Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Moto Guzzi California Jackal reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Tony DeSt3fano

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2022-03-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
I had wanted a Cali Touring for about ten years but my Triumph Thunderbird 1600 was just such a great bike I could not dream of parting ways with the incredible pull of that big reliable parallel twin... FInally in the tenth year I noticed the value of the T bird dropping fast and said well it is time SO I sold the moist trouble-free bike I had ever owned and stepped into Italian ground! It just so happenned that I was diagnosed with Acute Lymphoblastic It is not a Jackal it is a California Touring with windshield and hard bags, cruise, three engine maps, but there was no choice for the Touring: Leukemia at Stage 4 so the Guzzi was on hold - maybe permanently! Well I ended uo feeling better and on the day of the first negativ biopsy I ordered a Nero Gentleman (Black and Gold) from a dealer in TX who had a leftover 2018 with 1 mike on the clock and had it shipped to NJ... I don't recommend the shipping bit. Some do it flawlessly and some are shady...My bike arrived without mirrors and with a cracked right plastic wind deflector...the dealer showed me photos of a perfect bike leaving the dealership... Anyway the damn thing rode and handled like a sport bike! A 730 lb sport bike... 70 in twisties was a joy to behold! BUT it IS TOP HEAVY be forewanred!! I tried a slow 12 mph turn at an intersection and the bike could not negotiate it at that speed and went wide... I struck an SUV just enough to push me down and the bike landed with full weight on my right leg breaking the Tibia and Fibulla.. I am just learning to walk again... this happened SEP 4, 2021 today is March 18 2022... Take a slow rider coourse and master this animal or beware its bite!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Johnnie Mac

Danbury, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2007-07-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased this bike in 2005, only had 141 miles on it. Have owned all types of bikes throughout my long 52 yr life. Great all around bike. A tremendous bang for the buck value. Handles very well in curves. Am loving every minute riding it. Distinctive looks and great engine sound. Can not say enough about it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve G.

Wichita, Kansas

Reviewed on 2005-08-24

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I got my Jackal in Sept 03. I bought it from a woman in Glenwood Springs, CO she brought it to KS for me. I got this bike ready to ride with a full fairing type windshield by National Cycle and it came with the detachable OEM hardbags. She even threw in some heated grips that I installed, they're nice to have on chilly days. I am really glad I bought this bike. The Guzzi's are great handling bikes, it is a true sports cruiser or as close to a sport touring bike that gives you the best of both the cruiser and sport bike worlds. I have friends that have cruisers and I wanted one, but didn't want to give up the handling. When I test rode a left over Jackal at the local dealer here in Wichita, I fell in love with the bike. I want to put a touring seat on it like the EV has. I feel it will make it more comfortable on long trips. It's red and I am glad because people check it out all the time because of its "bobber" styling and retro looks. The brembo brakes work great, even the rear one will slow you down on it's own. The engine has good grunt to get you going and the bike does seem to cruise great around 80mph. Lately I was considering getting a new Harley Sportster XL1200R with the new rubber mounted engine, but I just can't part with my Jackal. The previous owner rode from CO to Canada to AZ and everywhere in between without any problems. The same for me, no problems, other than I had that kickstand kill switch diabled. I am going to retro it up some more to make it look like a vintage bike. I really considered sending it to Mark Ethridge of Moto Guzzi Classic in CA to have it converted to look like the El Dorado of the early 70's. The El Dorado's were good looking bikes. The bike would be a Jackal in El Dorado clothing. If you want a cruiser that handles like a sport tourer, has great OEM add on accessories, and sounds great with the right pipes, the Jackal could well be the bike you have been looking for. Besides why own a "cookie cutter" bike when you can have something everyone else doesn't have and still get the respect of the hard core harley owners, because the Guzzi is one of the original cruisers that have been around almost as long if not longer as harley and BMW. Besides if I want to go really fast that's what I got my Buell S3 for. The S3 is another story. Good riding to all.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lyndsay Kerr

Australia

Reviewed on 2003-03-18

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Moto Guzzi California Jackal

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Recently I moved to a farm outside of Australia's Capital Canberra,my Dyna Superglide with Progressive Springs and Koni's on the rear was not up to the secondry roads in my district.I sold the Harley and bought a Moto Guzzi Stone Metal, this bike is fantastic, excellent suspension, real brakes (plenty of kangaroos out here)and flexible power delivery one of motorcyclings best kept secret.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kelly

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2002-12-13

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Moto Guzzi California Jackal

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
For those of you looking to get a cruiser bike, you've got to check out a Guzzi. There are 3 makes of bikes that pass as cool (Harleys, Triumphs and Guzzies). All the Japanese bikes just don't have the soul that warrants respect on the road. With that in mind, this is the bike (Jackal or Stone) you need if you want a mix between cruiser and sport. I've had mine for a year now and it's the most comfortable bike I've ever ridden. It's cool. It's different. It's respected (even by hard core Harley owners). In fact, I think it's much cooler than a Harley because it seems that everyone and their brother now owns a Harley. And, it's a helluva lot more affordable than a Harley and more reliable than a Triumph. I know, I checked -em all out. I really like the vertical foot positioning as opposed to the way most cruisers force you to throw keep your feet way out in front of your body. (Triumph Bonnies are also vertical). It was funny to watch the Harley riders taking their driver's license road tests struggling to keep their bikes up because the only balance you have with foot-forward positioning is your head and neck! Not so with the Guzzi. I love my bike and couldn't imagine ever parting with it. If you're looking for a cool bike with Italian flash and styling and want to stand out from the croud, then look no more.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis

Menlo Park, California

Reviewed on 2002-01-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Jackal and the BMW 1200C are the only two bikes (other than that enormous Honda Valkyrie) that give you a crusier set-up but keep your feet back and let you feel like you can ride the curves aggressively. I wind up in chases around the hills with different kinds of bikes and find that I can set a decent pace in front and keep up from behind. I'd like to see a 2nd disk up front as the braking is a little soft when going hot into corners and Progressive's in the back have made a big difference, but like most riders the bike is better than I am and the changes are not really necessary. The essential character of the bike is a wolf in sheep's clothing. At first glance it looks like a cruiser and it will cruise very nicely, but when you wick it up the wool comes off and the howling begins. I suspect that the beemer 1200C is faster because of the superior suspension, but not twice-the-$ faster.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Biker Dude

Kansas City, Missouri

Reviewed on 2001-09-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
After getting used to the clutch I am very happy. It handles real sporty, but also has the big feel of a cruiser.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rider

Hattiesburg, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2001-05-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Jackal in June of 2000 and have nothing but praise for this bike. It handles like my old Triumphs and runs like stink. First I had to replace the brick called a seat since then I've added my own personal touch ... like every bike. I've gotten a lot of help from motointernational.com and the Moto Guzzi National Owners Club -- MGNOC.com. Can't say enough good things about the bike. Dare to be different at a bargain price!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Yukester

Lake Winola, Pa

Reviewed on 2001-04-13

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Moto Guzzi Jackal in August of 2000. After 3000 miles I am still in love. This is not a machine for everyone. It lacks the hi tech refinement of the Asian models and is not dripping with chrome like a Harley Davidson, but for me it is something much more. The tonti frame translates to near sportbike handling, the fuel injected V-Twin is powerful and very fast, and the no nonsense, no frills look and gorgeous deep black paint impart elegant good looks. There is not another sport cruiser made that I would rather own. My Asian bikes were all nice, the Harley FXRS was cool, but this Guzzi is in a class by itself. Like I said, the Guzzi is not for everyone, but it is definitely for me. Well built, fun to ride, pleasing to look at and priced right. Did I mention I love this motorcycle?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

M. Vierra

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2001-01-10

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Photographs cannot do this bike justice -- it is art on two wheels. I am happy just to look at it sitting outside of my living room. My Jackal was not a perfect fit off-of-the-rack, but now fits just fine. There have been little flaws -- it is perhaps not as perfectly assembled as a Japanese bike -- but these were the sorts of things I could fix with a little adjustment. I have spent some time making detail cosmetic changes to suit me, and altering it to fit my smaller 5'8" stature, but other than that the Guzzi seems very well constructed and has been a great ride. This is a very easy motorcycle to work on and modify. Mine is set up for solo cruising, with a lowered ride height, custom saddle, handle bars off of an EV (thanks to Moto International), luggage rack, modified exhaust -- like I said, detail stuff -- and it is red like only the Italians can do. I have no complaints. It is very powerful, seems rock steady at speed, and handles easily on the city streets that I ride, has great brakes, and sounds wonderful. I have an automotive background so the forward facing engine and shaft drive make perfect sense to me -- the feeling of the bike leaning over when I blip the throttle at a traffic stop is sort of a thrill -- and I don't have any complaint with the clutch or the shifting. It starts and runs easily right from the beginning -- even when the temperature was 28 degrees outside -- the fuel injection is set up perfectly. Cooling fins and wire spoke wheels are a must for me, but are a hassle to keep clean if you go out in the rain; that is my only complaint. My Jackal gets recognition and respect from all other motorcyclists, whether they ride Japanese bikes, BMWs, or Harleys, and no more do I long for that Harley Softail FXST that I used to dream about. Moto Guzzis aren't bikes that suit most people, but yes, I am very happy with mine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: