in the mud and for the normal tight trails we have around here.<br /> Did I say best bike for mud? I love mud.<br /> I will upgrade to an 07 or 08 model if finances allows.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric K

Washington

Reviewed on 2007-06-18

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Gas Gas EC 300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is by far the best off-road motorcyle I have ridden. Power delivery is smooth and very strong. It pulls very well off the bottom, strong through the mid and revs way out on top to 10000 RPM. Handling is superb. It turns sharp regardless of rider position. It is stable at speed. It is very forgiving and confidence inspiring. Suspension is top notch. It will soak up rocks and roots at low speed very well and handle whoops at all speeds up to 50MPH+. The fit and finish on the engine is excellent. The frame has a few fit and finish issues with part alignment. Overall, there is not another off-road motorcycle I would rather have, except for an '07 EC300.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JRDoz

Sydney , Australia

Reviewed on 2007-06-18

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Gas Gas FSE 450

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I ride a 2007 model FSR450 from GasGas. Without a doubt it is the best machine I have ridden. It handles, it has fantastic smooth yet repsonsive power and everyone gleans over it with thier eyes in envy. I'm a happy man!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

B. Herbert

Melbourne, Australia

Reviewed on 2007-06-18

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Gas Gas EC 200cc

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently bought a 2003 model GasGas EC200 from a mate of kien who was up grading to the EC300. This was his second 200, the first one he had was a 2002 model a couple of years ago before he had a couple of accidents which injured his shoulder and knee. I bought this from him in April and have loved every ride I have had on it. The suspension is flawless, the motor is awesome, the ergos are fantastic and it just does what you expect it to.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Girard Lall

Pearland, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-06-17

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Gas Gas MC 250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Best bike I've ever owned. The suspension worked flawlessly. It soaked up whoops and roots with no sharp spikes to the handle bars. I could double some of the whoops. This bike weighs about 20lbs (guess) less than my '01 and it feels it while riding. The handling is the same as my '01 which means surgical precision. Had to swap the front pads half way thru the ride. The metal pads had too much of a on-off feel. Just my personal preferance. Power suits my riding style perfectly-snaps out of corners like a bullet. If the power falls off, a quick blip of the clutch and throttle picks it back up. Motor is buttery smooth, trans shifting is just the same. Motor almost has no vibrations while riding, my '01 buzzed the pegs. Longer kick starter is very nice, easier to kick over.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: