Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2000 Triumph Thunderbird Sport Motorcycle reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Bart Meulema

Renswoude, Netherlands

Reviewed on 2003-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I own a thunderbird sport 1998 on. A reliable bike it is, and never the slightest trouble. The only thing I don't like is the exhaust system. Two cylinders on one pipe, and one cylinder on one pipe makes a brutal sound. It likes if the engine is running well on all cylinders. The one on one pipe sounds louder. I'm working on an extra balance pipe, maybe that will improve the sound. Further NO COMPLAINTS!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Guy Nichols

Queens, New York

Reviewed on 2003-05-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well it was bought new in fall y2k- I had the summer screen and off road pipes and Chase-Harper saddlebags. breaking in was quick as i ride around 4 of the buroughs of NYC and parkway runs in L.I. the first complaint is the seat SUX BIG TIME, as it slides me foward into tank causing temporary scrotal scrunch that I remedied at a local auto reupholsterer. the second problem was the fuel petcock had leakage replaxed by dealer as ut was new. I had the dealer add the 1 tooth larger sprocket for improved hiway running and had the handel bars replced with the S3 bars due to a minor back problem I have for improved comfort and even improved cruising the streets and malls. At ;ow speeds the bike feels top heavy and its long wheelbase and wide turning radius makes for dancing around in rush hour traffic not as gracefully nimble as the sportbikes can. But on open streets and on the Hiway its even comfortable for 2 up riding (since the seat mods anyway) is good for both my wife amd myself. tho she wants a backrest for longer rides for 65 to the recommended 80mph (as/per manual) is easy-even passing w 2 up is a no problem--even up hills, if more go is needed a downshift is all thats required. Solo hiway blasting is een better . Speaking of Hiway blasting cruising at 110 is a tank after tank comfort-tuck behind the summershield and run tank after tank 80-115 mph no problem ecxept for the hiway patrol.-the cruiser crowd just fades away in the mirrors very fast. Sportbikes and racer clones on the hiway aren't hard to run with until speeds get over 120mph but I believe if my heart beats faster than the speed-I'm going way too fast. It starts everytime--really great gas milrage @40 in city-50+ open road cruise mode. great hi way top gear sprinting past everybody.-the suspension is very good with almost infinite adjustments-for me at 200+ and my wife of 30 yrs since women tend to grow bigger then men do I'll leave the weight alone nut we do meet the max weight when we ride. What I like the most is it looks like a real motorcycle not a plactic toy, old timers bringing them a smile and fond memories os their youth and moderatatly knowledgeable riders like the retro look, The sportbikers are impressed by the performance. especially the torque curve. Brakes are great 2 up and solo. The tires are good on dry but the back reaks in the rain. serivicing os ok but the no centerstand is not what i call good product packaging. I love the triple sound at all speeds-to bad the off raods rusted at the mounting bolt holes-but the dealer kept my original mufflers and i happened to have a 7/8 inch concrete drill bit and hammer drill available. (those mufflers are heavy). Accesspriries are hard to comeuy other than the factory stuff which is a little conservative or hard to come by as well as pricey as most Triumph parts. my minor peve is the 3000-4000 rpm buzz which i believe is from the center carb having a different jet size from the outboards. The orange and cream looks good as well--too bad i'm not into cleaning my rides often--who wants to clean when the road becons?? Would I buy another? Most definately-just with better tires for foul weather riding. When will they make a black knight version?? Guy
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Leslie

London, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2003-03-05

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Having ridden various bikes on and off since I was 16, starting with an LI150 S3, elevating myself finally to a Triumph Trident (96) brand new (my first), I have to state that the Trident was brilliant but getting too heavy for my back to haul in and out of the garage. So looking for another bike, hopefully Triumph I was really taken by the look of the Thunderbird-Sport, particularly in its original "two-pipes one side" form.. but alas with the occasional wife to carry(+baggage?) this was not practical, therefore I settled to look for a later model TSport. 12 months ago I purchased second-hand a 2000 model, just 5000 miles on the clock.... so far in terms of ride it has been excellent (just 2000 miles on admittedly), everything that I could have wanted... starts everytime, easy to move, easy to ride, simple maintenance, great style, my only problem was recently when I had an "oil warning light".... this turned out to be the switch, a quick trip to local Triumph dealer and $11 lighter in the pocket (seems slightly expensive for such a cheap part.. but there you are). To "speak as you find" ... this is my second Hinkley Triumph, my wife also has the "new" Bonnie... I can only recommend them... keep it going Triumph!!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck

Medford, Oregon

Reviewed on 2003-01-23

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great all around bike. Great mid-range acceleration and very smooth. Handling is excellent, looks are classic, and the most noticed of all my bikes. Gathers more favorable comments than my Ducati ST2. I have the '98 model with the twin silencers on the right side, which are somewhat limiting for 2-up travel. A 2000 or 2003 model would make an excellent sport-touring bike. Althought the engine lacks the top end rush of the higher powered Triumphs (Speed Triple, Sprint, Daytona), it is more flexible in terms of allways having ready power at hand, which is perfect for sport-touring.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck

Medford, Oregon

Reviewed on 2002-08-12

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I also have a 2001 Ducati ST2 and a 2000 Suzuki SV650, but the Triumph is rapidly becoming my favorite ride (not for touring, but it could be configured that way). Great powerband from 3000 up to redline, nice sound with the Triumph off-road pipes, and handling is almost as good as the Ducati.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peter Holmes

Albany, New York

Reviewed on 2002-05-14

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike does everything a standard motorcycle should do and does it impeccably. Great brakes, compliant ride combined with very nicely controlled handling, a classic European riding position, and an engine that will cheerfully pull from 20mph to 120mph in 6th gear. On top of that you can throw 45-50mpg. I defy you to find a bike that rides as good, looks as good, and gets 1/2 of the compliments that this bike gets. There's always a hitch, though, and this bike is no exception. The seat truly does suck, but it's relatively easy for a do-it-yourselfer to pop off the cover and replace key bits of the cheap Triumph foam with some good closed cell foam. Once you've done that, you'll find yourself always taking the longest twistiest way home you can find, even at the end of a long day of riding.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

teff

harlow, Great Britain (UK)

Reviewed on 2002-05-08

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
In 24 years of riding both on road and track,Ive finally found my ideal bike.Only problem was the lack of noise from the pipes ( a 20mm drill through the diffuser plate sorted that out)This is my third triumph and the best yet.never going to sell it. British bikes are best-YOU'D BETTER BELIEVE IT !
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robby

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2001-08-20

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Loved my 1998 Tbird Sport. didn't leak a drop, awesome brakes, dependable, and fun. However, being nearly six-four and frequently riding two up I found space to be a bit cramped and the position gave a good amount of wind blast. Also a bit top-heavy for me. The rearset controls tended to make me feel in need of hip replacement after long rides! A friend of mine is six feet and loved my bike -fit him perfectly. This bike truly made me wish I were smaller! I have since traded my Triumph in on a much bigger ride but still love the bike.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris

Independence, Missouri

Reviewed on 2001-08-07

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
love this Brit bike! I finally traded my 1985 Kawasaki Vulcan 700 in on this Thunderbird Sport, and wow! grreat handling, shhhh(pipes are sooo nice to listen to and what a silky smooth rider, I look forward every day to getting on this awesome bike.....(and I swore I would never buy a chain driven bike, man, after riding this bad boy I was ready for the chain reaction! (sorry about the stupid pun, I could not resist).....) I would strongly recommend a test drive to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Arnold

Shreveport, Louisianna

Reviewed on 2001-06-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the bike reviewed May 2, 2000 below, and I love it. I have had it for a couple of weeks now and have put a couple hundred miles on it. It is truly a do it all bike. I must admit I am partial to Triumphs ( I also own a '66 Triumph ) I can hang out with my Harley rider buddies, or run with any of the crotch rockets out there.. I have since fit a pair of leather saddlebags to it.. and will probably but a small windshield on it soon.. (instant sport / tourer ?) No matter how you ride, and I pretty much cover the spectrum, this bike fits the bill. I can't believe Triumph doesn't make it anymore. If you're looking for a cruiser/crotch rocket/sports tourer.. This is the bike for you..
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: