KTM Motorcycles Reviews (304)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with KTM Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any KTM Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2018-02-06 2017 KTM 690 Enduro R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a year on this bike, I have to admit I'm still pretty impressed. I've owned 3 Kawasaki KLR 650's in the past but this is nothing like them. KTM's quality control, attention to detail and use of high end components really pays off. Especially in the weight savings, suspension and handling departments. If you want a budget adventure bike, the KLR is a great choice. But if you want a truly capable go-anywhere, light weight, fun to ride adventure bike, the 690 Enduro R is your bike. The bike is tall, so climbing on and off can be a chore. The fully adjustable suspension is a DREAM, especially off road. It soaks up ruts and bumps on really bad dirt roads with aplomb. It's extremely comfortable. Deep Sand? No problem! Just put your weight back and let her rip. The light weight and great suspension really shine here. My only complaint about the bike is the stock gas filler neck. It sucks. I replaced it with a machine from billet high end piece.
- Roadside Channel, Central Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-10-05 2017 KTM 1090 Adventure R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one heck of a great motorcycle in almost every way, but for me there is one negative: seat height. I'm just shy of 6 feet, 32" inseam and must be on tippy-toes to have both feet on the ground when stopped. I appreciate lengthy shock travel and high ground clearance, the bike is perfect when moving, but I find stop-and-go wearisome. And while the bike is not really heavy, it does have a high center of gravity. I think I've explored every alternative; KTM will not offer any suggestions, apparently and probably with their own good reasons for not modifying the well engineered factory specs. One aftermarket seat is 3/4" lower, can't find any suspension alternatives. I've been told the 1290 model 17" rear and 19" front spoked wheels, brakes etc. are interchangeable, but that yields only about an inch, would definitely affect the speedometer and odometer and probably affect the ABS system as well. So what is the solution? The only other one that comes to mind is platform shoes.
- Peter Cross, Montrose, CA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-09-12 2016 KTM 1290 Super Adventure Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This Bike is hands down the most comfortable, best handling, most powerful, most versatile and most fun bike I have ever ridden. I have a Yamaha FZ1, Harley Wide Glide and now this KTM 1290 Super Adventure. I have owned in the recent past a BMW R1200RT, Harley VROD, Yamaha FJR1300, Honda VTX1800, and a crap load of other bikes going back into the 70's. I've ridden dozens more as well
- Frank, Stockton, CA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-03 2015 KTM 250XC-F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Old dude's play bike is a blast to ride on single track enduro trails and in the woods. Great handling and loads of power. KTM quality and reliability are top notch.
- Anonymous, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2015-01-22 2014 KTM 300 XC-W Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It has great power and can lug low to get through trails in the trees and when the trail opens up, instant power is available. It also starts easily no matter what the temperature is.
- Ken Carr, Maryville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-11-25 2000 KTM 65 SX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So I picked this bike up for cheap to mess around with in the pits behind my house with my friends. When we go pit biking I usually ride my TTR90 but I got the KTM because I love 2-strokes. For its size, it absolutely rips. This bike has tons of power even with me on it and I weigh 170 pounds. Not sure why but the suspension works surprisingly good for me, but I don't do jumps or anything. I just ride around pits and trails. Overall it's a great little bike. The only downfall is it doesn't go very long on a tank of fuel.
- jakeG, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-05-31 2014 KTM 150 SX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We all know the price of off road motorcycles in the new age of 4-strokes has risen to ridiculous heights and technology has gone thru the roof. It gets harder and harder these days for anyone to afford the cost to buy one and the hiring of a mechanic to work on them. I'm a 37-year-old 250 B rider who started racing motocross in my early 20's and continued to do so heavily in to my early 30's. Being frustrated with the issues above, I wanted to buy something that I knew how to work on and was relatively inexpensive in comparison to the 4-stroke money bomb. Although hesitant at first, I knew KTM was leading the charge in the 2-stroke world so I made the decision to switch knowing that the transition may be a bit of a challenge. Now eight hours on the seat, this gamble proved to be the most successful gamble I've ever taken on a motorcycle. I'm not even saying that it took eight hours to fall in love with the bike. What I'm saying is every additional minute I put on it is the most fun I've ever had on a motorcycle! It takes a while to get used to the power band but it's incredibly powerful. If you want to know how lazy 4-strokes are, ride a 2-stroke and wheel! This bike is extremely light weight, and corners awesome! I was also amazed by how well this thing is built and the attention to detail. If you're a Honda guy like I was and you thought they had the best front break in the world, think again. The front break on the KTM is flat out ridiculous! The stopping power is phenomenal! Who needs engine breaking when you have the brakes...REAL BRAKES! The front brake especially! If I had anything negative to say about this bike it would be suspension. As of now it is completely stock. I do need to note though that I have not really had it set up yet for my weight and it's quite possible my body weight may require stiffer springs. I've been adjusting the clickers and have got it feeling pretty good but it still feels a bit soft and spongy. The tracks I've ridden on thus far haven't had huge jumps but have included a variety of jump faces and landings anywhere from mellow to steep jump faces and up to 60 feet jump distances. After about eight hours in the saddle on the KTM 150 I took a spin on a 2013 4-stroke and was bored - literally bored! Do yourself a favor if you want to go out and have fun. Buy a two-stroke! I also believe the bike will be equally competitive in a race scenario. Brauuuuup!!!
- Matt Williams, Troy, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-09-17 2013 KTM 690 Enduro R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As I age, I wanted something upright, but still able to perform. A flick of the wrist lightens the front tire. It needs a more comfortable seat if you travel longer than two hours.
- Fraser, Ottawa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-06-02 2013 KTM 300 XC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my 450 and bought the 300 XC. This bike just seems great. My age is 41 now, so I wanted to be able to ride hare scrambles and an occasional MX race, also. It's like a light 450 that really rips when you want it to. The power is very stable and predictable. I have had the 200 XC and 250 XC, and this bike seems way more mellow, but can turn on the power when you want it. The electric start is great, too. I have raced it at the local MX track and it hangs right with them out of the gate, and anywhere else that you want it to. The suspension seems fine after you have the sag set. I am very glad that I bought this bike.
- Scooter, Upstate, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-12-14 2013 KTM 350 EXC-F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far, I have ridden this bike on (lots of single track, desert, Glen Helen, City and Rock Gardens). It handled them all extremely well. The throttle is very smooth for EFI with the JD 6x, otherwise it is lean as heck and a bit too snappy in first 1/4 throttle or so. Once you get the bike re-sprung for your weight, throw a JD tuner on it. You need nothing else than protective gear for the bike and the bling of your choice. One more thing, the clutch is so smooth and easy to pull, it is amazing!!!
- Justin Woltz, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-07-28 1999 KTM 380 SX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded my 2006 CRL25 for this bike and it's amazing! Power is great in low end and great on top. It's kind of hard to kick over though if you're short like me. I just lean it up against a tree and start it. It's very reliable, comfort is amazing as it has a wider seat than my 125. It has definitely had quality parts used. It's a very nice bike.
- Ryan Roberts, Cartersville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-07 2002 KTM 125 SX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Seriously - I've been trying out a few bikes to find the right combo, and this is it. Yes, the seat is hard. It's so nice and light, that it offsets its height. It has plenty of power and great suspension. I really liked my KX100, but felt a bit folded up on it, so this is perfect. It was a little nervous for my first ride out, but no crashes - just sore. Now I just need to get in better shape (yes, that 160 lbs. should be closer to 125 - lb. for lb. Go get one ladies!!!
- Muriel, Redmond, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-08 2003 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2004 KTM 200 EXC bike is very quick, very forgiving. I have no complaints. I had the seat shaved. I also bought a few aftermarket parts as I purchased it used. I love my KTM, it has handled with ease every hill, jump and trail I drove on. It has plenty of power and control. It lugs in 3rd just fine if need be. I'm very happy and already considering a 2nd KTM 150SX so I can have another toy.
- Sam, Modesto, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-30 2003 KTM 125 SX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's an all-around good bike. The powerband dosent last as long as a CR but she rips.
- Dom, homercity, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-10 2002 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's the best of both worlds. I grew up on 4-strokes and this can be ridden like one or gas it and scoot like a 125MX. Maintenance is pretty simple and easy. The bike is so light, I can pick up the rear end and move it over rocks/small logs while I'm on it.
- aaron, boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-10 2010 KTM 990 SM T Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a bike for riders who like sporty bikes, but like a more upright riding position, along some leg room to the pegs. It turns with the best of them, is nimble in town and is still nice for the highway. It even comes with side bags in most cases. The Fat back tire fits with the aggressive styling and even works good as an adventure tourer on dirt/poor roads. I really like the way the power is so usable and not reserved for having to wind it out to perform.
- Chuck, FAYETTEVILLE, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-11-28 2007 KTM 105 SX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike for my son and he absolutely loves it. You can tell that this is a quality machine just by looking at the build and the quality of parts. It has the best of everything. This bike outclasses anything in the category. It even keeps up with 125ccs! It is scary fast, when this thing hits the power band it is unbelievable. It is a fantastic bike. If you are looking for a machine under 125ccs, get it, nothing comes close! My son has outgrown the bike, it is now for sale. It's in perfect condition.
- Mike Limoges, Inverary, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-11-21 2006 KTM 250 SX-F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's easily the best bike I have owned. I did own a 2009 Honda 250R and the KTM has easily blown the Honda away. It's a very comfortable bike but I did find the suspension a little too soft. But with a stiffer spring, it was a lot better. As for power, it beat the Honda hands down and was just a lot easier to throw into corners and jumps. If you're thinking of buying a KTM SXF I highly recommend it, even the 2012 model is excellent -KTM forever.
- skulls, adelaide, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-10-07 2004 KTM 625 SXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike w/less than 1k miles on it. I put the rest on over commuting/trials/desert etc. On the road it does well. As a single cylinder 4-stroke it does vibrate, but not more than what you would expect. I have it geared so it cruises around 65 easily and when you roll on the throttle it doesn't hesitate going 95-100. It is all acceleration though and I wouldn't recommend it for cross country type travels. For open trails/fire roads it feels like it's at home. It is comfortable to let the back end hang out around a fast corner on the gravel/dirt. After you break in the suspension and have it set up for your weight/style if flows very nicely. For tight more technical trails it does okay. I had a few times where it overheated in temperatures above 90 when I wasn't getting enough air through the radiator. I'm also running engine ice to offset it, but I still notice some overheating in tight trails. However, after you get used to the weight/balance you can really whip this thing around anything and up any treacherous terrain w/out any problems. Overall, this bike is amazing. I have had it now for six years and don't plan on upgrading anytime soon.
- RunsreyM, Hurst, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-10-05 2005 KTM 400 EXC Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We have had this bike for almost six years now and the only thing that has ever gone wrong with it was a dead battery. I am more of a two-stroke kind of guy, but this bike will run just like one, and almost as fast as a CR 500. It is the best four-stroke I have ever ridden and handles amazingly. We geared it down to run like a two-stroke and I think it helped it a lot in corners and on hills. I have never been not able to make it up a single hill with it. In the right hands it will go anywhere. KTM makes very high quality products and I am very happy and I would never buy any other new bike other than a KTM.
- Alex Loveless, Carlinville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-09 2007 KTM 450 SX-F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has to be my third KTM and like my past I purchased used and completely rebuilt it. But from the begining it was a strong running machine. It definitely does not like to go slow, likes to overheat without the assistance of a fan. But this bike is very forgiving at the same time for the novice rider. The only thing really missing from mine that I really need is a stabilizer. Other than some odds and ends, this bike just screams to be be ridden hard, and it lets you dominate. I will recommend some upgrades on the suspension to fit your body. I put in a progression spring which loves the desert riding in Nevada. In the air or in the sand this bike has it all, except the cops don't like it much on the street. So I bought an EXC, too. I'm in the middle of rebuilding that one, too.
- Aaron Moore, Sparks, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-14 2008 KTM 990 Super Duke Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a comfortable sportbike. There can be a problem with fuel injection surging on some bikes. Mine had it very badly and it required a $300 Power Commander to clear it up. After you get past that issue, the bike is very reliable, has quality WP suspension and a strong torquey engine. I've owned almost 30 bikes and this has been one of my favorites. It's replaced my Triumph Daytona as my track bike and I'm quite happy with it (except for lack of wind protection on the high speed straights). I highly recommend, it will keep up with anybody for street sport riding, it's competitive for track days and it's quite comfortable.
- Fess, Long Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-04 2010 KTM 990 SM T Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a FUN bike! The V-twin engine is extremely powerful and the twin pipes make it sound like a flat-head Ford. Marchesini wheels, fully adjustable White Power suspension, powerful Brembo brakes and a stiff chassi make this bike handle like a dream. Add to all this a comfortable saddle, an upright riding position, a small windscreen that does a pretty decent job and removable soft luggage. This is a fast, fun, light weight, comfortable sport bike that you can tour on.
- Kirk Garber, Simi Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-20 2008 KTM 990 Super Duke Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The SD is comfortable, stops and turns quickly, sounds amazing and looks striking. They are also relatively uncommon, and when you consider that new ones can be found for $10k and less, they are a ridiculously good value. I have the R model Superduke. There isn't another bike available within $5,000 that I'd consider to replace the SDR. The R seat isn't for everyone, but it lets you move around a lot on the bike. The regular SD seat looks much more forgiving.
- Aaron Hudacky, Fallon, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-24 2008 KTM 450 XC-F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first KTM and I'm hooked. Previously I was a Honda guy, and I still like Honda's, however my XC-F blows them away. My first impression of the bike was wow. Loads of power let you handle any obstacle with ease. It comes on strong in the midrange, yet the power is refined to allow for easy throttle roll-on. The thing is plenty fast, handles well, although some compression settings will need to be adjusted after it is broken in. If the power is still too abrupt for some, KTM made a handy "switch" which changes the ignition curve, making the curve more like a 250 but with the power of a 450 (great for conditions with low traction). On the MX track it performs just as well as the other bikes, even with the 18" rear tire. In the desert/woods it outshines all the other bikes. Big long whoop sections are where it truly shines, grab another gear and it only gets easier. Being an XC-F model means 5-speeds (which is a gotta have) and a larger gas tank, with reserve (yay!). This means that the XC-F feels a little bulky around the knees (I'm short so it's around my knees). Nonetheless, it is still very comfortable to ride. The seat has great cushion, and allows for easy movement forward on the tank. Quality is, bar none, the best in the biz. I don't know why there is so much hype about linkage because this bike tracks very well and I have no complaints thus far. Overall this is the best bike I have owned, and anyone looking for a fantastic all-around bike should buy one of these! Lets not forget, electric start!!! Yeeawwww!
- RenoMxJunky, Reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: