Ducati 999 Motorcycles Reviews (14)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati 999 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Ducati 999 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-10-17 2003 Ducati 999s Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a vee twin lover, I have always wanted a duke and I find the 999 series to be more comfortable as a daily use bike than previous models. The handling and acceleration is just awesome.
- Keith Rowley, Cape Town, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-13 2005 Ducati 999 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my share of riding other Ducaties, Aprilia and some Jap biles. But this Ducati 999 is substantially different from others I have own or rode before. Impressive handling, super smooth power delivery, oh the list goes on. The bike is relatively comfortable to ride with an exceptionally good wind protection in a nuetral seating position. I have taken this bike on the track - it has made me look/perform and feel several times better than I really am. What also is imprtant about this bike is that how forgiving it is for its level of performance. Warning: I don't recommend test driving this bike, unless you are ready to buy - It can be very addictive even with short use.
- AA, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-31 2005 Ducati 999 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got used 2005 999 and love it, great acceleration, smooth, great ride. First time I accelerated on a country road I burst out laughing with joy. Bike is amazingly easy to ride and handle, I had never ridden a bike like this, and had very little trouble riding. The bike is at its best on twisting country roads, and very stable on highway. In a lot of city traffic, stiff clutch and high gearing make it not the bike of choice for city.
- Steve Rossi, Rochester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-30 2004 Ducati 999 S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I struggled with the looks of the 999 series at first, but now I love them. One test ride was all it took to hook me into the 999S. The power and handling not to mention the comfort is amazing. To me the design now looks like something from the formula 1 circuit. So far the bike has been dead reliable, absolutely no complaints. If your stuck with loving the looks of the 916/998 series, try one of these. I never thought I would say this but in some ways the 916/998 series bikes now appear to look a little dated! For me the point is that at some time they all start to look a little dated with the passage of time. So why not ride something that still looks great but is cutting edge technology for today? The Ohlins suspension and the S package in general are great. How can you not like 136HP, from a stock V twin!!
- Nocaster, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-06 2004 Ducati 999 S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike surprised me at how refined and smooth it feels. Throttle response is instant no matter if you're rolling onto or just opening it up. Brakes are phenomenal with feel and power. The best part of the ride is the torque that is instantly present all the way to redline. My only complaint is that my wrists become uncomfortable if I'm working the clutch a lot. I don't have this problem on the curvy or the long stretches of hwy. I really am pleased with the 999S, it has great power and power delivery. The torque of the twin makes it my favorite engine configuration for the street and occasionally track day.
- Patrick, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-11 2003 Ducati 999 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a 999 for over a year now. Early models had a problematic dash. Mine was replaced. I've ridden other makes with similar early model "opportunities" so I'm forgiving. Maybe the real reason I'm forgiving is the bike simply over delivers as a sporting ride. Cornering, handling, suspension, thrust, and performance -- it all comes together on this bike. So do the looks. Not a me-too. The ergonomics are friendlier than the 998 Superbike model it replaced, but the attitude is still aggressive... this also makes sense when the Ducati comes into its realm -- at speed on a sporting ride or at the track.
- sfarson, Bailey, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-08 2003 Ducati 999s Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have loved the Ducati for many years. My first Ducati I saw was a 750 Paso. It was beautiful with the huge fairing all in red. I then got heavly into Superbike / 500 GP racing and following all manufactures and riders. I saw the Ducati 851 materialize into 888, 916, 996, 998, and the 999. I knew I wanted a Ducati when in 1994 the Ducati 916 was released. Was there any other bike in history that made more of a impact than a Ducati 916? I think not. Anyways, I have had many new motorcycles with 88' Suzuki GSX-R 750, 91' Suzuki GSX-R 750, 95' Honda CBR900RR, 97' Suzuki GSX-R 600, 03' Yamaha R6 and now a Ducati 999s. I still have the Yamaha and what a great bike that is but there is something magical with the Ducati. It doesn't only say that it is beautiful but that it has class as well. All of the Ohlins components work great. The Brembo brakes stop fast with great feedback. The bike pulls like a John Deere tractor from idle and screams like a Banshee on top. Transmission is flawless. My only complaint is adjusting the desmo valvetrain for the first time. I have vast experiance working on motorcycles but if you don't have a STRONG understanding of the way things work mechanically then I suggest that you not even attempt it and take it to your local Ducati dealer for the valves intervals. With Eric Bostrom representing the US Superbike Series on a fully factory backed Ducati 999 things are looking a little better here in America. The WSB series is really the Ducati Cup anyways so I am not worried there. Lets just get Caparossi, Baylis, Hodgson, and Xaus ready for the MotoGP season to challange the Honda RC211V and Rossi on the Yamaha M1. It will be a wonderful year anyways.
- TLibonati, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-28 2003 Ducati 999s Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike and it made me feel happy. All I can say is wow and amazing.
- Jay, needham, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-29 2003 Ducati 999 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 999 ducati in San Francisco, I shipped it from there to Toronto. I waited for a week to get this bike, I was so excited. When it arrived I was astonished. I wanted to take it for ride but it would not start the battery was dead. (But before I carry on let me tell you about my history. I worked on ducati's back in Italy, I have a motorcycle technical license also auto, truck and coach I have been doing this trade since the age of 11 had built go carts to custom cars with 800 horsepower superchargered, updates in mechanical coarses. At this present momement taking cnc and electrical engineering coarses. Anyway I did a draw test on the battery. Does not have enough amp to crack over the stater. So I put another one from my r1 identical gs battery. It barely cracked over, after it reached 200 f it started to leak coolant. I did a pressure test, leaking coolant on some of the hoses all of the hoses needed to be tighted another half a turn and some even more. One hose was shreded, I replaced that. So know I started the bike and went for a ride. What a ride but after 30 minutes my speedo was not reading anymore my rpm gauge was off by 2000 rpm and my chech engine light comes on and off. I pulled over shut the bike off let it cool down. Tried to start it did not start, called a friend boosted the battery and drove it home. I left it in the garage and called ducati customer service three times emailed them three times no reponse. After looking at the bike a few times saw some rust in the welds and again coolant on the bottom of the fairing. Know I am bringing the bike to Velocity its a Ducati dealership to get serviced in 2 days will right report to see if the problem is solved. So far this bike is junk and it hurts me to say that but it is. Thank you for reading.
- Joseph Bengiovani, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-12 2003 Ducati 999 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best bike I've ever ridden. Have ridden an R1, CBR, and other Ducatis. This bike is it!!! Test it for yourself at a participating Ducati dealer and you'll know what I'm talking about!! BTW, its now the World Champion.
- Sonny, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-21 2003 Ducati 999s Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have bought one of these and it's amazing. It blows everything away in the twisties and loads of grunt. Sounds unbelievable with a termignoni exhaust system!
- Derek Portsmouth, Crawley, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-27 2003 Ducati 999 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I live in the best place in the world to own a motorcycle. We have canyons that take your breath away. As an ex-New Yorker, the weather alone could put you in Nirvana, but throw in a 2003 Yellow 999 and my life is truly bliss. I walked into the Ducati dealership and after a 10 minute test ride I wrote the check. Compared to the earlier Ducati superbikes, the 999 is a couch. Ergonomically it is much easier on the wrists and lower back.In 3 weeks I have put on 2000 miles. It starts every time and has given me ABSOLUTELY no problems.The handling is confidence inspiring and after every corner, you realize you could have gone faster. The motor seems to never run out of power. I actually commute to work on it because I couldn't stand to not start my day with it. I have gotten stuck in typical LA bumper to bumper traffic and although it gets hot, it never misses a beat. I am able to cut through the canyons at high rates of speed with complete confidence. When I ride with my friends on other sportbikes, they have trouble staying with me. Not because of sheer power, but the level of refinement in the handling and power application. There is nothing like a 999!
- Michael Gluck, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-13 2003 Ducati 999 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The new 999 is not for everyone, especially Ducatisti that have renowned the look of the 916. But, the 999 does do all that is promised. It is easier to drive than the previous SBK 916/996/998/748, it feels smaller under you, and it brings a new generation to the ducati family. Some will like the looks and some will not. It will take a while before I totally agree on the styling, but all in all it's the best bike ducati have made.
- Tony A. Brasher, Corrales, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-03 2003 Ducati 999 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sunday night at Texas World Speedway. We get there as usual around 7pm to unload and relax. Monday the 31st of March was going to be a good day. Beautiful weather, nice track, and high expectations. I noticed the Ducati Austin guys pitted about 3 garages down and went to say hello... Next thing I know, I hear "yeah I'd love for you to take the 999 out tomorrow." I'm thinking about how lucky I am to have this opportunity, and the wait for the track to go live is even more agonizing. After a couple sessions, I see the bike sitting there w/no one on it and was given the to go for it! Rolling through the pit area, I noticed that the bikes ergos were a lot more friendly than the 99x. The bike had the Termi carbon exhaust, which is beautiful by the way, installed and just blipping it as I rolled to pit-out was so much fun I got the nod from the track marshal to head on out, and down the hot pit I went. I grabbed a big handful of throttle in first gear, rolled it on and was surprised at how quick I got to redline and how fast the 999 was moving... repeat that through 4th gear and we're into turn one...rather than write a turn by turn lap by lap recap, I'll go over what I liked and disliked about the bike: Dislikes: The only thing I really didn't like on the 999 was that there was a LOT of travel in the throttle. I had to turn it longer than I like to get to WOT, so I found myself not at 100% throttle in some places. This isn't really a big deal, and could be easily remedied with a 1/4 turn throttle kit. Also, I would have liked a bit taller windscreen, but again that's an easy fix. Likes I don't even know where to start this section, as I was very impressed with the 999! Handling - The 999, to me, is a lot easier to ride than the 99x models. Tight transitions are much easier than the 998 I rode before and the bike feels a lot more planted. Turning the bike in was pretty much effortless too, just think look and the bike seems to just go where you want it to go, and does a very good job of holding its line. Ergos - The ergos are very Ducati. Not something I'd want to ride for hours on the street I don't think, but awesome for the track. The bike feels very small and compact, and the weight seems to disappear. I wondered how it would be to move around on the seat because of it's shape, but it was thoughtless after I got on the bike. The seat to peg distance was comfortable for the 25 min session I got to ride. The pegs work good and I didn't have any issues with my feet slipping. The shifter and rear brake lever were intuitively placed as well. My hands/wrists/shoulders never got sore, never fell asleep, and wasn't really even in my thoughts as I took the 999 around the track, which is a definite plus! Suspension - I was happy that the suspension felt a bit stiff, as I am no featherweight The forks and shock seemed to work quite well together, and I didn't feel any chatter or wallowing. I think I'd probably need new springs to make it perfect, but that's a common thing I deal with Motor - The motor feels VERY strong, and the sound from the Termi exhaust sounded incredible. I purposely left my ear plugs out just to listen to the bike more! The bike revs pretty fast for a big twin and there was no lag, no flat spots, and no jerky feeling to the FI....very very well sorted out! Needless to say, the bike rips coming out of turns! Brakes - the brakes were very good, had a good strong bite, but were very linear and easy to control. Braking hard into turns was very controllable, and light trail braking was effortless. Display - I think the gauges were very easy to read, especially that nice big round tach...a quick glance down at 145mph to check RPM was easily done. The distance you have to look down to see the tach is a lot shorter than other bikes, allowing you to get your eyes back down track a bit faster. Overall, I was very impressed with the 999. I knew from other reviews that I wouldn't be disappointed, but I never give 100% credibility to journalists For sure, I didn't push it 100% as, well, I couldn't be "that guy" that crashed the 999, could I?
- James Reynolds, Austin TX

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: