Ducati 998 Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati 998 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Ducati 998 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-01-15 2002 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I remember the first time I saw a review of the very first 916 and I said I must have that bike. Moving forward about ten years, I was at the bike show with my wife and the new 999 was just released. I looked it up, down, and all around. I threw a leg over it and remember saying to my wife this doesn't thrill me but I could get used to it. My wife watching my reaction to the bike said I can tell you hate the design. Why don't you just get your 998 while you still can but it better seat Two. I have put 14,000 miles on my 02 998 Biposto and couldn't be more happy with the bike. The bike has been upgrated to meet my street and track requirements. The Ducati Superbikes are wicked in the hand of the experienced rider and unbelievable on the track.
- Geoff Walls, Monterey, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-11 2002 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently by chance I wandered into a Ducati dealer minutes after he had wheeled a new 998 onto the floor which had been redirected from an overseas market where they don't sell. A bit different to Australia where everyone loves the 916/996/998 family and wants one. Sitting next to a new 999 (does nothing for me) there was no contest I walked out minutes later the owner of a new 998. Picked up the next day with plates in somewhat warm weather and city traffic and minutes later I was asking myself "what in the heck did I do"? This thing is like a sauna at 105C with fans flat out, the clutch is killing me, and anyhing beyond second gear and I'm in trouble with the law. The long way home was my plan out of the city and across through the wine country into the hills. What a skitso machine! My 998 transformed from being a traffic hating bike to just the most pleasurable machine for the sports rider in the matter of a few Ks, predictable power, wonderful sound, fantastic grip, enormous brakes and roadholding and I can look at it like a classic piece of art all day long. I can also understand city dwellers not getting full value from the 998 but I'm really fortunate to live where there are windy roads, hills, no traffic lights, just sheer enjoyment everytime with my 998. Smile, estatic, easy to ride no surprises and I'm 55, have a 76 Guzzi Le Mans bought new and an AJS 7R for the last 37 years. Now my collection is complete. If you get a chance, ride a 998.
- Dale Lapthorne, Melbourne, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-02 2002 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just a ridiculously amazing motorcycle. When you start this thing up, it sounds like it means business. Once it warms up, it sounds even better. A very satisfying rumble/roar. As far as acceleration goes, this is a fast, fast motorcycle. The engine delivers an instant hit of serious power as soon as you twist the throttle. It's almost like the bike is one step ahead of you, the acceleration is so immediate -as if it was reading your mind. However, the power is delivered in a very rider-friendly manner. No huge rush of power lurking in the higher RPMs - you don't need it because it is already there. I suspect the Japanese litre-bikes would pull away in a long straight away, but you will have them off the line. The bike feels very firmly planted, but I haven't really pushed it going around turns. One of the things that surprised me was how comfortable I found the riding position to be. I've gone on a couple hour-long rides so far, and no hint of a problem. One thing I will say is that this is a bike that is NOT made for commuting or sitting in traffic. The mirrors are useless, the clutch pull is heavy, and the engine runs very hot. If you can find one of these motorcycles in your area that is in good condition, buy it NOW. You won't be disappointed. Word of caution, though: watch your license!
- Jason W., Beaverton, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-30 2002 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike fully lives up to its hype. The ergonomics are barely acceptable until you ride it on a track (or curvy road) - when it all makes sense, and becomes "invisible". Ridden above 8/10's, it's a very symbiotic experience. Below that, you're on your own. The engine is totally linear and flexible. Huge ability to out accelerate almost anything coming off of turns because it is so tractable. The clutch may be "talkative", but it's been totally reliable so far. Brakes are fantastic, but after a couple of track days, there are huge improvements to be made by a thorough fluid flush and fresh HH+ pads. At times when you think you've reached their capacity to slow you, just squeeze harder and they'll produce. Can be a bit tempermental starting in very cold weather, but show me a highly-tuned exotic car that isn't. Might be a by-product of an open exhaust and computer, too. This is definitely the pinnacle of design for Ducati since the '70s. Though not ugly, the 999 series just doesn't capture the same passion. The price is (out)dated ergonomics and instruments. I still haven't felt any 999 envy - even seing the "R" models released stateside.
- Corse Rider, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-11 2003 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all, I must confess that I am a sport touring person more that a sport bike rider. In fact, previously I was riding a BMW R1100SA. I decided to change bikes for 2 reasons: First I was not riding that much, so it did not make sense to ride every now and then with a brand new sport tourer just sitting in my garage. I initially got it for commute purposes. Also, the BMW is a bit heavy, which makes it difficult or challenging to just take it out just to get coffee in the neighborhood. Anyway, initially I was reluctant to get a sport bike because they are not comfortable. (My BMW was a 2004 with just 1000 miles on it and I traded it in for a Ducati). However, when I saw the Ducati 998 Matrix in dark green that perspective changed. I did not want a typical red sport bike because I felt that over time I would get tired of looking at it. Also, everyone has a red Ducati or sport bike. At first, riding the 998 was uncomfotable and I felt sore and tired. However, with each time that I rode the bike I adjusted more and more to its riding position. The bike is so much fun and fast. It looks so cool! This is the one bike that I enjoy looking at as much as riding it. Sometimes, I just go out into the garage with my coffee and just look at it and sit on it and start the bike up. Some nights I can't sleep knowing that I am going for a ride. I assure you 15 minutes on this bike and you feel completley satisfied.
- Paul Wright, Vallejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-25 2002 Ducati 998R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After some time of contemplating a bike in the Ducati class, I decided after returning from Laguna Seca that as life was not getting any longer, and I had to make my move. The good folks at at my dealership located me a red 998. Holy Red Devil!! This bike rides with surgical precision, and the power is indescribably delicious... I have a new addiction, and am a self admitted speed freak. This bike is the ultimate rush!
- Red Devil, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-21 2003 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my red 998 on March 15th 2003. Pulling away from the shop on that warm sunny day as a dozen other bikers looked on wishing that they were me, was something I'll never forget! Make no bones; while I do like to ride a bit, I'm absolutely in awe of the looks of this bike. Everywhere I go on it, people stare in an almost rude fashion. Looks wise, it don't get better than this in my opinion! I ran the bike in carefully, but in a record time of about two weeks, I had some time off work, the weather was good and I couldn't stay off the bike. Last summers riding was ace; the bike's handling is better than any bike I've ever ridden. Going through town is a bit of a pain at times but at the end of the day, whoever bought a 998 to poodle through town? I have no drama's getting my knee down and twisties I used to love on other bikes are simply awesome on the 998. I seem to find myself getting very frustrated at times due to other traffic such as cars, its then I realize that this bike is just so quick you tend to catch up with absolutely everything on the road! Reliability wise, I had one minor drama only 2 weeks after I bought the bike and god knows to this day what happened. Basically the bike wouldn't start. A bump start sorted this in a matter of seconds and its never failed to start again. Reliability superb in my opinion!!! In summary, this is one sexy sports bike and pose wise, it simply has to be near the top of the pile! To ride it leaves me an excitable, babbling buffoon as its precise handling and power rush absolutely thrills me to the core every time I take it out! Lads, the proof is in the pudding, my bike is 11 months and 1 week old; it's absolutely immaculate, still looks brand new but has 11,497 all dry miles on it already! I can't stay off it.
- Dave Marrs, Lincs, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-16 2003 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'll tell you this bike is fantastic. My yellow 998 Testastretta is the ultimate combination of engine and classic good looks, You can keep your 999 and I'll keep my 998, forever; especially with cycle cat adjustable bars, Ducati Corse rearsets and Carbon Fiber Termignoni's with chip, Carbon Fiber airbox and better breathing air filter, Carbon Fiber intake runners with no restrictors, add a liberal sprinkling of carbon, and some black 10 spoke Marchesinis and this bike will keep me entertained for the next 10 years and then it will be a classic. I kid you not.
- yellow duc, new york, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-09 2002 Ducati 998 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 998 delivers... performance, handling, exhaust note, looks. It has given me more ear splitting grins, coupled with howls of delight, unlike any other motorcycle I've ridden. It has exceeded all expecations for a sporting ride -- five stars.
- Steve Farson, Bailey, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-22 2002 Ducati 998R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hi, I own Ducati's 998R Superbike since a year with absolutely no problems at all except normal maintenance which every bigbore sports bike demands. Handling-Speed-Power=awesome. No respect for the traffic rules, I do whatever I want because nobody can catch you when you are on this bike. You tend to dissapper at the blink of an eye. Ultimate. Couldn't expect anything more than this from science.
- NAVNEET, CALIFORNIA, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-28 2002 Ducati 998R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THE FIRST THING YOU NOTICE IS THE HUGE STOPPING POWER OF THIS MACHINE YOU JUST BRUSH OF SPEED WITH SUCH EASE YOU END UP LETTING OFF THE LEVER WAY BEFORE THE ENTRY POINT,THEN THE NEXT NOVELTY HITS IN THE ENGINE BRAKING IS FAR LESS THAN ON PREVIOUS 916/996'S SO YOURE BACK ON THE BRAKES.THIS IS A BIKE YOU NEED TO GET USED TOO QUITE SUBLIME IN ITS PERFORMANCE AND REVS SO FREELY PULLING 265 KPH IN TOP WITH NO END IN SIGHT UNLIKE MY SPS RUNNING OUT OF STEAM AND REALLY STRUGLING PAST THESE SPEEDS. THERE REALLY IS NO NEED TO GO ON ABOUT THE HANDLING WHICH SINCE DAY ONE HAS ALWAYS BEEN DUCATIS FORTE BUT BEARING IN MIND THE R CARRIES AROUND 20 KILOS LESS THAN THE SPS WORK IT OUT FOR YOURSELVES!!! AN ABSOLUTE CORKER...BUT I BELIEVE NOT ROAD LEGAL IN THE STATES,SO GO ON TAKE UP RACING YOU KNOW IT MAKES SENSE!
- sebastian comery, lugano, Switzerland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-14 2002 Ducati 998R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ordered it... I waited...and waited...and waited... and received it. WOW. I've been collecting bikes for about 8 years now and this one is by far my most exotic aside from my 916. Riding this rocket is almost like a wicked dream being on drugs. The feeling overcomes you and then you wake up and take off. This bike is as incredible as all of the magazines said it would be. Only put on about 150 miles, by boy were they sweet miles. Plan on only riding it when the weather is perfect and on special occations(when I feel the need for ultimate speed). The power delivery is awesome and hits you right away. I plan on getting a power commander for it so its more predictable. Its not as comfortable as my 954, but its so sweet and looks fast just sitting there. Gotta go and rape hwy 10 out of phoenix for a couple of hours.
- SeeNRed, phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: