Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Moto Guzzi V11 Sport reviews

4.4
Write a review
Reliability
4.3
Overall quality
4.4
Performance
4.3
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

25 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

John Stiller

Denver, Colorado

Reviewed on 2007-12-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this brand new 2000 V11 Sport and I absolutely love it. Right from the start it felt like something special. Just the way the bike feels on the road and the heavenly sound the pipes make. I did end up adding the Guzzi TI racing kit with the upgraded ECU and it has made a great difference. The bike pulls even better and the sound is fantastic. Plus the pipes are so light I think the bike is now about 15 pounds lighter. It has been really reliable and has never let me down at all. All these years later it still turns heads and even more so now that all bikes are starting to look the same and the V11 really stands out among the flock. It is also comfy enough to take on long trips with a reasonable amount of luggage. Bottom line is that I would for sure buy this bike again if I were to make another bike purchase.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe

Las Vegas, Nevada

Reviewed on 2006-09-04

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What can you say about an Italian VTwin with Shaft Drive? It's awesome, beautiful and fun to drive. Plenty of power and torque. Shaft drive and 6 speed transmission are like butter. It gets lots of comments from all riders. It is a little quirky, but dependable and refined. The sound is wonderful. The only thing I changed were the mirrors(bar ends instead of mickey mouse ears). I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a unique sport bike. Looking forward to many years of riding this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Loteq

Calgary, Alberta

Reviewed on 2005-05-05

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second street bike ever, so I havent got much to compare to. I went into the dealer looking for a "naked" bike, something with style, and power. This bike has it in spades. I bought a ferrari red version with black underbody. Hot! Engine grunts like a mac truck, and sounds fantastic. All the jap bike boys look over with envy when they hear it. Transmission can be a bit finicky, but I find it is mostly when engaging from neutral, and it is solved by dropping the clutch out a bit, much like on older trucks without syncros. Not a problem once you figure the trick out. My bike is a 2004 model, and I am hoping they solved the electical and fuel lock issues that some other users have reported in earlier models. Also benefit from some Aprilia engineering now that they were bought, and now Piaggio has bought them both, so dealer network should expand. I think Moto Guzzi is a great bike, built like a tank and style to boot, although I fear our little secret will escape and in a few years there will be tons of them on the road. Here's hoping not...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Guido Kaiser

Johannesburg, South Africa

Reviewed on 2004-11-13

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This green metallic bike with its red frame is a good looking classic bike, with some modern touches like fuel injection and electronic management, yet it maintains the essentials of a long line of classic motorbikes, like its stomping V2 and its shaft drive. The engine is quite civilized, powerful and full of torque right through to its redline at 8000 rpm. It has a slick six speed box, that really works, like a knife through butter. Its maintenance free shaft drive and 1st class suspension, makes it a comfortable and fast tourer although the back seat is a bit cramped for longer distances. This is also a sports Moto Guzzi where you can go fast through corners, and I mean FAST, it leans well, it turns sharply but it wobbles through corners unless you give it power through. Initially this can be quite unsetteling, until you learn to pile it on; where the bike then shines with stability like a train, right up to top speed of approximately 220 to 230 km. Acceleration is brisk to fierce, and the bike is an absolute delight. Highly desirable. Moto Guzzi's are known for their quirky attitudes, and the bike and you need to bond over a period. You are likely to have some initial faults with the machine, nothing serious, because they are very durable. We are talking more of nuisance problems. If you are prepared for that, and able to live this period through, you will be rewarded with a bike which will bring a smile to your face every time you ride it. It is one of life's small pleasures that bikes like these are still being built and are available to mere mortals like us. Grab one, enjoy life. I did, and I do!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Francesco

Toronto, Ontario

Reviewed on 2003-09-21

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike just keeps getting better and better. I added the Guzzi Titanium exhaust and the vibes basically went away. I figure the stock system was so resrtictive that they made the bike a little buzzier. Acceleration is great, handling superb, great brakes etc..... I added a carbon front and rear fender, dash, side covers and a Corbin leather sabble. Looks to kill, usable power and character. Excellent reliability, great tranny etc.... I am hooked on Guzzi!!!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jacob

Orlando, Florida

Reviewed on 2003-09-08

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I saw this bike at the Moto Guzzi tent at last years Daytona, FL bikeweek and immediately fell in love. That year I saw just about every bike under the sun and this bike just flat outdid them all in style and character. A few months later I decided I was gonna keep my eyes out for one (just couldn't get the thing out of my head). Found one just a couple weeks later for a fair price and the previous owner kept it immaculate. I have had it now for around six months and have never been more pleased with a bike. It's solid and stable and handles superb, not to mention it is the finest thing on the road and I have never seen another. It's not a GXR or Hyabusa or even competitive performance wise, but it never fails, when I park next to one of those, that I get infinitely more attention. I just can't help but be proud of this bike. Thank you to Moto Guzzi for building this thing.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

SG

D.C. area, Maryland

Reviewed on 2003-08-26

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
A truly Italian integration of form and function -- the unique Moto Guzzi V11 Sport. I was initially surprised by the very differences that make this bike interesting...coming from my acclimatization of another legend -- the Ducati 996. Since my 996 got stolen a year ago, I was without a bike for some time. I wanted to find another bike that would have some character and would be comfortable to use. Although I had gotten used to the 996, riding it in slow traffic was excruciating and in the summer...God! the exhaust was cook the underside...! After considering the Yamaha V-Max, Road Star Warrior, Ducati Monster...I chanced upon the V11 Sport. Interestingly, MG had remained somewhat oblivious to me (like many others) and then all of a sudden I seemed to be bitten by the MG bug. A few clicks later, landed a good deal on Ebay. The bike was located 120 miles from my home. Initial experiences: I took delivery from the Seller's home, who was kind enough to lend me his plates. I rode 120 miles...and that was some experience. Never had I ridden a bike like this one before. The driveline lash, the awesome handlebar vibration, the sound...! To make matters more interesting, I got caught in the rain twice...but had the sense to wait it out. I have now had the bike for a month. Have had no problems so far. The Seller took good care of it, had the relays replaced under a recall. This bike seems to draw more attention and compliments from experienced and wizened riders. I have replaced the stock mirrors with CRG bar-ends, which seems to have cut down the vibes a bit...and I am more used to it now. I enjoy riding this bike...extremely comfortable. No cooking of thighs and ass. The clutch is so pliable and easy to use, in comparison to the Ducati's. The most unique aspect of this bike is it's strong design which manages a perfect blend of nostalgia and the contemporary. Obviously this bike does not compete for performance, but on looks alone it outdoes the competition by miles. This bike is not about how FAST you go from 0 to 60, but HOW you get from 0 to 60. Cheers!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bruce

Ottawa, Ontario

Reviewed on 2003-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is such a cool motorcycle. Great performance(Brakes, engine, handling, reliability, build quality) I'll use any old excuse to go for even the shortest ride. The V11 makes you want to get up at 5am just to go for a ride! The build quality is second to none with all kinds of nice touches like braided brake and oil lines. The shaft design is superb with none of the pogo stick affair of other shafties. Little things to do are as follows. -Change all the relays to the better Bosche ones.(Not expensive, and they are dead reliable) -Wrap fuel line under the tank with heat proof tape and duct tape(Fuel can evaporate in the line causing vapour lock) -make sure all the three grease fittings on the shaft are lubed according to the manual(The factory did not always prep the bikes properly) Then just have fun and ride!!! I put a a Magni fairing in my bike. Wow what a cool fairing. reminds me of the old Ducati 900 SS (78) Plus it's functional. Buy one you'll love it and you won't see one on every ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lawrence

Kellowna

Reviewed on 2003-08-07

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike rocks! Great power delivery, brakes, stable handling, mileage. This bike has gotten under my skin. The cool vibes and character are truly fantastic. You will not see yourself on the road at every corner or bike hangout either. The bike has been dead reliable, although I did change to the new style relays before I even rode it home, no big deal. Every time I park it people come and ask questions about it. I also installed a Magni fairing (Very cool) it provides aerodynamics and protection. Do yourself a favor don't buy the flavor of the month, buy a bike you will own and enjoy for life!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael

Toronto, Ontario

Reviewed on 2003-08-07

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had reservations about buying a Guzzi. However after more than ten thousand miles and numerous long trips I can say that I love this bike. Beautiful power delivery and torque, very stable handling, and loads of character. When I took a realistic look at the reasons I ride, I came to the realization that this V11 sport would fit the bill perfectly. I did install a Magni fairing for the increased wind protection and handling at high speed. Do yourself a favour and really look at the reason you ride and what your capabilities as a rider are. I think most us would not be able to extract all that a Ducati 999 could offer. It would be silly to live with an all out superbike day in and out if we did not use it to the fullest. The beauty of the Guzzi is that it's loads of fun regardless of what speed you're going, and your wrists and back won't kill you when the ride is over. This V11 is a keeper. Let the good times roll!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 25 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: