Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycle reviews

4.4
Write a review
Reliability
4.4
Overall quality
4.4
Performance
4.4
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

19 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Joe M. Carriere

Slidell, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2004-03-19

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my 2000 Thunderbird for a year and a half and ridden in all kinds of conditions and many types of roads (all flat land). I can testify to this - This is the perfect bike for my size and riding style. Except for a new battery, I have not touched it other than standard maintenance. I ride with a verity of other makes and am able to out run almost all of them. The brakes are very good but I would rather have had dual front disc. It handles corners as if they were straight. By far the best all around I have ever ridden. The ergonomics are correct for me as they come from the factory but the seat can become uncomfortable on long runs. The fit and finish are almost 100% and the "look" is enviable. A friend parked his brand new 100th anniversary $27,000 HD next to my Thunderbird recently and everyone that passed by was looking at the Thunderbird. He was not happy. I waited quite awhile to share this review so that I truly had an overall perspective on the bike. In my opinion, this is the greatest value in motorcycles today, especially if you like the classic style. Too bad Triumph has decided to cease production of the Thunderbird.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck Hoesel

Nashville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2003-12-25

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have put a few thousand miles on a used T-Bird. Previously owned a Honda Shadow. The paint and chrome are excellent and I always get compliments when out and about. The aftermarket seat , winshield and bags have been added. Forward pegs from Great Bay and Kurakyn grips have completed the package. Pickup, lack of vibration and smoothness are positive features. The bike handles well with two up with little loss of pickup. A great choice.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Ibbeson

Bunbury, Australia

Reviewed on 2002-09-13

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
As a young bloke I used to ride a Lambretta scooter and quite a few of my mates would ride Triumph's, ufortunately they would spend most of their weekends trying to get them to run. But I always loved Triumph's(being English) and wanted to get one, instead I got married and the bike was put on the backburner. Then of course children came on the scene and there was definitly no funds available for a motorcycle. One day I said to my wife, "I'm going to have a Triumph by the time I'm 40". Then I said, "I'm going to have a Triumph by the time I'm 50". I am now 48 years of age and the proud owner of a 99 Thunderbird, which in my opinion is the best looking bike on the road (lots of beautiful chrome to polish). The only downside to the bike is the removal of the seat and the seat being a bit uncomfortable on longer trips. But I can put up with that.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robin Wilcox

London, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2002-08-20

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike brand new in March 2002. I decided that I was entitled to a mid life crisis and it's my first bike for 22 years. I have fitted a summer screen which is surprisingly effective. Triumph Nylon saddle bags- extremely useful. Aftermarket pipes -which sound great and a luggage rack. The bike gets a lot of attention particularly from older people who have owned Triumphs years ago. It's easy to ride and is plenty fast enough for me. It also handles better than any cruser I can think of. If I had any complaints it would be that the seat is a pain to take off- 2 hard to get at bolts. Surely Triumph could have come up with something better than this. I've now done nearly 3000 miles which have been trouble free and I'm looking forward to the next 3000. I can't really think of any bike I'd rather have including some which cost twice as much!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bryan

St. Petersburg, Florida

Reviewed on 2002-03-24

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike while waiting on a Bonneville. After a year, I would have traded in the Bonnie. I have added the aftermarket pipes, lower bars, flyscreen, and a custom seat. The other day I did a ton through town on the highway with a GSXR following, this bike has been accepted by the sportbike guys and cruiser guys alike and will hold its own with either. Last week, I rode 140 miles with the wife on the pillion and was plenty comfortable. This is a very good all-round motorcycle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

C. Cox

Rockford, Illinois

Reviewed on 2002-02-05

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike will be a Cruiser if it kills me. It's performance is exceptional, and the looks,,,well the thumbs up and a honk from passing cars is humbly gratifying. I'm bound to make this bike a cruiser,,,with no frame, I'm making supports for highway pegs (I'm 6'3")lowering the rear monoshock 1", and finding an aftermarket saddle to reduce the total seat height to about 28 inches, from 30.5. This is a bike to be seen on trucking around the country.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Danny Stegall

Richmond, Texas

Reviewed on 2001-11-15

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
At 2450 miles the engine seized and dumped me in the road at about 45 mph. Healing time including shoulder surgery has been three months. The dealer took the bike apart (under warranty) and replaced the damaged parts but wouldn't do anything more because Triumph America would not approve.No one at Triumph will answer calls or letters as to whether the bike was fixed and is now safe to ride. The bike was fine up the crash but Triumph has really shown their true colors since. I'm now sueing them.
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jerry V.

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2001-06-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first real bike. I'm 46, did my research and got myself a 2K leftover. Wish I could have gotten a TBS (adjustable suspension, more ponies, dual front disks) but the classic T-Bird is a sweet machine. I was very concerned the first couple of days, the bike is a little top-heavy (big 5 gallon tank) and it took me a couple of days to find the sweet spot in first gear (dropped it once, but no real damage). I just clocked my first thousand miles with not even a hiccup, no leaks, no squeaks, runs like a champ. Since we are now well aquatinted and she's near the end of the break-in period, I've cranked her up a bit and she can move! Very torquey, incredible power and I haven't pushed it too hard yet. She likes curves, is good on the highway, but can't wait to get a street shield to cut down one the wind. The bike is extremely comfortable for my 5'8", 180 lbs. haven't gone on a long trip yet, but have ridden totally comfortably for an hour at least. I did get the sissy bar and will get the luggage rack and the center stand is a must for maintenance (and winter storage). After my initial trepidation (OK I was scared), I look for excuses to ride this bike and sometimes go out and ride without one!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Terry

Susquehanna, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2001-05-21

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Having previously owned a '71 Tiger I recently bought a 2001 T-Bird. I really like the appearance, handling and riding position. I get a lot of positive comments whenever I'm out on the bike, especially from other riders. Not as many as when I'm on my '74 Commando but that's to be expected. The engine has adequate power and I like the 3-cylinder feel. My only negative comment so far (I have under 1000 miles on it) is a strange vibration felt mainly thru the right footrest while pulling a grade or accelerating in 4th, 5th, or 6th gear between 2900 and 3500 rpms. It comes on suddenly and goes away by 3500 rpms. The dealer has taken it for a test ride and also felt it. He's contacted Triumph and is waiting to hear back from them. I'm hoping that the vibration can be identified and fixed without a lot of hassle and I can enjoy the summer on this otherwise great bike.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian Miller

Pittsburgh, PA

Reviewed on 2001-05-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
Just bought a new 2000 T-bird. I had a 1995 t-bird, which I sold about 2 years ago. The new bike is basically the same but with a few disappointments. First, the headlamp shell, instruments and warning light cover are black instead of a much classier chrome finish on the 95. Second, the seat removal is completely ridiculous requiring the removal of two very difficult to reach bolts. On the 95 this was accomplished by inserting and turning the key in the side panel. And what happened to the "Triumph" on the clutch cover? This is Triumph's best selling model and they are selling it short.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 19 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: