UM Motorcycles Reviews (17)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with UM Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any UM Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-12-01 2009 UM V2S 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 250R is a great bike. I've had no problems. I just purchased a 650R. I didn't think twice about any other make/model. Both are excellent bikes. There are a lot of heads turning on the bike scene.
- qmw, birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-28 2009 UM V2S 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I love it. I was so pleasantly surprised when I was able to get out on a long stretch of road and open her up. My friend I ride with rides a gsxr 600 and my UM V2S 250R keeps right up with him. The bike is a real head turner and I get all kinds of questions that I love to answer. When I upgrade it will definitly be with another United Motors bike. You can't beat the price for the bike you get and the dealer was great.
- Tim Tryon, winter springs, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-01 2007 UM V2C 650S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had my bike for almost two years. It's great light weight, easy to handle in town or on the open road. This bike gets al ot of looks. There's only one problem explaining what the heck is united motors to everyone who asks what kind of bike is that?
- none ya, albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-30 2009 UM V2S 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I have had this bike a little over 2 months now have put 1400 miles on it. The only issue I had was within the first week. I had a screw that was not properly screwed in on the mirror. Dealership fixed promptly and everything else had been great. Can't say enough about the great dealership and the bike has been more reliable than my 2007 yamaha I traded in for it. When I do upgrade next, I will be sticking with hyosung/um brand. The bike has definitely given me more confidence in my riding and yes, I have gotten above 100mph.
- vic, smyrna, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-13 2009 UM Matrix II 170 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a hard time finding reviews of this bike, so I want to do my part to get some publicity out there. This is my first scooter or motorcycle, so I don't have much to compare it to, but here are my impressions. I've had my Matrix II-170 for just over a month now and I've loved every minute. I find every excuse that I can to take it for a ride. It's been the perfect bike for my commute, which is about 10 miles on surface streets. I'm not the smallest person and I've been averaging around 65 mpg and I have had it up to just over 60 mph, though I try to keep it closer to 50. It accelerates well, so I don't have other traffic waiting on me and I have no problems braking in a hurry. You've gotta love those disc brakes. I ride it a little hard: quick accelerations and higher cruising speeds. It's been very reliable, but it does seem a bit sluggish to start on some cooler mornings. It makes some strange noises when accelerating hard or if you let off the throttle quickly, but I don't think its anything to worry about. I think it's the CVT trying to keep up and it might just need some adjustment. I'm just going make sure I keep to the maintenance schedule. I love how much I can fit under the seat. It easily holds my helmet (HJC CL-33, large). I've been looking around at my options for extra storage and have decided that I'll probably add a top case, if I can find one that will fit my laptop (in a proper case of course). I may also try my hand at designing some side racks to hold some hard side cases, but we'll see.
- Josh S, Kissimmee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-24 2007 UM V2S 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the 1st motorcycle I have ever owned. I wanted a 250cc because I felt that I was not ready for something to powerful. I almost ended up with the Ninja250R, but then I saw the UM250 and the looks is what grabbed my attention. So I did my research and finally made up my mind and went for it. I bought the bike, wow! I've owned the bike for one year this month and till this day I have not had any problems with it at all. The bike has a lot of power to it; I was surprised for only a 250cc. I have taken it on the freeway and cruised at 75mph with no problem. Also, my girlfriend has ridden with me on the back seat and again no problems. She loved it. The best part about my bike is the gas mileage. I get 72 miles to the gallon; realistically it's about 50-60 miles in the city. I live in San Francisco and I'll tell you the bike has power for it to go up these hills with no problems. I love it.
- private owner, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-06-07 2007 UM V2C 250T Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After getting sucked dry by the gas companies, I took the plunge and went for efficiency, and a cool style. Besides dealing with the Oklahoma DMV, my experience has been awesome with the bike! It gets lots of looks and questions from curious people who cannot believe it's only a 250. "Are you sure?one guy asked. I filled up a week ago and am just now on 1/2 a tank. The ride is supremely soft and smooth. The machine has a slightly annoying roar about it, but performs great. When you need it to be there, it's there. It's absolutely perfect for around town! At 370 lbs dry, it can go on the highway too. Every rider you meet waves!
- Tony Grissom, norman, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-16 2007 UM V2C 250T Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
These bikes are FANTASTIC! It has quality and performance as well. Handling CANNOT be beat! The balance on these bikes is like it can drive itself and it looks like it costs twice the price! I have had many other so-called top makes and they are lacking compared to my V2C 250 Twin. Who can ask for more from a bike?
- Charles Fitzpatrick, Edinburgh, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-29 2007 UM V2C 250T Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great starter bike for the money. Low center of gravity, easy to maneuver, reliable starting even in the cooler weather, and it gets great gas mileage.
- NB, Nashua, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-26 2005 UM X-Peed 50 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this scooter last summer for a great price with a helmet included. It has adequate power provided you are riding on level ground. Hills really tax the capabilities of this 50cc two stroke. There is good storage under the seat and a hook on the front behind the apron for hanging groceries. I have not gotten the sort of gas mileage I would have expected; about 55 to 60 MPG. The only problem I've had with it is that it fouled a spark plug and refused to run after riding up a steady incline once and forced me to take a cab home. This was probably my fault since it was past its scheduled maintainence period and probably needed a new spark plug. Anyway, it was a simple fix and it has run flawlessly since then. In all it's a good little scooter, easy to ride, no need to tag it or license it, capable of 40-45MPH. If you need to ride hills, or weigh as much or more than me, you'll probably want to get a 150cc though.
- dvs, little rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-18 2007 UM V2C 650S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike; my first was a Kawi Drifter 1500. I liked the bike but it was very heavy and not my riding style... The UM 650S is nothing like any bike in the 650cc class, no need for more power even with a second rider total lbs is 425 lbs.... My legs don't cramp up on long rides. The only thing that took me awhile to get use to was the HP. The bike is very fast and my tailbone hurt from the bike wanting to throw me off but after the first 1000 miles my butt has formed to the seat... Awesome bike... definitely check it out!
- Gary, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-09 2004 UM Renegade 200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my United Motors Renegade 200 thru eBay. It is the 1st bike I have owned and I love it! I bought it in Feb. 2006 with less than 600 miles on it and it has almost 2000 miles on it now, July 9th, 2006. It runs well and I've had it to 70 mph with a passenger on it. All I'm looking for is more accessories and possible performance upgrades.
- Jerry Campbell, Greeneville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-27 2005 UM Matrix 150 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned it now for a month and have put about 240 miles on it. It hasn't given me any major problems and only one minor one that was really just an annoyance and the dealer told me how to take care of it. The pick up has been exceptional and the overall speed is adequate on roads with a 55 mph speed limit. The lighting is something I really like, makes the scoot all the more visible. The finish on it leaves a bit to be desired. When I say the finish I mean some of the finer details like the front storage compartment is really kind of shoddy, I don't put anything it, and a few of the places where the plastic meets don't fit squarely but most of it is unseen and unnoticeable to anyone else. So thus far I would highly recommend this scoot. For the money I think it is the one of the best values, especially since I have one the best dealers not too far from here. It fits the economic reason I was looking for a scoot and delivers the quality I needed.
- Brian, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-03 2005 UM Powermax 150 GP1 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a UM Powermax 150 last week from a local dealer. I chose the PM150 because it offered the best bang for my buck and the dealer, was nearby! So far I've driven it on residential roads, parking lots and main thoroughfares. She is quick and handling is excellent! Acceleration is smooth and braking is strong. Although I'm still in the break in period, I've pushed her to 45mph up hill! Storage under the seat is adequate for a helmet. The only issues...the starter needed replacing (prior to delivery), which the dealer handled under warranty and the signal lights needed adjustment so they would work. Other than that, the scooter is well built (for the price) and the local dealer and UM have been great. Given the price of gas...you can't go wrong!
- Scott, Overland Park, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-01 2004 UM DS200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Okay, here is my assessment of the different sprocket combinations that I have tried on my 2004 UM DS/200. Keep in mind I don't have a tach, so I don't know what the bike is revving at, I can only go by the sound it makes. I don't really know what the top end speed is on this bike, and I really don't care to find out.<br /> <table align="center" border="1"> <tr> <Td></td> <Td>Purring</td> <td>Buzzing nice</td> <td>Buzzing loud</td> </tr> <Tr> <Td>Stock (15/46)</td> <Td>35</td> <td>40</td> <Td>45</td> </tr> <Tr><Td>16/46</td> <Td>45</td> <Td>50</td> <Td>55</td> </tr> <Tr><Td>16/41</td> <Td>55</td> <td>60</td> <td>65-75</td> </tr> </table> 4th gear cruises at 45mph, close to 50 to shift to 5th much slower than 50mph (47) and you're falling out of the power band. I also did a dirt test. It still seems to have plenty of power for dirt, but I guess it depends on what dirt and what kind of riding you do. Keep in mind that it's a DS, and the muffler is closer to me than a street bike, so that could account for the sound. For my riding, I prefer the 16/41, which makes it more of an adventure bike (like a smaller Triumph Tiger, and half the weight, and about $10,000 less). I mostly like to cruise secondary roads, but need the top end for the bigger roads. I do plan on doing a few enduros, dual sports &#038; adventure tours, which makes it perfect. I would say, if you're pure dirt or enduro, stick with stock if you want a lot of gears on the lower end, 16/46 is nice, little more top end for secondary roads that are 45-50 mph. 16/41 if you are more into adventure riding and want to travel on longer, faster roads or for long periods of time and don't want the motor glowing from the high revs.
- Ray Fitch, Edgewater Park, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-30 2004 UM Renegade 200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought and sold three other heavier motorcycles before finding this one. One was definitely too loud and the others didn't seem to get any respect because of where I live. The renegade is just heavy enough to be comfortable and light enough to maintain rider control. Most people, even here in Daytona, see all the great stuff that is standard equipment on my Renegade and assume it is an exotic expensive brand they haven't heard of. Living on the coast means constant cleaning and polishing to fight rust on metal parts. I bought the Rebel to ride, not spend my time shining and buffing. The Renegade has cut that problem way down by using non-rusting material wherever possible. I am 100% pleased with my Renegade.
- Doug Graham, Daytone Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-16 2004 UM Renegade 200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Renegade 200 is a great bike, it handles very well, even on rough roads. I have had this bike for about 4 months and ride on the weekends, but if I was home all week I would use it everyday. This is definitely a great bike to get around town and even on long trips, very comfortable ride! If you would like the feel of a midsized bike without the large cost, this is the bike for you. Also don't let the small motor fool you, this bike definitely out-rides the Rebel 250, and looks better too. You can really lean this bike too, plenty of clearance. It also has many more features than most bikes on the showroom floor, SUCH AS A TACH, FLOOR BOARDS, CRASH BARS, VOLT METER, ABS BRAKES, AND LOTS OF SHINY CHROME. You will definitely get a second glance from people as you drive by!
- JEREMIAH, ATHENS, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: