Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW K 1200 LT-I reviews

4.4
Write a review
Reliability
4.4
Overall quality
4.4
Performance
4.4
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mike Michaelson

Bloomington, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2005-05-02

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW K 1200 LT-I

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I Bought this bike online. I was going to ship it, but you know how it is. I jumped on the next flight out. Road this bike from Tampa, FL to Minneapolis, MN in three days. I went through 450 miles of pouring rain and 500 miles of a strong cross wind then about 400 miles of sleet and 32 degree frezzing rain, but the bike was glued to the road at 70mph. I was so impressed I road 850 miles in one day in this weather. First time I rode in 2 years. 1950 miles to Minneapolis in 3 days, I even did some sight seeing. Got back home and I'm ready for the next trip. I can't wait to go again. I have been riding for 30 years. I would never attemped to ride this hard on any other bike. I felt safe & like I owned the road. This bike was so smooth it handled like a road race bike and had the comfort of a recliner.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jim v

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2003-06-24

Motorcycle reviewed2001 BMW K 1200 LT-I

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great handling bike. Terrific brakes and a serious touring look about it. I came from a 1991 Yamaha Venture 1300 ( with 101,000 miles and still running) so I am accustom to the top heavy feel. Drawbacks or sqwauks: The gas cover for the gas cap. Clumsy position you get into when the nozzle goes in. Some strange cupping on the front tire but Im running a Bridgestone battlax. Maybe thats how they wear. I figure the bike might be alittle heavy on the starboard side. So what, I'm having a great time going through the gears listening to the Ferrari type howl of the exhaust. Just watch those slow speed turns on lots with stones and a passenger on board. I just leaned the "Liquid Tank" over to the ground when my leg lost traction. Once it leans over just alittle too far its either a hernia or scuffed plastic. (Those black plastic guards work ok!) Ride on...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Harold Petty

Boise, Idaho

Reviewed on 2003-02-25

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW K 1200 LT-I

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently purchased a 2003 LT-E. What a great ride!! A little top heavy at the slow speed but oh what a thrill down the road. One negative thought. Imagine having paid for the bike only to learn after taking delivery that the helmet sets are an extra expense.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

steve

apex, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2002-04-23

Motorcycle reviewed2001 BMW K 1200 LT-I

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After owning a HD Springer and having a RoadKing on order, I decided to try something different. And am I glad I did. This is by far the most comfortable, responsive touring machine I have ever riden. The quality of materials, mech technology, brakes and styling are 2nd to none. Cant stay off the darn thing and am finding dubious reasons to take it out on the road, according to my wife. You haven't lived until you spend 4-6 hours on this baby.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mick Smeadle

USA

Reviewed on 2001-10-26

Motorcycle reviewed2001 BMW K 1200 LT-I

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This past April I purchased a Black 2001 K12 LTC. I have been riding bikes for the last 20 years and I never had a bike that is this much of a pleasure to ride. Once you become familiar with its weight (about 10 minutes) it handles like a dream! This bike is much more sporting than the 2001 Goldwing. My father purchased a new Goldwing, also in Black, in April. We have traveled more than 7000 miles to date. He seems to never be able to catch up to the Beemer on most backroads. As a matter of fact on most Interstates also. Everywhere we travel people always comment on how beautiful our bikes are. I have to proudly say the K12 gets the most attention!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mitch

USA

Reviewed on 2001-08-01

Motorcycle reviewed2001 BMW K 1200 LT-I

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I test drove this bike in the Black Hills of SD. I loved the way the bike performed, and handled... especially the handling on the canyon roads. My wife loved the seat and indicated how you can actually see something other than the back of my helmet. The disappointing part of the bike was it's incredibly high seat and top heaviness. Drop the seat and the top heaviness would be minimal I think. I dang near dumped it when I stopped to turn around. BMW change that seat height so I can own one. Mitch
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Keith taylor

UK

Reviewed on 2001-07-28

Motorcycle reviewed2001 BMW K 1200 LT-I

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 1999 BMW K1200LT with 1800 km on it. I just replaced the front tire for a second time only getting 5000km on this Dunlop. Tire wears out left of centre. BMW says that is normal. I dont think so. I think the bike frame is twisted and the front wheel isnt tracking with the rear. Anybody have similar problems?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

scott mcd

Albuquerque New Mexico

Reviewed on 2001-07-13

Motorcycle reviewed2001 BMW K 1200 LT-I

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Two weeks old and 1800mi it's a dream only complaint is its a bear with two up and loaded with gear. I dropped it pulling out of the gas station to head for CO. Its so top heavy it took three of us to lift the bike. The plastic bumpers saved me from any expensive damage though. My wife says the seat is more comfortable than a car seat. By the way Independence Pass near Aspen is a must see for all- esp on this bike WOW!!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Colorado

Reviewed on 2001-02-19

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW K 1200 LT-I

Shop this motorcycle

2.0
I purchased a 1999 BMW K1200LT-I in November 1999 and I experienced numerous problems during the year I owned this machine. It's a good looking machine but goes down hill rapidly from there. As most have already stated it's difficult to put into first gear or maneuver at slow speeds. The brakes are annoying, it would heat up on hot days in slow moving traffic and the engine sounds harsh at low speeds. Getting up to speed it handles very well and the engine is silky smooth until you encounter a cross wind or need to pass. It's a good thing the windshield is adjustable because the standard setting is unsafe for the average rider. The communication system is in it's 3rd generation and still doesn't work properly. The CD Player never worked the entire year I had it but I apparently the shipping screws were never removed. The speakers were obviously the lowest grade they could find. I wasn't as fortunate as some to have a good dealership either. The two nearby dealers were feuding and complained about the poor service I would receive from the other. They were both right. It took 7 months to get an appointment to fix an Oil leak they caused on the 600 mile service and I was charged again. When I was told it would probably take 6 months to a year for the next Communication system to be developed I considered trading the K1200LT for an 1100RT. Thank you BMW Corporate for being so nasty and making me decide to never buy another machine labeled BMW. I purchased another Goldwing and can you say quality, no recalls, and superior service. To the guy thinking of trading his Goldwing, not unless you're buying the 1800.
Reliability
2.0
Quality
2.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

USA

Reviewed on 2001-01-16

Motorcycle reviewed2001 BMW K 1200 LT-I

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
Three months ago I purchased a new LT and have had troubles with the bike and dealer ever since. On the first occasion I went to start my LT sitting in my heated garage to go for a ride and the bike was completely devoid of power. The bike had been sitting for three days. Battery dead? I called the dealer (Mortons BMW) They said recharge. I did and it did not work. I had it towed to the dealer. They said an electrical relay went bad. Very rare! fixed it. When i got the bike home I discovered that somebody had dropped my LT and there was damage to the fairing and other parts. I called the dealer and they admitted they had dropped the bike. Now I have a repeat of the same rare electrical problem and my bike dead again. I now have no confidence that I can take a long trip on this machine without a high risk of being stranded. By the way, when it runs it's a great bike. I give it 1 star. JBHawkr
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: