Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

David Rine

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-02-22

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had a 2008 GS(SM5) spyder and loved the trike. It road excellent, the power and speed was amassing, I had no trouble with it even being the 1st model year. It was scary on sharp curves you had to turn it and it would come around. The heat from the engine came out of the vents right on you legs and made it very hot in the summer, When it was colder out it acted like a heater and felt pretty good. The spark plug on the right side was a bear to get to, you had to take the side cover off and the completely disassemble the air cleaner housing and the use a swivel socket to get it and be carfoll not crack it or crossthead it. Poor design. If you pull to hard on the plug wire getting it off you will pull the will into causing a miss. Be sure to take it to a certified can am dealer to have serviced. Back yard mechanics don't have the know how.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phil Sabasino

Feasterville, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2010-10-09

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased the 2010 SM-5 in May and was immediately surprised by the handling and comfort of this machine. My biggest fear of the thought of a cycle falling on me is now non-existent. My wife and I can now enjoy the pleasures of the open road with peace of mind. I must also say that the dealership, along with the entire staff, are super people who truly display the art of customer service.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sam Mancuso

Columbia, Maryland

Reviewed on 2010-07-04

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've wanted a unique bike but didn't want to put my safety in the hands of others. I commute to DC and ride some of the most accident prone, traffic heavy roads in the country and feel safe in my "cage" but never thought I'd be willing to take the challenge on a bike. Then I got my Spyder... A 2009 Phantom. I find it a complete blast to ride and feel very safe - that is except for the gawkers that are not paying attention to the road and trying to catch a look at the bike. I've had no mechanical issues with the Spyder but have some concerns with the more than average problems others have experienced. I do what maintenance I can myself but since it relies on computer controls for steering, braking and stability control, I still need to have a dealer do the more complicated stuff. I've done quite a bit of customization myself - some for show and some for comfort. I added a 2" riser bar for a better driver position. I've also added floorboards and a Corbin seat for comfort. My wife loves riding the Spyder and we spend more quality time together since I bought it. I am very pleased with the performance and plan on being a Spyder Ryder for some time.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike D

Haverhill, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2009-11-03

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I don't miss the old motorcycle at all. This feels so much safer, and with the trunk and side bags we can carry all we need or want. Stability is fantastic.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mary Ann

Gloucester, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2009-06-09

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the best machine ever!!! Great performance and comfort. This bike is a real head turner. Loving every riding minute.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

al c

columbus, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2009-06-01

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The most safe thrill vehicle I have ever owned. The reverse makes it great for the older rider or handicapped person who may not be able to ride a 2 wheeler. It is a great attention getter, be prepared to answer questions every time you come to a stop. I would hate to make a choice between my H.D. and Spyder.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shawn Scott

Endicott, New York

Reviewed on 2008-10-03

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I put down a deposit a day after seeing the release of the Spyder. I received it in November 2007. The night I got it home it was 32 degrees but I had to take it out for a 30 minute ride. I now have over 8500 miles and absolutely love the Spyder! I have ridden in all types of weather, light snow to heavy rain, and this machine handles awesomely! I just returned from a Spyder gathering in Gatlinburg, TN and rode in 500 miles of downpour rain and I wasn't afraid like I would have been on a 2-wheel motorcycle. The dealer has been excellent for doing the regular maintenance as well! Thanks for everything!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Leo Angevine

Rixford, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2008-08-26

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
From the first time I saw a Spyder, I knew that it was for me. After many years of motorcycle riding, I was ready for a different machine and BRP Can Am built the machine that fills the bill. I took delivery in May 2008 and have ridden nearly every day since, rain or shine. This machine is stable, reliable, has plenty of power and is a joy to ride. There is a minimal learning curve to acclimate to the differences from 2 wheel to a -Y- 3 wheel configuration but once comfortable, I'd not wish to ever go back to 2 wheels. I have yet to stop for fuel or groceries or at a coffee shop that a group didn't gather to inspect and inquire about the Spyder. I'm very pleased with the dealership for both sales and service. I'm a very happy Spyder Ryder.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bryan

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2008-08-22

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned a few supercars in the past. Some in the 100K plus range and I can honestly say that I have never received more questions about a vehicle in my life!! It's so fun and fast and the 3 wheels for someone who's never owned a bike make it so easy. I added the chrome wheels. I can't wait to ride it every day.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TOMMY

Nashville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2008-07-30

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I waited and I was rewarded. This is my machine; I have been riding it nonstop. Performance, power, stability, and it has got the looks. I can't go anywhere without someone asking what is that. Everyone wants to ride it, but I am not sharing. I am in love.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: