Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Larry

Hiwassee, Virginia

Reviewed on 2012-08-05

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is amazing! I went from an older Sportster to this bike, deciding that I wanted to go a little faster. This bike did the trick. I acquired a 2001 YZF600R for myself for my 26th birthday and have been scraping pegs on it since. The only down side I have found is tires for it aren't cheap. If your looking at this bike for a first "crotch rocket", I would highly recommend it, great motorcycle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Josiah Leis

Merino, Colorado

Reviewed on 2005-06-27

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just turned 18 and have wanted a sport bike for a long time. I bought this bike about a month ago and have been riding it everywhere since then. It's my first bike and has been an excellent one to learn on. It has got plenty of punch, especially in the high RPM's. Despite this the bike is extremely comfortable and easy to ride. Very forgiving handling and excellent breaks. Great all around bike, especially for the price.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BKC

Mayfield, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2005-05-06

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I own a 2002 YZF600R, I love it except for the 2nd gear problem over 10000 miles. Customer service wasn't much help. Searching the internet I have found that many owners of this bike have the same problem. If you are interested in this bike be aware.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

michael bayliss

lorton, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike really kicks after the 4000rpm range, and takes off so hold on. Very comfortable for long rides and fast. No need to spend the extra for the R6 this thing will keep up with it if you know how to ride. Take the motorcycle safety course and you can even show newbies up on 1000s.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Josh Gillean

Holland, Michigan

Reviewed on 2004-03-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought my bike about a month ago in February of '04. I've already put nearly 1,000 miles on it despite the cold weather here in Michigan and I LOVE this bike. It is my first bike but after much research and after laying my eyes on one in person, I knew it was what I wanted. My dad has a Honda Shadow and we wanted to be able to ride together so I needed a comfortable bike. This bike WINS in this category... I can ride for a couple hours before I really need to get off and take a break. As far as performance, the bike packs PLENTY of punch. It's my first bike as I said before and I find the power scary at times... If you leave this bike in first gear and roll back the throttle all the way, the front tire comes off the ground at about 9,000 rpms when the power band kicks in. You can hit 100 mph in just a few seconds on this bike if you want to. The overall quality of the bike is exceptional and up to Yamaha's par. So if you're looking for a nice bike that's comfortable enough to tour on but gives you the performance of the sport-class. I highly recommend the YZF600. You know you love it when you're willing to bundle up and ride around town when it's 35 degrees outside.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Daniel Gonzalez

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2003-07-20

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is great..... it handles great .... it keeps up with other bikes at higher speeds ..... one of the most comfortable street bikes you'll ever sit on and if u find it in the right color you'll be turning heads at every turn
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BRENNAIN

ROCKPORT, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2003-07-17

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I BOUGHT A 2001 IN 2003 AND I've BEEN RIDING IT FOR ABOUT A MONTH AND LOVE IT. PLENTY OF POWER, ( EVEN THOUGH ITS BOTTOM OF THE BARREL FOR YAMAHA SPORTBIKES). ITS A GREAT STARTER BIKE. FIRST AND SECOND ARE A LITTLE JUMPY AND COULD BE SMOOTHER FOR AROUND TOWN RIDING BUT (NATURALLY) ITS SMOOTH ON THE HIGHWAY. GET IT IF YOUR JUST LEARNING , OTHERWISE, THE R1'S THE WAY TO GO.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

rich

PORTLAND, Oregon

Reviewed on 2003-01-08

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
MY 2001 600R THAT I PURCHASED IN SEPT. OF 2002 HAS BEEN A BLAST! IT HANDLES EXTREMELY WELL AND IS VERY QUICK AT THE HIGHER RPMs. NOT ONLY DO I ENJOY RIDING IT BUT WHAT A LOOKER IT IS! THE BIKES PAINT COLOR IS BLACK AND LOWER AREA IS A SILVER GRAY WHAT A BEAUTY. THE ONLY THING I WOULD HAVE TO SAY AT SLOWER SPEED OR LOWER RPMs ITS A BIT SLUGGISH FOR IN TOWN DRIVING. OTHER THEN THAT.......I LOVE IT!!!!!!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JR Castro

San Salvador, El Salvador

Reviewed on 2002-10-28

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my YZF 6 months ago. I am 18 and this is my first bike. reviews told me that it wasn't a real begginers bike but it's really close to one. I love it It has a decent low end and a powerfull punch on the higher RPM's. I started riding it with my Dad and Uncle on typical beach road trips. and it's a beauty. My uncle has a Ducati 900 Super Sport. and I have no problem in keeping up with him. I love this ride and I shake every time I decide to take a ride. The only problems of the ride is it's extreamly quiet can which I replaced for a Yoshimura carbon fiber can. That solved the problem. luckaly I didn't have to re jet. other than that it's a wild machine with good inough power to woop some BMW ass and good enough toride easy on an a long touring trip. A GREAT BALANCE of easy riding and a trou Monster when you hit the gas. a definite BEAUTY, but Still a BEAST!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Raj

North Brunswick, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2002-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've never written a review on anything before, but I felt compelled to write one on this bike. It's just that good. If you're looking for a bike with all the latest technological advances which do absolutely nothing in the real world, except maybe impress your friends, this is not it. But if you're looking for a great bike at a great price that does it all and does it well, this is the one. This is my second bike (I have a 2001 in black). My first bike was a used 450cc Honda Nighthawk. I don't agree with some people who claim this is a good beginner bike. If you're just starting out, get a used bike without fairing under 600cc's and definitely take a safety course. If this is your first bike, chances are you'll drop it at some point, and repairs are expensive. don't be fooled, this is a high-performance sportbike and it has to be respected. Ok, I'll list some of my likes and dislikes about the YZF600r. PROS: -Very comfortable. The seating position is a great mix of sport and touring. I've spent hours in the saddle with barely any wrist or back pain, and I'm relatively tall (about 6'). I sat on a bunch of other 600's including the ZX6-R and CBR600F4i. The plush seat and relatively upright seating position of the YZF beats them all in this regard. -More than enough power. Unless you're a lunatic on the road in which case you won't be riding for long anyway, this bike will satisfy your need for speed. I've ridden with friends who have 600- 900cc sportbikes and I have no problem hanging with them. -Good brakes and suspension. The front brake will stop you on a dime. The stock suspension is set a little bit soft, but if you tighten it up a little it's great for the highway and the backroads. -Great fit and finish. Not only does this bike look great, but Yamaha also paid attention to a lot of small details. The dash is nicely finished with no wires hanging out like other bikes in this class. The rear tire even has a hugger on it, which is a nice feature. -Reasonable price. Use the money you save on a good set of protective gear (jacket, pants, and gloves). CONS: Not much to list here, but there are a few minor things. -Mirrors could be set a little wider to offer better visibilty of the rear. -Somewhat clunky gearbox. This sometimes causes missed shifts from 1st to 2nd, but I hear this a common problem on this bike. However, a Factory Shift Kit (about $100) should solve that problem and result in cleaner, crisper shifts. OVERALL: Well, I hope you've made it through my long-winded review so far. Overall, this is a great bike and the last of a dying breed. It seems that most of the sportbikes out there are just skeletons, trying to lose more and more weight and gain fractions of seconds on the quarter mile. But all of this is meaningless in the real world. The YZF is a true real world sportbike that brings a smile to my face everytime I ride it. I hope this review was helpful to you and ride safely!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: