Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Indian Motorcycle Chief reviews

3.9
Write a review
Reliability
3.8
Overall quality
3.9
Performance
3.9
Comfort
3.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

79 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

GRS

Boise, Idaho

Reviewed on 2012-04-15

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike as a repo two years ago with only 1,900 miles on it. The previous owner had added Legend Air Suspension and a drag racing cam. Since then, I've added an OEM windshield, chrome Arrow shift linkage, chrome Indian Head gas cap covers & the Aardvark ignition jumper to alleviate the problem of blowing ignition relays. The ignition relays are the only problem I've had with the bike and that was an easy and inexpensive fix. With the air suspension I can drop it to the ground for shows and the cam would allow me to burn through tires at an alarming pace!! My only real complaints about the bike is (1) cosmetic - I think I'm gonna have a fat rear tire conversion done because the rear tire is a little too puny for my liking and (2) mechanical - the clutch is extremely heavy and apparently I'm not the only one who thinks so since clutch replacements are pretty popular for these bikes. Potential Indian riders beware - you cannot ride an Indian and be an introvert! Be prepared to have someone ask you about your bike every time you stop. I've had people take pics of my bike while filling up at a gas station, it is nothing if not a conversation starter. On the highway, the ride is awesome, but the rake and longer wheelbase that feels great on the open road can be a bit of a beast in town, especially with the wide bars and heavy clutch. I don't recommend this bike for a beginning rider or strictly city driving. To really be appreciated, this bike needs to be opened up on the highway! I doubt I'll ever sell this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TJ

Nova Scotia

Reviewed on 2020-12-17

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Its an absolute tank! Looks like a shiny new Harley Davidson, despite being 23 years old. Currently have 53,000 kms on it (about 33,000 miles). It sat in a basement not moving for 12 years, when I got it, it was under a half inch of grime. Cleaned the carbs and gas tank, dropped in a new battery, and it roared to life like it was driven yesterday. A day of cleaning and fluid changes, and it was like a brand new bike. Tourque for days, and with the suspension set to 4 it corners like a champ. Its amazing the lean it can get, and the power out of the turns!! Its a Honda. Nobody's quite sure how long they last, since if they are reasonably taken care of (read: occasional oil changes and try to avoid snow), they keep firing up and running forever. If you are reading this because you see a deal on an old one, and wondering if they are a good bike, do it. do it now. You're sitting in front of a computer (or phone) when you could be getting one of the best bikes on the road!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J.Pierre

Boucherville, Quebec

Reviewed on 2013-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I love my Indian Chief and believe me it's a great point of interest from other bikers.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bobby L.

Germantown, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2013-01-03

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Indian Motorcycle Chief

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I found my 2001 Chief six months ago. It needed some cosmetic repairs from being left outside under a tent for years. The chrome on these bikes was of low quality and frequently peels when left in high humidity. The S&S motor is superb with plenty of power and a beautiful sound. I've been able to find every part I have ever needed on either Ebay or from Aardvark Cycle.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pete Rogers

Chaumont, New York

Reviewed on 2010-01-20

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Other than a few minor items, this is the finest motorcyle I have ever owned. It is a crowd magnet and even my Harley friends will agree that it is a fine bike with many extras that came stock whereas you pay the piper with Harley extras.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian Phillips

Fredericton, New Brunswick

Reviewed on 2009-10-02

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned a few bikes over the years but this is my first Indian. It is a real head turner and is a lot of fun to ride and most of all it has a very distinct sound and look. Wouldn't trade it for any H.D. on the road.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kim

Falls Lake , North Carolina

Reviewed on 2009-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have had numerous bikes my whole life (all v-twins since 1973). By far my '00 Chief is the most fun to ride on pavement. I have had some issues (starter, stress cracks) but nothing major. The 88ci SS hangs with or out runs any other v-twin. I have a Geezerglide HD screamin' eagle ultra classic hot head 110ci for the long hauls but absolutely love riding my chief. Love the beach bars and overall look is traditional Indian and perfect!
Reliability
3.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steven W

Cleveland, Ohio

Reviewed on 2009-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought my Vintage black on black in 2003, 6 months before Indian went under the last time. While I don't put a lot of miles on the bike, this machine has been very reliable and I always get the most attention from enthusiasts at rallys and bike nights. The 2-up seat is not really that comfortable for long rides but great for local cruising. When the time is right I plan to get a new one and would highly recommend the Indian to all other contrarians. This is pure American.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris F.

Cornelius, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2009-06-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 99 Chief in 2001 with 26 miles on it. It belonged to a Nascar owner who displayed it in his shop but never rode it. It has the California smog kit on it and is S/N 0041. The reason I bought it was the way it felt when I mounted it. I wanted a Road King my whole life, but being a big man, they just didn't feel comfortable to me. When I mounted my Chief, I felt, for the first time, here is a bike made for big guys. I was informed the 99's were 6 inches longer and 2 in. lower than the Road Kings. Every year after 99 they got shorter and higher...I will never sell my 99.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike G

Portland, Oregon

Reviewed on 2009-06-03

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought my Chief in August of 2003 (luckily, with a 5-year aftermarket warranty, as I needed the drive belt and seals replaced in 2006!) and have been pretty happy with the bike ever since. As others have stated, it always elicits the question - is it a REAL Indian? - from someone whenever I'm out for a ride, and I've gotten pretty good at telling the story of the rise and fall and rise and fall and rise of the Indian brand. I've done a lot of mods/upgrades to the bike, and so I'm at the point that I'm happy with how it fits me (although fuel injection might smooth things out a bit). My only concern is what I should do if/when I want to try something new - I honestly don't think I can afford a new one. Anyway, I'll cross that road when I come to it. Safe riding, all. Mike G
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 8
  • 1 - 10 of 79 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: