Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Ultra Cycles reviews

3.7
Write a review
Reliability
3.6
Overall quality
3.6
Performance
3.8
Comfort
3.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

25 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jason Cabbage

Pensacola, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-10-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ultra Cycles Ultra Ground Pounder

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Heres the deal. I recently bought a 2000 Ultra Ground Pounder rigid from the original owners of which are very close friends of mine otherwise I would have bought a new bike. This bike is equipped with the 113ci S&S which is wicked powerful and has way more torque than the street bikes I cut my teeth on. If you are a first time rider or owner of this ride, beware when you launch it WILL get away from you FAST. I love this thing, it is the bike I have been dreaming of since I was 9 yrs old (I'm 31). It's not stock, new tank, new paint, chromed rear fender, new wrapped really short pipes (I love em - they scare old women and kids to death), and custom machined risers and handle bars (Drag style but only 16 inches wide) which by the way if you don't know what youre doing DO NOT try to ride a machine with short bars YOU WILL HURT YOURSELF. That said, here's the limited probs I have run into. The worst of which is wiring. When Ultra built this bike, all (I mean ALL) connectors were of the cheapest they could have possibly used. This thing left me stranded 3 times electrically because of wires literally pulling out of the connection. Who rides around with the tools to pull a seat and rewire a connection (I do now)? To fix this problem, I recommend doing as I did, take a Saturday and pull the seat off and rewire every connection you see with the best you can find. It is rigid and it vibrates a lot so make sure it's all tight and covered in heat shrink. By the way, don't forget the wire running to the starter, that one came loose on an important ride and thank God I found it and was able to fix it on the spot. I don't recommend rewiring under the tank as it's a royal pain but if you feel the need for the peace of mind - feel free. One bad idea that Ultra did use was putting the fuses in the worst possible place to get to. You can see em so I guess you can replace em, yeah right. Other than regular maintenance, this bike has given me little to complain about other than wiring. One parting shot as this is a rigid ride, as stated before it vibrates like crazy, so if you can see a colored wire (or wire without heat shrink or electrical tape) HEAT SHRINK IT or at the very least wrap it in electrical tape because it will rub through the insulation and it will short out. It's funny with what I have done to the bike and it really angers the guys with the 50 and 75k bikes when mine gets more looks and questions. I suggest rewiring and enjoying!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary Emfinger

Florida

Reviewed on 2019-09-17

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ultra Cycles Fat Pounder

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This beast is RAW power and i havent really had any issues except a bad battery which happens, switched to a 500cca lithium as compression in the S&S is stupid high. I only have 4,207 miles on it as of 9-15-19 and bike is a 2000 year bike. No big issue's as its just barely broke in. I will tell ya if your a noob rider straight off a harley better super glue your pants to the seat, This beast will blow the pubes off your wife on a jump seat on the fender.. Anyways love the bike its a rigid which i love & easy maint. As i have a dry belt drive primary with a chain. Shes a beast blows every bike i have run off the road like he wasnt even there. It Keeps up with my 900hp Cobra Mustang till about 130mph then the cobra dusts it. I will prob. Never part ways with this beast....Never..
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ghostriderr6

Phoenix, Arizona

Reviewed on 2012-11-16

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Ultra Cycles Titanium Series I

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This bike with the 113" S&S flat out hauls. I ran an 11 second 1/4 @ 140 mph. and was spinning through 2nd since I didn't want to air down because no one had air to air up for my 50-mile ride home. Definitely get this over the Groundpounder because that's exactly what it is with it's hardtail rear end. The Titanium has great rear shocks.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MD Fiut

Macon , Georgia

Reviewed on 2011-07-01

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Ultra Cycles Ground Pounder ST

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
It's a great bike! I had few minor issues but thats normal with any bike. It has a beast of a motor so it will vibrate and you need to do maintenance just like any big bike. It looks and sounds great. very fast but not build for comfort
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Angelo

Riverside, California

Reviewed on 2011-01-08

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ultra Cycles Ultra Ground Pounder

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have the 2000 Softail 113" S&S. It's a white knuckler and it doesn't like slow. It does draw attention and overall it's a fun machine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Zak Draskovich

Port Orford, Oregon

Reviewed on 2007-06-01

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ultra Cycles Ultra Ground Pounder

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my best and biggest engine rigid - a 113 cubic inch S & S motor. I bought this bike from it's first owner and he had it balanced and blue printed. The beast was dyno'ed and puts out 122.8 horsepower at the rear wheel. These are FAST bikes and if you are not up to it look out they will get away. It does sraightline burnouts to die for. I have ridden HD's previously and a little loctite and TLC go a long way. This bike does not leak anywhere as much as my Hogs.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

billy

maxton , North Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-08-31

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ultra Cycles Ultra Ground Pounder

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a 2000 ultra ground pounder about 3 months ago and it is awesome. I've put over a thousand miles on it. It's a stiff ride to start but you get used to it. I've felt the power and I wouldn't hesitate to race any other bike out there. The only problems I've had with my bike is the stock pet cock doesn't let enough gas flow to the carb which makes it starve the front cylinder for gas. I'm changing that this week. And do check the nuts and bolt because with the vibration from all the power they will come loose. I recommend everyone buy one today
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BIKER MERV

VENTURA, California

Reviewed on 2003-07-10

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Ultra Cycles Ground Pounder ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got a great deal on this ULTRA. I don't know why everyone is saying how bad these bikes are. I have no problems along with other individuals that I have met that own an ULTRA. Maybe ULTRA's production line has inconsistant flaws per bike? OR maybe I'm just one lucky bar hopper!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

chopper Jim

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2003-04-08

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Ultra Cycles Ground Pounder ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike and road it home 7oo miles without any problems. At about 5 thousand miles the bike developed a slight electricle problem,when the bike warmed up the lights would go out.The circuts would over load.An easy fix but I didnot recieve any help from ultra.they say you get a four year warranty except for electrical,the electrical is the only thing that belongs to Ultra.I do love the bike but I also know I am on my own! Chopper Jim P.S. never trailer,always ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

michael a. smith

houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-03-27

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Ultra Cycles Ground Pounder ST

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
I BOUGHT THIS BIKE IN FEB 2003 AND ON MARCH12 IT WAS HEADED TO THE SHOP THE BACK FENDER IS ON THE TIRE AND THE SCREW THAT HOLDS THE SEAT DOWN IS CUTTING THE TIRE, THE MOTOR IS VIBRATING AND THERE MAY BE A CRACK IN THE FRAME ARE A BOLT BROKE IN THE ENGINE MOUNTS, THE CARBARATOR IS LOADING UP AND THE ENGINE BACKFIRES. I PICKED IT UP FOR A DEAL I THOUGHT BUT IT LOOKS LIKE I GOT TOOK FOR A RIDE ON A BAD BIKE.
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 25 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: