Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW R 1200 RT reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

29 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

tomp

Sugar Land, Texas

Reviewed on 2012-06-24

Motorcycle reviewed2012 BMW R 1200 RT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I traded a great 2003 R1150RT for a new 2012 R1200RT. It's much the same but also much different. I know that sounds strange, but after one has ridden both, it will be understood. The new RT still feels like a traditional BMW Boxer twin, but is smoother, accelerates better and has a much torqueier feel. The new windshield provides a different still air pocket for the rider, and the ESA II adjustable suspension provides the rider with three different bikes to ride in one. The comfort mode allows for a smooth feeling almost luxo touring bike. Normal mode makes the bike feel almost like the 1150's feel, but with the above improvements. The sport mode is great. It tightens up the suspension and makes the bike handle very similar to a sport bike. Turn in is a little harder to accomplish, but once set, the bike tracks turn with precision which is not expected from a bike of this size and weight. Overall, I believe the improvements are worth the extra expense required for its purchase. Anyone wanting a bike that will take you quickly through twisties, but can also be used for daily commuting, and traveling from coast to coast, can do much worse than to choose the latest Boxer from BMW.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (17)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-11-02

Motorcycle reviewed2005 BMW R 1200 RT

Shop this motorcycle

4.3
I rode it 300 miles the first day on I75 and the performance was outstanding! Torque at 70 mph was excellent and stability on the Highway was comparable to my 2019 Roadglide. Handling and maneuvering is 4 and at 610 pounds this 71 yo could do most things right away. My tight turning radius was reduced by 4 feet. I have now ridden the Suchs loop and Natchez Trace and it is very strong in curves. You must have the Nav 6. A local upholstery guy raised the drivers seat 1-2 inches. Negatives: wife hates the ride, Bluetooth barely works
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Somers

Brussels, Belgium

Reviewed on 2011-10-15

Motorcycle reviewed2006 BMW R 1200 RT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm 59 and a Chopper man since the beginning, until, I had to accept the fact it was time to go for a GT bike. I bought the 1200RT second-hand (20,000 miles) and I can say just one thing: fantastic! It's like a bicycle with the engine of a formula one car. It's easy to pilot, has an unbelievable engine, total comfort and is totally reliable. I regret one thing: I should have bought one earlier. Minus point? Well, when bought new, the options are pretty expensive.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott V

Weatherford, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-07-01

Motorcycle reviewed2011 BMW R 1200 RT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first BMW. What a difference in ridability. This bike is so smooth, feels so comfortable and solid. It will not be my only BMW.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tigarddave

Wilsonville, Oregon

Reviewed on 2010-08-01

Motorcycle reviewed2010 BMW R 1200 RT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been very unhappy with my third Wing - a 2007 18000. I test rode this bike twice. The first time was when the BMW demo trailer came to Portland - and loved it! It had both the low seat and low suspension, which was too low for me. My local dealer has a 2010 demo that he let me ride for over an hour on freeway, curvy back roads and in some heavy traffic, too. The difference between this and my wing was WOW! It is smooth, light to flix into corners and I love the adj. suspension and windscreen. As soon as I sell my Wing, I will be buying this. I have had Goldwings since my first new one in 1984 - now it's on to BMW!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Odell

Baytown, Texas

Reviewed on 2009-07-21

Motorcycle reviewed2009 BMW R 1200 RT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My 2009 R1200RT was love at first sight. I had owned three different Japanese made bikes that were all very good machines, but none larger than a 500CC. I racked up a total of 100,000 miles on the three, but not one of those miles were as much fun as the first few I put on the R1200RT. I tried the bike out with only 1 mile showing on the odometer. I rode about four blocks and came back. The salesman, asked my wife if there was something wrong because I was back so soon. When he saw me flip up the face shield with an ear to ear grin, he told me to go RIDE that thing! I was already sold, but did as he said. Needless to say, it followed me home that night, or my wife followed in the car as I drove this beautiful machine home. I have covered over 9000 miles from mid-October to Mid-July. Other than two flat tires and a faulty heated hand grip, this bike has been an absolute joy to own. My Tundra sits and wonders when I will come back and use it. I do ride solo to work, but most of the time, I drive with my wife behind me as a passenger. It doesn't matter what we throw at it as far as road conditions, this motorcycle can handle it. We live on the coastal plain, so it is flat as can be, but also visit the Texas Hill Country frequently, with twisting curves and sizable elevation changes. The bike never complains and is only becoming more fun to drive as it breaks in. The engine and transmission are just now becoming free enough to smooth out and really offer its full capability. The brakes are very powerful and will stop even a heavily loaded bike quickly and easily. Now if I can just get my wife to remember to grab hold of the grips instead of just fall into my back in a quick stop... I orginally wanted a Gold Wing, but the weight and the complexity of the engine was more than I wanted to deal with. I made a great choice for me. The handling, the power, and the luxury of the ride make it a joy to ride all day. I have covered a bit over 350 miles in a single day, and covered just over 1500 miles in a one week trip. All I need is a week free and I am ready to go again. The sooner the better!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joshua H

Marietta, Ohio

Reviewed on 2009-05-20

Motorcycle reviewed2009 BMW R 1200 RT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just started riding, test rode and fell in love with the 2009 RT. Going from a Yamaha V-star to this bike was an amazing change. The RT is so comfortable, I put 527 miles on it in one weekend. I could have easily hoped back on it and done another 500. I got caught in the rain and the adjustable windshield came in real handy, it is nice to slide it out of the way when the weather cleared. At 20mph or 80mph the bike feels steady. I got blasted by some powerful crosswinds (from a semi) and the RT did not budge.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bruce

Mill Spring, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2008-04-07

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW R 1200 RT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned other sport touring models, but the 1200 RT is bar-none the most incredibly good riding machine I've ever owned. Intuitive in the corners, 52 mpg on the road, and extremely good for long distances. I've found that for those that complain that it won't do the distances I would reply, break it in. This bike doesn't really wind out until a few thousand miles. Number 2, get a new seat. I have the Rick Mayer and have easily done 700 to 800 miles in a day. Number 3, change windshields. There are a number of windshields that are better for wind protection. The Boxer engine is easy to work on and will save you money if you can do your own valve adjustments. I've had mine for 2 years now and not one problem with even the smallest things. It is a perfect bike that needs to be ridden.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Serafino

Los Angeles, California

Reviewed on 2008-01-20

Motorcycle reviewed2005 BMW R 1200 RT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first BMW. I have never dished out so much cash for a bike (I have owned mostly Hondas and Suzuki). But I wish I had bought it sooner. The heated grips, cruise control, ESA and ASC and tire pressure monitor; this bike eats miles for breakfast! The engine is well balanced and the linear power acceleration is deceiving! Goes from 0 to 70 mph and you don't even know it! Suspension is adjustable for those really bad freeways and you can take it to the hills, and you have a sport demon. This thing can be flicked in an instant. It has a low center of gravity! If you are short, get the optional low seat; it's worth it. But I did not need it! You pay more, and you get a lot in return!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul & Patricia

Red Bluff, California

Reviewed on 2007-03-21

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW R 1200 RT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had it only three weeks and have ridden it 2600 miles so far with no problems. The bike has a lot of acceleration, the handling is great, and the ride is smooth. My wife loves to also ride on it. From reading other reviews I thought I would not get a full tank of gas. My 2007 bike has a factory air hole to let me filler up and to use the full seven gallons of gas. I fill it up to about one inch from the top. I will try to come back next year to update this review.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 29 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: