Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW R 1150 R reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

44 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

George Hastie

Trenton, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-07-28

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW R 1150 R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Hard to improve on this machine. The only thing I would change is the saddle height. I travel 40 miles a day round trip to work on this machine 95 percent of the time, the other 5 percent I feel like I'm missing something.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

WICKMAN

wickerk@vmcmail.com, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2009-10-20

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW R 1150 R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am the second owner of this bike. I have had it 3 mo. So far it has been better than I hoped. Good smooth power, nice ride. I have had many bikes this is the first BMW should have bought one a lot sooner. I think anyone will be pleased with this motorcycle....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom Hayson

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-10-05

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW R 1150 R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the second review I've posted for this bike. First one was July 2007, called Worth the Wait! I've owned this bike for 3 1/2 years and have put around 8,000 miles on it. I know that's not much, and I wish I could ride more, but I have a family and a demanding job. Like the title says, I'm STILL LOVIN' IT! How can you not enjoy riding such a superb machine as this? It's a beautiful machine, too. It's red and I keep it immaculate, so it gets a lot of looks. I'm in the middle of replacing the battery - wow, talk about open heart surgery! You damn near gotta take the whole bike apart to get to the battery. I hope the replacement battery lasts five years like the original lasted. And I pray I get it all put back together the right way! ;) I can't say enough good things about this bike. I feel lucky to own it. Will write again in a couple more years.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Erik W

Washington, District of Columbia

Reviewed on 2009-06-08

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW R 1150 R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my used 2003 R1150R for over a year now and ridden it all over the roads of VA, WV, and MD and also roundtrip to Fl and have enjoyed all 12,000 miles I've put on it. Handles the twisty's fabulously and with a Sargent seat and a an Alaska sheepskin butt pad burning 2hrs of highway before a break is not a problem. Been 100% reliable so far, not a single issue, just required normal maintenance. Buy it - you'll like it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Thomas

Livonia, Michigan

Reviewed on 2006-11-21

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW R 1150 R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The R1150R is very close to doing every thing right. It handled a 700 mile trip in constant rain with no problem. Power assist servo's are still touchie...but it does work. Overall, a great ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Max Conelly

Reno, Nevada

Reviewed on 2005-09-01

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW R 1150 R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding this bike since May of '05 and put about 3000 miles on it in that time. What a machine! Nothing I have ridden even begins to compare with the fun this bike delivers. Touring, twisties, urban evasion, this bike does all with style. The gearbox was a little clunky at first and there was some surging between 2500-3500rpm but both of those disapeared after the 6000mi mark. The German engineering shows through. Dual disks and the telelever system make sure that extreme braking feels under control. Heated handgrips make cold mornings bearable. don't forget that BMW has excellent aftermarket support for this bike. If you're considering another bike, go test drive it - then try the R1150 R . You'll see...
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Chuck

New York, New York

Reviewed on 2005-08-10

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW R 1150 R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I find the bike perfectly balanced. Easy to maneuver in the city, strong and sound on the highway, and tight a fast through twisties. Also good is that the passenger has a comfortable position and can thoroughly enjoy the ride. I love the power and stability. Its lines are just beautiful.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shelby

Livermore, California

Reviewed on 2005-06-10

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW R 1150 R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Re-entry bike for me. I have owned a variety in the past but it has been a few years since the last one. I looked all winter and began testing in the spring. I knew the 1150R was the choice within a few blocks of the dealership. This is a very comfortable and well thought out machine. I have the heated grips and ABS and like both. The gearbox is clunky and my only complaint. I can live with it but it is not up to the level of the rest of the bike. This bike is an excellent choice between a cruiser or sport bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Kralich

Dallas, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-06-08

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW R 1150 R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I started riding a motorcycle three months ago. I had no previous knowledge of motorcycles so I took a riding class and bought the R 1150 based on reviews, price and recommendations. I love it. At first I thought it would be to much to handle, but in a short time I have become very comfortable and pleased that I got the 1150. I take it to work and I cruise open Texas roads. The bike handles great on both and is very comfortable for my size. Every night before I come in from the garage I just stop and look at it, the curves and lines are awesome and I get a lot of looks from folks around town.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom Radue

Savage, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2005-05-18

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW R 1150 R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my third bike, replacing a Triumph Daytona and Suzuki SV650. It's great on back roads and on the freeway. The economics are near perfect after adding a Corbin Seat and Bar Backs. I lowered the pegs to gain leg room, but removed them after losing too much ground clearance during cornering. I still love it - good power, smooth, very stable in corners, very reliable - it almost needs a problem or two to keep it intersting and give it more character. It is German engineered and it shows. The quality of manufacture and attention to detail is amazing! I have a severe case of needing (actually wanting) another BMW - one just isn't enough!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 44 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: