Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

762 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Arthur Bliss

San Antonio, Texas

Reviewed on 2012-07-01

Motorcycle reviewed2009 BMW K 1200 LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned nearly a dozen bikes during the last 50 years plus. I have wanted a K1200LT since they came out but could never justify such luxury. I am so sorry I waited. I bought a 1999 with 7,403 miles on it last year from a guy just like me. There is nothing about it that I don't like. It has performed flawlessly and I find myself making excuses to ride it every day. The K1200LT is one of those machines that you can park but you have to look back at it when you are walking away. I really like the way that bike makes me feel. That is surprising at my age. Just don't wait.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (23)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2022-06-13

Motorcycle reviewed2015 BMW F800R

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
This is a terrific bike. Extremely easy to ride -- BMW bikes are smooth, purr, and have none of the herky jerky harshness when shifting gears through a quick acceleration. Though the bike is on the lower end of power, I find the F800R totally capable of high speeds and enough acceleration to make it a very fun ride. I may hypothetically have taken it to 100mph on a few freeways easily and routinely rode this on I-90 at 75 mph quite comfortably. The bike is sporty, responsive in a smooth way (not in a raw forceful thrust, but in a good German engineering kind of way), and it looks great. This bike is ideal for anyone who loves riding but doesn't want to rip their heads off with an overpowered bike or doesn't want a giant noise machine. The F800R has a very German/European sound. It's not a loud, window-shaking rumble that rattles your eardrums. Instead it's the soft purr of a finely tuned motor. Perfectly reliable-with regular maintenance I have had zero issues in six years and thousands of miles. This bike is a real value, in my mind, under priced for what it delivers.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Shoemaker

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2022-05-25

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW R 1150 RT

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
Wonderful motorcycle! After riding my 01 K1200RS for 20 years my bones were becoming a little weary! Found an 02 with about same mileage, I bought it from the original owner with all maintenance records and he lived nearby. This bike is so much easier to ride and is deceivingly quick! Yeah, the gear box is a little clunky but that gives it some character! I did raise the front of the seat about 1/4”. This is a must, no more sliding into the tank! A piece is aluminum stock and some new bolts from hardware store, problem solved! Yes the interlocking brakes are a bit touchy, but it didn’t take long getting used to them. The wife says it’s more comfortable too! I can ride this motorcycle all day from twistes to the highway, as compared to the K bike. Lots of storage too. My only complaint is the gearing between 5th and 6th is pretty extreme. A taller 5th gear would of been nice. I’m just nit picking now! Look at it like this 5 years prior to purchasing the RT. I put maybe 1K on the RS it just wasn’t comfortable anymore. Had the RT less than a year and put 3K on it already ! Remember raising the seat is a must! Good wind protection too!👍
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Art Engel

California

Reviewed on 2022-05-24

Motorcycle reviewed2005 BMW K 1200 LT

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
After being a BMW customer for 40 years and having purchased and owned several BMW automobiles and various motorcycles including 600 GS and 800 GS, 1200 LT, and 1600 GTL. I have come to the conclusion that I would never ever purchase another BMW product. BY way of background and not being a person who writes negative reviews, I feel it's necessary to post my treatment by Motorrad this last spring. The motorcycle in question is a 1600 GTL, last July I received a factory recall to have the fuel pump replaced, I advised the BMW dealer that I previously paid to have one installed, they inspected it and said it looked fine. BMW motorrad insisted it be replaced again which was performed as a factory recall in July 2021. The motorcycle sat in my garage for 6 months and was not driven. After starting the bike, I noticed a faulty fuel issue - I took it back to the BMW shop, they tested and advised it needed another fuel pump. THe price for pump and labor was $1,000. They advised me that motorrad would not pay. I called motorad at their 800 number, which by the way is a complete waste of time because nobody answers and you just get the runaround. After numerous calls and being on the phone for hours I eventually got through. THey advised me they were going to check with the deal to verify my complaint and would reach out to me by no later than March 24th. That did not happen, typical of BMW and again after numerous calls they got back to me 4 weeks later. They advised me that the higher ups in the organization would not reimburse me for the second fuel pump hence my posting. I think it's important for everyone that reads this to know that the mileage on the motorcycle from the installation of the recall fuel pump to the one I had to pay for was 17 MILES. Needless to say, they can shove their BMW where the sun doesn't shine.
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric H Lynn

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-05-22

Motorcycle reviewed2003 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the motorcycle from the original owner in Colorado with 40 K on the odometer. This so far has been the best BMW I have ever owned I have owned five of them, I love traveling on this bike, it is one with road at 75 mph, all weather. With new Michelins , the grip is amazing. Reliable and quick with a heavy load rides so stable. I have added a Sargent seat, ohlin shocks, exhaust, ilium foot rest, and bar backs. Such a wonderful motorcycle. I’m very attached to the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck Andrews

Washington

Reviewed on 2022-05-06

Motorcycle reviewed2020 BMW F750GS

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
The listed 2020 F750GS, low profile, with factory installed premium package, is an excellent bike and has provided me great excitement and riding safety for the past two years. I took it on a 1500 mi cross country ride into the Rockies last summer and it performed flawlessly. I'm 70 years old so my body didn't accommodate the trip as well as the bike but it was still an enjoyable trip. I'm vertically challenged at 5 ft 8'in tall. This is the first bike I've felt totally comfortable maneuvering at slow speed because the seat height is 29-30 inches above the ground and I can put my riding boots flat on the ground while parked. The bike has been ridden 10,500 miles and is 3700 mi from its first major dealer service and it will require new tires. I've lowered the asking price below the NADA suggested list price by $1500. The bike is in excellent condition, has never been dropped, doesn't have a scratch, and is ready to ride today!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fonda Smith

Arizona

Reviewed on 2022-03-27

Motorcycle reviewed2013 Bmw S1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Motorcycle Overview: This S1000 meticulously maintain. No scratches and garage kept. It has a full Akrapovic exhaust and Brembo brakes. All Maintenance is done Via BMW Dealer. 2013 BMW S 1000 Sapphire Black Metallic. The S 1000 revolutionized the supersports class when it first came out in 2009. Now it steps up to the very same challenge. The current S 1000 model has been completely revised: BMW Motorrad engineers have entirely revised the bikes technology, design and fittings. The result is a new supersports machine on the road. A facelift is not enough. The new S 1000 has an output of 199 hp - 6 hp more than its predecessor. But it is not just its higher rated output that makes this faster and more agile. Weighing in at 450 lbs incl. ABS and traction control, it is some 8.8 lbs lighter than the previous version. Furthermore, it has a newly designed exhaust system as well as a new engine set-up for increased torque, an improved output curve and many other optimized details. Consistently revised down to the last detail, in taking the S 1000 a step further for model year 2013, absolutely every component was re-assessed. The result is THIS superbike!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Barry

Oregon

Reviewed on 2022-02-19

Motorcycle reviewed2014 BMW F800GT

Shop this motorcycle

4.3
As a replacement to my cherished yet aged 1987 K75S, my initial buying considerations were a mid-weight sport tourer. Comfortably solid on the highway yet nimble on the majority of backroads I tend to seek. Reliability and low maintenance were also obvious considerations. Perusing various models, I came across the F800GT. Looks notwithstanding, BMW definitely hit my sweet spot with this model. There are so many plusses. First, the overall fit to my body and riding style. I'm #170 at 6'0". A bit tall but not a big boy. My bike has the ZTechnick V-Stream windscreen and am glad for that. I would imagine the stock windscreen would have created helmet issues. The belt drive absolutely rocks, but I have read of belt breakages with riding on gravel roads. That has left me a bit leery of being able to travel less groomed roads. The parallel twin motor (90hp/63lbs) is absolutely perfect for me. Living on the Oregon Coast, I can overtake most any line of RVs and rubber necker tourists with a downshift and a flick. The fuel tank is located underneath and affords easy access to refueling w/o pulling off my tank bag. It also lowers the weight distribution and gives greater agility. MPG is as advertised. It's great. My *one* con- the side cases. On my old bike, I could fit my 21" tent poles and keep a clean and secured profile with my gear. The F800GT cases, while wider, are not long enough to accommodate my tent. That's a bit of a rub. But, every other metric for my personal comforts has been met. I dig the analog faces for speed/rpm and yet have some new digital toys in ascertaining needed info. Overall- I look forward to every ride...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Uttech

Nevada

Reviewed on 2022-02-09

Motorcycle reviewed2016 BMW RT1200R

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
I'm a hard core 50 year plus motorcycle enthusiast. I've owned at least 75 motorcycles of all modern makes except Ducati. I've had at least 8 or 10 BMW's and really liked each of them. Most were RT1200R's. They're dependable, reliable, easy to work on if you have to. No chain, no belts to mess with. They handle well and brake well and have a decent amount of power. However, I have never owned a single BMW that was comfortable right out of the crate. BMW needs to go to seat building school. It is my single biggest complaint with the BMW's. I am going to get a custom seat made for my 2016. I also have a Harley Ultra Classic and when I asks my wife which bike she prefers......it's the Harley every single time because it is more comfortable. The BMW is absolutely safer, and will run circles around the HD in performance, handling, and braking..... HANDS DOWN!!! it's not even close.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Bonanno

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2022-01-08

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW R1200CL

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I Have owned this motorcycle now for 2 seasons and have put over 11000 miles on it. It is quite comfortable and my wife loves riding two up. She handles quite well for her size in the twisties. It has more than enough power for what is needed. I'll be buying another motorcycle in the future but will never get rid of this one.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 77
  • 1 - 10 of 762 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: