Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (12,231)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

John T from Cen Cal, California says:

I bought this in July on the advice of others after having crashed my bike. It's a pretty bike, that's for sure. It handles so much differently than w

Read More (12231 reviews)

Have you owned a Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2009 Harley-Davidson Tri Glide Ultra Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this in July on the advice of others after having crashed my bike. It's a pretty bike, that's for sure. It handles so much differently than what I was used to that for the first 50 miles I thought I had made a mistake. With more and more miles I began to like it better. I recently went 2800 miles in 6 days through Nevada, Utah and Colorado. Tight mountain roads require a good deal of effort to steer while long relatively straight roads are darn near effortless. This bike is immune to crosswinds and the cruise control works perfectly. My only complaint is that it leaves the factory with a severely restricted intake and exhaust. I had to travel in 5th gear heading westbound on I-70 out of Denver (even got passed by a BMW K750 pulling a tent trailer!!). On the flats, it's hard to get 3000 rpm in 6th gear - it feels like it's out of breath. You'd never know you that have 103 cu.in. of engine between your legs. So it's time to open the breathing passages and harness some of that power that I'm sure is in there somewhere. Fuel mileage for the trip was a consistent 33 mph with a few tanks at 40 mpg while riding through the twisties at 9000+ ft. - go figure. Overall, it's a keeper. My wife loves the comfort. Slow down, take your time and enjoy the scenary. Sorry for the long review but if you're considering spending this type of money for a bike, you deserve an honest opinion.
- John T, Cen Cal, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-01-02 2004 UM Renegade 200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We bought TWO of these and both had severe reliability issues. The dealership was wonderful but getting parts was a pain. The electrical system on both bikes was a recurring issue. The bikes were the same, only differed in color yet were pieced together with different parts, screws etc. The bikes spent more time in the service department of the dealership than on the road. When we purchased them, there were many extras that attracted us. The floor boards, heel-toe shifter and overall look of the bike was nice. However, a main requirement of a bike is that it actually runs and these did not most of the time. I wish they'd been different. I even felt a little guilty when I sold them to people but I was definitely glad to be rid of them.
- Christy Mann, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-12-17 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Its an absolute tank! Looks like a shiny new Harley Davidson, despite being 23 years old. Currently have 53,000 kms on it (about 33,000 miles). It sat in a basement not moving for 12 years, when I got it, it was under a half inch of grime. Cleaned the carbs and gas tank, dropped in a new battery, and it roared to life like it was driven yesterday. A day of cleaning and fluid changes, and it was like a brand new bike. Tourque for days, and with the suspension set to 4 it corners like a champ. Its amazing the lean it can get, and the power out of the turns!! Its a Honda. Nobody's quite sure how long they last, since if they are reasonably taken care of (read: occasional oil changes and try to avoid snow), they keep firing up and running forever. If you are reading this because you see a deal on an old one, and wondering if they are a good bike, do it. do it now. You're sitting in front of a computer (or phone) when you could be getting one of the best bikes on the road!
- TJ, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-11-28 1967 Harley Davidson XLCH Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I found this mouse infested barn job in Heyworth, IL in 1987. It was covered with grain dust and had resident mice in it's original mufflers - evicted on the first kick. The Tillotson carburetor was too cantankerous to reliably kickstart, replaced it with a Bendix. The Fairbanks Morse Magneto kill wire terminal grommet had cracked and grounded the kill terminal - which impaired starting substantially. I replaced the grommet and the magneto about paralyzed me first time I spun it. Reinstalled and timed, the bike was now an easy starter. You had to remember the left grip needed rolled forward (retard it to start it) when kick starting to avoid the eventual handlebar acrobatics. The drum brakes suck, plan your stops. Stop looking for turn signals - these don't have them. The head light at idle dims and brightens as the uneven idle varies generator output beyond the capability of the voltage regulator and DC Capacitor. Get good at adjusting valves. Properly set pushrods at cool temperatures will expand in hotter temperatures, slightly holding valves open - and zero compression is noted when starting after a gas stop. Hear that tink-tink-tink of the engine? That's contraction. Once that stops - the bike will gladly kick start again. You can adjust some slop in the valves to avoid this. You'll have initial valve noise when cold - but at least she will start.
- Conan Roberts, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-11-09 2000 Aprilia SL 1000 Falco Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It was horrible. The gas was bad. The gas broke. I was shredding too hard. Im too good.
- Chris, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-11-06 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
fabulous machine. heavy to move when not started, the zrx needs a bit of speed to be really agile. Simple , reliable and very alive , this bikes makes you feel secure when ridding. I like the power, the grip with Pirelli tire, and the temper (you can cruise or race, the bike is able and willing) as well as the fuel burn: from 4 to 6/7 liter/100k....this bike is ideal for me...exept the wind in my face: above 150km/h, I am in a washing machine (naked..bike)..but still, great look and temper, I love it!!
- Eric, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-11-01 2000 Honda Nighthawk 250 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike for my son to learn on. We had a 250 Ninja, but I wanted something more sedate. He got his license and moved on to the ninja. I thought of selling the nighthawk, but it was fun and I decided to add some foam grips and a 15 tooth front sprocket a couple years ago. It can cruise comfortably at 65, but can struggle on hills and high wind. I'm approaching retirement and wanted a bigger bike, but my wife said she won't ride with me, so I figured the nighthawk will get the job done if I'm soloing it. I added a center stand and a rear rack. The most I've done in a day is about 250 miles, but I know I can take it farther with no problem. I will replace the chain and both sprockets and change the fork oil to a heavier weight, and while the rear wheel is off, replace the rear brake shoes. It delivers up to 80 MPG in good conditions, and never gets below 65 MPG. No repairs needed yet. I would recommend it to anyone who wants cheap, reliable transportation and doesn't care about impressing the Jones.
- The Inspector, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-10-27 2000 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike stock in2003after watching occ, dropped it 2 in bought a wide glide 8 over front end and wired a side mount lic.running 180 in back 21 in front. Bike runs great, beats corvettes off the line,tops out at 125 good enough
- Dean, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-10-22 2001 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles for 35 years and have had many different bikes, but it took me until this summer to work my way up to this incredible four-cylinder beast of a machine. For its weight and heft, it's incredibly nimble and smooth, with plenty of power to spare. It rides like a dream, has lots of comfort and luggage space. Every time I ride this great bike, I keep thinking two things: Why did it take me so long to get to riding this bike? and What a machine!
- Robert Klatt, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-10-22 2003 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned 2 of these bikes over the years. I have loved each of these bikes since my first ride on the back of my father's bike as a kid. Reliable, comfortable and quiet bike to ride. Can't wait for next year to put more miles on my latest purchase.
- Perry Rupe, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-10-18 2005 Kawasaki KDX220R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I’ve owned 8 Kawasaki kdx200 and 2 kdx220- was really impressed with them until I bought a Honda xr400r they just blow away kdx - Honda is far more reliable - the xr is 10 stars in every department best bike ever built I own a xr250r too- brilliant bikes 4 stroke are better- but the xr400r gets a gold star at everything
- Storm Jenkins, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-10-12 2006 Yahama Road Star Midnight Star Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning a couple of Harleys, i LOVE this bike! She is a beast! Best ride i have owned so far. Comfort, realiable, powerful, hugs the road and lastly, she is good looking. My first Non Harley and i will never go back
- Bonnie, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-29 2004 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2005 Rocket along with a friend back in 2006, one road test sold us on the awesome power this bike had- I had the dealer install OEM cat delete pipes along with a tune boy PCM reprogram software to wring out even more power - 2005 bike was totaled in a garage fire and I immediately went out and bought a low mileage 2007 rocket with the running boards, I liked to classic better with just the pegs - my wife liked neither one of them, you just can't drive one of these bikes slow - I owned a 1989 V max at the same time and figured one had to go - kept the rocket due to the incredible torque started at 1000 rpm and just kept going - one of the few non HD bikes that is looked at in awe at biker bars
- steve, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-20 2004 Moto Guzzi Breva V 750 IE Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Breva 750 is my 3rd Moto Guzzi and about my 30th bike. I bought it after moving home to Australia from Asia (i don't really live in California. This webpage doesn't list other countries...) I had to leave my other two Guzzis behind in Asia when I went home, a 2001 California Jackal 1100 and a 2009 Bellagio 940. Both had a very respectable 75 horsepower. When I got home, finances dictated that I could only afford a cheap bike, but it HAD TO BE A GUZZI. Once you've owned a Guzzi, no other brand will do.... I found a nice 2005 Breva which has only 40 something horsepower. I wasn't expecting much after getting off two 75 horsepower bikes, but five minutes into the test ride I was sold. It ain't no rocket, but the 40 something horses are all pulling hard. The torque is great, the handling is very civilised and the acceleration and Brembo brakes are more than adequate. With 100,000 kilometers on the clock, it is only just broken in and the engine starts, idles, revs and runs beautifully. I don't expect it to get tired for at least another 100 or 200,000 kms. Guzzis are known to have done half a million miles without a rebuild when maintained right. The engine design is virtually the same as the first Guzzi V twin built in the 1960s, with reliability and fuel consumption improvements being the only real changes since then. The Breva has fuel injection and electronic ignition for great solid performance, though it won't blow anyone off the road, it will go all day at a respectable speed. I bought mine and rode it home, 6 hours on the highway and it never missed a beat then and hasn't since. Maintenance is easy. A valve clearance adjustment, oil, gear oil and shaft oil changes can be done in about an hour. Easy as! I love this bike.it was never meant to be a forever bike for me, just one to get me back on two wheels until I could afford a "real bike" and has since been joined in the garage by a 1200cc Moto Guzzi Griso, which will be joined by a 1400cc Guzzi California when I have the funds, but I can't see myself parting with the Breva. It is such a fun, light,zippy little machine that has grown on me, as all Guzzis tend to do. I'm keeping it, though I am giving it a cafe racer makeover, so it will look a bit more like the current model V7 range. Though costing significantly less than a V7. WARNING ! Moto Guzzis are addictive. Buy one and you will probably buy a few more to keep it company, as long as you have the cash and an understanding partner.
- Cali Jackalbob, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-12 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding bikes since 15 lots.im 59 live in new zealand.had the 02 z 4 months love it.big grunty beast of a thing but smooth as silk.standard everything why change it.bit low for me im 6-2 with long legs had to ad cheap online cushon now its sweet still get sore ass after 2 hours.last of old school style tourers.bit low on sweeping bends toe scrapes on road but handles ok.sucks the gas if you open it up gets a bit boring at leagle speed.sits nice in the garage nice to know 160 hp 175 mph.whatch out taking fairing off srcews fall down get lost somewhere.tried to take tank off gave up too much going on.at 30000 ks its a keeper.enjoy
- Coombesy, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-29 2003 Honda Nighthawk 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for 12 years 22k miles to date.4 sets of Dunlops,4 air filters 5 oil changes,3 chains,1 set of shoes and one headlight bulb is all I needed to do. I have never taken the valve cover off. The brakes are a little wooden and I wish it had a fifth gear. She's air cooled if course and always been a little but cold blooded but after 5 minutes the bike is s pleasure. It feels solid and it pulls very nicely. It's sure footed and handles it's weight surprisingly well. I love the way it sounds. Mine is extra clean and people dig the now retro look. It's become cool looking with that black motor and 4 gleaming pipes shooting out. I don't think you can do better for the money. Pros: Reliable, Great motor, Comfortable, Good power. Cons: Weakish brakes, Cold blooded in the morning.
- Dennis Martin-Farez, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-12 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (VT750DC) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Man have I been missing out. I have truly owned over a 100 motorcycles. I just purchased a very clean low miles Shadow Spirit 1100. This bike is awesome, rides nice plenty power, both feet on the ground. Handles great, surprisingly Nimble for a cruiser. Feels lighter than it it is. And yes it’s shaft drive. I’m a happy rider again. Hey everybody go get one while you can!
- John Graham, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-31 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow, what can I say, got my 900 custom used and in great shape. This bike rides nice and smooth with great handling and power. I'm 6-2 and it fits me great. I highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a mid size cruiser.
- David Hayes, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-29 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike new,it now has 72460 miles on it. I replaced front wheel bearings, everything else is original! Still runs strong,no sign of any possible failure!!run Valvoline 20 50 motorcycle oil. I have had to put three new batteries in it, not bad for 15 yrs service. This is my 10th bike I've owned and by far the most impressive in every way. If it ever wears out,I'll be looking for another vn 2000.
- Tom nielsen, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-27 2000 Buell Cyclone M2 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best most comfortable motorcycle I have ever owned. Love the Harley sound and the power is there with every gear! This bike just draws attention every where I go. It handles like a dream in every aspect. From my first test ride I fell in love with this bike and I love that I'm riding American muscle. You couldn't ask for a better bike don't let a fool fool you these bikes ride and handle like no other.
- Robert, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-14 2010 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
STARTED RIDING AT 62 YRS OLD TOOK THE MSF COURSE BOUGHT A VULCAN 900 LT GREAT BIKE FOR A BEGINNER EASY TO HANDLE LIGHT WEIGHT VERY FORGIVING AND RELIABLE WHICH IS GREAT FOR A NEW RIDER OR EXPERIENCED RIDER GAVE ME CONFIDENCE I FEEL COMFORTABLE ON THIS BIKE ITS A FUN ALL AROUND GOOD LOOKING MOTORCYCLE THE UP GRADES I PUT ON IS AN ENGINE GARD MUSTANG SEAT WITH A BACK REST SMALLER WIND SHIELD BETTER HAND GRIPS
- ROBERT ILLING, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-24 2015 Honda NC700X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Excellent Motorcycle and awesome features make this one an great choice i.e. 21 lt helmet trunk. Very good on gas and great performance. In terms of room to improve double brake circuit in front wheel, but it breaks perfectly anyway.
- Daniel Montes , South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-17 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Save yourself the trouble, get a Harley. I bought this bike because I thought it would be as nice as a Softail. I was very disappointed. From the factory it felt choked, accelerated slower than my Versys 300. The windshield, at its highest setting, was too short for me and I was bombarded with turbulence. In less than a week my left floorboard was dangling off. A pin had sheared. A month later my front brake caliper fell off, I was thankful it didn't catch the spokes. After getting the caliper bolted down I went on my first long trip, 270 miles one-way. It was torturous. The stock seat was utter garbage and I ended up taking the windshield off, which was more comfortable than keeping it on. I only got 26mpg, I was disgusted in the 100 mile fuel range. On the way home my rear-cylinder's header cracked and the exhaust tube fell off. The dealership paid for half a set of Vance & Hynes. They were far better. I also bought a new intake and a DynoJet PC5, the bike was finally accelerating decently. Though my mom's Harley Street 750 was far faster. Also I was now getting around 35mpg, a drastic improvement over stock fuel mileage. Then my fuel pump went out. After that I was getting 80 miles out of a tank and never exceeding 90 mph. In December my stator went out at 4,859 miles. I was so done with that cheaply built Kawasaki garbage. I traded it, got a Harley Electra Glide. Best decision I made regarding that Vulcan.
- Chris, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-02 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Was an amazing experience. Was very effortless. I was able to look at many motorcycles until I found the best fit for me. Navigating through the website was a joy. The large selection of bikes along with tons of information on each individual bike was great.
- Carl Stacks , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-01 1986 Honda VF500F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great little bike..will get up and move when revved up! 71Hp..as compared to the current 40 something on the current cbr500r. Reliable, handles well in corners, the ride is a bit stiff..but I like a stiffer suspension for corners etc. This bike has started up every year since 1988 when I bought it. New brake pads, rotors, and tires on this year. Re-built the clutch master cylinder years ago..and recently rebuilt the slave cylinder a year ago as the clutch was slipping. I have about 38000 miles on it. If you find one cheap..buy it!
- Jon, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: