Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

KTM reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.5

Matching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

308 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

aaron

boise, Idaho

Reviewed on 2012-01-10

Motorcycle reviewed2002 KTM 200 EXC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's the best of both worlds. I grew up on 4-strokes and this can be ridden like one or gas it and scoot like a 125MX. Maintenance is pretty simple and easy. The bike is so light, I can pick up the rear end and move it over rocks/small logs while I'm on it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron Little

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-10-28

Motorcycle reviewed2017 KTM 1290 Super Adventure R

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
Bait and switch dealer. Motorcycle for sale on Internet. Motorcycles in the store. Tried to purchase. Was to title and pay taxes out of state( Montana) But somehow price kept being $2000 more than sale price. Met someone else that had a similar experience with them. Love the bike but not the dealer. Only gave stars because it won't let me post without them. RJL
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Juan Perez-Casado

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2021-07-21

Motorcycle reviewed2016 KTM 1290 Super Adventure

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is absolutely awesome. It is great off and, on the road, is a very capable sport tourer. The power and pick up of this bike (specially in Sport Mode) will have you screaming. The stability and handling on twisted roads is nothing less of amazing thanks to the semiactive suspension system. The sophistication and electronics are second to none. ABS depending on lean angle, several level of traction control. Cornering lights depending on lean angle. 4 drive modes, automatic suspension preload: rider, rider and luggage, rider and passenger, rider passenger and luggage. Fantastic bike. My only problem and, that's me more than the bike, is the chain drive. I've been a BMW user for the last 40 years so lubing and cleaning the chain is foreign to me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nathanael Dewees

California

Reviewed on 2020-05-31

Motorcycle reviewed2017 KTM 1090 Adventure R

Shop this motorcycle

4.3
Great bike. Does it all and does it better than most. It’s my primary vehicle to go to work, get groceries, go to the hardware store, you name it. It’s my weekend canyon rider and Jeep for when I want to get lost and die of exposure.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Hocking

Georgia

Reviewed on 2019-09-26

Motorcycle reviewed2014 KTM 1190 Adventure

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
I love this motorcycle. I've been riding for over 50 years and had about a dozen bikes, mostly smaller dual sports. I'm retired and don't commute, or ride to get from A to B. I ride for fun, for the thrill of coming out of a corner on a lightly traveled country road at 30 and accelerating to 90 in about 4 seconds and a couple hundred yards. It has (almost) sport bike power and handling, but an upright, comfortable seating position. KTM claims 148 HP; the Cycle World Road Test Dyno showed 129; they reported a 10.68 quarter at 129. I don't care to go anywhere near that fast, but they showed 0-30 in 1.2; 0-60 in 3.2, and; 0-90 in 5.0. That's the range in which I use and appreciate the motor. It's also relatively light for a big bike - about 500 pounds with a full tank - although I've added an OEM skid plate and crash bars, and have OEM panniers which I don't use unless on a long trip. KTM marketed the 1190 Adventure (they now have a 1090 & a 1290) as a dual sport. I'll go down a dirt/gravel road, but even if I had the 'R' model, which has stiffer suspension, dual purpose tires, and a few other offroad features, wouldn't take 500 pounds very far from pavement. What don't I like? The headlight was anemic. I replaced it with a much brighter LED, and added auxiliary lights. The stock seat rendered it almost unridable for any distance; thus an aftermarket solo seat was required. Reliability? There's often something minor that's not quite right. For example, the ambient temperature indicator currently isn't working on my bike. 2014 was the first year for the bike and I think KTM went overboard with "state-of-the-art" electronics, ride modes, combinations of ABS, traction control, etc., without fully debugging everything. We KTM owners will gripe about these little things and inevitably our friends, or forum participants, ask, "well why don't you get a Japanese bike?" The answers vary, but all, in one way or another boil down to: "Are you crazy? And not ride a KTM?!?! Cause when this bike is right, and that's most of the time, it's the most delightful, exciting, fun, euphorogasm machine I've ever ridden, let alone owned. (And I just made the last payment.)
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roadside Channel

Central Florida

Reviewed on 2018-02-06

Motorcycle reviewed2017 KTM 690 Enduro R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After a year on this bike, I have to admit I'm still pretty impressed. I've owned 3 Kawasaki KLR 650's in the past but this is nothing like them. KTM's quality control, attention to detail and use of high end components really pays off. Especially in the weight savings, suspension and handling departments. If you want a budget adventure bike, the KLR is a great choice. But if you want a truly capable go-anywhere, light weight, fun to ride adventure bike, the 690 Enduro R is your bike. The bike is tall, so climbing on and off can be a chore. The fully adjustable suspension is a DREAM, especially off road. It soaks up ruts and bumps on really bad dirt roads with aplomb. It's extremely comfortable. Deep Sand? No problem! Just put your weight back and let her rip. The light weight and great suspension really shine here. My only complaint about the bike is the stock gas filler neck. It sucks. I replaced it with a machine from billet high end piece.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peter Cross

Montrose, CA

Reviewed on 2017-10-05

Motorcycle reviewed2017 KTM 1090 Adventure R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is one heck of a great motorcycle in almost every way, but for me there is one negative: seat height. I'm just shy of 6 feet, 32" inseam and must be on tippy-toes to have both feet on the ground when stopped. I appreciate lengthy shock travel and high ground clearance, the bike is perfect when moving, but I find stop-and-go wearisome. And while the bike is not really heavy, it does have a high center of gravity. I think I've explored every alternative; KTM will not offer any suggestions, apparently and probably with their own good reasons for not modifying the well engineered factory specs. One aftermarket seat is 3/4" lower, can't find any suspension alternatives. I've been told the 1290 model 17" rear and 19" front spoked wheels, brakes etc. are interchangeable, but that yields only about an inch, would definitely affect the speedometer and odometer and probably affect the ABS system as well. So what is the solution? The only other one that comes to mind is platform shoes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Frank

Stockton, CA

Reviewed on 2017-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed2016 KTM 1290 Super Adventure

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This Bike is hands down the most comfortable, best handling, most powerful, most versatile and most fun bike I have ever ridden. I have a Yamaha FZ1, Harley Wide Glide and now this KTM 1290 Super Adventure. I have owned in the recent past a BMW R1200RT, Harley VROD, Yamaha FJR1300, Honda VTX1800, and a crap load of other bikes going back into the 70's. I've ridden dozens more as well
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Florida

Reviewed on 2016-03-03

Motorcycle reviewed2015 KTM 250XC-F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Old dude's play bike is a blast to ride on single track enduro trails and in the woods. Great handling and loads of power. KTM quality and reliability are top notch.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Carr

Maryville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2015-01-22

Motorcycle reviewed2014 KTM 300 XC-W

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It has great power and can lug low to get through trails in the trees and when the trail opens up, instant power is available. It also starts easily no matter what the temperature is.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 31
  • 1 - 10 of 308 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: