Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

15 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

frank Jackson

oakland, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2007-08-09

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my 2nd Ridgeback. My first was an 04 107ci, left side drive. My 06 is 117ci right side; much better with more power. From miles you see this bike is ridden, it has never been in a shop except for routine service. No it's not a Harley. A HD (a great bike too) is no match. I can say that cause I have an 06 StreetGlide and an 07 Nightster. If I have to ever go to one bike...BDM is it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jake

Cape Coral, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-06-17

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have left a review for my 2 Big Dog Motorcycles that I have owned and love them. I have put a total of over 10,000 miles on between the two bikes and wanted to post another review about the warranty. Everyone that does a review about all the problems that their BDM bikes have fail to say that if Big Dog sees a problem they create a recall and ask everyone to bring their bikes in to have the problem fixed for free. I have friends with American Ironhorse bikes and AIH does not do recalls, and his bike is always having problems and the dealer fights not to cover it under warranty. Guys say that their P-Pad wears through the paint, but if they didn't carry their 300 pound heffer around with out a bench seat, then they would not have that problem. My wife has rode on the back of both my bikes and no scratches at all. BDM's warranty is second to none, and if you are looking to buy a BDM, you will have nothing to worry about. If you take it in for the recalls, if any, and get the things taken care of, by the time your warranty runs out all the bugs will be worked out and you can enjoy the bike for many years. Most of the guys complaining about the bike breaking after warranty runs out, only rode their bike about 10 miles a week if that and only put about 1500-2000 miles on it in the 2 year warranty period, never broke it in. No wonder!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff

Cleveland, Ohio

Reviewed on 2007-06-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My buddy bought an '02' Iron Horse Slammer. I liked the bike but thought the overall appearance wasn't as BAD as the bike could be. The clutch was stiff and the ride, for a soft tail wasn't all that great. When I saw the '05' Ridgeback, there was the answer for me! The Rigid rides like no bike I have been on. The attention it gets was unexpected. People point at us as we go down the road. Aw-yea! Big Dog has done it with this one!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TV DR

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-04-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is one of the hottest motorcycles to own. From day one the compliments and on lookers have yet to stop. Where ever you go someone is complimenting you about the bike wonderful job with looks and craftmanship. The best part is that it rides as good or better than it looks.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony

Cumming, Georgia

Reviewed on 2007-03-18

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have only had this bike for a few months and have nothing but great things to say about it. Handles great and looks awesome. Certainly gets a lot of attention on the road. Have had no mechanical problems, but one of the reasons I went with Big Dog is their reputation and the years of experience in the business. They are not a new start up company that may not be there through your warranty.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

henry thomas

beachwood, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2006-12-20

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I own a 2005 Ridgeback. I love the way it handles. I have received quite a few compliments on the looks. It's a beautiful machine. I wouldn't own anything else!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

B. Smith

Jacksonville, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Comming up on 1 year. What a trip. Love the bike, love the name, love the people who take care of her. No problems to complain about. If you ever have the chance to get a bigdog, take my advice, GET ONE GET ONE GET ONE. You always stand out. Thanks bigdog for makin me the Big Dog on the block. Love Ya.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Big Dog Rob

Alamosa, Colorado

Reviewed on 2005-11-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my Ridgeback back in Nov. 2004, right when the new 2005 models came out. I was considering a soft tail because the roads in southern Colorado aren't the best. But when I rode this rigid, I knew that I wouldn't need to worry about road bumps. When I test-drove it, I took it around the back streets of Albuquerque, over railroad tracks, potholes and dirt streets and was amazed about how smooth it rode. I didn't feel that much difference between it and the soft tail. The look of the rigid is so much cleaner, the way that the rear tire hugs the fender and minus the swing-arm suspension. I have ridden the life out of this bike (8000 miles to date). It did snap a clutch cable a month or so ago but the dealer replaced it within an hour. I have received a couple recalls on it but haven't personally experienced any of the problems that they have indicated. As far as public appeal, the overall response is unreal. People take pictures, girls want to be photographed next to it, people constantly honk or give me a thumbs up, to a "Oh my god! That is one hot bike," response. I used to be in a popular country band and got my share of attention but it wasn't anything compared to the attention that this bike draws. When I die, this bike is going to be buried with me. It's okay if any of y'all don't buy one like it, I don't mind hogging all of the attention!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Hilton S. Ishimoto

Cottonwood, Arizona

Reviewed on 2005-10-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second road bike. It has been worth the money and waiting for. I didn't expect the looks I would get and the comments when I park it. I mean the looks that the bike would get. If I had to do it again I would. Big Dog has done a fantastic job of making a great motorcycle. I have checked out the K-9 2006 and I think I like mine better but then again... Keep on Dreaming. Dreams come true - mine did.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Slick Rick DeDominicis (USAF Retired Reserve)

Berlin, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2005-06-06

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The best pound for pound, dollar for dollar bike you can get! As with any american company, you look to make a profit. What makes Big Dog stand alone from all the others is that they put out quality bikes with clean flowing lines that men have always associated with the natural beauty of women. We always look forward to the ride! USAF; God Bless our brothers and sisters who serve/served to protect our freedom!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 15 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: