Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

Stars Refinement

765 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

John Canty

Reviewed on 2022-10-17

Motorcycle reviewed 2016 BMW R1200R view listing

4.8
The r1200r is a great bike for commuting in California. I was commuting 50 miles each way to work in the bay area when I bought mine. The features that really make it shine are the handling and mid-range performance. Riding through rows of effectively parked cars for 30 miles each day will give you an appreciation for handling and performance. When the vehicle coming to a stop in the #2 lane abruptly changes to the #1 lane with no signal, you find yourself doing all kinds of emergency maneuvers to avoid a collision. Sometimes it is heavy breaking, sometime immediate change of direction to shoot for the open spot. The BMW R1200R has handling on par with a dirt bike at slow speeds and a sport bike at high speeds. This makes the bike a clear choice for those riding in both ranges regularly. I found with little practice after buying the R1200R I was able to turn it in a figure 8 within the 2 wide X 2 Length parking spots I could turn my dual sports in. Mid-range power is definitely another strong contender for the R1200R. When someone is merging onto the highway and they don't see you, it boils down to two options if getting out of that lane is not possible. The first is slow down, and we have already covered the great braking this bike has, The other is speed up. Often this will happen while you are happily cruising along at the speed limit in gear 6. You might be around 3K RPM and you need to speed up. In this mid-range performance area your engine needs a lot of torque to overcome all the inertia in order to accelerate. The BMW boxer is a great engine for smoothly accelerating with authority through its entire rev range. All told this is a great all around bike especially for those who commute. Other features of this bike one might enjoy is the great aftermarket. Whereas the bike is based on its GS cousin, the aftermarket is available for it. I was able to find crash guards, skid plates, and hand guards for reasonable prices.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jon Sanders

Louisiana

Reviewed on 2022-10-11

Motorcycle reviewed 1999 BMW R 1100 RT view listing

4.3
The best all-around bike I've owned. I've had a HD Road King, Indian Vintage and Scout to name a few, and this is the easiest to live daily. Parts are not cheap and patience is required to DYI repairs and maintenance.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe Solano

California

Reviewed on 2022-08-22

Motorcycle reviewed 2018 BMW R Nine T - Racer view listing

4.5
I purchased this motorcycle off ebay during the middle of the pandemic - kind of a "drunk purchase" that I then had to go pick-up in Florida. Well, it was a really good price! After having the bike for about 2 years now, along with 2 other bikes, I must say this is by far my favorite. This is a sleek, beautiful, take-your-breath-away, kind of bike that must be ridden to be fully understood. A Cafe-Racer remade in today's technology with yesterday's style. How did someone say it to me - "That has to be the sexiest motorcycle I have ever seen!" Its appearance belies the engine size since it is slender, but long. A refined, smooth, time-tested, 1160cc boxter engine that puts out 110 horses if needed. The long frame and moldings allow this bike to cut through the air without concern for cross-winds or truck drafts. Steady and sure, I can always count on this bike holding course regardless of wind, road or speed. Yes, it has a rather aggressive riding position that limits the weak and wimpy to only minutes before either hand or arm start to fail. However, I found that some push-ups and grip exercises can get you quickly adjusted for more ride time. Having said that, I would not recommend this bike for "getting around town", but rather for "getting out of town". This is the ride you take to Miami, Los Angeles, or Chicago for the weekend...to be seen and envied. I have to admit it...I think my "drunk purchase" has been the "best purchase of my life".
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2022-06-13

Motorcycle reviewed 2015 BMW F800R view listing

4.5
This is a terrific bike. Extremely easy to ride -- BMW bikes are smooth, purr, and have none of the herky jerky harshness when shifting gears through a quick acceleration. Though the bike is on the lower end of power, I find the F800R totally capable of high speeds and enough acceleration to make it a very fun ride. I may hypothetically have taken it to 100mph on a few freeways easily and routinely rode this on I-90 at 75 mph quite comfortably. The bike is sporty, responsive in a smooth way (not in a raw forceful thrust, but in a good German engineering kind of way), and it looks great. This bike is ideal for anyone who loves riding but doesn't want to rip their heads off with an overpowered bike or doesn't want a giant noise machine. The F800R has a very German/European sound. It's not a loud, window-shaking rumble that rattles your eardrums. Instead it's the soft purr of a finely tuned motor. Perfectly reliable-with regular maintenance I have had zero issues in six years and thousands of miles. This bike is a real value, in my mind, under priced for what it delivers.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Shoemaker

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2022-05-25

Motorcycle reviewed 2002 BMW R 1150 RT view listing

4.5
Wonderful motorcycle! After riding my 01 K1200RS for 20 years my bones were becoming a little weary! Found an 02 with about same mileage, I bought it from the original owner with all maintenance records and he lived nearby. This bike is so much easier to ride and is deceivingly quick! Yeah, the gear box is a little clunky but that gives it some character! I did raise the front of the seat about 1/4”. This is a must, no more sliding into the tank! A piece is aluminum stock and some new bolts from hardware store, problem solved! Yes the interlocking brakes are a bit touchy, but it didn’t take long getting used to them. The wife says it’s more comfortable too! I can ride this motorcycle all day from twistes to the highway, as compared to the K bike. Lots of storage too. My only complaint is the gearing between 5th and 6th is pretty extreme. A taller 5th gear would of been nice. I’m just nit picking now! Look at it like this 5 years prior to purchasing the RT. I put maybe 1K on the RS it just wasn’t comfortable anymore. Had the RT less than a year and put 3K on it already ! Remember raising the seat is a must! Good wind protection too!👍
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Art Engel

California

Reviewed on 2022-05-24

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 BMW K 1200 LT view listing

1.0
After being a BMW customer for 40 years and having purchased and owned several BMW automobiles and various motorcycles including 600 GS and 800 GS, 1200 LT, and 1600 GTL. I have come to the conclusion that I would never ever purchase another BMW product. BY way of background and not being a person who writes negative reviews, I feel it's necessary to post my treatment by Motorrad this last spring. The motorcycle in question is a 1600 GTL, last July I received a factory recall to have the fuel pump replaced, I advised the BMW dealer that I previously paid to have one installed, they inspected it and said it looked fine. BMW motorrad insisted it be replaced again which was performed as a factory recall in July 2021. The motorcycle sat in my garage for 6 months and was not driven. After starting the bike, I noticed a faulty fuel issue - I took it back to the BMW shop, they tested and advised it needed another fuel pump. THe price for pump and labor was $1,000. They advised me that motorrad would not pay. I called motorad at their 800 number, which by the way is a complete waste of time because nobody answers and you just get the runaround. After numerous calls and being on the phone for hours I eventually got through. THey advised me they were going to check with the deal to verify my complaint and would reach out to me by no later than March 24th. That did not happen, typical of BMW and again after numerous calls they got back to me 4 weeks later. They advised me that the higher ups in the organization would not reimburse me for the second fuel pump hence my posting. I think it's important for everyone that reads this to know that the mileage on the motorcycle from the installation of the recall fuel pump to the one I had to pay for was 17 MILES. Needless to say, they can shove their BMW where the sun doesn't shine.
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric H Lynn

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-05-22

Motorcycle reviewed 2003 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) view listing

5.0
I bought the motorcycle from the original owner in Colorado with 40 K on the odometer. This so far has been the best BMW I have ever owned I have owned five of them, I love traveling on this bike, it is one with road at 75 mph, all weather. With new Michelins , the grip is amazing. Reliable and quick with a heavy load rides so stable. I have added a Sargent seat, ohlin shocks, exhaust, ilium foot rest, and bar backs. Such a wonderful motorcycle. I’m very attached to the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck Andrews

Washington

Reviewed on 2022-05-06

Motorcycle reviewed 2020 BMW F750GS view listing

4.8
The listed 2020 F750GS, low profile, with factory installed premium package, is an excellent bike and has provided me great excitement and riding safety for the past two years. I took it on a 1500 mi cross country ride into the Rockies last summer and it performed flawlessly. I'm 70 years old so my body didn't accommodate the trip as well as the bike but it was still an enjoyable trip. I'm vertically challenged at 5 ft 8'in tall. This is the first bike I've felt totally comfortable maneuvering at slow speed because the seat height is 29-30 inches above the ground and I can put my riding boots flat on the ground while parked. The bike has been ridden 10,500 miles and is 3700 mi from its first major dealer service and it will require new tires. I've lowered the asking price below the NADA suggested list price by $1500. The bike is in excellent condition, has never been dropped, doesn't have a scratch, and is ready to ride today!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fonda Smith

Arizona

Reviewed on 2022-03-27

Motorcycle reviewed 2013 Bmw S1000 view listing

5.0
Motorcycle Overview: This S1000 meticulously maintain. No scratches and garage kept. It has a full Akrapovic exhaust and Brembo brakes. All Maintenance is done Via BMW Dealer. 2013 BMW S 1000 Sapphire Black Metallic. The S 1000 revolutionized the supersports class when it first came out in 2009. Now it steps up to the very same challenge. The current S 1000 model has been completely revised: BMW Motorrad engineers have entirely revised the bikes technology, design and fittings. The result is a new supersports machine on the road. A facelift is not enough. The new S 1000 has an output of 199 hp - 6 hp more than its predecessor. But it is not just its higher rated output that makes this faster and more agile. Weighing in at 450 lbs incl. ABS and traction control, it is some 8.8 lbs lighter than the previous version. Furthermore, it has a newly designed exhaust system as well as a new engine set-up for increased torque, an improved output curve and many other optimized details. Consistently revised down to the last detail, in taking the S 1000 a step further for model year 2013, absolutely every component was re-assessed. The result is THIS superbike!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 77
  • 1 - 10 of 765 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: