Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

1999 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycle reviews

4.4
Write a review
Reliability
4.1
Overall quality
4.4
Performance
4.4
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

9 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

worldspeaker

Colton, California

Reviewed on 2008-12-28

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Triumph Adventurer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have 27,000 miles on this amazing bike with no problems. It looks great, is comfortable for long rides and the build quality is awesome! The engine in this bike is the best part. Cosworth helped in the design of the engine so at idle it sounds like the valves are coming apart. When you rev the throttle however, it sounds like a leopard... an angry leopard. No one else will hear this though because you will be gone. It is very quick. This engine always seems to have more to give. I have not found the end of the power yet. The bike is over-engineered so even a decade after being built it still looks brand new. I wish they still made bikes like this. People stare at the bike wherever I go, and if I want to leave, a quick flick of the throttle and the fun really begins. If you can find a used one, they are a great bike to have.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

dwayne

laplace, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2005-02-08

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Triumph Adventurer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
1996 Adventurer with 30k miles, still running and looking new. All the old timers (like me) remember the good old days when Triumph was the only game in town; everyone loves those days. It's a nice ride with good get up and go. And it is light enough for city running and big enough for country roads.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

G Hache

St Johns, Newfoundland

Reviewed on 2004-11-24

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Triumph Adventurer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Upgraded from a Harley to this cycle...best thing I could have done. Really enjoy this cycle. It has great torque and power, smooth transmission, does not tire with long excursions, is comfortable on the highway, is nimble in traffic, is low maintenance, incorporates great workmanship, and is a joy to own. Triumph certainly had a focus on North American riding style when they put out this product. Am surprised that it never did fulfill the designers early sales expectation for the cycle and that it had such a short market life as a new product. A good classic styled cycle with great current technology.
Reliability
2.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Grand Forks, North Dakota

Reviewed on 2002-10-02

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Triumph Adventurer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike as a carry-over model the spring of 2000. Good for cruising around town and short 300-350 mile day trips. This bike is not a hot rod but it is still fun to ride. It is faster than stock ($20,000+)Harleys!. Only problem to date is a bad ground. Other that that it has been trouble free. No oil leaks(Take note HD). I will definitely buy another Triumph! If you are in the eastern North Dakota area stop by Ma's Cycles in West Fargo. Great bunch of guy's that back what they sell.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg Gibbs

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2002-07-21

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Triumph Adventurer

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I used to own an '86 600 FZ Yamaha - a crotch rocket that got me around quickly. However, I couldn't really tour or take riders. So I looked for a long time for a sport tourer. None to be found. The Triumph Adventurer was built for touring, but was still small enough to handle. I weigh 155 pounds and didn't need some of the heavy, awkward 1100 cc sport tourers out there. I put a fairing on this and I am looking for a back rest. Looks pretty well made, but the leather saddle-bags leak without LOTS of leather sealer. Bike is normally a noisy slowmo in first and second gear. Backing off the throttle always makes it clatter - normal? So I miss the performance of my old sport bike. But underneath it has lots of power and will get you there quickly if you work at it. The gearing ratios do need to be changed, as around the city blocks I barely get out of 2nd gear. This bike should last me awhile, but I think it is for the older rider.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rich

Rhode Island

Reviewed on 2001-07-22

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Triumph Adventurer

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
i love the way this bike looks:however it's geared too high in first gear and too low in fifth gear. This makes for a slow takeoff and a low top speed. with just a little gear change this bike could have awesome performance.my only other problem is Triumphs' unreliabilty in shipping parts, which can take months.I wish i'd gotten the Honda Shadow Saber
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don Walters

Coeur d'Alene

Reviewed on 2001-01-29

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Triumph Adventurer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 96 in the fall of 97 as a demo with about 3,000 miles. I have had it now for three years. I have had one problem with the speedometer that the facory replaced at no cost. Other than that it has been riding bliss! This is truly a head turner. I hear "That sure is a cool bike. Y'know I used to ride a Bonneville." from someone at least every other stop. this really upsets my Beemer riding buddy! The upgrade to the six speed tranny in the newer models would definitely be a plus. Mine will go about 115 mph. After that it's too hard to hold on. It handles better than any other cruiser on the market in turns and has an incredible power band that goes from 3,000 to 7,500 rpm. Fast enogh to blow by their "American competitors." You should really give it a ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Gardner

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2000-05-29

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Triumph Adventurer

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
If you're looking for a bike that isn't a "Harley Clone" and performs/handles better than most cruisers - this is a good choice. This bike is light (464 lbs.), yet rock steady at 70mph on the highway. Maintenance is fairly simple and the bike is just plain fun.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2000-05-02

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Triumph Adventurer

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
900 motor has only 69 hp at redline. Otherwise it is a fun bike. High quality fit and finish. No plastic chrome, all metal chrome.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 9 of 9 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: