Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycle reviews

4.3
Write a review
Reliability
4.3
Overall quality
4.3
Performance
4.3
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

LARRY

PERTH, Australia

Reviewed on 2003-05-26

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I HAVE A BLACK/YELLOW 2000 MODEL. I BOUGHT IT WITH 2800 KILOMETRES ON THE CLOCK.I HAVE HAD NO TROUBLE WITH IT AT ALL EXCEPT FOR A FAULTY OIL PRESSURE LIGHT.AT 13000 K'S THE TAPPETS/VALVES NEED LOOKING AT. WITH 16 VALVES AND SHIMS ITS TOO ADVANCED FOR ME SO I WILL GE IT DONE. THE BRAKES SAVED US FROM COMING OFF AT 140KM/H WHEN A KANGAROO BOUNCED JUST AHEAD. I COULD FEEL ITS FUR. I FIND IT COMFORTABLE ON LONG TRIPS EXCEPT FOR THE PEAKY MOTOR AND GEARING.IT HAS POOR THROTTLE RESPONSE UNDER 3000 RPM AND IS ONLY REASONABLY POWERFUL UNDER 7000. HANDLING BRAKES AND FINISH ARE EXCELLENT. THE INJECTION SYSTEM AT SLOW CORNERS OR ROUNDABOUTS INHIBITS RESPONSE.IT WILL FLY THROUGH TRAFFIC. THE LIGHTS ARE PATHETIC AT NIGHT ABOVE 70KM/H.DANGEROUS.A SPOTLIGHT WOULD HELP. I CONSISTENTLY GET NEARLY 60 MPG OR 20 KILOMETRES PER LITRE AND RUN IT OMN HIGH OCTANE FUEL.WYNNS INJECTOR CLEANER NOW AND THEN HELPS SMOOTH OUT THE QUIRKY INJECTION SYSTEM I ENJOY KEEPING IT CLEAN AND I USE SILICON SPRAY FOR A SHOWROOM SHINE ON THE PLASTIC BITS AND THE FRAME.I RUN A PIRELLI TYRE ON THE BACK AND IS BETTER THAN A BRIDGESTONE ORIGINAL, GREATER STABILITY IF SLIGHTLY SLOWER DIRECTION CHANGES. I HAD NOT HAD A BIKE SINCE 1975 AND ENJOY THIS ONE. I INTEND KEEPING IT. I MAY GET A CRUISER OR BONNEVILLE TYPE AS WELL FOR LONG DISTANCE WORK AND MORE MANAGEABLE TWO UP RIDING. NOT AN ALL ROUNDER BIKE BUT NICE TO RIDE THE STREETS ON WITH THAT POWER RUMBLING BENEATH ME. EXCELLENT BIKE FULL OF TECHNOLOGY. FEELS BIT SMALL ON WHILE AT 180 TO 200 KM/H, LIKE A DART. GREAT ON ROUGH NARROW ROADS AT UP TO 140 + NEVER FEELS DANGEROUS OR PLAYS UP. THAT WILL DO SEE YOU ALL OUT THERE MAYBE.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

THE MAN

KNOXVILLE, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2003-05-18

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a great bike for all who desire a sport bike.It handles like a champ and seems to have enough power to weight ratio to make any rider pleased.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jerod

Chanute, Kansas

Reviewed on 2003-05-04

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Yeah, Yeah, Yeah. The engine runs hot, the fuel injection has problems, it doesn't start like it should. Guess what.. All of these problems have been fixed. At your local Triumph dealer you can get "Version 10" downloaded into your vehicle computer to fix all of your fuel injection nightmares. I just bought a 2001 TT600 with 2350 miles on it and I asked about all the up grades since production, and wouldn't ya know it, they downloaded the new software right then and there. I was amazed at the difference in software.... This little feature beats buying a high performance chip any day. I will admit the bike has a little torque problem in the early RPMs, but for the love, it red-lines at 14,000 people, USE ALL 14,000.. This stragedy will get ya to 85 in second gear. Just immagine what 6th gear brings.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

skip d

philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2002-11-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just finished the break in period on my 2002 TT and if the first 500 miles were any indicator of what the bike has to offer,I am a lucky man. Let me start off by saying that the rumors that there is "quirky" mid-range could not be more incorrect. The throttle has fantastic response all the way through the range. A slight drop at 6500, but it is ever so slight and does not last more than 1/2 a second. The handling should be text book for all 600 sport bikes and the braking is nothing short of perfect. In all, once you ride this bike, you WILL buy this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob Chisholm

Oakham, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2002-09-27

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I told you I was going to get it. But not the one I originally saw as the dealer wouldn't talk a sensible deal, even though I had bought my Fazer from them and I lived 10 mins away. So I rode my Fazer with my partner in tow to On Yer Triumph 80 miles away. I had spoken to them earlier in the week and they had 2 in Racing Yellow to choose from. I did the deal in minutes and now I have my TT600. Love it. Thanks to you all for the positive comments that persuaded me to go for it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Adam Boothby

Chattanooga, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2002-08-22

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
Everyone is right on in regards to the handling and comfort of this bike. Spent 7 hours on it one Saturday..no complaints . Unfortunately, my 2001 model has spent more time in the shop than on the road. Two major gas leaks, one oil leak, two faulty batteries, one rear swing arm, new cooling fan, multiple new fuel injection mappings....and it still doesn't like to start right up and yes, as everyone else noted...this bike runs really hot. Something to note...Triumph has covered all the repairs, but the people at Triumph North America don't seem to care about customer service. They hide behind the 2 year warranty. In all, fun bike when it will run though. Just be careful.
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Guy Burdick

Exeter, Devon, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2002-05-25

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have a 2001 model . It is great! The engine is a diamond - 100mph (160kmhr) in third gear is no problem! The handling and braking is brilliant. Reliability and build quality seems excellent. Two gripes are the overheating - fan comes on quite quickly in town (but never on the open road), the lack of low down torque. These mean the TT is best suited to country roads rather than the city. Despite these gripes, I would recommend the 2001 TT600 to anyone.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Clint

Dublin, Ohio

Reviewed on 2002-05-01

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am a 17 year old guy who was looking for a great bike to replace my old 1973 honda CB. Rather than getting a CBR or Ninja, I decided to stick with the family tradition and buy a Triumph. I have really liked the TT since it came out and heard all the magazines tear it up. I found one at my local dealer and had to go for it. I am so glad I did. It Handles better than anyother bike I have ridden and after you get the RPM's up it will really go too. One of the best things about this bike is that it isn't one everyone has. Typically a teenager doesn't have the income to pay for a bike of this caliper so I can really enjoy knowing I am the only one on one for quite a distance. As far as looks go, In the first two days of riding it girls that have never paid attention to me started to wave everytime they saw me. Go figure.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Terry Parchman

Pensacola, Florida

Reviewed on 2001-08-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have a yellow/black 2001 TT600 and I must say it's the flirtiest and pretties bike on the streets. Triumph did not hold back on design and no one can deny that. The ride is extremely comfortable for a sports bike. I rode it from Florida to New Orleans and absolutely loved the ride. It handles great too. Even at 135 mph you will think you are cruzing at 65 mph :~). Overall, this bike is absolutely phenomenal for the buck. However, I do have a few complaints about it. Other riders will agree with me when I say that the heat from the engine is sometimes unbearable. The temperature gauge reads around 190-205 degrees unless you are riding above 60 mph most of the time. Another problem is starting this baby. I have to open the gas cap to start it most of the time. Quite frustrating at times! Something needs to be done about the fuel flow and air induction I guess. And finally, I am a little frustrated with its take off. This bike is only 300-something pounds and 600+ cc's should provide a much faster take off. It hesitates! This is not good if you are racing, trying to walk a wheelie, or trying to get away from the cops (just kidding about the cops). As you can see most of my frustration about this bike really has something to do with its fuel system. Fix It Triumph, Will You!?! Remove this minor problem from the equation and you have a phenomenal machine. An absolutely outstanding two wheel beast to say the least!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Z. Huber

California

Reviewed on 2001-08-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph TT600

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Where do I start? This bike is fantastic. Yes it can get hot and the fan will run after the ignition is off. I highly recommend this bike beside this quirk. What do you expect the thing runs up too 14,000 rpm and that is before red line? I get comments on it all the time like -"so what kind of fighter jet is that?" or What planet did you buy that on?" all humor aside the bike gets a lot of response for it's design, sometimes people pull over too check out the bike. Besides it's looks the bike is really well balanced and can corner really well even though I haven't maxxed it's real potential. So far there has been no mechanical problems at about 3400 miles, overall the bike feels very stable and tight. Who wants a rice grinder when they have no soul? I am happy to have a bike that you don't see everywhere. Sure I could have had the CBR or the GSX what everRRRRRR, but I went for the style as well as the phenomenal performance, and that is what the TT is all about. Bravo Triumph, thumbs up on a great motorcycle!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: