‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Ducati Multistrada 1000DS reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

Stars Refinement

10 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Kendall Bennett

Reviewed on 2022-11-12

Motorcycle reviewed 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS view listing

5.0
This is an awesome adventure bike. Here are what I consider to be the pros of this bike: 1. It has brutal amounts of power on tap (170hp!) but a very refined power delivery 2. Huge amounts of low end torque to get off the line and out of the hole 3. Sounds pretty awesome also with the Acro pipe it comes with 4. Very relaxed riding position for those long rides 5. Comes with saddle bags as part of the package 6. You can get low and high option saddles for it 7. Heated grips and heated seat 8. Active cruise control is amazing with blind spot detection There are also some things I didn’t particularly like about it compared to other bikes: 1. Honestly the saddle is not that soft so my ass hurts on long rides, but overall it’s pretty decent. The high saddle I use is a bit softer than the stock one. 2. The quick shifter works awesome if you are on the gas or in higher gears, but 1st to 2nd at low speeds is a bit rough. Going slow I usually go to 2nd with the clutch. 3. The 19” front wheel is probably awesome for going off road but I prefer the 17” sport bike feel. Maybe the V4 pikes peak would be better for folks who want sport bike handling. 4. The built in navigation using the Ducati app is not very good. I put my phone up there and use that instead.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brendan C

Dublin, Ireland

Reviewed on 2007-06-29

Motorcycle reviewed 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS view listing

4.0
I bought a silver/grey 2003 model with 20,000 miles on it. With full service history. I've just come back to biking after a 12 year gap and I have to say I love this thing! Handles superbly with good tyres-Pirelli Scorpions(original fitment here)are fine and the tread pattern really suits the look of the bike. The weather here in Ireland really does not suit Ducati's - corrosion is a real problem on any exposed metal surface especially the engine casings and brake/clutch levers. I was really suprised how light and narrow the bike feels compared to a Japanese straight 4 - as a result the seat height is not a problem even for someone of my stature and I felt right at home after only a few short miles. Wind protection is only okay -anything over 75mph is a real pain if you intend on covering any distance. Jesus - that side stand is plain dangerous!- very unstable. Ducati will offer an improved version to anyone who contacts them - I believe that 2005 onwards models do not have this problem. However, overall the feel good factor I get riding this thing more than makes up for any minor gripes I may have.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Aaron F.

Virginia Beach, Virginia

Reviewed on 2006-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS view listing

5.0
I bought an 04' MTS, in red this spring. It was a demo bike from Ducati Richmond. It is a great bike! Much more comfortable with its riding position. I like it b/c it's an all-rounder. I can take it on long trips, ride it around town, to work. And it's got a perfomance enough to rival sportbikes! The DS engine is, I think, one of Ducati's best. Only problem has been an exhaust leak, which has been known to occur on bikes fitted with the Termi exhuast. It's being remedied, but it is my only real problem I've had with the bike. I will be looking into a touring seat in the future!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Cullison

San Rafael, California

Reviewed on 2005-09-14

Motorcycle reviewed 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS view listing

5.0
I just bought this bike one month ago and it is in a league of its own. I researched it before I bought it and decided to test drive it (do not test drive this bike unless you are prepared to buy it). I grew up on dirt bikes and enjoy the similar stance that the multistrada offers. I admire the sport bike hunch but for the all purpose riding that I need, this bike has it all! The bike is light and maneuvers with ease. Response out of the dual spark is incredible! Fuel capacity is a problem if you need distance but it won't be a problem for me. That is the only thing I can say about it that could be a problem for some. THIS BIKE ROCKS!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

eddie o'brien

silverthorne, Colorado

Reviewed on 2005-06-17

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS view listing

4.0
With the Sargent seat, the brider is comfortable all day. Handling improves from very good to excellent by continual suspension adjustments, add tension to spring and dampening to the rear, add heighth to the rear (1/4 inch), add dampening to the front forks. Delivery of bike was marginal, too much play in throttle, brakes needed air bleed within a few hundred miles. Handling and comfort are best features. It's the king of Loveland Pass! It's easy to scrap the pegs & heat shield, without drama...really a grat ride in the Mountains, cooks BMW's and many UJM 600s. People are always commenting on how ugly or beautiful it is, adds to the fun.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phil Dinnis

Kissimmee, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-02-20

Motorcycle reviewed 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS view listing

4.0
Finding a bike that can double as a sport bike and tourer is not easy, but the Multistrada is pure magic, fantastic on the open road and brilliant on the twisties. Computer system had to be replaced and just needed to be cut out, which is just like hitting the kill button... very unerving when it happened. After replacing the command unit, no more problems. Front brakes suffer from juddering in the last few feet before stopping. That will need to be sorted. Useless mirrors and crazy fuel gauge are the only real gripes. Superb riding position for the taller riders, short riders might find it hard getting their feet on the ground. Handling is magnificent and this bike will teach the R1s and GIXXER's a thing or two. Not ballistic in the power range but more than ample to dispose of most other machines, here's hoping they stick the 999 lump in it one day and then it will be untouchable.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Boyd Rose

Arlington, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-01-27

Motorcycle reviewed 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS view listing

5.0
This bike feels very light, more like an open class motorcross bike with killer tires! The throttle response is like nothing else you will ever ride; really. So smooth, linear but nicely intense. Dry clutch has been fine. Best shifting bike I've ever owned. Mirrors are a crime! Zero problems the first year of ownership. Riding from Texas to South Dakota in August on it, so I trust it 100%. I have no problem strongly recommending this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

matt

Chester, Maryland

Reviewed on 2004-10-04

Motorcycle reviewed 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS view listing

5.0
Just bought a dealer-used rare Black Multistrada. Put on about 100 miles this weekend and can't wait to do more. I got a fantastic deal - I paid less for the Ducati than I would have paid for a Kawasaki, Yamaha, Honda, or Suzuki. Ride is fantastic. Nothing unsettles the bike. Grips the road perfectly, even on the poorly maintained county roads around my house. Acceleration is simply amazing, even with my big self on the bike. Brakes have serious power up front. The clutch is a bit stiff, but not bad enough to matter, and the transmission doesn't miss. The lights are super bright, and controls are intuitive. The seat isn't so bad, but I've only put 45 minutes on at a stretch. I'll probably give an update after a couple thousand miles, but I LOVE this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RC

Napa, California

Reviewed on 2004-07-17

Motorcycle reviewed 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS view listing

5.0
This is the most impressive bike I've ever owned. I started riding three decades ago, mostly Harleys and wanted something with sport bike power & handling. Problem is those bikes are not made for tall riders. The first time I sat on this bike it fit like a fine leather glove. Being used to heavy machines I've had to go easy on that throttle otherwise it's on one wheel. This bike sits quite high and as such is great for those of us on the large size. Power at about 85 Hp on a 400 Lb. bike is great! The handling is super. This thing slices corners like soft butter. Fairings keep the wind off the legs very well. Wind screen is somewhat effective but probably better for a shorter rider. The mirrors are great for checking on your elbows & the side lanes but again my size may be a factor. I looked at many bikes but there's just something about those Italians!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Madmatt

Fredonia, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2004-04-27

Motorcycle reviewed 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS view listing

5.0
So far I love this bike. It's very comfortable for a taller person. It might be harder for a smaller person to ride due to its overall height. It seems very light for its size. Overall everything is good on the bike, stock seat is a bit hard but does provide good feedback also. Mirrors are almost useless for me; maybe I just haven't found a good position yet. Suspension adjustability is great; accessories selection is good from Ducati, slow in coming from others. Shifting is positive, braking is good. Low-end punch is awesome! This really is a great bike. If you don't like how it looks, go and ride one anyway!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 10 of 10 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: