Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

KTM Duke reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

8 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

anthony

st. petersburg, Florida

Reviewed on 2003-08-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 KTM Duke

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
If you can't have fun on this bike, you're doing it wrong !!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

donny

poughkeepsie, New York

Reviewed on 2003-02-20

Motorcycle reviewed2000 KTM Duke

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
ktms products are top quality,i have a lc4 supermoto which has the exact motor and basically all other parts.It has 7800 miles on it ,i have had absolutely no problems with it,most miles are hard street and i also raced a few super motard events.I just tore down the top end of fear of not knowing the their lifespan and could not believe there was no sign of wear after the7800 hard miles on it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kim

Johannesburg, South Africa

Reviewed on 2003-02-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 KTM Duke

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'am a core biker and Press Photographer in Joburg, South Africa. I ride every day and the Duke is absolutely awasome. I ride to rallies, Track schools and eat up traffic every day on the bike and it is great. Only snag, tank to small. Ja, most of these Super bike riders freak after me taking them on the lights. Have tunned my bike up and run after marketpipes!!!Duke on guys.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

matt

london, Great Britain (UK)

Reviewed on 2002-07-19

Motorcycle reviewed2000 KTM Duke

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Pierre from the Netherlands is 100% right. I live in London, and ride 8 miles across town twice a day in all weathers. Traded my Fireblade for a Duke II a couple of months ago and now wonder why it took me so long. Embarassing R1 and GSXR riders is the best - they're gradually learning they can't win, especially not in the wet (which is most of the time in London!). Duke on!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pierre

Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviewed on 2002-07-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 KTM Duke

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I couldn't disagree more with 'Da Dude'! (see other review). This is my second KTM, following a Rallye 620. That really was my bike, or so I thought, until I drove the Duke II. My brother has owned a Duke I since 1997, and I always thought it to be a little too nervous for my taste. But the version II, with the better rear swing, the better front fork etc.etc. is the machine for me. Yesterday (07-03-2002) it was exactly two years old and I drove 20.000 km. on it till now (that's about 12,500 miles). I live in Amsterdam and my driving style is (quoting a policeman that stopped me after trapping me with a lasergun) 'like an animal'. I don't have bent rims, wheels or whatsoever. And belive me, we have putholes and tram rails in abundance. The only thing that happened to my bike in two years of everyday driving is a sweaty (not leaking) valve lid gasket and an ignition lock that was not completely watertight. Both were graciously fixed free of charge by KTM Netherlands. Everything else has come down to sheer driving fun. Ever tried to overtake a FireBlade in a corner, round his outside? His bodywork almost hitting the asphalt and the Duke's just waiting to pushed a little more... This bike still surprises me, even after two years. What this bike can do comes down to the pilot's ability. So far the bike's still ahead of me. So, mister Dude, stop whining about depreciation: get yourself a BMW next time and be bored after a couple of months. The rim bit sucks, but complaining to the highest ranks possible (those are in Mattighofen, Austria, under http://www.ktm.at) might work for you. Final conclusion: this is my 6th bike, and on every previous bike I've been fiddling around with replacement shocks, better brake pads, open air filter boxes etc etc. That mostely started after a couple of month after buying it, and becoming increasingly dissatisfied. My Duke is entirely standard, the same as the day I bought it. Need I say more? Nothing to wish for.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Craig

Norman, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2001-08-25

Motorcycle reviewed2000 KTM Duke

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought new July 2000. Have over 6000 miles on this lil'thumper. Vibes? Of course it has vibes, but so what. Fourth gear ,60MPH, just add throttle and BBWWaaa. Light,nimble,great real world handlebar leverage. Sweet brakes sit up high and see what's ahead. Eye to eye with suburban assault vehicle moms. Head turning good looks ,"I tell ya Jimmy,this supermotard things good."
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DA DUDE

San Francisco, California, U.S.A.

Reviewed on 2000-07-12

Motorcycle reviewed2000 KTM Duke

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
This bike is one of a high cost, high performance, high expectations, and HIGH MAINTENANCE. This review is one from a person who has paid the price for individuality. Initially the cost factor for most of us is eliminated from determining that if we buy the bike due to the hypnotic effect that this beautiful bike has to someone who wants performance. The power of this bike is "OUTSTANDING" for a single......................It's light, nimble and corners with ease. <P> All of this is great for the well-maintained roads of your typical fantasy town. However, if you live in San Francisco (A.K.A. "The City") or anywhere else in the world for that matter is not a place to ride a 2000 KTM DUKE II. Why? Well due to the many potholes cable car rails and other numerous road hazards, makes this location (San Francisco) quite undesirable due to the poor quality wheels. Yes they are made by BBS, but poorly engineered. The wheels webbing construction only supports the center of the wheels. The rims outer flanges bend quite easily due to lack of reinforcement webbing toward the outer edge of the rim. Following the recommended tire pressures of 29 psi front and 32 psi rear as per manufacture specifications is a sure way to deflate your checkbook. <P> I'm using 36 psi front and 40 psi rear with my Michelin pilot sports 120/60/17 &#038; 160/60/17 ....................................I should know, I bent two of them, one front and one rear, and not by hitting curbs. The cost of a rear rim was $440.00 U.S. Luckily I found a shop in "THE CITY" (K.C. Engineering (415) 957-1533) that is one of a few places in the states that does an excellent job of straightening your bent rim. They were successful in straightening both of my rims. The owner "Ken" has shown me mag wheels from all over the U.S.A. He can fix them within about .005 of an inch. Getting back to the review, no product reviewer has addressed this wheel problem. If you own a 2000 DUKE II you may have a bent rim. Do yourself and others that you know a favor, pass it along that they might be spending a lot of money on mag wheels. Of course there are two alternatives. One is if your rims are not bent yet is to run higher pressures in your tires to help minimize how bad your rims will get bent, or two, purchase the 17" spoked motard wheels from KTM. For some reason they are less prone to bending. On a personal note, If I had to do it all over again, I probably wouldn't have bought the bike had I heard about the wheel problem. Even though I only have 2200 miles on the bike, I can't sell or trade it due to the major hit in depreciation that I now take on this bike ($2000-$3000). So I have to make the best of it. Good Luck, You might need it! DA DUDE
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

Miami, Florida

Reviewed on 2000-06-05

Motorcycle reviewed2000 KTM Duke

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is the best bang for the buck. It is lots of fun, starts easy and has none of the problems of the earlier models. A little pricey but consider it has the best components money can buy already installed. The brakes are fantastic and the lean angles are as low as you can go. Good riding position but, no windshield for highway ridding. The bike gets more looks then machines costing twice as much. Cheap insurance too. 1000 miles so far and trouble free. Oil changes do cost about $50.00 bucks. Engine doesn't leak a drop of anything
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: